D3 D3 2009

I remember, whilst injured earlier in trhe season, running water for our 2's. I was told that running water was only allowed to come on after a goals had been scored (New VAFA Rule).

As it was a warm day I asked both umpires what the hell I could do. Our umpire told me that we have to abide by the rules, when the UHSVU umpire buts in and has his 2 bobs worth. He told me that he did not care what the VAFA rule was and I could as long as I stayed out of the play. An arguement started and he went on and on about utter sh.t. I interuppted him and said, I could not give a rats what he thought, I wanted to know the VAFA rule. He then sent me off the ground because I questioned him.

Tossmaster

You asked both umpires and were told by "your" umpire one thing & by "our" umpire a different interpretation - that you could come on behind the play as long as all waterboys kept out of the way! You asked and you got your answer which b/c of the heat should have been enough - boy he wanted to give everyone some leeway b/c it was hot! What's the problem Dave? What happened in the seniors - yes... waterboys were allowed on more than just after goals. You said you were injured - presume it was a "head knockjob!"

If you want to know the "rule" get a rule book/look it up!

NT58

You still on about it Nikko. I like the new nickname as well. Might have to change it. I really dont care what you or Boycey does. Geez, mate, a bit precious are we???

And for you info, yes I did have a rule book, obviously, boycey did not..........Who cares now.

Richo in the Power House senior team - thats funny!!!

Well what do you expect? Krusty, by name, IS a clown! Oh no!.....I'll have nightmares now........clowns are scary!!!

Richo is a gentleman and a credit to his club. If he plays seniors though, they are in real trouble. Christ, where's Jesus when you need him?
Ruckmen.
The jumping ant they call Fergul ('wicks) stumped Hawthorns' Collins in the ruck last week. (........ I am reliably informed) If the house are missing their premier ruckman who knows what might happen.
Still, Shane Mahony plays game 300 this week. Great effort! That makes 7 Mahonys who played for Elsternwick so far. Two new baby boys born in the last week means the dynasty will be perpetuated. If ALL Leigh Murphy's progeny were to play football they would have their own team!

Round 12 Preview:

St Johns over UHS-VU by 16 Pts (No lay down misere for St Johns as this is a fixture that the Vultures will fancy themselves in. However, St Johns form has been far more consistent and should do enough in a close one. The wet weather should only aid their cause).
Bentleigh over Monash by 53 Pts (Even with the Gryphons renewed confidence, the Demons will be far too big, far too strong and far too skilled for the young Monash side).
Westies over the House by 11 Pts (The Piranhas were pitiful last week and will no doubt have paid for their poor performance on the track. West Brunswick simply have to win games like this if they are to avoid the drop and should do enough in a scrappy affair)
Wicks over Hawks by 33 Pts (I'm not sure I've selected Elsternwick correctly this season, so on that proviso, the Hawks are a 'shoe in', but the Wicks should be breathing fire after a poor showing at Doveton last Saturday. Craig Mahony to fire for the Wicks).
SMS over SFX by 12 Pts (Match of the round clearly; however I rate the Saints far better for the business end of year. St Mary's/Salesian have the ability to demoralise sides and whilst I do not expect that to occur here, they should prove too strong).

Round 12 Review

A creditable 4/5 (37/60 Cumulative), but as other scribes have alluded to, the four I got were a given. On that note, St Francis Xavier were the big winners of the weekend, protecting their home patch with much aplomb and reminding us that this premiership race is not a two-horse race. Strange happenings in the scores at Brens Oval, but as expected, St Johns did just enough to get over the line. A good win for West Brunswick that has officially ended Powerhouse’s season (don’t discount their outside claims to being relegated – such is their form at the minute). Wicks did enough without really impressing and the Demons continue their juggernaut.

