D3 D3 2009

Actually the umpiring was terrible with bad decisions going both ways! I got a sore neck from constantly shaking it from left to right. But D3 standard get D3-D4 umpires.Actually, one umpire was from A section and it showed. A complete tosser!

Long story short, Bentleigh kicked 9 goals to 1 in the first quarter & it was pretty even after that, with Bentleigh only kicking 11 goals after that for the match.
Qtr time margin was final margin also.

Hawks over UHS-VU by 1 Pt (Tempted to tip a draw as I have not seen a more even game on paper for some time. Uni High's form of late has been solid, but the Hawks have been improving as the season has unfolded and may have enough in the tank to just get over the line at home).

Not bad Quasi! Bonus points for tipping the correct margin?

Where is everyone? Very boring on here of late. Maybe we need some A-Section type incidents happening this weekend to spark things up a bit. Check the A-Section board out boys - very interesting reading.
My tips for this weekend:
Bentleigh over Uni High - don't count on the Uni High blokes to give up
Powerhouse over the Gryphs - not too much going right for the Gryphs at the moment and how the House got over the line against the Hawks a couple of weeks back I'll never know
SMS over The Hawks - if C Armstrong doesn't play then it might be a big closer
SFX over W B'wick
St Johns over El'wick - I saw on the website that S Grace is suspended due to non attendance at the tribunal - this will hurt them.
Good luck to all those playing on the weekend.

Where is everyone? Very boring on here of late. Maybe we need some A-Section type incidents happening this weekend to spark things up a bit. Check the A-Section board out boys - very interesting reading.

You're not wrong Justafan. Thanks for the tip.

EDIT: From what I hear there has been bad blood between St Bedes & Old Essendon for a few years now - riveting stuff though.

A little bit going on up in D1 Section as well involving everyone's favourites, Werribee

Round 10 Preview:

SMS over the Gryphons by 51 Pts (The Gryphs are heading for D4 with haste and so the Saints should have no trouble in hammering another nail in their coffin. The only way this contest will be such is if SMS go in with a complacent attitude).
The Joc's over Westies by 3 Pts (Very tough one to tip and with my recent form, it is likely to go the other way. However, St Johns are tenuously clinging to 4th spot and will not want to let this slip).
Bentleigh over the Wicks by 21 Pts (Even though Elsternwick match up well against the Demons and carry consistent form into the match, I am not tipping against Bentleigh again. Paul Magnifico to star in a high scoring affair).
Hawks over UHS-VU by 1 Pt (Tempted to tip a draw as I have not seen a more even game on paper for some time. Uni High's form of late has been solid, but the Hawks have been improving as the season has unfolded and may have enough in the tank to just get over the line at home).
SFX over The House by 11 Pts (Another tough game to tip. Match of the day in my book. I was impressed by the ferocity of the lads from Beaconsfield last round and Powerhouse were arguably lucky to get over the line against Hawthorn. If the Hawks can get within a couple of kicks at Ross Gregory then SFX should do a little better and take the chocolates).

Round 10 Review:

Glad to be back on the positive side of the ledger (4/5 - 30/50 cumulative), the only blemish being the 'slight' upset win of Westies over the Joc's. Antipodean fortunes at Ferndale Park as the SMS boys produced their most scintillating performance yet, while the Gryphons were compared to marshmallows by many observers. Strong wins also to the Demons and SFX may well have sealed the fate of both the Wicks and the Piranhas. As predicted the contest at Rathmines was a thriller and the Hawks may look back on those precious 4 points as the ones that keep them in D3 come season's end.

Round 11 Preview:

