D3 D3 2009

Ok Ok, Boycey isnt a bad umpire imo. Everyone makes mistakes. Elsternwick rant and rave at their res ump too. Does he take any notice?

The biggest offenders in D3 umpires are , without doubt, A Section ( A grade???) blokes on rotation. Talk about trigger finger (er...whistle).
Thank crisps they don't umpire reserves games!!!!!!!!!

Senior teams always complain about umpires so what's wrong with the ressies?
About time some of the thuggery I've seen in reserve games became accountable. Mind you, that twit from Hawthorn reserves, omg, he set the game back 3 decades with his stupid 18 charges against a bloke last year or the year before.
Weather Tony's charges were valid or not is up to the tribunal. At least he is accountable. UHS VU reserves don't need a leg up. They won't get it in finals.

Ok. That said...lets get on to the business at hand. This weeks footy!!!!!!!

Round 14.
The Joccas take on the Glen Iris Pious.
Cracker of a game. Eummemering Creek might bog the boys from the sand belt. St Johns have too much to loose and will probable fight right down to the waterline. Saints by a whisker. Oh which one? Hmmm, home boys.

Monash v Hawthorn.
I fancy the home team will be full of inclusions this week and will take the Hawkas for a run around the park. Both are like yo yos and I guess it will come down to who is up and who's turn it is to be down. Now I'll buck the system and say Gryphons.

West Brunswick v Elsternwick.
So much to play for this week. Elsternwick have not won at the McAllister since the magpies were relegated in about 2002 or 2003. Their past meetings featured blokes who gave the game up decades ago. The wicks are finishing well lately this season and have a tilt at the 4. Slim as it is.
Wickers by a fair bit.

Bentleigh v SFX.
Saints or sinners. While Melbourne FC have distanced themselves from their traditional mascot, Bentleigh have embraced theirs and are playing like it.
Too much going right for them so sorry Sainters, they will make your drive back to beautiful Beaky not so much fun.Wish you can prove me wrong, go on give it a tilt!

Power House v UHS VU.
I won't mention the reserves but suffice to say, any senior team that can't fit Michael Verbene in has a mother of a res outfit.
The battle of the shooters Kirk v Edwards. Last cahnce for both clubs to go finals chasing. Home side, I think.
:cool:

Love your work Sidey. Must comment on this one - Michael Verberne is a washed up old man who gets injured every 2nd week. Go House!!

We will give it a real red hot go sidewinder. We were embarrassed by a excellent Hawks team. Went from a massive high and a great game the week b4, against SMS to arguebly our worst performance of the season (Taking nothing away from the hawks of course) I dont think those little postcard grounds suit our game, thankfully we wont cop those "Junior" grounds in finals, if we get there!!!

We will get back on our bikes this week and take on the impressive Bentleigh team.

Victoria Park is the whisper for D3 finals, but don't quote me;)

what would u know flog? you have watched all our games this year have you? your an expert on how we are travelling are you? you know about our injuries etc do you? gee thats funny i dont think ive ever met you or spoken to you at any of our games.
just stick to what you know in the future mate and let worry about our 'problems' in D2.

Hey arthur mccarthur you moron,

You posted this at 7.30pm last night! I think you should have been at training with the rest of your team instead of being online posting.

Great to see you get down to the club on a cold Tuesday night supporting your mates.

All clubs have injuries, poor form and issues during a season, MOST clubs don't get on the posting board and use it as an excuse for why your season has been dreadful.

You my friend, are an embarassment to the Turtles...who WILL be in D3 next season...[/quote]

flog, we train monday and thursday hence why i was not at training last night.

im well aware that all clubs have injuries and poor form during the season, and im making no excuses at all. our form over the last prob 4 wks has been poor and we know that.

i just didnt agree with sidewinder watching a half of one of our games and proclaiming we would be in d3 next yr when really he knows nothing about us.

Victoria Park is the whisper for D3 finals, but don't quote me;)

Fitzroy Stars from the Northern League have been playing there this year and reports are it has seen better days. Also the council will not allow any alcohol to be drunk or solid at the ground which will put a downer on any finals celebration.

Not sure Micky has a PC or knows how to operate one to be honest. Don't worry - he knows hes old - we tell him that constantly. :D

Hey Vegemite,

Verberne was washed up and old many many years ago.

My sources suggest that he was "carried" through the 2006 season and only given a game in the winning Grand Final team for "sentimental reasons".

He should have retired back in 2003 (which is when Richo should have also retired).

But back to Verberne...has he learned to handball yet?

