D3 D3 2010

The Hoes played 1 qtr of ok footy and then were well below best, still came away with the points. we can play better, but when u have a few injuries, you take the points.

congrats to young phil for his 4 snags on debut.

How is young Timmy Williamson going?

Tim was close to best on Saturday; he's started really well.

Hoes got the points but will need to lift their game. St Francis had their chances but didn't take them.

Still, it's early, we'll take the four points and a lot of our young blokes are still learning the caper so we can expect improvement as the year progresses.

I would say he is leading the B&F easily after 3 rounds.

assuming thats the Tim playing hbf?

Not sure I would agree that he would be leading the B&F Mitch. No.30 is going along nicely and would be giving Timmy a run for his money ;)

Agree with Wamba that the young guys are still learning - but they have been probably the ones getting us over the line at the moment. Some continued improvement and work rate from the senior guys ( and return from injury from senior players ) will see improvement from the Hoes.

Looks to be a pretty even comp thus far with St J's looking the early favs thus far. Then throw a blanket over another 8 or so teams. Another 2 or 3 rounds will sort out as few more questions.......then wet weather kicks in and it could all change again.

Will make for a great year with lots of mix results coming through as the year progresses.

SFX were solid for most of the game and should have been alot closer in the end. Don't know if they had a few more players back or just getting it together a bit more, but they were well in it for the most part.

Chump.

Based on current results...

Which club has been given a walk in the park for a finals berth? (an easier draw)

Which teams still need to prove themselves? (a few wins but only against struggling sides)

Do we like a 12 team comp vs a 10 team?

Based on current results...

Which club has been given a walk in the park for a finals berth? (an easier draw)

Which teams still need to prove themselves? (a few wins but only against struggling sides)

Do we like a 12 team comp vs a 10 team?

Elsty have not been given a kind draw with Powerhouse, La Trobe and St Johns in the first 4 weeks.

That being said, they have settled their team over this period and will be all the better for it

It just depends if they play those sides twice!

I'd love to know how the VAFA creates fixtures. I can imagine it's automatically generated (with filters for special rivalary round games)

Not sure I would agree that he would be leading the B&F Mitch. No.30 is going along nicely and would be giving Timmy a run for his money ;)
Agree with Wamba that the young guys are still learning - but they have been probably the ones getting us over the line at the moment. Some continued improvement and work rate from the senior guys ( and return from injury from senior players ) will see improvement from the Hoes.

Looks to be a pretty even comp thus far with St J's looking the early favs thus far. Then throw a blanket over another 8 or so teams. Another 2 or 3 rounds will sort out as few more questions.......then wet weather kicks in and it could all change again.

Will make for a great year with lots of mix results coming through as the year progresses.

SFX were solid for most of the game and should have been alot closer in the end. Don't know if they had a few more players back or just getting it together a bit more, but they were well in it for the most part.

Chump.

You been watching the games??? hahaa

Looking forward to another game at home this weekend, a couple of changes again for us. We are showing signs the last few weeks, we just gotta play 4 qtrs of good footy!

In relation to the draw, it can make it tough to get to the finals, but if you're not beating quality teams during the year you may as well not show up in September!!

Tips for this round:

Elsternwick V Powerhouse : Powerhouse to get the points in a high scoring match at the postal stamp. House by 18

St Johns V West Brunswick: Cant see past St Johns, have had a great start to the season and cant see too many teams winning out there.St Johns by 30.

UHS-VU V LA-TROBE :Have to go for the students in this one....but which one? La Trobe in a canter (60 points)

IVANHOE V YARRA VALLEY: Yarra V to get the chocolates on the road, still too many injuries down in hoe land. Y.Valley by 21

HAWTHORN V ALBERT PARK: Hard ground to play , Lauletta to come back in an kick a bag. Hawks by 35

ST FRANCIS V KEW: Someones going to get off the mark but who?. Beaconsfield trip may just about clinch it for saints,look out for dimakopoulos to have a big one.Saints by 4

best of luck to all

Tips for this round:

Elsternwick V Powerhouse : Powerhouse to get the points in a high scoring match at the postal stamp. House by 18

St Johns V West Brunswick: Cant see past St Johns, have had a great start to the season and cant see too many teams winning out there.St Johns by 30.