Bentleigh over UHS-VU by 68 Pts (If there is a more consistent Footballer in D3 than Paul Magnifico, I am yet to see him. Can't see the Vultures being in this one at any stage).
The House over the Gryphons by 36 Pts (The Piranhas have been in poor form of late, but their opponents would struggle with the local U/12s! Powerhouse easily with Nick Bull to continue his fine form).
SMS over The Hawks by 65 Pts (Can't see the Saints kicking 30 again, but then again can't see Hawthorn getting anywhere near them. Tom McDermott to be in everything).
SFX over Westies by 41 Pts (Another fixture that appears a forgone conclusion on paper. A win here to the Beaconsfield boys and September action is a certainty).
Wicks over the Joc's by 11 Pts (Match of the round clearly as it is seemingly the only contest that could go either way. I favour Elsternwick though, as their form has been good of late - save for one awful quarter against the Demons - whilst St Johns have been indifferent all season. Still plenty to play for though and the boys from Doveton will surely make this as unpleasant an experience as possible for the Red & Blacks).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Can I just say that the UHS-VU umpire in the magoos is the worst I've seen all year. His decisions weren't just wrong, but he was blatantly cheating to try to get his side back in the game. I know there are 2s umpires out there that do this, but this was unforgivable because he's apparently their president as well.

One time, a bad decision was given against one of our players for holding the ball, 25 was then giving for the player involved remonstrating.... That happens all the time right?
So I tell our players, 'It's ok, those things happen, we'll probably get one back later.' to which the umpire calls over our captain and tells him, 'If that guy (pointing at me) says a word to me, or even looks at me.....HE'S OFF'
What a W@nker. Better not try to calm your players down or you'll be sent off.

He also did the same thing for two blokes bumping each other at a ball up....

Some of his other decisions were terrible... They got 3 goals in a row from free kicks just from him.

If you're coming up against UHS-VU, be prepared for this guy. You can't miss him. Long hair, glasses, hat, bad mustache.... something from the 1970s really.

Can I just say that the UHS-VU umpire in the magoos is the worst I've seen all year. His decisions weren't just wrong, but he was blatantly cheating to try to get his side back in the game. I know there are 2s umpires out there that do this, but this was unforgivable because he's apparently their president as well.

One time, a bad decision was given against one of our players for holding the ball, 25 was then giving for the player involved remonstrating.... That happens all the time right?
So I tell our players, 'It's ok, those things happen, we'll probably get one back later.' to which the umpire calls over our captain and tells him, 'If that guy (pointing at me) says a word to me, or even looks at me.....HE'S OFF'

Some of his other decisions were terrible... They got 3 goals in a row from free kicks just from him.

If you're coming up against UHS-VU, be prepared for this guy. You can't miss him. Long hair, glasses, hat, bad mustache.... something from the 1970s really.

He's been doing this for 10 years, Boycey is a joke, rumour has it a few years ago one of the Esternwick boys fixed him up at an VAFA function. I may not of happened but knowing how people react to his umpiring, it probably did.

I remember, whilst injured earlier in trhe season, running water for our 2's. I was told that running water was only allowed to come on after a goals had been scored (New VAFA Rule).

As it was a warm day I asked both umpires what the hell I could do. Our umpire told me that we have to abide by the rules, when the UHSVU umpire buts in and has his 2 bobs worth. He told me that he did not care what the VAFA rule was and I could as long as I stayed out of the play. An arguement started and he went on and on about utter sh.t. I interuppted him and said, I could not give a rats what he thought, I wanted to know the VAFA rule. He then sent me off the ground because I questioned him.

I agree with you BlackMamba, your not the only one that has accused him of cheating..........There is a common trend with this bloke, who obviously knows nothing about the game of football and sportsmanship!!!!!

Your an absolute joke buddy. I was playing on sat, and apart from the bloke that started in the forward pocket, all the rest of your team did all day was sook, sook and more sook. That includes your coach and bench. I havnt heard a side b1tch and moan more than you guys.

The bloke that was sent of in the middle was sent off for headbutting one of our players, but I guess Boyce should have just let that go. How old was that guy anyway? 60? He looked like he just got out of the slammer for dealing meth.

Week after week we play sides with horrible umpires, Powerhouse, Hawthorn (THE WORST BY FAR) AND Elsterniwick (a close 2nd) and nobody mentions it.

Boyce never gives us anything to the point where we have a go at him, and somehow people still complain. Your probably sooking for him giving free kicks for a bloke puting his head over it then u guys smashing him head high. That happened alot. Maybe if you werent all outside players, put ur head over the aggit and played the game the frees would have gone your way.

As for him "getting us back in the game", thats a load of bull. We were "in" the game all day, and you have so many tickets on yourselves you cant handle getting challenged.

I can see why your STILL having a whinge from the weekend, Continuing your whining form from sat.

You Spanner.