Hey Vegemite,

Verberne was washed up and old many many years ago.

My sources suggest that he was "carried" through the 2006 season and only given a game in the winning Grand Final team for "sentimental reasons".

He should have retired back in 2003 (which is when Richo should have also retired).

But back to Verberne...has he learned to handball yet?

Can't say I disagree with you there D3, although I must admit, from what I've seen he's raking in the handball stats as always has!!!!

Big weekend for the House - 50 year reunion of our 1st premiership luncheon and a must win game against UHS.

Some big games this week at both ends of the ladder. Here are my tips:

Bentleigh over St Francis Xavier by 44 points - Demons at home will be far too strong against a SFX outfit that are starting to show signs of fatigue.

Hawthorn over Monash Gryphons by 12 points - A real relegation eight pointer, but the Hawks form over the past month has been slightly better and some may argue they should be challenging for a finals berth if not for a slow start to the season.

West Brunswick over Elsternwick by 7 points - Another tough one to pick, but Sam Pietsch should be available given Melbourne plays on Sunday.

Powerhouse over Uni High by 33 points - Uni High really struggling and unless they can get Boycey to umpire the ones it will be all the House here.

St Marys/Salesian over St Johns by 18 points - Yet another tough one, but think the class of Cam Armstrong and Al Dwyer will get the combine the four points.

Some big games this week at both ends of the ladder. Here are my tips:

Bentleigh over St Francis Xavier by 44 points - Demons at home will be far too strong against a SFX outfit that are starting to show signs of fatigue.

Hawthorn over Monash Gryphons by 12 points - A real relegation eight pointer, but the Hawks form over the past month has been slightly better and some may argue they should be challenging for a finals berth if not for a slow start to the season.

West Brunswick over Elsternwick by 7 points - Another tough one to pick, but Sam Pietsch should be available given Melbourne plays on Sunday.

Powerhouse over Uni High by 33 points - Uni High really struggling and unless they can get Boycey to umpire the ones it will be all the House here.

St Marys/Salesian over St Johns by 18 points - Yet another tough one, but think the class of Cam Armstrong and Al Dwyer will get the combine the four points.

Your right buddy, the twos won by 80points last week because Boyces gave us free kicks. Well done spoon.

Just had a thought.... wouldn't it be good if Tony Boyce actually posted on Big Footy? I would to love reading his eccentric & querky posts, if his pre-game & post-game speeches in the opposing team change rooms, are anything to go by.

Also it would give Boycey a chance to defend himself & explain his obsession with giving up his Tuesdays nights at HQ, rather than his bodyguard Nikko defending him all the time. Maybe you could set him set on Big Footy Nikko?...food for thought.

Just had a thought.... wouldn't it be good if Tony Boyce actually posted on Big Footy? I would to love reading his eccentric & querky posts, if his pre-game & post-game speeches in the opposing team change rooms, are anything to go by.

Also it would give Boycey a chance to defend himself & explain his obsession with giving up his Tuesdays nights at HQ, rather than his bodyguard Nikko defending him all the time. Maybe you could set him set on Big Footy Nikko?...food for thought.

Not a bad Idea, but then everybody would have something else to whinge about, "awww, boyce posted again and gave me a virus on my computer, waaaahhhh..".. would just be giving blokes on here more ways to not take responsibility for their actions.

First time poster in this thread- probably will regret it.

On Boyce I actually didn't mind his umpiring too much on the weekend, his passion is obvious and there are obviously certain things he really dislikes but all umpires have those. But I can't help but feel he handles players poorly at times coming in yelling at them does nothing but fire them up where as a calm approach would earn him more credit.

Also a few of your players did mention at the end of the game they wish he didn't do the above and acknowledged he does favor his own team a bit- but for mine thats only natural and wasn't overt.

It was a much improved performance than earlier in the year.

p.s. would it kill him to throw the ball up properly.

First time poster in this thread- probably will regret it.

On Boyce I actually didn't mind his umpiring too much on the weekend, his passion is obvious and there are obviously certain things he really dislikes but all umpires have those. But I can't help but feel he handles players poorly at times coming in yelling at them does nothing but fire them up where as a calm approach would earn him more credit.

Also a few of your players did mention at the end of the game they wish he didn't do the above and acknowledged he does favor his own team a bit- but for mine thats only natural and wasn't overt.

It was a much improved performance than earlier in the year.

p.s. would it kill him to throw the ball up properly.

