D3 D3 2009

Unless I am mistaken, it has goal posts at either end, is made of grass and is oval in shape. Who ever plays the best on the day will win, whatever the ground or the condition. We could have been at Coburg like D3 was last year. How shocking that would of been for supporter groups of every club. From what I gather it is similar in length to Bentleigh. If so I think that is fair to everyone considering we have not played on hardly any big grounds this year. Seems a fair and reasonable choice to me

Very insightful Bails....spoken like a true coach..
Can you explain why not playing at Coburg is a win for the supporter groups?? It's a VFL ground therefore the state of the ground will be in great nick enabling a high standard game and it is a much better viewing ground than Scammell will ever be.
This is a serious question - Are you saying your supporters won't travel an extra 10 minutes into the city??
I'll bet the players would rather travel the extra 10 minutes...

For finals or relegation???!!! I suppose both. They will have to knock off Bentleigh this week to be a chance for finals. otherwise it will be a fight to avoid relegation.

Could be both.....interesting isn't it....
But, I was wondering why some think West Brunswick can leap frog the two above and not a mention of the Hawks....especially considering they just got beaten by 20 goals....

Fair call ha ha. However we have played on some of the weirdest grounds I have ever seen this year. I think it is up to the teams to adjust and modify to suit the ground. We have had to all do it this year

Justa I live in Thornbury mate, Coburg would have been fantastic for me:). My point was that I think people place to much value in where finals are played. I think it could have been worse. Of course it would have been fantastic to play at a VFL ground, however from what I am aware we could have been playing finals at 3 differnt venues for the 3 weeks originally, so I feel the one venue for the whole finals series makes sense, in particular a venue in the south east (which a mojority of teams are located)

Going by the top 4 as it stands in the seniors (likely to change the way this season has been going), surely playing at Oakleigh would be preferable for supporters of Bentleigh, SMS and in particular St Francis Xavier as a venue. I know our supporters would go where ever we play (they made the trek to Beaconsfield), however speaking to many of them they are very happy to only have to travel to Oakleigh.

I remember back in my EFL days getting Ringwood as a finals venue. That is the biggest ground I have ever played on (bit bigger then the MCG) and has a shocking atmosphere. At the end of the day, it had no bearing on if we won or lost the grand final. It wont change. My point was no point stressing about things we can't control

Bails,

Interesting question - at least I think so.

In Round 18, you guys front up to Power Hosue who are the only team to destroy your "Perfect Season".

When you last played them (at your ground) there was some controversy (and a certain ruckman went off injured and was in hospital for 2+ weeks) and may never play again. They also outplayed you on the day.

There were some hard stern words spoken by either you (or your Assistant Coach or a Club Official) which were heard by supporters and opposition players and supporters.

Are you guys out for revenge to prove a point to the boys from Albert Park that their win was just an anomaly and one "out of the box".

Are you guys out to make a statement to Power House AND the rest of the competition?

Are you nervous about facing the House when they just might be playing for their survival?

Will you guys take it easy and "cruise" into the finals?

What might happen when a team has nothing to play for while a team has their whole season on the line?

Makes for an interesting last round...

Fair call ha ha. However we have played on some of the weirdest grounds I have ever seen this year. I think it is up to the teams to adjust and modify to suit the ground. We have had to all do it this year

Justa I live in Thornbury mate, Coburg would have been fantastic for me:). My point was that I think people place to much value in where finals are played. I think it could have been worse. Of course it would have been fantastic to play at a VFL ground, however from what I am aware we could have been playing finals at 3 differnt venues for the 3 weeks originally, so I feel the one venue for the whole finals series makes sense, in particular a venue in the south east (which a mojority of teams are located)

Going by the top 4 as it stands in the seniors (likely to change the way this season has been going), surely playing at Oakleigh would be preferable for supporters of Bentleigh, SMS and in particular St Francis Xavier as a venue. I know our supporters would go where ever we play (they made the trek to Beaconsfield), however speaking to many of them they are very happy to only have to travel to Oakleigh.