I remember, whilst injured earlier in trhe season, running water for our 2's. I was told that running water was only allowed to come on after a goals had been scored (New VAFA Rule).

As it was a warm day I asked both umpires what the hell I could do. Our umpire told me that we have to abide by the rules, when the UHSVU umpire buts in and has his 2 bobs worth. He told me that he did not care what the VAFA rule was and I could as long as I stayed out of the play. An arguement started and he went on and on about utter sh.t. I interuppted him and said, I could not give a rats what he thought, I wanted to know the VAFA rule. He then sent me off the ground because I questioned him.

I agree with you BlackMamba, your not the only one that has accused him of cheating..........There is a common trend with this bloke, who obviously knows nothing about the game of football and sportsmanship!!!!!

Im pretty sure I remember you buddy, were you the bloke who was running around the ground telling all of your players where all of our players were, changing matchups and coaching from on the ground?

Stick to running water and keep your mouth shut and he wont have a go at you.

You too are a spanner.

i think what most people dont seem to realise is that we are playing the second-lowest available level of footy, so as a result we get that standard of umpiring.
As an impartial observer of the game quite a few things were apparent
1) Bentleigh seem to have gotten a bit ahead of themselves (in the 2's, theyre 1's are dominating) they played almost completley different against us the other week than they did earlier in the year
2) The Bentleigh coach needs to calm down (what is he 19?) the kid can coach, from what i saw, but he also lost the plot and nearly cost his team the game, he needs to take a chill pill
3) UHS-VU have some massive boys who can play good footy and are bloody stiff (IMO) to not be in the top 4
4) The rounder umpire (im assuming reading the posts that he was the bentleigh bloke) didnt pay a free kick for the game
5) The other one (who is the UHS-VU bloke by the power of deduction) blantantly cheated in the last quarter, yes it is very hard to umpire the game but 3 decisions were mind blowing. The first was the holding the ball decision against a bloke who wasnt being tackled. The second was the shephard in the ruck where the bloke wasnt actaully competing against anyone (25 mtrs out from goal) and the third was the free kick against the coach (who shouldnt have said anything) but didnt swear, abuse or do anything wrong that i could hear
The bloke was on a power trip ( i heard he also interrupted the coaches pre-match speech to inform the players he was a finalls standard umpire and was doing it 'for the coach'- not sure thats part of the umpires job...any input bentleigh boys?
but once again its D3 2's footy, thats got to be expected doesnt it...it goes both ways throughout the year and its happens at all the lower standards of vafa footy
oh and the bloke deserved 6 for that dirty dirty headbut, but after the game he seemed to realise his mistake, and we all make 'em:(

Im pretty sure I remember you buddy, were you the bloke who was running around the ground telling all of your players where all of our players were, changing matchups and coaching from on the ground?

Stick to running water and keep your mouth shut and he wont have a go at you.

You too are a spanner.

Get over yourself Nikko.

I was just making a point. When an arguement breaks out between the 2 umpires, water and runners and its his way or no way then....???? Who knows. Especially when the arguement was about a VAFA rule!!

Good luck for the rest of the season.......Go Vultures!!!

Get over yourself Nikko.

I was just making a point. When an arguement breaks out between the 2 umpires, water and runners and its his way or no way then....???? Who knows. Especially when the arguement was about a VAFA rule!!

Good luck for the rest of the season.......Go Vultures!!!

Its hard to get over yourself when your as goodlooking as I am. I too was making a point.

I see that old Boycey is up to his old cheating way again by the sound of it. He is unquestionalby the worst umpire running waddling around. he is a blatant cheat! umpire do make bad decisions and you see some rippers in the reserves but you don't see many cheat like him. Sorry Nikko but the rest of D3 can't be wrong and also D4 before had.

guru out!

Now Sean H (7 Bent) Black Mamba with no bite small/overweight etc Enjoy your name up in lights & identified??