UHS-VU V LA-TROBE :Have to go for the students in this one....but which one? La Trobe in a canter (60 points)

IVANHOE V YARRA VALLEY: Yarra V to get the chocolates on the road, still too many injuries down in hoe land. Y.Valley by 21

HAWTHORN V ALBERT PARK: Hard ground to play , Lauletta to come back in an kick a bag. Hawks by 35

ST FRANCIS V KEW: Someones going to get off the mark but who?. Beaconsfield trip may just about clinch it for saints,look out for dimakopoulos to have a big one.Saints by 4

best of luck to all

Will get a crap load MORE possesions than has Sylables in his name, can find the pill.

Tips for this round:

best of luck to all

House over the Wicks - 15points
St J's too strong for West Brunny - 38 points
Uhs-VU in an upset over the Trobbers - 8 points
Hoes in and upset over Yarra - 2 points
AP's over the Hawks - 24 points
SFX too good at home for Kew - 17 points.

Good luck all - on the sidelines this week unfortunately with a bung wing, but thems the breaks.

Chump.

Tips for this round:

best of luck to all

oops, nearly forgot these ones.
UHS-VU vs La Trobe University
Elsternwick vs Power House
Ivanhoe vs Yarra Valley
Hawthorn vs Albert Park
St Francis Xavier vs Kew
St Johns vs West Brunswick

Will get a crap load MORE possesions than has Sylables in his name, can find the pill.

I agree Mitch. Possibly the best player in the comp at the moment. I see he kicked another 6 on the weekend as well. Now has 3 BOG's in a row. My early tip for the league B & F.

Anyway, on to yesterday's game...... The Hoes were extremely disappointing. Yarra Valley simply wanted the ball more than us. (A similar situation to the game last night! :()

Anyway, on to yesterday's game...... The Hoes were extremely disappointing. Yarra Valley simply wanted the ball more than us. (A similar situation to the game last night! :()[/quote]

Sounds like a comment from another unsuccessful ivanhoe person that is fearful of the time required to develop and is just looking for a quick fix. It would be a fair estimate on my behalf that you wouldn't have the courage to walk up to 1 of your players and tell him that he "simply didn't want it enough" to his face.

You no doubt had your chance with the club and did nothing with it. Don't knock your own players while they are working at theirs!

Roger.....just for the record...... Buddy-Love is still heavily involved in a playing capacity at the club and has already expressed his above mentioned concerns to his team mates. It is a fair reflection on the way the game went yesterday.

Yarra deserved the win in the end - we did not take our chances and they did. Further to that Yarra had three injuries to players that could not come back on by half time. So, it was a very good effort from the Bushies.

We have a VERY big game away with the Wicks this week.

Chump.

I agree Mitch. Possibly the best player in the comp at the moment. I see he kicked another 6 on the weekend as well. Now has 3 BOG's in a row. My early tip for the league B & F.
/QUOTE]
Would be a deserving recipient- best thread to his bow is he thrives on having a tag. Big tank mate, makes El Guerrouj look like Derek Kickett around the tan.

Anyway, on to yesterday's game...... The Hoes were extremely disappointing. Yarra Valley simply wanted the ball more than us. (A similar situation to the game last night! :()

Sounds like a comment from another unsuccessful ivanhoe person that is fearful of the time required to develop and is just looking for a quick fix. It would be a fair estimate on my behalf that you wouldn't have the courage to walk up to 1 of your players and tell him that he "simply didn't want it enough" to his face.