I remember back in my EFL days getting Ringwood as a finals venue. That is the biggest ground I have ever played on (bit bigger then the MCG) and has a shocking atmosphere. At the end of the day, it had no bearing on if we won or lost the grand final. It wont change. My point was no point stressing about things we can't control

Agree with everything you've said mate...
Its going to be a cracking finals series as I believe anyone can win it...
Last year showed that the two best teams won't necessarily get promoted...
I hope you do well...

Also, if you speak to the Bentleigh coach in the near future, please pass on Dee Three's thoughts....

Bails,

Interesting question - at least I think so.

In Round 18, you guys front up to Power Hosue who are the only team to destroy your "Perfect Season".

When you last played them (at your ground) there was some controversy (and a certain ruckman went off injured and was in hospital for 2+ weeks) and may never play again. They also outplayed you on the day.

There were some hard stern words spoken by either you (or your Assistant Coach or a Club Official) which were heard by supporters and opposition players and supporters.

Are you guys out for revenge to prove a point to the boys from Albert Park that their win was just an anomaly and one "out of the box".

Are you guys out to make a statement to Power House AND the rest of the competition?

Are you nervous about facing the House when they just might be playing for their survival?

Will you guys take it easy and "cruise" into the finals?

What might happen when a team has nothing to play for while a team has their whole season on the line?

Makes for an interesting last round...

Post of the century - well done "... wit"

The Eye
:rolleyes:

Actually Sandy Footy Ground was considered for D3 finals and was nearly given the tick but was changed because;

Geographically, Oakleigh is better for clubs expected to be playing.

It is a smaller ground and better for creating a good atmosphere with crowd and supporters.

Also has 4 x change rooms.

Actually Sandy Footy Ground was considered for D3 finals and was nearly given the tick but was changed because;

Geographically, Oakleigh is better for clubs expected to be playing.

It is a smaller ground and better for creating a good atmosphere with crowd and supporters.

Also has 4 x change rooms.

Sandringham, would have been nice magic!!!! Nice big ground, Great changerooms etc. Thanks to the VAFA for considering us boys from Beaconsfield though, but I reckon if it was Sandy or even Coburg, You would not hear any complaining from us. Just a short trip up the Monash/East Link.......;)

Oh come on Bails, the trek was not that bad was it??? Maybe from Thornbury, but from the lovely suburb of Glen Iris??

Hopefully we dont get alot of wet days leading up to the finals, the middle of oakleigh becomes very messy otherwise.....

Round 16 Preview

Bentleigh over West Brunswick by 16 Pts (What was seemingly a straightforward fixture on paper a couple of weeks back is now looming as a real danger game for the Demons. Similar to St Kilda, they do not need to win and may be tempted to rest key players or tinker with structure, whereas The Magpies are a real show for finals, but probably need to pinch an away win such as this to steal 4th spot. Cannot tip against Bentleigh at home though).
SFX over UHS-VU by 6 Pts (Once again, a couple of weeks back I’d not have given the Vultures a chance, but a home ground advantage coupled with a real chance of snaring 4th spot will have them purring. Russell Matthews to continue his fine form for Uni High, but the class of the X-Men to ultimately prevail).
Wicks over Monash by 11 Pts (Unlike most Murphy-Wells Cups in recent times, I expect this one to be nip and tuck all day. The Wicks have been hurt by injuries in recent weeks, but seem to have the wood on the Gryphs in recent years. Should be a cracker at ECR but I expect the Wicks to hammer another nail in the Gryphons relegation coffin).
Hawks over Joc’s by 15 Pts (Speaking of hard teams to follow, Hawthorn Amateurs also fit that description, however, I believe they are playing some of their best football of the season at present and should provide a minor upset. If this occurs the door is wide open to all pursuant of 4th. Don’t expect this to be easy as St John’s will not give up their position in the four without a dogfight. Match of the round.
SMS over The House by 25 Pts (If I was to select a tontine for this round, the Saints would be my selection, however, I would not put my house (pardon the pun) on it. St Mary’s/Salesian have shown all season they are a quality side capable of demoralising opponents, but The Piranhas were not disgraced last week and should be tougher to beat at Ross Gregory than many may suggest.

