D3 D3 2009

**laugh** i see nothing has changed in the 4 weeks i havent been here!!

looking forward to those practice matches... i'll see how the hand holds up after i had an operation to put a plate in in july last year.

have other clubs finalised their matches for march??

i've heard the gryphs have picked up a few. a couple of players that went bush are now back at the club.... could be a chance to play finals?? Anyone care to comment about their chances?

**laugh** i see nothing has changed in the 4 weeks i havent been here!!

looking forward to those practice matches... i'll see how the hand holds up after i had an operation to put a plate in in july last year.

have other clubs finalised their matches for march??

SMS have

Neerim South
Olinda
Sydenham Hillside

Dont know alot about them to be honest Nikko. Obviously you dont rate them???

I dont know much other than a bloke i work with is "envolved" with them and he told me they one 1 game last year.. And got beaten quite easily the rest of the year..

How you going on finding grounds for the praccies?

I dont know much other than a bloke i work with is "envolved" with them and he told me they one 1 game last year.. And got beaten quite easily the rest of the year..

How you going on finding grounds for the praccies?

Fair enough, I guess we will see what happens.

We are playing all of our practice matches away, so we are fine in that regard. All the teams we are playing are able to use their grounds. We cant use our ground at the moment, but its looking pretty good with a nice lush covering of green!!!

Fair enough, I guess we will see what happens.

We are playing all of our practice matches away, so we are fine in that regard. All the teams we are playing are able to use their grounds. We cant use our ground at the moment, but its looking pretty good with a nice lush covering of green!!!

lets hope it stays that way. Ours is a nice tinge of brown at the moment. You guys dont have a cricket club on your ground do you?

Drove past elsternwick park this arvo, there is no way in hell that Elsternwick will be playing there round 1 if there is not a shite load of rain in the next couple of weeks. I could spot a blade of grass!

thats standard for elsternwick park number 2, rat - theres never any grass on it anyway during the season!! no wonder blokes complain of sore feet & ankles after running around on that "concrete" oval of land!! ;)

i've heard the gryphs have picked up a few. a couple of players that went bush are now back at the club.... could be a chance to play finals?? Anyone care to comment about their chances?

id reckon monash gryphons will be up there again this year & maybe a candidate for finals. they seem to push the top teams consistently yet cant jag the game when they need to.

i know for one we wont be taking them or anyone else lightly this season...

I always thought it more of a rectangle with a tree on the forward flank..

**laugh** got to agree with that description, nikko. that tree in the pocket has nailed a few players over the years im sure!!

& what other ground in the amateurs lets you kick a goal from YOUR full back line??

**laugh** got to agree with that description, nikko. that tree in the pocket has nailed a few players over the years im sure!!

& what other ground in the amateurs lets you kick a goal from YOUR full back line??

Hawthornes was pretty close to it, im almost certain i saw a bloke kick a behind from chb there..

So if the rumour going around is true (even Half true) that due to the lack of rainfall, the VAFA are considering postponing the start of the season by 2 weeks. Could Rd 3, be the new Rd 1??

Bent v Elst
Haw V SMS
PH V Monash
SFX V UHS
STJ V WB

Hawthornes was pretty close to it, im almost certain i saw a bloke kick a behind from chb there..

i'll agree with that. rathmines road is pretty small & conducive to big scores from BOTH teams on a saturday.

how many kicks is it from one end to the other... 2, 3 tops??

So if the rumour going around is true (even Half true) that due to the lack of rainfall, the VAFA are considering postponing the start of the season by 2 weeks. Could Rd 3, be the new Rd 1??

Bent v Elst
Haw V SMS
PH V Monash
SFX V UHS
STJ V WB

so we'll have to wait 3 weeks to see who has the first bragging rights of the season!!

our game will shape up to be a beauty i reckon. elsternwick always a tough assignment anywhere & if grace fires (as he usually does) then this will be a cracker...

I wouldn't be worrying to much about Grace, Smith will be the one to watch!

Leads me to my question players to watch in 09, your thoughts?

**laugh** yes of course!! i forgot about the 6'9" man mountain... he WILL be a handful for opposition teams this year!!

i'll start with us & say james robertson will once again weave his magic on the fields of d3 this year. you can back him up with scott lawry, sean & luke holmesby & amir banks... all capable players that can impact on a game.

as for opposition, melican, pietsch, west from west brunswick, gargan & the van dam boys from st francis xavier & the said 2 from elsternwick are all able to stamp authority on a game when its needed.

i dont know of any other players but im sure i'll find out quickly once watchers from the other clubs offer their points of view!!

look out for a bloke by the name of ben zylbersztajn.

had a huge preseason in the gym and really looks the part for senior footy.

will go close for league b & f

also another smokie to keep an eye on is the fearless "james coyne"..........his small frame allows him to extract the ball from the tightest of contests, setting up a lot of the play for his teammates.

Have had big wraps on this kid for years now, just really needs to take that next step and become the star that is "Coyney"