Round 13 Preview

UHS-VU over the Gryphons by 6 Pts (Strange as it may seem, this may be the pick of the games as a loss to Monash could mean D4 football in 2010. I expect a dour affair with Captain Kirk’s boys holding on for a close win).
SMS over Westies by 63 Pts (St Mary’s/Salesian on the rebound is never an easy proposition, especially at Ferndale. I do not expect this to be a contest for long. West Brunswick, try as they may, will be no match for the Saints. Alastair Dwyer to star for the home side)
SFX over The Hawks by 26 Pts (It may well be a far greater margin, but I suspect SFX may take Hawthorn lightly and be found wanting early on. Class will prevail however, as the likes of Dwayne Scott find their feet).
Wicks over the Piranhas by 32 Pts (There will be no love lost as these local rivals do battle for the umpteenth time at Ross Gregory. The House have been dreadful of late and that coupled with the ‘ever-popular’ Shane Mahony’s 300th game should see this one going the way of the visitors. Expect a blinder from Dave Smith if he goes forward).
Bentleigh over St Johns by 35Pts (The depth of the Demons will ensure that they do enough to keep their noses well in front for most of the day. Jamie Vlahos and Paul Magnifico to thwart any serious Joc attacks).

Good luck to all

Quasi

No results on the website. Can anyone let us know who won and who lost.
Hawks beat St Francis by 65 pts - yes thats right, 65 points. I wouldn't have believed it if I didn't see it myself.
Ogge was my best (playing in the back line) and the big guy Collins. No 15 for St F was proabably their best.
I believe the St Francis won the reserves by a point but I could be wrong on that one.

VAFA Results: Saturday 19th July 2009

C Section
Parkdale 15.10 d Monash Blues 6.13
Oakleigh 15.15 d AJAX 9.13
Old Geelong 10.12 d Mazenod 8.16
Beaumaris 16.8 d Bulleen Temp 4.7
Caulfield Gram 17.11 d MHSOB 11.7

D1 Section
Rupertswood 13.15 d Prahran 10.11
NOBS/SP 16.17 d Whitefriars 12.11
Fitzroy 8.20 d Emmaus St Leos 7.9
Aquinas 14.10 d Old Mentonians 8.14
Werribee 10.14 d Sth Melb Dist 5.16

D2 Section
Glen Eira 14.10 d Eltham 11.12
Yarra Valley 22.10 d Ivanhoe 8.9
Old Paradians 12.9 d Therry Penola 8.3
Peninsula 20.16 d Williamstown 13.7
Old Westbourne 8.11 d Banyule 7.3

D3 Section
Monash Gryph 18.17 d UHS-VU 5.5
Hawthorn 24.24 d St Francis Xav 15.16
St Mary's Sal 14.10 d West Brunswick 10.11
Elsternwick 14.17 d Power House 11.5
Bentleigh 17.11 d St Johns 10.7

D4 Section
Kew 6.12 d Richmond 4.15
Nth Brunswick 17.27 d Chadstone 6.11
Mt Lilydale 20.9 d Box Hill Nth 7.6
Albert Park 15.8 d La Trobe Uni 13.15
Sth Mornington 13.15 d Eley Park 12.11
Swinburne Uni 18.16 d Manningham 10.16

C Section Reserve
Oakleigh 11.18 d AJAX 5.4
Mazenod 20.18 d Old Geelong 3.7
Parkdale 14.10 d Monash Blues 7.9
Beaumaris 8.14 d Bulleen Temp 6.5
Caulfield 6.15 d MHSOB 4.7

D1 Section Reserve
Fitzroy 17.5 d Emmaus St. Leos 4.10
Rupertswood 22.18 d Prahran 4.2
NOB/SP 9.10 d Whitefriars 7.8
Old Mentonians 14.12 d Aquinas 5.8
Werribee 19.18 d Sth. Melb Dist 4.1

D2 Section Reserve
Therry Penola 10.9 d Old Paradians 6.7
Eltham 10.15 d Glen Eira 5.10
Old Westbourne 10.11 d Banyule 2.4
Peninsula 14.8 d Williamstown 8.12
Yarra Valley 22.10 d Ivanhoe 8.4

D3 Section Reserve
Power House 15.8 d Elsternwick 6.5
Bentleigh 14.15 d St. Johns 4.3
UHS-VU 18.3 d Monash Gryph 5.1
St. Mary’s Sal 17.5 d West Bruns 4.5
St. Francis Xav 11.12 d Hawthorn 12.5