Round 16 Review

5/5 (62/80 cumulative) only took me 16 rounds but I’ve finally picked the card. Don't expect me to do it again! Big winners from the weekend were The Wicks who had a hard fought victory in the Murphy-Wells Cup coupled with a Joc loss. Even though mathematically all teams can still make it, it is realistically down to these two teams. The Hawks, Uni High and Westies would have to have two wins and hope results go their way. At the top, it was possibly Bentleigh's best effort all season as they completely demoralised West Brunswick at Arthur St. I've said all year they are the team to beat and now they must be odds on to win the D3 pennant. Even though they won, SFX are a cause for concern. Injuries are taking their toll and suddenly a fired up Wicks or Joc's may fancy their chances in the Elimination Final. At the other end of the table, relegation is likely to be fought out by who loses by fewer points out of the Gryphons and the Piranhas. Powerhouse currently holds about a 12 goal advantage differential, so as long as they are competitive over the final two rounds, it may be enough.

Round 17 Preview

Bentleigh over the Hawks by 41 points (Hawthorn are playing their best footy for the year, however so too are the Demons, so this away fixture could not be more untimely. Chris Fedderson to be in the thick of it for the home side)
SMS over Wicks by 15 Pts (Match of the round for me. Elsternwick will try every trick in the book to hold on to 4th spot, but in the end they will hoping the Piranhas have caused an upset in Doveton)
Westies over UHS-VU by 11 Pts (Mathematically the loser is out of contention in this elimination derby. Should be a rugged affair but feel the Magpies will protect their home patch just a little better than Nikko's mob. Mark Macgugan to be amongst it for West).
SFX over Monash by 32 Pts (It's been a case of no Graham Strain, no Monash for much of the season and if he fails to come up for this one, then its curtains for the Gryphs. Monash will display much of their renowned fighting spirit, but feel they will be simply outclassed by the boys from Casey).
Joc's over House by 51 Pts (Can't see Powerhouse getting anywhere near St Johns in this one as the home side has far too much to play for and the Piranhas form has been most ordinary of late. Kane Arnold to fire for the Joc's).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Gents, I pose this question to anyone out there. The league has said they will promote 3 sides from D4 next season and only demote 1. Why don't they have a playoff between the 3rd side from D4 to see whether they cut the mustard against the bottom placed D3 team. Seems like the competition this season is alot closer than in prior years and a number of teams couold still be relegated, just depends on who plays who in the last 2 games.
Would this idea seem fair to both teams? Gives both something to really play for.

Gents, I pose this question to anyone out there. The league has said they will promote 3 sides from D4 next season and only demote 1. Why don't they have a playoff between the 3rd side from D4 to see whether they cut the mustard against the bottom placed D3 team. Seems like the competition this season is alot closer than in prior years and a number of teams couold still be relegated, just depends on who plays who in the last 2 games.
Would this idea seem fair to both teams? Gives both something to really play for.

And when do you propose the two teams play off?? On Grand Final day?? You will need an extra ground, extra umpires & so forth, not that easy to organise.

If you finish last in D3 you should not deserve a 2nd chance & 9 other teams would be up in arms about it.

And when do you propose the two teams play off?? On Grand Final day?? You will need an extra ground, extra umpires & so forth, not that easy to organise.

If you finish last in D3 you should not deserve a 2nd chance & 9 other teams would be up in arms about it.

I take your point but you have 5 teams at the moment that can still be relegated, meaning anyone of those could be back in D4 next year. Yes logistically it would be a nightmare, however the league promoting 3 teams is not ideal either. Your rewarding a team that didn't even make a grandfinal by promoting them as well. Maybe you do it next year and have them play a game before the start of the season. That way the league would know confidently which side was the better out of the two??? This way it allows for the stronger team to play in the higher grade too.

