D3 D3 2009

Well i do work in finance. Im good with numbers.

That would be the problem right there, working in finance, so did Mr Madoff, Mr Hoy and other luminaries of that ilk - a truly honourable profession.

But hey, as has been rightly said, round 2 will confirm some opinions or raise new questions.

Thomas carroll reserve - google mapped it - just near the old Dandenong VFA home ground

I am surprised that that neck of woods is still accessible to we city folk - had a look at the eastlink interchange - will probably be stuck there for 2 or 3 hours working out how to get to dandy dingle dong

Welcome to the 2009 season. Finally all the banter is over (well almost) and we can get down to some true analysis of the teams. The truth is that no one really has the breadth of knowledge of all clubs to make an informed prediction at this stage, we can only speculate...

On to the games:

Wicks over The House by 6pts (Have no idea who to pick here as my reports from both camps have been somewhat discouraging. I still expect Powerhouse to be the slightly better side in the long run, but feel the home ground advantage at EP #2 will be the deciding factor. Expect a big game from Brett Mahony)

SMS over UHS-VU by 36pts (I'm not sure why, but in my seventeen year association with amateur football I've never rated the boys from Brens Oval, so why would I start now? SMS on the other hand will appreciate the drop in class and should have enough firepower to post a more than competitive score. They are also at home, so they should win comfortably.

SFX over West Bruns by 8 pts (Something tells me this will be the game of the round. I expect a high scoring, open affair with little accountability in defence. However, Westies have managed to struggle in D3 in recent years and I don't believe 09' to be any different. SFX to spoil the unfurling of the 2008 D4 pennant and reverse the G/F result of last September)

Bentleigh over St Johns by 85 pts (Almost willing to put my house on this one. I don't care how many recruits the Jocs may have picked up, The Demons have more numbers on the track each week than I've had hot dinners! I expect the Bentleigh reserves to go along undefeated and the seniors not to lose at home all season. Shane Fergus to star for the home side. Too tough for St Johns. Will be tough for any team.).

Hawthorn over Monash by 28pts (Bitter rivals of the late 90s do battle at Rathmines, but the simple fact remains that the Gryphs have only ever won there once and the Hawks, under new Coach Murray will be raring to go. Expect a big game from Ogge up forward and the Gryphs to hang on for a while, but in the end class will prevail).

Good luck to all.

Quasi

Round 1 Review:

Most of the pundits could not have been farther from the truth save for Marching. 2 out of 5 for Quasi like many others may have overrated Hawthorn whilst under-rated the Gryphons. The House and the Wicks proved hard to pick and could've gone either way and yes Nikko, I under-estimated the stealth of Uni High (at least for this week). St Francis Xavier have begun well...

Round 2 Preview:

Bentleigh over UHS-VU by 36 Pts (Bentleigh are a strong outfit no doubt, but will be pushed to the limit for about 2 and a half quarters by Uni High who will be buoyed by their opening win)
Monash over SMS by 24 Pts (The wet weather will render many games closer than they would be normally, but this in and under football should suit the Gryphs to a 'Tee' and result in a reasonably comfortable win. Tristan Russell to revel in the conditions for the home side)
Wicks over Westies by 5 Pts (Could well be four points that the Wicks savour at season's end. Don't see either of these teams figuring significantly this year)
SFX over Powerhouse by 16 Pts (Very tough one to pick, but feel that The House may struggle at Beaconsfield whilst they are somewhat depleted by injury).
St Johns over Hawthorn by 15Pts (Can't believe the odds St Johns were posted at by Rooster. The fact remains that the Hawks were Marshmallows last weekend and will have to improve dramatically to be any chance here. I don't expect big things from The Jocs this season, but the home fans should see them through)

Good luck to all

Quasi

Demons X 35pts. What say you Nikko? Good result for the U18's?

St Sallys X 56. What say you Quasi? Roosters one week, feather dusters the next. ( I'm glad you beat Hawthorn though!)

Wicks X 43.what say you North wind? D4 is not D3! Is it?

St FX X 45. What say you black swans? The road trip to HELL!!! Beware Beaky thugs, nobody likes arrogant asswipes, you are big deals at home but D3 is not D4, get over yourselves!! I'm looking forward to your trip to Ferndale Park and Rathmines road..

St Johns X 37. Oh, who cares? come on Fosters....I'm fishing now!

St Sallys X 56. What say you Quasi? Roosters one week, feather dusters the next. ( I'm glad you beat Hawthorn though!)