D4 Section Reserve
Sth Mornington 13.8 d Eley Park 11.8
Kew 22.10 d Richmond Cent 8.4
Mt. Lilydale 21.10 d Box Hill Nth 2.9
Nth Bruns 15.15 d Chadstone 2.2
Albert Park 8.7 d La Trobe Uni 4.12
Swinburne Uni 14.19 d Manningham 9.4

U19 Premier
De La Salle 16.13 d Uni Blues 7.12
St Bedes/MT 17.9 d Old Trinity 13.11
Old Scotch 18.23 d Marcellin 5.6
Old Xavs 17.7 d Rupertswood 9.8
Beaumaris 8.10 d Uni Blacks 5.6

U19 North 1
Old Camberwell 15.11 d St Bernards 6.9
Old Carey 10.14 d Manningham Sharks 7.6
Bulleen Temp 10.11 d Banyule/Viewbank 7.12
Old Essendon 9.9 d Fitzroy 7.7

U19 North 2
Old Geelong Blacks won on forfeit from La Trobe Uni
Emmaus St Leos 15.13 d Fitzroy 7.4
Aquinas 10.21 d Rupertswood 7.10
Therry Penola 14.9 d Old Xavs 7.10
Old Westbourne 12.7 d Ivanhoe 6.1

U19 South 1
Mazenod has the Bye
De La Salle 9.5 d Old Melburnians 6.15
St Kevins 15.10 d Old Haileybury 2.9
Old Brighton 10.15 d Ormond 10.10
Caulfield 9.11 d Collegians 8.10

U19 South 2
Bentleigh 13.7 d Parkdale 8.15
AJAX 13.11 d Beaumaris 7.9
Prahran 12.13 d Peninsula 7.18
MHSOB 11.6 d Old Mentonians 9.16
Hampton Rovers 10.11 d Monash Blues 4.13

Club XVIII (1)
Old Scotch 8.12 drew with De La Salle 8.12
Collegians 16.15 d St Kevins 0.3
Uni Blues 12.14 d Prahran 4.7
Old Xavs (1) 25.14 d St Bernards 3.1
Old Melburnians 8.10 d Old Xavs (2) 8.8

Club XVIII (2)
Monash Blues 9.11 d Old Camberwell 4.8
NOBS/SP 9.9 d Fitzroy 7.9
Uni Blacks 9.14 d Whitefriars 4.4
Old Brighton 10.20 d Old Trinity 6.9
Marcellin 25.14 d Mazenod 3.7

Club XVIII (North)
Old Essendon 16.14 d NOBS/SP 3.5
Old Ivanhoe 13.18 d Old Westbourne 2.2
Bulleen Temp 13.8 d Therry Penola 11.7
Banyule 15.10 d Werribee 8.5
Williamstown CYMS 16.10 d Whitefriars 7.10
Old Carey 16.14 d Kew 5.8

Club XVIII (South)
St Mary's Sal won on forfeit from Sth Melb
Old Scotch 8.13 d Hampton Rovers 4.10
Ormond 16.9 d Oakleigh 2.4
Caulfield Gram 21.10 d Old Geelong 3.2

Under 18
UHS-VU/Flem 14.13 d St Bedes/MT 5.5
Oakleigh 10.10 d Old Camberwell 5.7
St Bernards 8.7 d Therry Penola 7.2
Northern Bullants 18.11 d St Mary's Sal 1.8

No results on the website. Can anyone let us know who won and who lost.
Hawks beat St Francis by 65 pts - yes thats right, 65 points. I wouldn't have believed it if I didn't see it myself.
Ogge was my best (playing in the back line) and the big guy Collins. No 15 for St F was proabably their best.
I believe the St Francis won the reserves by a point but I could be wrong on that one.

65 pts. definately right, credit to the hawks, played well, but lost the boat race!! - and yes SFX with a well fought 1 pt win in the ressies.

