D3 D3 2009

other teams take note: the powerhouse giant has awoken!! we were smashed saturday by a fiercer, stronger opponent who wanted nothing more than to go & grab the hard ball... deserved victors.

west brunswick better bring their 'a' game to the "lake" this week...

Well, well. Bentleigh have a player sitting on the sidelines for a couple of weeks for striking an opponent! It was to the back of the head, not the jaw as the umpire reported. It happened when Elsternwick were 7 points down in the last Qtr. Bentleigh replaced that player. Elsternwick had one of the Mahoney boys reported soon after and not replaced. Playing 1 man down for the rest of the qtr. might have something to do with the result. (James Robertson excluded)
Do the crime, do the time. That said, Power House are double hard and play above their status in the VAFA comp. If ya can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen. Any more rhetorical quotes and my post will self destruct. G'day Nikko!

The Bentleigh player immediately accepted responsibility for stupid punch to the head and moved on. He has served his punishment and now its time for him to play footy again and make up for the two weeks he has missed. However, it was NOT his fault the umpire reported differently to how you saw it. It was NOT his fault the umpire didn't let Elsternwick replace their player. It was NOT his fault that your player also got suspended. FWIW, Bentleigh were the better side on that afternoon, and if Robertson didn't turn it on, i'm confident that others would have also stepped up.

But as Fooey has stated above, watch out for Powerhouse. (I guess continuously tipping against your own team was bound to pay off for you sooner or later Fooey)

So what are you saying here FootyFan??? Are you saying that Bentleigh are very sore losers and if its not going there way, they then try and inflict pain on unsuspecting players???

Was the ruckman reported?? Or did the umpires turn a blind eye????

My point taken from game against WB the week prior when #44 decided upon kicking an opponent that was obviously beating him.

Not that I want to get into a tit for tat type argument, but a similar kicking incident happened in the 2's against WB, which prior to this has not been mentioned. So "Glasshouses" to you LG6317.

Although it was the turning point in the game which got Bentleigh fired up, & WB failing to kick a goal after this incident.

My spies at the Bentleigh v Power House game tell me that the ruck incident was brutal and deliberate.

The Bentleigh ruckman took his eyes off the ball and deliberately kneed the Power House (Jesus with tatts) ruckman. He was rushed to hospital with a ruptured bowel and has had emergency surgery. Will be off work for months!

A cowardly dogs act is how it was reported to me.

Cue the Bentleigh morons getting online trying to defend the indefensible.

Classy bloke...classy club!

Shame...Shame...Shame...

My spies at the Bentleigh v Power House game tell me that the ruck incident was brutal and deliberate.

The Bentleigh ruckman took his eyes off the ball and deliberately kneed the Power House (Jesus with tatts) ruckman. He was rushed to hospital with a ruptured bowel and has had emergency surgery. Will be off work for months!

Shame...Shame...Shame...

Thats a massive blow to Powerhouse, that bloke was one of the best ruckmen ive seen. Must have been a massive hit to rupture his bowel.

Even worse, how do you take a dump with a ruptured bowel? I cant imagine having a bowel which is ruptured. Bowels.. funny word. BOWEL.

Hey Sidewinder.

The Bentleigh player immediately accepted responsibility for stupid punch to the head and moved on. He has served his punishment and now its time for him to play footy again and make up for the two weeks he has missed. However, it was NOT his fault the umpire reported differently to how you saw it. It was NOT his fault the umpire didn't let Elsternwick replace their player. It was NOT his fault that your player also got suspended. FWIW, Bentleigh were the better side on that afternoon, and if Robertson didn't turn it on, i'm confident that others would have also stepped up.

But as Fooey has stated above, watch out for Powerhouse. (I guess continuously tipping against your own team was bound to pay off for you sooner or later Fooey)

back on our wagon this week, wasp... ;)

Thats a massive blow to Powerhouse, that bloke was one of the best ruckmen ive seen. Must have been a massive hit to rupture his bowel.

Even worse, how do you take a dump with a ruptured bowel? I cant imagine having a bowel which is ruptured. Bowels.. funny word. BOWEL.

Hey Sidewinder.

Massive lose...however the only 2 blokes under 26 must now step up for the club. youth policy doesn't seem to be a priority down at Albert Park.

Shame...Shame...Shame...

Sounds like Bentleigh are very sore losers!!!

And If Jesus, I think that is Dave Burnside is missing months of work and the alleged incident was deliberate, Then the Bentleigh ruckman should get the same lay off.................Only Fair I reckon.

And dont they get that we as "ammo's" dont get paid to play this game, so why would you want to put a bloke in a situation where he is unable to earn an income, because he was giving you an ass whiping???? An accident you can accept, but dileberate......C'mon we are not living in the bloody 70's 80's anymore. It has me stuffed why there are people like that out there????

