D3 D3 2009

So DryBones, if you only played the very minimum of 44 players on the weekend (as far as i knew, praccie matches had a few extras on the bench) on a quick calculation you would claim that Bentleigh have 99 players over two teams this year. Not including blokes coming back a week before the season, or blokes who havnt trained more than twice?

Would that mean a full list of players down there this year would be approx 120-150?
Look 55 was just a figure that I was told by one of the coaches on Sunday.
I'm not saying anything about 120-150. I wouldn't expect anyone else to come out of the woods between now and the start of the season. The fact is up until a couple of weeks back we were seeing 3-4 new guys turn up to every training session.
In the end that 55 figure might include U19s as well so I don't think it's too close to the 150 figure you're suggesting.
Don't worry, everyone at our club simply knows we have a lot of players and competition for spots is going to be a very healthy thing.
What about yourselves? Don't worry about us. How are numbers at your own club Nikko?

There were 55 listed players who did not play yesterday for various reasons that have trained more than twice this pre-season. Some sort of numbers!!
So DryBones, if you only played the very minimum of 44 players on the weekend (as far as i knew, praccie matches had a few extras on the bench) on a quick calculation you would claim that Bentleigh have 99 players over two teams this year. Not including blokes coming back a week before the season, or blokes who havnt trained more than twice?

Would that mean a full list of players down there this year would be approx 120-150? Ill post some more interesting statistics..

Frank W Dux

From 1975 to 1980 Frank W. Dux fought 329 matches. He retired undefeated as the World Heavy Weight Full Contact Kumite Champion.
Mr. Dux still holds four world records:
Fastest Knockout - 3.2 seconds
Fastest Punch with a Knockout - .42 seconds
Fastest Kick with a Knockout - 72 mph
Most Consecutive Knockouts in a Single Tournament - 56

(Go watch Bloodsport with Van Damm if you dont know who this is)

Even though you were having a joke, if you must know the actual figure is 110 so no.....you weren't actually that far off.

There were 55 listed players who did not play yesterday for various reasons that have trained more than twice this pre-season. Some sort of numbers!!

Even though you were having a joke, if you must know the actual figure is 110 so no.....you weren't actually that far off.
Does that include yourself Magic, Dimma & Dennis? Maybe Trev, Blackie & Mrs Blackie as well

It is aklways good to know that at this level of footy you have plenty of numbers so that youir focus is not on trying to get a reserves side on the paddock each week but on improving your list. Bentleigh vs Heatherton should be a good gauge this week as it was a competitive hitout last year

Gday Boys , Im from Coburg Districts (Div2 WRFL) i know its late notice and we might have no hope but our practice match this Saturday has been cacelled due to the council not letting us play on the oppositions ground and ours is also out of action ....

So if any clubs want a late notice praccy match this Saturday at your ground or if anyone knows of any other teams in your league or not could you please pm me and let me know ......

Thanks Guys Good luck in 09

Look 55 was just a figure that I was told by one of the coaches on Sunday.
I'm not saying anything about 120-150. I wouldn't expect anyone else to come out of the woods between now and the start of the season. The fact is up until a couple of weeks back we were seeing 3-4 new guys turn up to every training session.
In the end that 55 figure might include U19s as well so I don't think it's too close to the 150 figure you're suggesting.
Don't worry, everyone at our club simply knows we have a lot of players and competition for spots is going to be a very healthy thing.
What about yourselves? Don't worry about us. How are numbers at your own club Nikko?

Drybones-
Numbers at our club have been very, well Numerical. Apparently there have been some sort of Dwarf throwing contests on over the last few weeks which is taking priority at the moment.

Magicroach -
If your including under 19's thats actually a believable figure. If not how come u guys arent fielding a clubbies? 40 blokes missing out each week cant be a good thing..

Drybones-
Numbers at our club have been very, well Numerical. Apparently there have been some sort of Dwarf throwing contests on over the last few weeks which is taking priority at the moment.

Magicroach -
If your including under 19's thats actually a believable figure. If not how come u guys arent fielding a clubbies? 40 blokes missing out each week cant be a good thing..

Clubbies I'll be in that. Won't happen at Bentleigh though

Thankyou everyone for all the replys. They may cease now as i have found a new home being Powerhouse. Good Luck to all and looking forward to the SMS hitout.

Nice work Lamb Flaps glad to hear a club in this division was able to attract someone with skills and football ability such as yours. Go Powerhouse!

Bentleigh's 110 would include 19's and I think a portion of the 110 will not be returning to Bentleigh as there are not that many blokes running around at training at the moment and we are only 4 weeks from the start of the season. The one and only J Coyne is yet to grace the fields of Rowans Road for training in 2009 - where is the wild child??

Numbers will be comfortable for 2 sides but can't see anywhere near enough numbers for a third side. Maybe I have not been at training enough - who knows.

Thankyou everyone for all the replys. They may cease now as i have found a new home being Powerhouse. Good Luck to all and looking forward to the SMS hitout.