Watched the first half of the GlenEira v Eltham game. All over by half time. Turtle soup anyone? Wandered down to the junction oval to secure my seat before the big game on Sunday. Sleeping bag and chair near the front of the queue, I walked over the road to see what the fuss was about at Power House. Elsternwick were kicking with the aid of a perplexing breeze in the third qtr and making a hash of the opportunities the limping Piranas gave them. Not much at orange time so I watched the final stanza expecting the fish to flog the visitors by way of home ground advantage. A bloke called Bedingfield and the grasshopper ruckman of the wicks had other ideas. Very good final qtr played with vigour by both teams but there can be only one winner and class shone through. Shane Mahony in game 300 was a tactical thorn in the house side. Playing away from his customary full back spot, worked the lines with guile! Canny bugger.
I think Smith played the last kick of the term but missed his sixth on the siren.

Had a beer with Richo and they are still a chance of finals, albeit slim!

Welcome Eltham back to D3 boys they are racing to the bottom (top?) of the relegation battle on form and fixture. Might win one of the last five.

Looking at joining this league when i move up to melbourne, parents live in maryibornong or however you spell it, was wondering if its very hard to join a club or ewhat? i know this is a stupid question for most but yeah lol a pm with info would be awesome :)

Note your location is Tasmania & Maribyrnong is where we do all our preseason - Out at Victoria Uni. Currently have 16 players from Vic Uni & captain & vice captain are from Tasmania & played in the Tassie Amateurs.

UHS-Vic Uni - check VAFA website for links phone etc

Welcome Eltham back to D3 boys they are racing to the bottom (top?) of the relegation battle on form and fixture. Might win one of the last five.[/quote]

what would u know flog? you have watched all our games this year have you? your an expert on how we are travelling are you? you know about our injuries etc do you? gee thats funny i dont think ive ever met you or spoken to you at any of our games.
just stick to what you know in the future mate and let worry about our 'problems' in D2.

Welcome Eltham back to D3 boys they are racing to the bottom (top?) of the relegation battle on form and fixture. Might win one of the last five.

what would u know flog? you have watched all our games this year have you? your an expert on how we are travelling are you? you know about our injuries etc do you? gee thats funny i dont think ive ever met you or spoken to you at any of our games.
just stick to what you know in the future mate and let worry about our 'problems' in D2.[/quote]

Hey arthur mccarthur you moron,

You posted this at 7.30pm last night! I think you should have been at training with the rest of your team instead of being online posting.

Great to see you get down to the club on a cold Tuesday night supporting your mates.

All clubs have injuries, poor form and issues during a season, MOST clubs don't get on the posting board and use it as an excuse for why your season has been dreadful.

You my friend, are an embarassment to the Turtles...who WILL be in D3 next season...

just stick to what you know in the future mate and let worry about our 'problems' in D2.

Hey arthur mccarthur you moron,

You posted this at 7.30pm last night! I think you should have been at training with the rest of your team instead of being online posting.

Great to see you get down to the club on a cold Tuesday night supporting your mates.

All clubs have injuries, poor form and issues during a season, MOST clubs don't get on the posting board and use it as an excuse for why your season has been dreadful.

You my friend, are an embarassment to the Turtles...who WILL be in D3 next season...[/quote]

Dee .... for one so "normally accurate" this is a strange statement - Ivanhoe & Yarra Valley (9th/10th) are 4 games & % behind Eltham (7th)with only 5 to go! This requires them to win 5 in a row to force Eltham back?? Just won't happen.
Poor Post & that is everyones take!!

THE EYE
:rolleyes:

Boyce strikes again.

Another week, and another trip to HQ on a tuesday night.

He must get down there a give a hand to the VAFA umpires.

Fella was given two weeks for swearing at him. Boycey seriously needs to give the umpiring game away. I would hazard a guess to say that he has reported a player for nearly every opposition team that UHS has played against :eek:

Originally Posted by Iceberg
Boyce strikes again.

Another week, and another trip to HQ on a tuesday night.

He must get down there a give a hand to the VAFA umpires.

