D3 D3 2009

Since J Horn has put out his top 50 in the ammo's, I thought I would do the same from what I have seen and been told in D3 THIS YEAR. I don't think I could get to 50 so I will try for 10.

1. J Lenders (SFX)
2. M Collins (Haw)
3. A Grace (E'Wick)
4. C Armstrong (SMS)
5. D Dimakopolous (SFX)
6. J Robertson (Bent)
7. N Rutherford (Mon)
8. N Chalk (StJ)
9. L Gorringe (UHS)
10. A Pabst (SFX)

Unfortunately number 9 Gorringe from UHSVU won't finish top 5 in the VAFA voting as usual this year - after starring against St Marys in round 1 was injured - set to return this week ... training Tuesday ... crash .. broken leg! Joins the human blanket D Creek who also broke his leg against Hawks - 3rd for the year. No excuses just no luck ..PUFF Puff.
UHSVU - ALL WE NEED IS PIG FLU

Would have to say Robbo is No 1, in what I have seen this year - Ogge from Hawthorn (from what i read has been playing out of position at times) and the Mahony bros from Els would be right up there also

Round 6 Preview:

Bentleigh over The Gryphs by 46pts (No matter what injury qualms the Demons may face, nothing will save Monash from the fury of Bentleigh on the rebound. Stephen Frost to continue his stellar season)
SMS over SFX by 8 Pts (Match of the day and I tend to agree with the flood of money that has come for SMS since markets were opened earlier in the week. Just feel the home ground advantage may be enough to get them over the line)
Wicks over Hawks by 23 Pts (Can't say I agree with the many pundits who favour Hawthorn in this one. Sure they will scrap and fight, but the class factor remains a worry. If the Wicks bring their 'A Game' this will be over early on. Smith set to fire and The Hawks will be forced to play Ogge on him).
Piranhas over Westies by 59 Pts (The House will only struggle if they go in with the wrong mental attitude. Nathan Moresi to star and shoot WB into relegation contention).
St Johns over UHS-VU by 34Pts (You won't catch the Jocs being mentally weak in sucessive rounds. Ben Pickering to continue his fine season in a comfortable win

Round 6 Review:

4/5 (21/30 cumulative) as I continue to struggle with the form of the Wicks. Congratulations to the Hawks for registering their first win and making the relegation race even more open. Close games were the order of the day and good away efforts were attributed to both West Brunswick and Uni High. Bentleigh on the rebound were always going to be tough and the Gryphs suffered their wrath.

Round 7 Preview:

UHS-VU over the Gryphs by 26 pts (You simply can't have the Gryphs on current form and casualties. Captain Kirk to benefit for the away side).
Westies over the Hawks by 20 pts (Home ground advantage the deciding factor, but the Hawks may play with new found confidence after their opening win. One has to only go back 9 months and they were arguably the second best side in D3).
SMS over Wicks by 35 Pts (I will not be picking Elsternwick until they show some consistency, so therefore they are likely to win. In all honesty though, the Sainters form is as strong as anyone’s and they should be far too strong).
The House over the Joc's by 22 Pts (Expect Adam Collett to fire as The Piranhas would be less than pleased with their effort of last week. Joc's will scrap all day, but find the going a little tough in the final term).
Bentleigh over SFX by 14 Pts (Certainly match of the day. SFX were mighty unlucky by all accounts not to get the chocolates last Saturday and at home will be keen to atone. However, they meet a disciplined and highly skilled Demons outfit that has too many guns. Paul Magnifico to fire again).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Monash Gryphons over Uni High by 14 points - A real eight point game, but I expect Chris Leeton to fire up and guide the Gryphs to a narrow victory.

Hawthorn over West Brunswick by 28 points - Hawks are still an outside finals chance in my book and Richard Ogge should kick a bag with Sam Pietsch missing.

Elsternwick over St Marys Salesian by 2 points - Just have a feeling that the Wicks will be up for this one and the class of Craig Mahony will get them over the line.

Powerhouse over St Johns by 66 points - This is the bet of the week. Burnside might still be out, but I have a feeling Eddo might be pushed forward and kick a bag.

St Francis Xavier over Bentleigh by 8 points - Tough one to pick, but I think the X-Men might have a bit too much pace for the Demons.

Not much been said on this forum of late. Has there been a media ban placed on the premiers to keep a lid on things?
Any reports from the weekends game?
Weekend threw up a few surprises for me....
* the premiers beating SFX. How was the game?
* St Johns smashing the House
* the Hawks winning margin
Coach says the Hawks are progressing nicely. Can anyone report on the game for me?
Will make for a couple of interesting games after the break.

Not much been said on this forum of late. Has there been a media ban placed on the premiers to keep a lid on things?
Coach says the Hawks are progressing nicely. Can anyone report on the game for me?

SFX V Bentleigh game was a good hard game of footy. SFX had enough of the play, but did not capitalise, whereas the Bentleigh crew did. We had a 5 - 10 min lapse and Bentleigh took full advantage. Have to say that Bentleigh are a very well drilled and diciplined side. And have some big boys running around. SFX went down by 25, but it was closer than the scoreboard suggested.

We look foarward to the return match!!

Good to have the break. Need to pick ourselves up after 2 narrow defeats.

No ban.

Report from the Bentleigh v SFX game: Cloudy, with morning drizzle, with S-SW winds, cleared to a sunny afternoon. About 17 degrees.