As a writer you are a distinct disappointment

One game earlier when we had to win against Hawthorn we were 1 point up with 30 seconds to go and Boyce paid a contentious free kick to Hawthorn inside the 45 (couldn’t believe the cheat?) Hawks player goaled – game over – we lose by 5 points & just about goodbye finals – he reckons it was there.
Free kicks for goals – we got one in the last quarter for the shepherd that allowed your ruckman (56 – nearly BOG except for Westy) to have a free tap – there were 20 players around the ball up so no wonder the spectators couldn’t see the block. Agreed the free for holding the ball was rough but it was in the 2nd quarter & the player threw the ball away {not remonstrate like you say} 25 meters & a point resulted – no goal. All other goals were from general play.
Played briefly on you & all you wanted to do was commentate & argue decisions – no point talking to umps, that why I don’t.
Hey Sean what did you think of the coach telling the umpires what to do from the bench – what do you think they will do in the finals? Take his advice!! Lucky the ump paid the free kick now so he will pull his head in & what about sending on a replacement for 5 mins for the clown that head butted our first gamer. Seriously think the coach needs to brush up on the rules.
Do you condone the head butt that everyone saw – hope he has no priors b/c he will miss the finals. Same bloke hipped our player in the head as he picked up the ball – another dog act. Why didn't the Bent ump report as well?? Right in front of him in the middle after a goal scored. Boyce is the only one prepared to give up his Tuesday night. Sth Melb ump sends 2 opposition off every week then "lets them off" - thats a cheating tactic. On Sat it was the least free kicks paid this year. Good game played by 2 good ressie teams.

i think what most people dont seem to realise is that we are playing the second-lowest available level of footy, so as a result we get that standard of umpiring.
1) Bentleigh seem to have gotten a bit ahead of themselves (in the 2's, theyre 1's are dominating) they played almost completley different against us the other week than they did earlier in the year
2) The Bentleigh coach needs to calm down (what is he 19?) the kid can coach, from what i saw, but he also lost the plot and nearly cost his team the game, he needs to take a chill pill
3) UHS-VU have some massive boys who can play good footy and are bloody stiff (IMO) to not be in the top 4
4) The rounder umpire (im assuming reading the posts that he was the bentleigh bloke) didnt pay a free kick for the game
5) The other one (who is the UHS-VU bloke by the power of deduction) blantantly cheated in the last quarter, yes it is very hard to umpire the game but 3 decisions were mind blowing. The first was the holding the ball decision against a bloke who wasnt being tackled. The second was the shephard in the ruck where the bloke wasnt actaully competing against anyone (25 mtrs out from goal) and the third was the free kick against the coach (who shouldnt have said anything) but didnt swear, abuse or do anything wrong that i could hear
The bloke was on a power trip ( i heard he also interrupted the coaches pre-match speech to inform the players he was a finalls standard umpire and was doing it 'for the coach'- not sure thats part of the umpires job...any input bentleigh boys?
but once again its D3 2's footy, thats got to be expected doesnt it...it goes both ways throughout the year and its happens at all the lower standards of vafa footy
oh and the bloke deserved 6 for that dirty dirty headbut, but after the game he seemed to realise his mistake, and we all make 'em:(

Brian - impartial one – your rooms are separated by a concertina door Boyce said he would try to umpire like a finals game not that he was a finals umpire – huge difference – exactly what he said to us. AND HE DID! Minimal frees & onto high hits straight away! Get it first hand not third!

And the Bentleigh Ump who didn't pay a kick all day as you say - what was he there for then?? Just makes it hard for all players! Your opinion?:confused:

The worst thing about this post. Is its all true

Brian - impartial one – your rooms are separated....
Nikko, once again like to point out NOT a Bentleigh poster, player, official or any other. Was actually there as an impartial observer doing some forward work for a team that plays both sides in the next 2 weeks (ill give you a minute or so to figure out who that is.......)
It was a really high standard game for 2's footy, and a hard, tough one too
im in no way trying to protect the Bentleigh umpire, just saying he didnt pay anything...thats not great either
one other interesting point is id say the UHS-VU 2's were almost better than their ones...played a very uncompromising brand of footy, cant believe theyre not in the 4.
but i reckon everyone else has pointed out that this bloke has some priors in terms of el dodgo decisions...he's not you is he?:eek:

Brian - impartial one – your rooms are separated....
Nikko, once again like to point out NOT a Bentleigh poster, player, official or any other. Was actually there as an impartial observer doing some forward work for a team that plays both sides in the next 2 weeks (ill give you a minute or so to figure out who that is.......)
It was a really high standard game for 2's footy, and a hard, tough one too
im in no way trying to protect the Bentleigh umpire, just saying he didnt pay anything...thats not great either
one other interesting point is id say the UHS-VU 2's were almost better than their ones...played a very uncompromising brand of footy, cant believe theyre not in the 4.
but i reckon everyone else has pointed out that this bloke has some priors in terms of el dodgo decisions...he's not you is he?:eek:

No not him. Im about 40years younger and still play. It is just extremely annoying with the sh1t that we (uni high 2's) put up with every week, and never say a word about. The 2 blokes that ump for us give us sweet F all and the minute we get a couple of frees everybody sooks and carries on. Why doesnt every1 just accept that even if we may have been given a free that could be considered dubious, the bloke truely believes it was there and has to make a call in about a second?

Like ive said there are far worse umpires around. Hawthorn ump the 1st game we played against them for example, he gave hawthorn a free, for nothing. But really nothing, one of our players asked "what for?" and he got a 25 against him. Our player said "but" and another 25 was given. our player said "jeez" and he sent him off. No swearing, didnt threaten the ump or anything, as a matter of fact, he wasnt even near the hawks bloke that got the FREE. He sent off one of our best players 10minutes into the 4th qtr. We lost by 8 points. thats cheating. Not paying a kick you genuinly believe is there.

Maybe everybody should just get better, stop doing sh1t thats outside the rules and shut up.

firstly let me say i atually think footy would have to be the hardest game in the world to umpire...so much can be up to interpretation
like i said ive seen bentleigh 2's play twice in the past 2 weeks and theyve been really undisciplined...most of the time frees against them have been deserved-i just couldnt believe the 3 i pointed out previously...aside from any other thoughts on anything, id say they were blatant
and most D3 reserves umpires arent going to be great, id just personally think that there is no place for umpires to adress the players before the game..whether he did it to both sides or one, just umpire the game (which was played in excellent spirits id say outside of umpire related incidents) lets be realistic
the only way this will improve is if the vafa pays for umpires maybe from junior leagues that play on sundays (like the old moorabbin saints league did/still does) and get them to umpire
then we wouldnt be on here talking about bias...just regular conversations about how bad umpires are...

Now Sean H (7 Bent) Black Mamba with no bite small/overweight etc Enjoy your name up in lights & identified??

Not sure you want to be naming people on this forum. Part of what makes it such a lively discussion is the anonymity we all get.

We all hide behind it but that's the way it is.

Now you've outed one other poster I think it's only fair that you tell us all what your name is.

These things have a way of coming back.

Not sure you want to be naming people on this forum. Part of what makes it such a lively discussion is the anonymity we all get.

We all hide behind it but that's the way it is.

Now you've outed one other poster I think it's only fair that you tell us all what your name is.

These things have a way of coming back.

They sure do mate. Just call me Hollywood for now.

I'm not really fussed about being named.... Well done nikko, you've really just shown us how much of a hero you actually are.

Writer? Don't know where you got that one from mate. Tell us your name, number and occupation and I'll let you know what I actually do.

The headbutt? I didn't see it. I was standing in front of it, facing the ball. I was told it was just a gesture to headbutt, with no or minimal contact actually made. But I can't really comment on it seeing as I didn't see it.
What I do know is that 'Boyce' was watching the whole thing, so he would've seen the holding, and should've paid the free kick before any of that happened. If he did that instead of cheating, it wouldn't have happened, and he could've avoided having to 'give up his Tuesday night.'

So you played on me did ya? Pretty funny you say that all I did was 'commentate & argue decisions' seeing as I didn't say a thing all day. I went quiet after being told off for trying to get our players to stop arguing. You wouldn't want to say anything to an umpire who threatens you after you back him up.

So come on superstar....tell us your name and number, now that we don't play you for the rest of the season!

Finally posts worth reading after a quiet few months on here. Thanks boyce for keeping us entertained with your interpretation on the game over the years. Hopefully though you have umpired your last game. We are not playing for sheep stations but we do expect the men in white to be as impartial as possible. If you do umpire again I hope a vafa rep is in attendence. I believe it is within their right to call of a game. UHS how can you continually allow this guy to represent your club.
Shame shame shame