D3 D3 2009

sharp, robertson and kellaway are only 3 very quality names to go back into the powerful bentleigh side. think a few people on here are oblivious to bentleighs depth and some key players to come back into the side other than those 3 mentioned.

We could always go the the old "Bum F*ck Idaho dinner bell" like the Wicks.

In the words of Pauline Hansen, "please explayne?"
p.s. how's the leg?

I had the dubious honour of weilding this engineering marvel myself on the weekend. It reminded me of the bell we used to use at Primary School for recess time. I worn old wooden handle and about two kilos of brass with a clapper in the middle. Pretty low-tech but effective even through a roaring gale that blew away the tent they'd set up over us and despite the driving rain that drenched us after the tent came down.
:eek:
All the more incentive to get back on the park really!

sharp, robertson and kellaway are only 3 very quality names to go back into the powerful bentleigh side. think a few people on here are oblivious to bentleighs depth and some key players to come back into the side other than those 3 mentioned.

A 100+ goal a year forward, a former league best and fairest and a former AFL player are going to warrant a fair bit of interest/respect/curiousity, maybe bentleigh do have alot of other players to come but if none of them have the accomplishments of Sharp Robertson and Kellaway there not going to get mentioned on here

Geez, I reckon we should all stop right now and present the flag to Bentleigh for the 09 season in the 1's and 2's. :p

aka47 & phamtom not part of Benteigh fc - just outsiders looking in.

Long long way to go. Both Bentleigh sides are confident going into every game but not cocky. I for one who played in the 2's was given a tough hit out against UHS-VU 2s which we expected. They're a tall & athletic side who are very unlucky to be 0-2 IMO.

Elsternwick will be another battle.

We could always go the the old "Bum F*ck Idaho dinner bell" like the Wicks.

In the words of Pauline Hansen, "please explayne?"
p.s. how's the leg?

you know "ding ding, dinners ready, ma get off the dang roof".

The legs all better now mate, thanks for asking. Its good to get out there at training and match days again, drives you mad watching from the sidelines for 3/4rs of the season.

aka47 & phamtom not part of Benteigh fc - just outsiders looking in.

Long long way to go. Both Bentleigh sides are confident going into every game but not cocky. I for one who played in the 2's was given a tough hit out against UHS-VU 2s which we expected. They're a tall & athletic side who are very unlucky to be 0-2 IMO.

Elsternwick will be another battle.

You obviously werent referring to my stature were you..

Haha no you're an exception, just like myself. Your 2s skipper at the toss of the coin (pick which hand the whistle is in) greeted me with "G'day Sniper" & then proceeded to point you out walking to the bench. Nice blue flannelette jacket by the way :thumbsu:

yeah i was doing the running (even though i have ankles like an 80year old).. That tshirt does nothing for my figure, im pretty sure the previous owner was a guy named fat albert..

Must say up close the UHS-VU/Bentleigh jumpers was a bit of a clash and from a distance the UHS-VU guys are hard to see as they blend in with the surrounding trees and parklands.
quote]

Its all part of the stratedgy mate, this is what we will be wearing next time we play so bring your Infra Rared goggles.

Vit_mins_camo_vest.jpg

HAHA i actually said to someone on saturday as the light faded, that there was a clash with the surrounded parklands.

Round 3. Predictions, prognostications and picks.

Bentleigh host the 'wicks. Always good contests between these district clubs. Perhaps the D's home ground will be too big and lush for the sandbelt boys. High scores predicted, but who will prevent the goals leaking through defence? Who knows, maybe the wicks.

Hawthorn to sooner or later open a can of whoopass on some unsuspecting opponent. Can't see St Marys Salesian being too confident, but none the less confident. Expect a bruising encounter this week.

Powerhouse host Monash Gryphons. Hmmm. Are injuries hitting the Gryphs so soon? Will the 'house win the battle of the walking wounded? I think it will be a ripper match. House just.

St Francis Xavier host the Vultures. This looms as a corker game too. UHS VU ( channel 31) might get the chocolates in a possible goal fest.

St Johns v West Brunswick. Long trip from the varsity precinct to the Eumemming creek banks. The downtown Doveton boys are hitting form and the D4 depleted 'pies (yes most of the GF side are on walkabout) are surely going to improve after last weeks' wind effected game. Another good game looms. Could toss a coin on this one (but don't wish to be referred to as one). Jocs by a pinch...winning goal in the last minute. They just dont give up.

Just my thoughts, standing on the sidelines winding everyone up as usual.

Some big predictions by sidewinder. 2 games where he doesn't really pick a side just fence sits...nice analysis :)

Could bentleigh see the return of farren to the park for this weekends encounter?? A big night on the track ahead.

Round 3. Predictions, prognostications and picks.

Bentleigh host the 'wicks. Always good contests between these district clubs. Perhaps the D's home ground will be too big and lush for the sandbelt boys. High scores predicted, but who will prevent the goals leaking through defence? Who knows, maybe the wicks.

Hawthorn to sooner or later open a can of whoopass on some unsuspecting opponent. Can't see St Marys Salesian being too confident, but none the less confident. Expect a bruising encounter this week.

Powerhouse host Monash Gryphons. Hmmm. Are injuries hitting the Gryphs so soon? Will the 'house win the battle of the walking wounded? I think it will be a ripper match. House just.

St Francis Xavier host the Vultures. This looms as a corker game too. UHS VU ( channel 31) might get the chocolates in a possible goal fest.