Hey Sidewinder.

Agree Nikko, he is a very good ruckman and will be sorely missed.

other teams take note: the powerhouse giant has awoken!! we were smashed saturday by a fiercer, stronger opponent who wanted nothing more than to go & grab the hard ball... deserved victors.

west brunswick better bring their 'a' game to the "lake" this week...

Nothing changes at Bentleigh.Whenever they come up against a team that wants the ball and has the desire the usual Bentleigh response is to put their tails between their legs and hide. They did twice against South Districts, once against Fitzroy reds in Grand Finals and will choke again this year.Ten years in the Ammos and nothing to show for it.

Hi All,

Have been a long time viewer of the forum but with the issue that has been raised regarding a bentleigh player delibrately injurying the ruckman from powerhouse i feel compelled to join & reply!!

Firstly, I think if u ask any senior bentleigh player from the weekend they will tell you that Powerhouse outplayed us for the majority of the game & deserved to win!! Disappointing from to lose but hopefully it will be a wake-up call that if we dont play at our best we cant expect to win games!!

Secondly, alot of u seem to have an opinion on an incident you did not see & have heard about through the grapevine!! I was in the middle of the ground when it happened & it was a genuine ruck contest with an unfortunate injury!! (We hope that everything is ok with the ruckman & wish him a speedy/successful recovery.) None of the players nor the umpire believed there was anything in the clash...so to claim it was a "cowardly act" when you weren't there bewilders me!!

Back to football...expecting tough nights on the track this week but looking forward to getting back on the winners list this week!!

I myself did not see the incident so I cannot comment on the actual contact, however I did notice the ruckman coming from the ground holding his stomach, many of us assumed a rib injury.
Anyway just wanted to say the thing that's surprising to me is, of the 3 (maybe 4) guys that were doing ruck work on Saturday for Bentleigh, I do not know which one it was and can't imagine any of them having that sort of malice in them.
As I said I didn't see the incident and if it was done with intent to hurt the Power House ruck then I will be interested to hear which of our rucks it was.

Nothing changes at Bentleigh.Whenever they come up against a team that wants the ball and has the desire the usual Bentleigh response is to put their tails between their legs and hide. They did twice against South Districts, once against Fitzroy reds in Grand Finals and will choke again this year.Ten years in the Ammos and nothing to show for it.

Would you say the same to Rupertswood who are in D1 & who were in C Section having never won a GF??

2000 v SMD = choke (I'll give you that one)

2001 v Fitzroy Reds - Reds were clearly the best side & didn't lose a game all year - You FAIL

2006 v SMD - South Melb Dist. were clearly the best team all year & we only beat them in 1 encounter all year out of the 4 games. You FAIL again!

Please do better research on the Bentleigh that you claim to know so much about. We were 2nd on the ladder before we went into the game against Power House & what do you know, we're still 2nd.

Maybe some players from Bentleigh might use this recent angst against them as motivation & we can hopefully bump all these "frontrunner" comments later on in the year. But hey this is only Big Footy not everyone at Bentleigh reads some of the sh1t you guys post on here.

Geez I wish you guys would make up your minds. One minute Bentleigh are sore losers and thugs that play dirty when behind and next minute they are putting their tails between their legs and running to hide. Which one is it? maybe neither.

It appears that most of you have no idea what you are talking about, make rash comments based on hearsay, and probably just jump on to stir whichever pot takes your fancy at the time.

Quite amusing to read actually.

Not that I want to get into a tit for tat type argument, but a similar kicking incident happened in the 2's against WB, which prior to this has not been mentioned. So "Glasshouses" to you LG6317.

Although it was the turning point in the game which got Bentleigh fired up, & WB failing to kick a goal after this incident.

Point taken, big difference between a trip and a kick though, and if my memory corrects me it was your umpire that had control. I was surprised myself at the time that a report was not taken and that it took your umpire so long to even pay the free kick.

Passing an IQ test was obviously not a prerequisite to join Bentleigh......

Massive LOSS....not massive LOSE!!

And an IQ test is a pre requisite at your club? :rolleyes:
On a football forum what makes you think grammar is important? Absolute joke, all this talk about the bentleigh player in question deliberately injuring the player is sickening. Everyone get a grip yes it was extremely unfortunate but that's the nature of the beast football is a physical game and injuries happen, in no way did the bentleigh ruckman deliberately injure the player in question nor should anybody ever injure somebody.