Hawthorn: tick; Bentleigh: tick, Monash Gryphons: tick

ahhh boycey
that old chestnut
i think all thoughts and feelings on the matter were expressed last time
the read everyone gets from nikko and the other posts is he's just a bloke trying to help his club however he can- perhaps the bloke shouldnt have sworn (he conjures claiming to read nikkos mind)
lets just hope for the sake of inter-club relations he hangs up the whistle at the end of this season, UHS-VU reserves are a very good team IMO and dont need this hanging over their heads every game they play
so im sure he's a great bloke for the club and all, but this cant be a great message to put out there
onto more serious matters some (2) massive games this week the out of form joccas host the smaries and the deeees host stfranks in jumper clashathon 2008 or 9 (get with the times, we have very few working appliances out doveton way..)....any thoughts on these up-coming blockbusters crew?

ahhh boycey
that old chestnut
i think all thoughts and feelings on the matter were expressed last time
the read everyone gets from nikko and the other posts is he's just a bloke trying to help his club however he can- perhaps the bloke shouldnt have sworn (he conjures claiming to read nikkos mind)
lets just hope for the sake of inter-club relations he hangs up the whistle at the end of this season, UHS-VU reserves are a very good team IMO and dont need this hanging over their heads every game they play
so im sure he's a great bloke for the club and all, but this cant be a great message to put out there
onto more serious matters some (2) massive games this week the out of form joccas host the smaries and the deeees host stfranks in jumper clashathon 2008 or 9 (get with the times, we have very few working appliances out doveton way..)....any thoughts on these up-coming blockbusters crew?

Brian ...... 3 reports all were guilty [should he have let them off - headbutting etc?] I've played or seen all games he has umpired in 2009 & other than the shocker {holding the ball} re Bentleigh he is as good or bad as the rest as a decision maker - our full forward will say he is a shocker b/c he gives him zilch! Ask Elsternwick how good our replacement ump is [Boyce ran the Past Players Day] ....????

Here's what I don't understand

1. Why other umpires don't report such offences [can't be bothered - gutless]

2. Why anyone would bother to swear at an umpire [ones or twos] especially Boyce who everyone knows will book you b/c that is the requirement.

:confused:

I'm getting too serious here!​

Brian ...... 3 reports all were guilty [should he have let them off - headbutting etc?] I've played or seen all games he has umpired in 2009 & other than the shocker {holding the ball} re Bentleigh he is as good or bad as the rest as a decision maker - our full forward will say he is a shocker b/c he gives him zilch! Ask Elsternwick how good our replacement ump is [Boyce ran the Past Players Day] ....????

Here's what I don't understand

1. Why other umpires don't report such offences [can't be bothered - gutless]

2. Why anyone would bother to swear at an umpire [ones or twos] especially Boyce who everyone knows will book you b/c that is the requirement.

:confused:

I'm getting too serious here!​

Ok Ok, Boycey isnt a bad umpire imo. Everyone makes mistakes. Elsternwick rant and rave at their res ump too. Does he take any notice?

The biggest offenders in D3 umpires are , without doubt, A Section ( A grade???) blokes on rotation. Talk about trigger finger (er...whistle).
Thank crisps they don't umpire reserves games!!!!!!!!!

Senior teams always complain about umpires so what's wrong with the ressies?
About time some of the thuggery I've seen in reserve games became accountable. Mind you, that twit from Hawthorn reserves, omg, he set the game back 3 decades with his stupid 18 charges against a bloke last year or the year before.
Weather Tony's charges were valid or not is up to the tribunal. At least he is accountable. UHS VU reserves don't need a leg up. They won't get it in finals.

Ok. That said...lets get on to the business at hand. This weeks footy!!!!!!!

Round 14.
The Joccas take on the Glen Iris Pious.
Cracker of a game. Eummemering Creek might bog the boys from the sand belt. St Johns have too much to loose and will probable fight right down to the waterline. Saints by a whisker. Oh which one? Hmmm, home boys.

Monash v Hawthorn.
I fancy the home team will be full of inclusions this week and will take the Hawkas for a run around the park. Both are like yo yos and I guess it will come down to who is up and who's turn it is to be down. Now I'll buck the system and say Gryphons.