St FX X 45. What say you black swans? The road trip to HELL!!! Beware Beaky thugs, nobody likes arrogant asswipes, you are big deals at home but D3 is not D4, get over yourselves!! I'm looking forward to your trip to Ferndale Park and Rathmines road..

ah well, i'll nibble. What incident/s are you actually talking about sidewinder? thought the game was played in great spirits, was actually impressed with the blokemanship! had a few chats to several of your blokes who were all rippers. I'm really struggling to think of an example of what you could be referring to?:confused:

Maybe you've had a few, but I think you're way off mate. We were pretty impressed with how long you blokes stuck around after the game, can't have been too much malice.

What is this all about sidewinder. No one ever likes the new boys in a comp having a win. Did you really think that we would get so overwhelmed by D3 football??? Your kidding are'nt you???? Ye we know its a step up. "The road trip to hell" "Beaky Thugs" Gee mate dont know what game you were watching......

The House game was a great game, it was played in good spirits and we were fortunate enough to get the win!!! If thats what you call "arrogance", then your interpretartion of the word is very wrong!!!! We are out there to play good footy and respect the opposition we play, if we can get the win, then great!!! But we are not out there to just make up numbers as some of you (I Think)were hoping.

:D

Definition of Bentleigh:'Dud'.
1.a device, person, or enterprise that proves to be a failure.2.a shell or missile that fails to explode after being fired.

Great day for SMS on saturday with all 4 teams getting the points.. (clubbies had a forfeit but played a scatch match with Sth Melb for a half, had to lend some players, but were 13 goals up after 2 goals). Great result for our Under 18's recording there first win! Both Seniors and reserves produced the goods at East Caulfield reserve against Monash. Both games played in great spirit!! Good to see the seniors playing the football we know they ar capable of! With a few still to come back into the side, hopefully this kick starts the season for the saints.

Same for Bentleigh, 3 wins on Saturday for the first time since 2006 (we think). Certainly hasn't happened on too many occasions in my time as a senior player as I'm only young, but it's great to have that winning feeling after a few lean years.
Must say up close the UHS-VU/Bentleigh jumpers was a bit of a clash and from a distance the UHS-VU guys are hard to see as they blend in with the surrounding trees and parklands.
Not getting carried away with our 2-0 start as UHS-VU were only 6 goals away on the weekend, we know there is still a lot of work to be done.
Some interesting results with round 1 ladder leaders Monash getting a real touch up from SMS and new boys StFX sitting pretty also at 2-0. Pre season fancies Hawthorn are sitting not as pretty at 0-2.
Elsternwick had a strong win and were not far away in round 1, could easily be 2-0 and we look forward to what they have to bring to Arthur St this weekend as 1st takes on 4th in what should also be another nice jumper clash..

Must say up close the UHS-VU/Bentleigh jumpers was a bit of a clash and from a distance the UHS-VU guys are hard to see as they blend in with the surrounding trees and parklands.
quote]

Its all part of the stratedgy mate, this is what we will be wearing next time we play so bring your Infra Rared goggles.

Vit_mins_camo_vest.jpg

gday all!!

ahh, nothing like coming back home to the cold, wet & 12 degrees after sunning it up in fiji under a 32 degree sun & relaxing by a pool at a tropical resort!! anyway, glad to be back & up to date with all things regarding d3 football.

some interesting results saturday with teams that you thought would win, lose miserably & teams that you thought would lose, win easily. the joys of this division... gotta love it!!

had my first look at our crew on saturday - good wins. uhsvu will be a tough team to beat though in both grades at brens oval & didnt give up until the final siren. (they really do NEED to dispense the megaphone siren... woeful) .

weve elsternwick this week at arthur street which always offer a tough game & will be a good gauge as to where we'll stand with personnel afterwards as theyve always been hard at it in both grades.

Griff, I heard one of the monash players did his knee? Any idea who and what were your impressions of them?

gday all!!

ahh, nothing like coming back home to the cold, wet & 12 degrees after sunning it up in fiji under a 32 degree sun & relaxing by a pool at a tropical resort!! anyway, glad to be back & up to date with all things regarding d3 football.

some interesting results saturday with teams that you thought would win, lose miserably & teams that you thought would lose, win easily. the joys of this division... gotta love it!!

had my first look at our crew on saturday - good wins. uhsvu will be a tough team to beat though in both grades at brens oval & didnt give up until the final siren. (they really do NEED to dispense the megaphone siren... woeful) .

weve elsternwick this week at arthur street which always offer a tough game & will be a good gauge as to where we'll stand with personnel afterwards as theyve always been hard at it in both grades.