Interesting point bomber.
I just don't think having a play off is feasible. I wouldn't imagine any team wanting to play a game before or after the season. I know I would be against it.
My feelings are that if they are wanting a 12 team comp. in D3 next year then two teams should be promoted and no-one relegated. This has nothing to do with the position our club finds itself in at the moment.
My reasoning is simple - the 3rd place D4 side has not earnt the right to be promoted. Every other team in the division has previously earnt the right to be in the grade. You shouldn't give promotion away.
The 3rd team in D4 should battle away like everyone else to obtain their place in the higher grade.
Promotion is what all teams strive for and so the 3rd placed team should earn it like everyone else.

The penultimate round. Oooh! Intrigue builds....Who will play finals? Who will drop?
I'm afraid all this and other questions will be answered.....................next week.

Round 17. No brainer, HOME TEAMS.

Ok, that said, Round 18. What a thriller...

Uhs Vu v St Marys Salesian. Nothing to play for. Saints!

Monash Gryphons v St Johns. Everything to play for. One mighty big last shot for both clubs. Tension builds. Can the Gryphs get over old rivals at home? Can the Joccas grab the last spot in the four? Depends upon weather you believe in the easter bunny and santa claus! Can't pick this one but on form and position, Jocs. Sorry Quasi!

Elsternwick v StFrancis Xavier.
Hmmm! 'wicks at home are tricky sometimes and if injuries are few,they have more to play for. (How to the Xavs travel anyway?)

Hawthorn v West Brunswick. Fancy the magpies in this one.

Power House v Bentleigh. Really don't like the chances of the home side here. If the visitors decide to demolish the house by a huge margin, then it's the drop.

Interesting point bomber.
I just don't think having a play off is feasible. I wouldn't imagine any team wanting to play a game before or after the season. I know I would be against it.
My feelings are that if they are wanting a 12 team comp. in D3 next year then two teams should be promoted and no-one relegated. This has nothing to do with the position our club finds itself in at the moment.
My reasoning is simple - the 3rd place D4 side has not earnt the right to be promoted. Every other team in the division has previously earnt the right to be in the grade. You shouldn't give promotion away.
The 3rd team in D4 should battle away like everyone else to obtain their place in the higher grade.
Promotion is what all teams strive for and so the 3rd placed team should earn it like everyone else.

Well said Get a Kick. Noone demoted should have been the decision. To support your argument, history suggests that the demoted sides always go well the following year and arguably would go better than the 3rd D4 side (especially this year given that the demoted side might win as many as 6 matches).

Whats done is done I support and all we can do now is do our best to avoid relegation.

Yeah don't think the 3rd placed D4 side deserves promotion either, especially this year given how even the lower half of the D3 ladder is. Has the VAFA officially stated that it will be 3 up and 1 down or is this just speculation?

Yes it has been officially stated. Remember that the third placed team in D4 is coming from a 12 team division, and also look at the performance of the Xmen this year who were second. I think any of the potential third sides would give a decent account of themselves. Also rumours are growing of several new teams bound for the VAFA- PT Cook, Assumption etc. so even if one D4 team did fold you could end up with two 12 team divisions. I dont think they are keen on a D5 as it is such a long way to the top for new clubs.

Had to get up early to put my tips in:

Bentleigh over Hawthorn by 68 points - Hawks may be the fourth best team in the comp (my opinion anyway), but the Demons are clearly the best team in the comp.

St Marys/Salesian over Elsternwick by 42 points - Second versus fourth would normally be a tough one to mark, but I expect the Wicks' yo-yo form to continue.

Uni High over West Brunswick by six points - Toughest game to tip in the round, but I feel the Students are playing slightly better footy at this stage of the season.

St Francis Xavier over Monash Gryphons by 82 points - Third versus 10th...class will prevail as the Gryphs will have one eye on the margin at Doveton.

St Johns to draw with Powerhouse - Yes that's right I am predicting a pre-arranged draw. We have seen it in Serie A and now it will come into the VAFA. Two points should be enough to ensure Powerhouse's safety in D3 in 2010, while two points here should be enough to get the Jocs fourth spot. (They would have to knock off the Gryphs in the final round and hope the Wicks drop one of two, which is more than likely)

Big game this weekend with SFX Vs The Wicks at the postage stamp. A Wick win will see them face off a week later - The big question is though - Which Wick side will turn up?