D3 D3 2009

Ok, fair point. So i guess if i wait a bit more i can start pulling it out ey? Whats the acceptable timefrime in which peoples suffering becomes an available comedy topic? like when people rip out the grouse Steve Irwin Jokes (i heard that one on the day he died), or peter brock jokes(same thing). Hogans heroes, really offensive, lots of people died in that war, couple of million more than mumbai, im sure... Dont you dare find that funny.. Or MASH.. lots of women and kids died in vietnam along with the soldiers.. My god... We are all going to hell..

And the connection between Mumbai and Gryphons is what Nikko? Have I wrongly inferred a racial undertone to your reasoning?

M*A*S*H is set during the Korean war. Korea is an entirely different country from Vietnam with a different culture and ethnically distinct people.

Neither M*A*S*H nor Hogan's Heroes sought to create humour from tragedy. The humour was a way of humanising the participants in tragic events and often made to tragedy so much more poignant (I'm thinking here more of M*A*S*H and less of Hogan's which relied largely on buffoonery for it's dubious laughs).

Maybe I was being precious that day, I don't know, but as a one-off it was distasteful. Given your history I reckon you had stepped to the line a few times and this crossed over it.

And the connection between Mumbai and Gryphons is what Nikko? Have I wrongly inferred a racial undertone to your reasoning?

M*A*S*H is set during the Korean war. Korea is an entirely different country from Vietnam with a different culture and ethnically distinct people.

Neither M*A*S*H nor Hogan's Heroes sought to create humour from tragedy. The humour was a way of humanising the participants in tragic events and often made to tragedy so much more poignant (I'm thinking here more of M*A*S*H and less of Hogan's which relied largely on buffoonery for it's dubious laughs).

Maybe I was being precious that day, I don't know, but as a one-off it was distasteful. Given your history I reckon you had stepped to the line a few times and this crossed over it.

My mistake regarding mash.. and yes, you were being precious (and not just you by the way, everyone has been), and yes i have crossed lines.. though that is a matter of opinion in which light you take my comments, whether you decide im genuinly a racist scumbag (ill accept scumbag, not racist), just heartless or neither. Up to you. Frankly i dont know anyone on here, so ultimately it doesnt matter. Not intending to insult or offend people however, it happens.

Footy ey? Is anyone able to water their grounds over summer?

How much watering is Arthur St allowed with it new surface?

Saw Snomed today and he is was pretty keen on Monday nights BBQ sess after training....any clues to who the surprise guest is? Number 1 ticket holder Jack Reiwoldt is my guess.

Setshotspecialist dont take any notice of mean Nikkoteen. :cool:

its ok white nikes, i have thick skin, also the new U19's coach will be announced on monday, pity i cant play for them next yr, u comming monday white nikes? talked to left foot kick today, he cant make it

oh what a shame, next please. at least your doing your part sss. anyway it was good to read the goings on between nikko and redgum. now they might understand what it was like for bentleigh ppl earlier in this thread. theyve proved that when you are targeted you must reply with a defence. thats all that we were doing early on and everyone thinks we are morons now. hey at least our crap talk was football based... back into the topic of football and yes mother nature has done a supurb job of watering arthur street today for anyone who was asking. everyone needs it but the council waters ours regularly now since it was re done. gee there were some shocking surfaces last season! how do all the d3 grounds hold up? someone who knows them like to rate them? arthur st generally holds up very well. can get slightly bogged down in the middle in the wet but the ground as a whole is never too hard when dry. hard grounds are a killer.

Rooster's Ratings of D3 Ovals

Bentleigh - Arthur St - The few times I've played here, all late in the season, the ground has been damn heavy, or slow even in racing terms. Did include one day about 8 years ago when it hailed from go to woe in the seniors after bucketing down for the 2's. The resurface should help though and Glen Eira's over proctective nature should ensure no one even walks their dog on the oval if they don't have a permit.

St Johns - Thomas Carrol Reserve - Like carpet these days, the centre is a bit hard early and a bit boggy late, but this is one of the grounds to watch out for this season. Look for the rolled out grass on the outer side.

St Marys Salesian - Ferndale Park - Small and lumpy, but generally pretty green (well the bits that have grass) thanks to Stonnington council deciding this park was one that got watered. Not convinced about the distance from the fence to the boundary line on the northern side of the ground is regulation though.

UHS - VU - Brens Oval - Good sized, nothing much wrong with it, there is a slight hill up to one end though. No home ground advantage to speak of but you need to watch out for looters in the change rooms while your out on the ground. Hopefully they've taken up waferknuckles suggestion of coloured lines on the ground to help navigate your way to the visitors rooms.