Wow, arent Powerhouse lucky to recruit quality like yourself. They must be over the moon about it. Let me guess, did they get u, by offering you a ute??? Maybe you are just a superstar and they cannot believe it is happening???

Bring on the season and lets put all this bulls..t hype and rubbish talk behind us and play some footy!!!!!!

I don't know who LFL is, but it's probably worth pointing out that he never said he was too good for SMS, or that he was a superstar.
Perhaps those of you getting overly defensive and attacking him should look inward, as the bloke from Hawthorn (of all places) has suggested.
Good luck to all for the Praccies this weekend. It's been a long preseason and it'll be good to get a bit of body contact and a shot at the big white sticks.

you could be under some fire come round 5 when the house venture down to arthur street - we'll look forward to welcoming you, lfl... just give us your guernsey number so we know who you are!! ;)

I don't know who LFL is, but it's probably worth pointing out that he never said he was too good for SMS, or that he was a superstar.
Perhaps those of you getting overly defensive and attacking him should look inward, as the bloke from Hawthorn (of all places) has suggested.
Good luck to all for the Praccies this weekend. It's been a long preseason and it'll be good to get a bit of body contact and a shot at the big white sticks.

so youll be lining up primarily in the forward line this season then, redgum??

i see you have williamstown cyms at the fearon this weekend, red - battle of last years premiers... a tough game theyll give you, no doubt. you wont have to gallop that much up & down there - the ground isnt that long!! ;)

Nice work Lamb Flaps glad to hear a club in this division was able to attract someone with skills and football ability such as yours. Go Powerhouse!

Bentleigh's 110 would include 19's and I think a portion of the 110 will not be returning to Bentleigh as there are not that many blokes running around at training at the moment and we are only 4 weeks from the start of the season. The one and only J Coyne is yet to grace the fields of Rowans Road for training in 2009 - where is the wild child??

Numbers will be comfortable for 2 sides but can't see anywhere near enough numbers for a third side. Maybe I have not been at training enough - who knows.

Was there last week, you werent there however.

Perhaps he is in fear of the dodgy sprinklers that claimed B.Stevens on the weekend. Will be playing this week though.

Was there last week, you werent there however.

Perhaps he is in fear of the dodgy sprinklers that claimed B.Stevens on the weekend. Will be playing this week though.
Hmm, we don't train at Phillip Island (where the sprinkler was).
Anyway, good to hear you'll be stepping onto the park this week though.
Make or break season for the WhiteNikes!!

Hmm, we don't train at Phillip Island (where the sprinkler was).
Anyway, good to hear you'll be stepping onto the park this week though.
Make or break season for the WhiteNikes!!

Geez thanks for the confidence there DryBones!! I only hope i can improve on the wasp's 2.7.

Any reports on how Big Will Minson (aka spiritual capt of the twos) played on the weekend? Or was he getting to know the Mckinnon on sunday?

Gents. I just copied this from another thread. Hate to see how some reserves umpires that have faced in the past may interprit these new rules. It will cost teams games!

The two laws to be introduced are as follows:

a) A free kick can now be awarded for deliberate rushed behinds - the benefit of the doubt will be given to the defender;

b) Umpires to award a 25 m penalty against players who tackle, hold or make high contact against an opponent after the opponent has disposed of the football, for the purpose of preventing them from taking part in the next contest;

VAFA CEO Michael Sholly said in support of the deliberate rushed behind rule, “We believe this will lead to an even more exciting, continuous and fluent brand of football. The VAFA fully support the inclusion of both laws as it is a fundamental of our game to keep the ball in the play as the main objective. The VAFA has a responsibility to our umpires and our players who aspire to play at a higher level to learn this new skill.”

The trend of deliberate rushed behinds in recent seasons has increased at AFL and VAFA level and the board wishes to discourage this tactic.

“The VAFA tend to mirror AFL strategies whether it is defensive zones, huddles, etc, in our game play. While some might view that in the VAFA we may not see the rule as an issue, we want to be proactive and stop it before it becomes one,” said Michael.

The introduction of a 25 metre penalty, in addition to a free kick, for a player held or dragged down after he had disposed of the ball, was to head off a growing trend whereby players were being taken to ground to prevent them from being involved in the next act of play.

“The VAFA agrees with the AFL that a player has a right to contest without obstruction” Michael added.

VAFA Operations Manager Brian Goodman explained “With four weeks until the first bounce, we as an umpiring group will be diligent in educating our umpires in regard to interpretation of both these laws. We will be encouraging our umpires to enforce these laws to VAFA clubs commencing in practice matches this weekend.”

Any reports on how Big Will Minson (aka spiritual capt of the twos) played on the weekend? Or was he getting to know the Mckinnon on sunday?

Will wasn't at the Island on the weekend as he over-indulged at the home of CMCA cricket on the saturday night and had work on the Sunday arvo so was absent.

He will be pulling on the boots against Heatherton. No doubt going to be rusty but probably not as rusty as Nikes however :p

Enjoy the hitouts this weekend gentlemen.

Well Guys, Good luck for the praccies, im gonna start driving now..

ansel_mordor_desktop_1280.jpg