Fig ... sweet smelling one

I'll mention this tomorrow [ball & calmness]. Know he got upset when your big bloke arrived late & "poleaxed" 2 of our blokes [I was one - so sore I couldn't have a smoke at half time]

Last week your ump [Q] controlled about 90% of the game - even ran past Boyce twice instead of handing over??? Noticed he did this in first round as well. Thought he umpired ok? Your thoughts on [Q] him?

Think we get the little quiet old guy from House tomorrow - reckon Boyce & him look a pair!​

Ahh Lunch 5 ****
:(

Round 13 Preview

UHS-VU over the Gryphons by 6 Pts (Strange as it may seem, this may be the pick of the games as a loss to Monash could mean D4 football in 2010. I expect a dour affair with Captain Kirk’s boys holding on for a close win).
SMS over Westies by 63 Pts (St Mary’s/Salesian on the rebound is never an easy proposition, especially at Ferndale. I do not expect this to be a contest for long. West Brunswick, try as they may, will be no match for the Saints. Alastair Dwyer to star for the home side)
SFX over The Hawks by 26 Pts (It may well be a far greater margin, but I suspect SFX may take Hawthorn lightly and be found wanting early on. Class will prevail however, as the likes of Dwayne Scott find their feet).
Wicks over the Piranhas by 32 Pts (There will be no love lost as these local rivals do battle for the umpteenth time at Ross Gregory. The House have been dreadful of late and that coupled with the ‘ever-popular’ Shane Mahony’s 300th game should see this one going the way of the visitors. Expect a blinder from Dave Smith if he goes forward).
Bentleigh over St Johns by 35Pts (The depth of the Demons will ensure that they do enough to keep their noses well in front for most of the day. Jamie Vlahos and Paul Magnifico to thwart any serious Joc attacks).

Round 13 Review

3/5 (40/65 cumulative), but yet again I have struggled with the form of Monash and Hawthorn, who coincidentally play each other this weekend. Speaking of coincidence, it would be remiss not to mention that the top 4 and bottom six (on current ladder) play each other for the next two round’s which should provide us with the most passionate football of the year to date. The big winners of Round 13 were certainly the Wicks, who disposed with the House comfortably and now have a strong chance of playing in the finals. Forget the bottom five when talking of September aspiration but by gee they are having one hell of a dogfight for survival. One game and less than 10% separates Powerhouse in 6th and Monash in 10th and no other section in the amateurs boasts a bottom side with four wins. Suddenly, UHS-VU and the Piranhas look the most vulnerable, however the return of key players will see them improve. The top three have been safe for quite some time although the X-Men will now need some luck to secure a double chance.

Round 14 Review

Not one to normally concur with popular view, but I agree you could make cases for every single team this Saturday. I will publicly praise any tipster who can correctly select all five matches. Should be a cracker of a round…

Bentleigh over SFX by 18 Pts (The X-Men will give their all on the rebound after a shock loss, but they are playing the D3 yardstick so their efforts will be ultimately futile. Shane Fergus to star for the Demons).
Monash over Hawthorn by 3 Pts (Match of the round at East Caulfield Reserve. These bitter rivals of the late 90s will slog it out all day in what may become a fiery contest at times. The Gryphons should be able to shut down and block the potent Hawk forward line and exploit the idiosyncratic winds that frequent the wind swept ECR. The ever reliable Lee Wells to be amongst the Gryphons best).
Wicks over Westies by 16 Pts (Would not be surprised if the end result was reversed, but every game is a final for the Wicks and there is too much on the line for them to drop this. Craig Mahony to star for Elsternwick).
The House over UHS-VU by 21 Pts (Powerhouse’s recent form has been ordinary but a source close to Uni High has indicated that they are unlikely to win again this year due to their extensive injury list. They will fight hard but the likes of Paul Sosic will ensure the Piranhas keep their supporters happy at least for another week).
SMS over St Johns by 15 Pts (If this fixture was played at Glen Iris I would be tipping the Saints by plenty, but a windswept and bitterly cold Doveton is nirvana for no-one and I expect the Joc’s to push SMS all the way. Class should prevail, but it is games like these that St Johns simply have to win if they want to hold on to 4th spot).

Good Luck to all

Quasi

Can someone confirm that score from the Powerhouse game?

Surely they didnt kick 1.9 and lose to Uni Kicking 6.7!

Zero goals combined to half time and 2 to 3QT.....????

Here is a weather report.
Gusty north winds will wreak havoc on football games played today on grounds that run east west. eg: Ross Gregory oval.