West Brunswick - McAlistair Oval - Again, I'm biasist, every time I've played here it's either rained or hailed, even on the old western oval or that other one inbetween they play on occasionally, they're all bog heaps when it rains.

Elsternwick - Oval 2 - Well the good news for everyone here is that Bayside seem intent on moving the Wicks off this half sized sh1t heap of a dirt patch. Great home ground advantage and make sure you have a chat to Bernie in the canteen while your out there about his hotdogs if you have a spare 45 minutes

Power House - Ross Gregory Oval - Nice oval but the centre pitch is rock hard if it doesn't rain (like the past 5 years). The Albert Park doctor picks up in the afternoon so it's always harder to score goals in the second half. Undersized change rooms aren't much fun either.

Hawthorn - Rathmines Road Reserve - The aerial view has the club house end looking more like a soccer pitch on one side. Why do they insist on putting the boundary out that wide, surely you can paint the line further away from the fence so the ground is at least the right shape! Anyway, refurbished rooms are a gem, pity about the blokes who play there.

Monash Gryphons - East Caulfield Reserve - Two words - Carpet Burn. What is going on with that centre wicket? Small oval, generally good grass cover except in the middle which looks like a massive dust bowl from the boundary when it's dry. Did I mention the uncovered cricket pitch?

St Francis Xavier - SFX College - Drove past this one on my way to Bairnsdale before the Berwick and Pakenham bypasses were built once. Looks nice

Is anyone interested in a tipping competition this year?

I set one up last year for the whole VAFA and was way too much work to maintain the site.

Will just do D3 & D4 this year to make sure I can keep it up to date.

What are your thoughts on entry fee / prizes?

It's web based at www.vafatipping.com

Is anyone interested in a tipping competition this year?

I set one up last year for the whole VAFA and was way too much work to maintain the site.

Will just do D3 & D4 this year to make sure I can keep it up to date.

What are your thoughts on entry fee / prizes?

It's web based at www.vafatipping.com

Sounds good Rooster

Is Brens oval the one on Princes hwy at the Caulfield Campus or the terrible one at clayton where u have to abseil 4 flights of stairs to get to the oval from the changing room??

Sounds good Rooster

Is Brens oval the one on Princes hwy at the Caulfield Campus or the terrible one at clayton where u have to abseil 4 flights of stairs to get to the oval from the changing room??
:confused: :confused:

Missed by that much ..... :p

You need to be a monkey's uncle and live in a zoo if you haven't got a GPS - Brens is in Royal Park :rolleyes:

Sounds good Rooster

Brens Oval is Uni High in Parkville near the zoo

Monash Play on the ground at Monash Caulfield

Don't know that oval at Clayton???

Brens Oval is Uni High in Parkville near the zoo

Monash Play on the ground at Monash Caulfield

Don't know that oval at Clayton???

Monash used it as their Under 19s ground. its in the uni complex near the rest of their sport fields al la La Trobe.

The ground was pretty good i remember although it was cut to short.
The showers were good although as mentioned the rooms were across a driveway up flights of stairs. Terrible to get up when your legs are jelly

Bentleigh - Arthur St - The few times I've played here, all late in the season, the ground has been damn heavy, or slow even in racing terms. Did include one day about 8 years ago when it hailed from go to woe in the seniors after bucketing down for the 2's. The resurface should help though and Glen Eira's over proctective nature should ensure no one even walks their dog on the oval if they don't have a permit.

Power House - Ross Gregory Oval - Nice oval but the centre pitch is rock hard if it doesn't rain (like the past 5 years). The Albert Park doctor picks up in the afternoon so it's always harder to score goals in the second half. Undersized change rooms aren't much fun either.

Hawthorn - Rathmines Road Reserve - The aerial view has the club house end looking more like a soccer pitch on one side. Why do they insist on putting the boundary out that wide, surely you can paint the line further away from the fence so the ground is at least the right shape! Anyway, refurbished rooms are a gem, pity about the blokes who play there.
Wow, great wrap Rooster!! Just had a few spare minutes yesterday??
Interested to know if you've played at Arthur St much in recent times?? 3 or so years ago new drainage was installed around the ground and it holds up in the wet much better now days. I agree at times the grass gets a little on the lengthy side and understand what you mean when you call it heavy/slow.
You've made mention of a couple of the change rooms there. Ours at Bentleigh are a decent size, but with only a wooden sliding door in between, you can always hear the goings on next door.
Coaches have to whisper to talk tactics or take the boys elsewhere.
But we're always ranked highly based on room size.