West Brunswick v Elsternwick.
So much to play for this week. Elsternwick have not won at the McAllister since the magpies were relegated in about 2002 or 2003. Their past meetings featured blokes who gave the game up decades ago. The wicks are finishing well lately this season and have a tilt at the 4. Slim as it is.
Wickers by a fair bit.

Bentleigh v SFX.
Saints or sinners. While Melbourne FC have distanced themselves from their traditional mascot, Bentleigh have embraced theirs and are playing like it.
Too much going right for them so sorry Sainters, they will make your drive back to beautiful Beaky not so much fun.Wish you can prove me wrong, go on give it a tilt!

Power House v UHS VU.
I won't mention the reserves but suffice to say, any senior team that can't fit Michael Verbene in has a mother of a res outfit.
The battle of the shooters Kirk v Edwards. Last cahnce for both clubs to go finals chasing. Home side, I think.
:cool:

Ok Ok, Boycey isnt a bad umpire imo. Everyone makes mistakes. Elsternwick rant and rave at their res ump too. Does he take any notice?

The biggest offenders in D3 umpires are , without doubt, A Section ( A grade???) blokes on rotation. Talk about trigger finger (er...whistle).
Thank crisps they don't umpire reserves games!!!!!!!!!

Senior teams always complain about umpires so what's wrong with the ressies?
About time some of the thuggery I've seen in reserve games became accountable. Mind you, that twit from Hawthorn reserves, omg, he set the game back 3 decades with his stupid 18 charges against a bloke last year or the year before.
Weather Tony's charges were valid or not is up to the tribunal. At least he is accountable. UHS VU reserves don't need a leg up. They won't get it in finals.

Ok. That said...lets get on to the business at hand. This weeks footy!!!!!!!

Round 14.
The Joccas take on the Glen Iris Pious.
Cracker of a game. Eummemering Creek might bog the boys from the sand belt. St Johns have too much to loose and will probable fight right down to the waterline. Saints by a whisker. Oh which one? Hmmm, home boys.

Monash v Hawthorn.
I fancy the home team will be full of inclusions this week and will take the Hawkas for a run around the park. Both are like yo yos and I guess it will come down to who is up and who's turn it is to be down. Now I'll buck the system and say Gryphons.

West Brunswick v Elsternwick.
So much to play for this week. Elsternwick have not won at the McAllister since the magpies were relegated in about 2002 or 2003. Their past meetings featured blokes who gave the game up decades ago. The wicks are finishing well lately this season and have a tilt at the 4. Slim as it is.
Wickers by a fair bit.

Bentleigh v SFX.
Saints or sinners. While Melbourne FC have distanced themselves from their traditional mascot, Bentleigh have embraced theirs and are playing like it.
Too much going right for them so sorry Sainters, they will make your drive back to beautiful Beaky not so much fun.Wish you can prove me wrong, go on give it a tilt!

Power House v UHS VU.
I won't mention the reserves but suffice to say, any senior team that can't fit Michael Verbene in has a mother of a res outfit.
The battle of the shooters Kirk v Edwards. Last cahnce for both clubs to go finals chasing. Home side, I think.
:cool:

We will give it a real red hot go sidewinder. We were embarrassed by a excellent Hawks team. Went from a massive high and a great game the week b4, against SMS to arguebly our worst performance of the season (Taking nothing away from the hawks of course) I dont think those little postcard grounds suit our game, thankfully we wont cop those "Junior" grounds in finals, if we get there!!!

We will get back on our bikes this week and take on the impressive Bentleigh team.

We will give it a real red hot go sidewinder. We were embarrassed by a excellent Hawks team. Went from a massive high and a great game the week b4, against SMS to arguebly our worst performance of the season (Taking nothing away from the hawks of course) I dont think those little postcard grounds suit our game, thankfully we wont cop those "Junior" grounds in finals, if we get there!!!

We will get back on our bikes this week and take on the impressive Bentleigh team.

How did you play? Nice bump by the big fella - your number 45 was a bit worse for wear?