I personally have watched paint drying over 120 minutes and have found something fascinating about that process. What one could find interesting about a football game that boasts 7 goals is beyond my comprehension. I can't wait for the match reports. Nikko, tell us please.

I'll mention this tomorrow [ball & calmness]. Know he got upset when your big bloke arrived late & "poleaxed" 2 of our blokes [I was one - so sore I couldn't have a smoke at half time]

Last week your ump [Q] controlled about 90% of the game - even ran past Boyce twice instead of handing over??? Noticed he did this in first round as well. Thought he umpired ok? Your thoughts on [Q] him?

Think we get the little quiet old guy from House tomorrow - reckon Boyce & him look a pair!​

Ahh Lunch 5 ****

Yeah sorry about that- Once I have committed to the bump it is hard to stop (as in physically I may as well finish it)

How is that guys nose? my face was sore for about 3 days.

Ahh Lunch 5 ****

I think our umpire just calls it as he see's it- often he goes against us much to our frustration.

He has always told us if its 50/50 he'll go the way of our opponents to be safe.

Here is a weather report.
Gusty north winds will wreak havoc on football games played today on grounds that run east west. eg: Ross Gregory oval.

I personally have watched paint drying over 120 minutes and have found something fascinating about that process. What one could find interesting about a football game that boasts 7 goals is beyond my comprehension. I can't wait for the match reports. Nikko, tell us please.

Half time - exciting days in the ones - Zero goals! Best part of first half was the VAFA goal ump going arseover jogging across to signal out on the full. 20 seconds later UHS first real shot for the day [21 minute mark 2nd quarter] hits goal post & deflects straight into the melon of said goal ump who hits the deck for the 2nd time.​

First goal was always going to be the "sealer!" Watt a boundary snap it was for UHS. Both teams tried hard on a difficult day. Must say the Field Ump [on his own] was the best I have seen in the VAFA ever.

The twos clearly had more skill on the park compared to the Ones [11 goals to 7]. Real battle between 2 tough sides!​

Would welcome some input from the House on the Ressies umpiring??
3 MORE REPORTS!

Might just slip back under the sheets for a Tosca!​

Half time - exciting days in the ones - Zero goals! Best part of first half was the VAFA goal ump going arseover jogging across to signal out on the full. 20 seconds later UHS first real shot for the day [21 minute mark 2nd quarter] hits goal post & deflects straight into the melon of said goal ump who hits the deck for the 2nd time.​

First goal was always going to be the "sealer!" Watt a boundary snap it was for UHS. Both teams tried hard on a difficult day. Must say the Field Ump [on his own] was the best I have seen in the VAFA ever.

The twos clearly had more skill on the park compared to the Ones [11 goals to 7]. Real battle between 2 tough sides!​

Would welcome some input from the House on the Ressies umpiring??
3 MORE REPORTS!​

Might just slip back under the sheets for a Tosca!​

Didn't think there were any reports.

Boycey knows the rules - you can tell that. I had a pretty close look yesterday. I think the disappointing thing is that he will find all the technical / soft free kicks against the opposition, but turn a blind eye when the same thing happens the other way - thats why the free count seemed lopsided. This is not the thoughts of a sore loser as UHS were better on the day. Simply the thoughts of someone who has a fair bit of umpiring (at a higher level) and playing experience telling it as it is.

The House seniors were obviously disappointing, but if you're going to take a positive, the House were still leading early in the 3rd quarter.

Didn't think there were any reports.

Boycey knows the rules - you can tell that. I had a pretty close look yesterday. I think the disappointing thing is that he will find all the technical / soft free kicks against the opposition, but turn a blind eye when the same thing happens the other way - thats why the free count seemed lopsided. This is not the thoughts of a sore loser as UHS were better on the day. Simply the thoughts of someone who has a fair bit of umpiring (at a higher level) and playing experience telling it as it is.

The House seniors were obviously disappointing, but if you're going to take a positive, the House were still leading early in the 3rd quarter.

Thanks Veg for the consider opinions [from a higher level - presume Sea Level or the 1st floor sucking stubbies] seeing you had a real close look what was your opinion on the House Ump??

Nikko, Could have paid a lot more free kicks but paid them without bias which is the most important thing.

Veg

He paid 5 frees for the game - all to the house - What did you think of Boyceys overule on the headhigh in front of the pavilion [free to House even blind Freddy could have seen but your bloke who was in control didn't] & 3rd quarter Holding the man to House in front of goal [paid by Boyce & applauded by playing coach on the field]??

Nikko awaiting?