Never played under 19's.

Monash i D3 play at East Caulfield Reserve on the Princes Hwy near Caulfield Station (at the end of Burke Road I think), not at Clayton

Wow, great wrap Rooster!! Just had a few spare minutes yesterday??
Interested to know if you've played at Arthur St much in recent times?? 3 or so years ago new drainage was installed around the ground and it holds up in the wet much better now days. I agree at times the grass gets a little on the lengthy side and understand what you mean when you call it heavy/slow.
You've made mention of a couple of the change rooms there. Ours at Bentleigh are a decent size, but with only a wooden sliding door in between, you can always hear the goings on next door.
Coaches have to whisper to talk tactics or take the boys elsewhere.
But we're always ranked highly based on room size.

Although not in D3, Westbourne new social rooms were fantastic, pitty that they locker rooms were small and concrete laden...Worst ive seen is Emmaus St Leos, tiny rooms and shit ground

Worst opposition change rooms I've been in are mostly not in the VAFA. These include Murrumbeena, Balwyn & Parkdale. Small dingy & in a sad state of disrepair. St Leos is pretty bad though, having a aroma of year old stale pi$$!

I agree with you on that 1. The worst rooms I have seen are definately Maribyrnong Park's in the EDFL. The spend a ridiculous amount on players and their rooms are squalor

Niko, How's the leg? hope it's improving and you'll be right for Round 1.

For Gods sake DON'T recycle Dee Three's terrible material! You're way better than that...

Yeah the legs getting better, unfortunatly my calf is the size of my forearm now... trying to get it better..

Ill be mindful of the jokes from her on in, when you compared me to Dee Three, i woke up.. Sorry guys..

How much truth is there in Elsternwick moving this year? is it just heresay or a good chance of happening?

Monash used it as their Under 19s ground. its in the uni complex near the rest of their sport fields al la La Trobe.

The ground was pretty good i remember although it was cut to short.
The showers were good although as mentioned the rooms were across a driveway up flights of stairs. Terrible to get up when your legs are jelly

Lets not forget Eltham last year, the changerooms were in middle earth somewhere and you had to take thermal blankets and flare guns in case you got lost on your way.

Bayside Council has been talking about it for years....grounds too small for senior football, oval is too close to the road & houses, would be better suited as wetlands etc etc. but in reality, councils move with the speed of wheel chair hurdlers.

I think they will just end up on the main oval when the VAFA moves to Olympic Park, which will happen when that recangle stadium is finished, so the Storm can move off the current ground so that it can be demolished, and a new AFL ovals / administration buildings built for the VAFA / Collingwood

Bayside Council has been talking about it for years....grounds too small for senior football, oval is too close to the road & houses, would be better suited as wetlands etc etc. but in reality, councils move with the speed of wheel chair hurdlers.

I think they will just end up on the main oval when the VAFA moves to Olympic Park, which will happen when that recangle stadium is finished, so the Storm can move off the current ground so that it can be demolished, and a new AFL ovals / administration buildings built for the VAFA / Collingwood

In other words, 2020 when we have all retired or are maybe getting 2 games a year at the forward pocket in the 2's? Hope its soon, would be a good ground to play on.. get rid of the mountain in the center square..

St Francis Xavier - SFX College - Drove past this one on my way to Bairnsdale before the Berwick and Pakenham bypasses were built once. Looks nice

It is nice Rooster.

Love Nikko's comment about Eltham's ground/rooms. Bloody big ground and nice surface. But it amazes me that a club or in eltham's case the school spend a sh.t load of money on new facilities on the hill there, but forget change rooms?????

Its a long trip from the change rooms to the ground. Out the door, Take a left, go around a few portables, climb up a hill, then head down into the tunnel, where you pay a toll, then try keep ure feet down the driveway and onto the ground......:D

It is nice Rooster.

Love Nikko's comment about Eltham's ground/rooms. Bloody big ground and nice surface. But it amazes me that a club or in eltham's case the school spend a sh.t load of money on new facilities on the hill there, but forget change rooms?????

Its a long trip from the change rooms to the ground. Out the door, Take a left, go around a few portables, climb up a hill, then head down into the tunnel, where you pay a toll, then try keep ure feet down the driveway and onto the ground......:D

And i always felt like i was a troll waiting for the three billygoats gruff to cross above me when we were walking to the ground..