Played on a High School oval with small goal posts at either end with sand covering the cricket pitch.

Very small changerooms with showers to the right hand side.

Hope this helps Justafan

Bentleigh need the weeks break...they will be practicing their acceptance speeches for September.

The team will be practicing the "after the Grand Final huddled around the cup, pointing the "number 1 finger" pose".

Bentleigh need the weeks break...they will be practicing their acceptance speeches for September.

The team will be practicing the "after the Grand Final huddled around the cup, pointing the "number 1 finger" pose".

Or maybe we'll be practicing the "Ben Cousins one finger pose" & direct it straight at flogs like yourself :thumbsu:

Im glad we have your support Dee Three.

Powerhouse over St Johns by 66 points - This is the bet of the week. Burnside might still be out, but I have a feeling Eddo might be pushed forward and kick a bag.

down by 20 at half time then powerhouse crumbled... the jocs are in fine form and won't be surprised if they knock off a few more big names... best bet...LOL

No ban.

Report from the Bentleigh v SFX game: Cloudy, with morning drizzle, with S-SW winds, cleared to a sunny afternoon. About 17 degrees.

Played on a High School oval with small goal posts at either end with sand covering the cricket pitch.

Very small changerooms with showers to the right hand side.

Hope this helps Justafan

Thanks Sniper for the report but I think you may be trying to mislead me....I heard from a reliable source that it was a S-SE wind....nice try ol' son....

Well with the mid-season break underway is the ladder really going to change much more, or will there be late movers and shakers???!??!?!

TEAM P W L D Pts PC
BENTLEIGH 7 6 1 0 24 151.05
ST MARY'S SAL 7 6 1 0 24 138.46
SFX 7 5 2 0 20 145.49
ST JOHNS 7 5 2 0 20 112.12
POWER HOUSE 7 4 3 0 16 88.18
ELSTERNWICK 7 2 5 0 8 94.85
HAWTHORN 7 2 5 0 8 79.56
UHS-VU 7 2 5 0 8 78.68
MONASH GRYPH 7 2 5 0 8 71.63
WB 7 1 6 0 4 72.58

* SJOCS late start but getting it done -
* SFX close loses, but are they capable of taking W's against top 2?
*Bentleigh flying atm, but can they lose the momentum?
*Powerhouse - tough team, do they have enough to maintain finals hopes?
*Hawthorn - up for the challenge?
*UHS-VU - unknown territory - expected mid-table or minimum 3rd
*Monash Gryph - i dont buy into the talk about youth policy, will they continue to have a better crack or are we to expect the same W/L ratio?
*WB maybe prefer D4 premierships?
:D

down by 20 at half time then powerhouse crumbled... the jocs are in fine form and won't be surprised if they knock off a few more big names... best bet...LOL

What do you think can be accredited to St Johns winning the last four dyl_tigerman? Was it just a slow start to the season? New players? New coach's game plan coming together?

Certainly a darkhorse IMO a the moment, who've crept up slowly into the top 4.

According to the VAFA, only 1 team will be relegated from D3 in 2009, and 3 D4 sides will be promoted!

Is this fair dinkum? Just had a look on the VAFA website - nothing there.

This was the big rumour that was going around late last year, as Southern FL was tipped to close down their Div 3 & only play 2 Divisions. They were going to shunt a couple of teams to the VAFA & a couple were going to fold meaning on 1 team was to be relegated to D3& D4.

Where are you getting your info from BigWaz, or are you just trying to get some discussion going in slow news week? :)

There was an official email sent out to clubs this morning. From my understanding the board has approved it but confirmation that it will be D3 with 12 teams won't happen until the end of the year. Either way D4 will be a ten-team comp in 2010.

So no new teams into the VAFA then? Why do you think they've decided to make D3 a 12 side comp instead of D4 Harper or Abba Lonie?

Here is the brief:

In an editorial last year, I discussed my concerns about our bottom section, D4, having the largest number of teams. Without relegation it is fairly safe to assume that D4 section would have to contain the largest imbalance of the seven senior sections.
In addition with twelve teams and only two promoted, it is the most difficult from which to advance.

As a result the Board has approved that in 2010, section D3 will comprise twelve teams and D4 ten. At the conclusion of the 2009 season, three teams will be promoted from D4 and only one relegated from D3.

The Board is advising the clubs now of this change of next season’s structure so they can prepare accordingly.

The Football sub-committee has appointed a steering committee to report to the Board Seminar in October on the Section they believe to be the best fit for 12 teams. This committee would welcome any comments from clubs: they can be sent to me at michael@vafa.com.au.

Regards

Michael Sholly
Chief Executive Officer

I would have thought 12 teams in A-Grade would have been the way to go - like in the EFL.
you'll notice that there are two conflicting statements in the email. On one hand it says d3 will be 12 teams, on the other it says that the section with 12 teams will be decided in October. It wouldn't surprise me to see either a section or d1 as the 12 team grades

I would have thought 12 teams in A-Grade would have been the way to go - like in the EFL.

I would have thought so too. But I think there's a bit of class distinction between A-Grade & B-Grade. For instance St Bedes Mentone were labelled a B Grade side right up until the finals by the "Premier Old Boy Collegian sides." The A-Section toff sides would be up in arms about letting a B-Section side an armchair ride into the top division.