We could always go the the old "Bum F*ck Idaho dinner bell" like the Wicks. The megahone isnt that bad as long as the bloke using it can switch it off.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Maybe Marching can fill us in on the knee injury & the scoreline. Was Harrison playing this week?

Will be interesting this week Bentleigh coming up against the Wickers & playing against an old coach in Steve Hall. Elsternwick coming off a win will have some steam up & the Wick coach no doubt treating this as a mini final for them.

Might pop into his house sometime this week to see if his left some game plan notes & strategies lying around the place :D

Griff, I heard one of the monash players did his knee? Any idea who and what were your impressions of them?

Yeah, I was talking to one of the Monash boys after the game and he said that the guys who did it (cant remember his name!) was one of the best players he has played with in the VAFA, and he was coming back from a previous knee reco....! They were pretty shattered for him....

Hard to get a good idea about them, they had a pretty down day and we where firing. They had a couple of handy on ballers, Rutherford is a gun, but I though our guys did well on him, especially in the 1st half!

Yeah, I was talking to one of the Monash boys after the game and he said that the guys who did it (cant remember his name!) was one of the best players he has played with in the VAFA, and he was coming back from a previous knee reco....! They were pretty shattered for him....

Hard to get a good idea about them, they had a pretty down day and we where firing. They had a couple of handy on ballers, Rutherford is a gun, but I though our guys did well on him, especially in the 1st half!

Must be Flowerday then, gun player, and being a builder it seems the poor fella will be off work for a while.

As for Rutherford, to beat him remember the following, he has no left side, and will ALWAYS try and beat the first tackle.

St Marys played some very solid football, great run throughout the day. Al Dwyer #35 had a big game and needs to be paid attention to as does Patty Dunne #18 who would have to be considered the best ruckman in the league. Early Favourite for D3 best & Fairest, in Icebergs eyes. Darren Hill #12 doesnt look like much of a player, but eyes can be very deceiving.

interesting to see people naming names of who looks good from the weekend. nothing from Bentleighs opposition? and they are the ones setting the pace. stjohns and uhs should be giving away Bentleighs secrets. havent seen Sharp Robbertson or Kellaway in the team lists of the first 2 rounds. look for them to come in over the next couple of weeks? Sharp and Robbertson generally dominate at this level of football as most would know

interesting to see people naming names of who looks good from the weekend. nothing from Bentleighs opposition? and they are the ones setting the pace. stjohns and uhs should be giving away Bentleighs secrets. havent seen Sharp Robbertson or Kellaway in the team lists of the first 2 rounds. look for them to come in over the next couple of weeks? Sharp and Robertson generally dominate at this level of football as most would know

Too early to give too much away....

St Mary's are more Salesian than the old D4 stalwarts so it's anyone's guess. Monash must be a bit miffed because they probably expected the old style St M/S...The loss of the brilliant Flowerday must have crushed them.

UHS VU would be somewhat pleased with their performance against raging favourites Bentleigh. Last time they met the students couldn't hold a candle to the demons. Expect the students' juniors to feed into the ones or ressies later in the yr.

West Brunswick are, on paper a shadow of their grand final side. So loosing to a five goal breeze mustn't feel too bad. Just bloddy cold! The wickers are fielding a side with no real glue it seems. Lots of new chums but probably relying on the old stalwarts methinks.

What about Hawthorn! Someone,soon,will surely feel thier wrath. No Lauletta this week.Hmmmm!
St Johns, same old same old. Thier good players are good, it's players ranked 9 to 22 that are the question.Really hard to beat at home.

StFX are a good thing coming, judging by thier disposal of the tough House.
Could go far if they have the depth. It's only April though.
The House are tough and will get tougher as the season goes on.
Big solid side. Rumour has it that they have recruited Anton Burney for another go around in the Ammos? Last time he kicked 70 odd goals for the wicks.

Last time Bentleigh were in D3 they were probably a bit fortunate to follow in the slipstream of South Melbourne Districts ( we all were). The Bloods disposed of Bentleigh's opponents, the demons were good enough to win the second semi final, otherwise? Chris Sharp is still to make an appearance as are some of thier new recruits. Who will be the lucky club to greet these players?