FootyFan - 2 words for you - absolute w***er. Been reading your posts for weeks and you have no clue. You come out with big rash statements and then when you get challenged, you run off with your tail between your legs. Get a life, seriously

As for the genuises on here stating that the ruck act was deliberate, keep up your Bentleigh comments all you want if you think that'll help you in some way to beat them. Players at Bentleigh, like players at all clubs, play in the ammos to have a kick with their mates, not to start fights and put people in hospital. You can keep harping on all you want but the facts won't change - the act was not deliberate. It was very unfortunate and everyone feels for the poor guy, we hope he gets better soon.

Now move on and get back to talking about footy on here. This isn't a bloody mothers meeting where we sit around bitching about what may or may not have happened down at the sunday market on the weekend. Seriously move on

Let's talk footy again - after all, this is BigFooty right? Starting to look a little like Facebook to me...

FootyFan - 2 words for you - absolute w***er. Been reading your posts for weeks and you have no clue. You come out with big rash statements and then when you get challenged, you run off with your tail between your legs. Get a life, seriously

As for the genuises on here stating that the ruck act was deliberate, keep up your Bentleigh comments all you want if you think that'll help you in some way to beat them. Players at Bentleigh, like players at all clubs, play in the ammos to have a kick with their mates, not to start fights and put people in hospital. You can keep harping on all you want but the facts won't change - the act was not deliberate. It was very unfortunate and everyone feels for the poor guy, we hope he gets better soon.

Now move on and get back to talking about footy on here. This isn't a bloody mothers meeting where we sit around bitching about what may or may not have happened down at the sunday market on the weekend. Seriously move on

Let's talk footy again - after all, this is BigFooty right? Starting to look a little like Facebook to me...

Great call, can not believe the amount of self indulgent rubbish on this board.

Pretty much starts at the top at bentleigh....what a bunch of ....... (sorry couldnt put that word in). For the assistant coach to come out after the game and say that his team was disgraceful and the senior coach was outside about to 'top' himself... i think all the early season talk has gone to their head....have a bit of respect for the opposition. What a pathetic thing to say - you got beaten by a harder and more committed team on the day.

And to the Bentleigh ruckman in the last quarter who decided to not contest the ruck but instead not look at the ball and put the knees in..... one of the weakest acts i've seen on a footy field for a long time. Hope your happy putting a bloke in an ambulance and ending up having emergency surgery.....coward!!

For all other teams....bentleigh are a bunch of front runners if i've ever seen..Watch your backs if you are beating them!!

Footy fan you are a fair dinkum ********!!!

Although the senior coach was not happy after the game (and rightly so), he had to take off quickly to a premiership reunion, nothing to do with sportsmanship! As for the assistant coach, being thumped by close to 100 points doesnt demand alot of respect!

As for the ruck incident, the ruckman involved is possibly just over 6 foot, giving away at least 6 inches! For him to have the balls to jump into a much bigger opponent shows courage, certainly not the act of a coward! have you got any other suggestions for shorter ruckman or should the tallest ruckman just always win the tap?

As for Bentleigh being front runners, we've lost one game, its pretty rare that a team goes through a season undefeated! Better to lose a game early in the season than when it really counts down the business end!
Bentleigh didn't have a great game on the weekend but Powerhouse were definately the better team on the day!

To paraphrase the fresh faced assitant coach of the Bentliegh Supremes - "The seniors couldn't have been any more atrocious (shockingly bad or tasteless; dreadful; abominable from dictionary.com) and Power House played very well."
Now one may construe this as a slap in the face of a club who played a fierce physical brand of football to finish victors and then support the home team with a strong showing in their clubrooms to purchase food and beverage only to have it stated that the main reason for them winning was that the home team played so badly.

Or one could just put it down to arrogance, inexperience and lack of tact. Either way it seemed in bad taste if not poor sportsmanship!

In fact you could say his summation couldn't have been - anymore atrocious.

I think maybe he should leave these social room speaches to the President who seemed to have a more rounded view of both teams situation and the final result.

As for the Ruckman incident - these things happen in the heat of the battle (not to compare football to war and receive the retribution that malthouse did for his "untoward"comments) and I am sure even if the the opposing ruckman did intend to be physical, as many players do, I am sure that he, along with all others involved wish the patient a speedy recovery.

In all I would say that when it came down to it Powerhouse were the better team on the day and it will be a great encounter the next time these 2 teams meet.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Passing an IQ test was obviously not a prerequisite to join Bentleigh......

Massive LOSS....not massive LOSE!!

Notice how far apart the 'E' and 'S' buttons are, Shakespeare.

After the rev up the boys receive tonight i expect the Students to receive a almighty shellacking.

Match of the round SFX v St Marys: SFX by 20 points.

Wicks in a close one over the Hawks.

The Balsa Wood Cup up for grabs: Powerhouse-Irish Lions to get the spoils over WB.

St Johns to smash the Alphabet.

All the best to all for the weekend.

Congrats to the Wasp on his 100th game!! Hope Dimma picks him for it :thumbsu: