D3 D3 2017

I'm not counting Club XVIII but yes Masala makes it 30.

You never mentioned "out west" and frankly if you're going to be rude, your opinion loses whatever weight it previously had.

Grow up.

But you counted Chadstone? Not counting clubbies? If your gonna be clever be right.

The whole conversation was based around west clubs and travel.

You took one line and isolated it.

TT, your quote, "The WRFL didn't instil anyone to our club's hierarchy. They ran and were voted in by the members of our club. I think that statement is a rubbish one.
My quote, "Has the WRFL planted the new hierarchy into Point Cook for the explicit reason to conjure another club from the Amateurs?"

It was a question, not a statement! I do however have a lot of empathy for you as I know that you are a passionate Amateurs' person and, like you realise that with so many clubs playing in the same region, in the same competition that the playing stock will be thinned out leaving all the local (WRFL) clubs fragile.
Werribee is believed to be not as strong as it was when in the VAFA.

In the former WSFL, (prior to being devoured by the WRFL) because of the number of clubs in (around) 6 sq miles (or 10 sq k), each club kept their neighbouring clubs in a weakened state.

Clubs in that area, which are no longer with us include, (not a full list and could, and probably will, contain inaccuracies): -
ANBY FDFL 1985-1991

Brooklyn WSFL / FDFL 1960s-1981/ then joined Kingsville YMCA to become Wembley Park-2002: Southern FL 2003-2004

Braybrook YCW YCWFA 1969-1993

Central Altona WSFL / WRFL 1966-2006

Footscray Tech OB VAFA 1931-1991

Kingsville YMCA WSFL / WRFL 1978-80: merged w Brooklyn to form Wembley Park

Maidstone WSFL 1966-1968

Newport (Initially Newport United) 1906 MJFA, W’bee DFL / WSFL / FDFL / WRFL 1935-1999, disbanded. Metropolitan FL
1950-1951
Newport Methodists]
/ Newport Centrals] Metropolitan Protestant Churches FA 1946-1976

West Newport Werribee District FL (WDFL) 1957–1965, 1988–1997; Western Suburban Football League (WSFL) 1966–1987

Seddon FDFL 1935-2006 merged w Yarraville, formerly Kingsville, Wembley Park, Kingsville YMCA and Brooklyn.
I hope I got
that right.

Williamstown Methodists (later Williamstown United, then Hobsons Bay FC 1995) \Metropolitan Protestant Churches FA 1946-1976 /
W’bee DFL, then WSFL & WRFL. Disbanded 1996

Williamstown Rovers (FDFL / W'bee District FA / W’bee District FL / 1945-1958)

Williamstown RSL RSLFA 1947-1951

Yarraville CYMS CYMSFA / FDFL (briefly) 1931-1964

Newport YCW
(later Newport East) Can’t find any info but remember playing against them at the Digman Reserve in Newport

Braybrook YCW 1969-1993 YCWFA / FDFL

This compilation should definitely require adjustments and additions.
Please feel free to add and or alter as all of this information isn’t, and can’t be found in one place. YET.
At least we will be preserving some local football history.
Teamwork!

All of those clubs have now disappeared. Is it because there were too many clubs in the same patch, keeping each other uncompetitive and not offering an alternative?
Tread your own path!

Worth a read
http://australianfootball.com/articles/view/Into+the+Ammos+%28the+move+that+saved+a+club%29/287

Cheers mate.
Any other clubs players we could look at? Especially given the season is so even each club just have 2-3 players that are standouts right ?

Not from me mate, I'm sure others can spruik for their clubs though. I'd agree with your comments on the evenness of the comp and players therein.

...That with so many clubs playing in the same region, in the same competition that the playing stock will be thinned out leaving all the local (WRFL) clubs fragile.
Werribee is believed to be not as strong as it was when in the VAFA.

In the former WSFL, (prior to being devoured by the WRFL) because of the number of clubs in (around) 6 sq miles (or 10 sq k), each club kept their neighbouring clubs in a weakened state. [...]

All of those clubs have now disappeared. Is it because there were too many clubs in the same patch, keeping each other uncompetitive and not offering an alternative?

Interesting list. I don't disagree with your theory (I don't have enough information to comment), but I'm not sure how much you can read from the fates of clubs.

'Disbanded' can be a euphemism for 'couldn't find anywhere to play after being expelled from the WRFL'. Several clubs (some not on this list) were expelled over the years, many for disciplinary offences, others for being unfinancial.

Other clubs may simply have gone broke. This could be due to excess competition, or just poor management.

Many of the church-based clubs would have died a natural death as broad social trends killed not just clubs, but an entire league (the ESCFA). These clubs had their glory days back in the 1950s when most people went to church and people were more likely to base their social lives around their religion (people joined not just church football clubs but church youth groups and even church bushwalking clubs, as well as meeting future husbands / wives at church social functions). Now, the % of the population that goes to church has dropped away (especially true of the demographic that plays football) and churchgoing is a more isolated thing that is less central to people's lives. Those clubs that have survived (many in the SFNL) have reinvented themselves as suburban sides.

Cheers mate.
Any other clubs players we could look at? Especially given the season is so even each club just have 2-3 players that are standouts right ?

In the bottom few divisions you dont seem to see many good CHFs consistently.
Id love to see you pick this side based purely on position. If you are picking it of course.
As far as a CHF goes. Looking at opposition only and not the club I support. Id say the chubby bloke that played at CHF for Uni High. From memory possibly 87. Had a great game against us. Not a gun of the competition maybe. But if that is him every week you'd love to have him in your side.

Auchiello from point cook on a wing or half forward flank. Plays anywhere amd is very dangerous with space. And Tristan Furr is a real competitor down there now his body is right. Small/medium forward/mid

The Irish bloke (doesn't narrow it down) who provides a heap of run off halfback for Powerhouse has to be in this team. No idea what his name is.

Good old Yawn fest here the last week - at least the footy is back:

Westbourne to beat LaTrobe by 50
Canterbury over Sth Melb by 5 Goals
House by plenty in the derby over AP
UHS with their injury free squad by 5 goals over Swinburne
Rich C over Point Cook by 4 goals

Latrobe by 9 points
UHS by 80 points
PH by 39
Swinburne by 44
Westbourne by 7 points--- Genuine 8 point game

Who do we all think is the best current coach in Div 3 VAFA? Anyone got any thoughts as to coach of the year so far and why?

Great weekend of Div 3 football.
I watched the UHS vs AP match. AP should have won, wasted too many chances.
Swinburne too good for PC.

Couple of big games next week. AP vs LaTrobe should be a huge one.

But yes, you'd have to suggest that UHS coach is coach of the year so far given their results but they also have no injuries at all.. Great achievement.

Great weekend of Div 3 football.
I watched the UHS vs AP match. AP should have won, wasted too many chances.
Swinburne too good for PC.

Couple of big games next week. AP vs LaTrobe should be a huge one.

But yes, you'd have to suggest that UHS coach is coach of the year so far given their results but they also have no injuries at all.. Great achievement.

Interested in the division leaders observation only because they are NOW the only ones left who have won every senior game in the VAFA. 20 scoring shots to 19 indicates a pretty even contest. On a windy day where I was nothing was easy. Very hard to go through totally undefeated so I reckon they will drop one. Also no injuries - that is impossible!

Albert Park would have been a bloody nightmare Saturday!