St Johns v West Brunswick. Long trip from the varsity precinct to the Eumemming creek banks. The downtown Doveton boys are hitting form and the D4 depleted 'pies (yes most of the GF side are on walkabout) are surely going to improve after last weeks' wind effected game. Another good game looms. Could toss a coin on this one (but don't wish to be referred to as one). Jocs by a pinch...winning goal in the last minute. They just dont give up.

Just my thoughts, standing on the sidelines winding everyone up as usual.

Here are my tips for this week:
Bentleigh by 35pts - Feedback about Bentleigh is they are pretty strong unit right across the park - not many weak links. Ground too big for the Wick boys. Good to see B Mahoney is the best for the Wicks - good player.
The Hawks will open their account this week. Didn't see the game last week but heard that it was an improved effort by them. From reports they are finding the new game style a bit complicated at the moment but the 2's are having no trouble understanding it so its a matter of time before it clicks in the 1's. I think it will be this week.
The Gryphs by 15pts. The Gryphs are up and down like a yoyo. What will they serve up this week? I think they will be raring to go. The House will need to slow the game down and if they do then they will be in for a chance.
SFX by 15pts - Interesting game this one. SFX have surprised me with their start. I think they will keep it rolling just. Don't know much about UHS but any time with Gorringe in it has to be a chance but confidence must be high at SFX.
St Johns by 30pts - just because its a long way out to Doveton.

Good luck to all.

Team Premiership Promotion Final 4 Relegation Spoon
1 Bentleigh $1.90 $1.20 $1.04 $101.00 $501.00
2 UHS-VU $10.00 $4.00 $1.60 $61.00 $101.00
3 St. Mary's / Salesian $12.00 $4.00 $1.80 $31.00 $51.00
4 St. Francis Xavier $12.00 $5.00 $1.80 $16.00 $51.00
5 Power House $14.00 $4.00 $2.00 $11.00 $51.00
6 Monash Gryphons $14.00 $6.00 $2.40 $16.00 $51.00
7 St. John's OC $16.00 $8.00 $3.00 $4.00 $21.00
8 Elsternwick $21.00 $11.00 $3.80 $4.00 $8.00
9 West Brunswick $31.00 $11.00 $5.00 $1.20 $1.60
10 Hawthorn $41.00 $11.00 $6.00 $1.70 $4.00

Round 2 Preview:

Bentleigh over UHS-VU by 36 Pts (Bentleigh are a strong outfit no doubt, but will be pushed to the limit for about 2 and a half quarters by Uni High who will be buoyed by their opening win)
Monash over SMS by 24 Pts (The wet weather will render many games closer than they would be normally, but this in and under football should suit the Gryphs to a 'Tee' and result in a reasonably comfortable win. Tristan Russell to revel in the conditions for the home side)
Wicks over Westies by 5 Pts (Could well be four points that the Wicks savour at season's end. Don't see either of these teams figuring significantly this year)
SFX over Powerhouse by 16 Pts (Very tough one to pick, but feel that The House may struggle at Beaconsfield whilst they are somewhat depleted by injury).
St Johns over Hawthorn by 15Pts (Can't believe the odds St Johns were posted at by Rooster. The fact remains that the Hawks were Marshmallows last weekend and will have to improve dramatically to be any chance here. I don't expect big things from The Jocs this season, but the home fans should see them through

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Round 2 Review:

Quasi is reasonably pleased to have got 4/5 to get him back on track with 6/10 for the season. Clearly let down by the Gryphons though who believed their own publicity in the MONYX News and duly were left wanting by a far more committed SMS brigade. Bentleigh looks the goods, but so do Uni High (to a certain extent) who pushed the Demons all the way. SFX have started well, but have yet to play the cream. I am already worried about Westies and the Hawks who are yet to open their accounts. Could be a long season for both. The Wicks and The House, well who knows? Only time will tell...

Round 3 Preview:

St Johns over Westies by 39pts (Adam Jones is in fine form around the goals and the Jocs should have no problem disposing of West Brunswick who's depleted ranks are of concern)
Bentleigh over Wicks by 65pts (Can't believe some punters are giving Elsterwick a chance! Demons easily, with Chris Fidler to star for the home side).
The House over The Gryphons by 16pts (Results have gone the way of Powerhouse in recent years, and this fixture should be no different. Will be close all day, but the class of Glenn Wilson should be enough)
SMS over Hawthorn by 55pts (St Mary's/Salesian look the goods and Hawthorn unfortunately look very bad. The Hill brothers to star for the visitors)
SFX over UHS-VU by 6pts (Match of the round undoubtedly. Home ground advantage the deciding factor in selecting a winner. Expect a bold showing from both these sides this season and expect a shootout. Dimitri Dimakopoulos to continue his good form for the home side)

Good luck to all

Quasi

Heard through the "bush telegraph" that Greg Stafford has signed for a D3 side & will be wearing a prodominately yellow jumper this year.

Can anyone confirm?

I would say that it would be very unlikely that big stafford will be running around in d3 this year. but he'd be more than welcome.

Yes I thought he was heading out to Beaconsfield with Tivendale, but if true, (as I think it is) it would be a massive coup for SMS.

I guess we'll just have to wait & see.

Yes I thought he was heading out to Beaconsfield with Tivendale, but if true, (as I think it is) it would be a massive coup for SMS.

I guess we'll just have to wait & see.
I heard Stafford was going to play a hand full of games with ex Tigers Stephen Ryan & Mark Chaffey with Rye in the MPNFL