You no doubt had your chance with the club and did nothing with it. Don't knock your own players while they are working at theirs![/quote]

What exactly is this supposed to mean Roger? You no doubt have no idea what you're talking about!
"Simply not wanting it enough" can take on a number of meanings. In particular, our workrate was not high enough. There was also a period in the game where YV really attacked the ball alot harder than we did. Some of our decision-making was also quite poor at times.
Were you at the game Roger?

You no doubt had your chance with the club and did nothing with it. Don't knock your own players while they are working at theirs!

What exactly is this supposed to mean Roger? You no doubt have no idea what you're talking about!
"Simply not wanting it enough" can take on a number of meanings. In particular, our workrate was not high enough. There was also a period in the game where YV really attacked the ball alot harder than we did. Some of our decision-making was also quite poor at times.
Were you at the game Roger?[/quote]

No i wasn't at the game sorry. Was to busy dishing out pain to one of your rivals. "Simply not wanting it enough" simply means exactly that, but then you go on to say you fell down in other areas as well, so clearly not as simple as that!

Just saying don't question your sides committment in a public forum when they nee to improve on a few different aspects. As a player i would be pissed if someone from my club questioned my committment on here!

Were you at the game Roger?

No i wasn't at the game sorry. Was to busy dishing out pain to one of your rivals. "Simply not wanting it enough" simply means exactly that, but then you go on to say you fell down in other areas as well, so clearly not as simple as that!

Just saying don't question your sides committment in a public forum when they nee to improve on a few different aspects. As a player i would be pissed if someone from my club questioned my committment on here![/quote]

Bit harsh Roger. I've got nothing to do with Ivanhoe - can't see too much wrong with what Buddy said. Hes just congratulating the Bushies - from an impartial perspective, seems like you've got a bit of a grudge against the Hoes.

Roger .....thanks for your concern, but nothing has been said on here that was not articulated to the playing group on Saturday. I agree with buddy ( and yes - I am still playing ) and I think that if internally we have had the discussion - then no harm done.

All the players at Hoe park know that this year is going to be a very, very competitive season with teams looking very even ( apart for St J's and La trobe who have been winning very well ). So a little extra commitment, effort and work rate is required from our TOTAL list if we want to improve.

Again, I take nothing away from Yarra who deserved the win on the weekend and the 4 points that go along with it.

Chump.

Previously dealings with the club vegemite, yes, but wouldn't go as far to say it is a grudge, just a little ill feeling that spices my competive juices occassionally.:mad:

Chump-if thats the way the players and coaches roll at your club then far be it from me tell you your wrong. Pretty boring world if we all shared the same views.

Still not going to agree your stance of addressing it in a public forum though.

14 rounds left under the microscope boys. And if you survive further than that, then as we know, it's a different ball game. This will be no different;)

Previously dealings with the club vegemite, yes, but wouldn't go as far to say it is a grudge, just a little ill feeling that spices my competive juices occassionally.:mad:

Chump-if thats the way the players and coaches roll at your club then far be it from me tell you your wrong. Pretty boring world if we all shared the same views.

14 rounds left under the microscope boys. And if you survive further than that, then as we know, it's a different ball game. This will be no different;)

What club are you associated with Roger? I'm curious.
Amazing that a throw-away line has got you all worked up. :D
Have the Hoes inflicted some pain on you in the past and you need to make yourself feel better typing on a keyboard?
As Chump said, my comment was not necessarily having a go at my team, but giving YV a bit of a rap at the same time.

take a chill pill. he hardly addressed our players in a public forum, buddy was just giving his opinion on a game of footy as he saw it and i bet he'd happily say the same thing to anyone in the team.

as a member of the team in question i would say that on a whole if we want success we need to be more desperate for it, and that will be the difference between losing and winning most weeks.

hope i haven't offended!!!!

mitch_fc hope i haven't offended!!!![/quote said:
Might have to take you out in the dark pocket at training Mitch Fc ;)

Hope we can get this much spirit on a Saturday.....OH NO ....here we go again.....:p

Chump.