D3 D3 2017

Pretty devastating news for my PC brethren but a chippy mate of mine told me last night that according to town plans Saltwater Reserve is all subdivided and will be turned into a Delfin Estate once the surrounding "homes" are finished... Probably explains why they chose to put lights on only 1 oval as they always planned flatten it. The Lara Bulldogs just doesn't have the same ring to it...

Football Club - Seniors/Reserves; Supers; 20 Junior boys & girls teams - total registered players approx 550
Soccer Club - Seniors/Reserves; Women's; 36 junior boys & girls teams
Cricket Club - 4 Seniors teams; 13 junior teams

Wouldn't want to be the Councilor that makes that decision!!!
By the way, lights for No1 oval approved, tender process completed and expected to commence later this year

Football Club - Seniors/Reserves; Supers; 20 Junior boys & girls teams - total registered players approx 550

By the way, lights for No1 oval approved, tender process completed and expected to commence later this year
And what about the artificial turf ground? That would have cost plenty, why would they rip that up?

Least a few houses around the ground would solve the wind issues! [emoji6]

On GT-I9505 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Gonna grow some hedges around the grounds and replace the car park with cobblestone. Rebuild the rooms with bluestone, serve scones and cream at the canteen.

Just so you cant tell whether your in Box hill north, balwyn, Canterbury, camberwell, kew or Point Cook.

UHS over Richmond
Power House to beat PC
Cobbies just over Albert Park
Westbourne easily over South Melbourne
La Trobe should beat Swinny

Have a great weekend

UHS over Richmond
Power House to beat PC
Canterbury over Albert Park
Westbourne in a tight one over South Melbourne
La Trobe to be upset by Swinburne

Trucka this is a sensational effort by Point Cook 550 registered football players. And I reckon you have had juniors for around what 12 years now.
My question is your Seniors should be flying why haven't you guys been more successful.

Trucka this is a sensational effort by Point Cook 550 registered football players. And I reckon you have had juniors for around what 12 years now.
My question is your Seniors should be flying why haven't you guys been more successful.

Fair question. Juniors been around about 14 yrs & Seniors I think 6. Just because you have plenty of Juniors doesn't necessarily mean you will be successful straight away, it takes time. 450 of the 550 players are juniors, with 60% of these U13's or below. Wyndham is a young area and it will take time for the Juniors to filter through, although last week, Seniors had 12 players who had played Juniors at the club with the oldest being about 22.
When the club started many players just wanted to play a few more years of football before retiring in a comp that was not as strong as others and therefore the talent & skills were not great. This is slowly changing as shown by there rise into Div 3 this year.
In the West (not sure about other areas) it is very difficult to retain players in the older group as shown by WRFL who have 30 clubs registered but only 12 have U19s.
I suppose the same question can be asked of our neighbours who have been around a lot longer and playing in same Div. I understand they had some changes a few years ago but they did have a healthy number of Juniors & have a school they can recruit 'old' boys from, I also understand that they are 'cashed up'.

Majority of the better players from junior days have all gone to other clubs chasing flags ie Werribee Districts, Hoppers, Altona , Spotswood and other WRFL clubs. If they kept these guys they would be flying. Theres only a couple of guys from junior days playing seniors footy at PC.

Fair question. Juniors been around about 14 yrs & Seniors I think 6. Just because you have plenty of Juniors doesn't necessarily mean you will be successful straight away, it takes time. 450 of the 550 players are juniors, with 60% of these U13's or below. Wyndham is a young area and it will take time for the Juniors to filter through, although last week, Seniors had 12 players who had played Juniors at the club with the oldest being about 22.
When the club started many players just wanted to play a few more years of football before retiring in a comp that was not as strong as others and therefore the talent & skills were not great. This is slowly changing as shown by there rise into Div 3 this year.
In the West (not sure about other areas) it is very difficult to retain players in the older group as shown by WRFL who have 30 clubs registered but only 12 have U19s.
I suppose the same question can be asked of our neighbours who have been around a lot longer and playing in same Div. I understand they had some changes a few years ago but they did have a healthy number of Juniors & have a school they can recruit 'old' boys from, I also understand that they are 'cashed up'.

I can answer the question about the club up the road as I am the Senior Coach I went thru the divide and we are lucky to still be going. That's why I acknowledge that what you guys have been able to do with your juniors is sensational especially given the soccer influence that's why I asked. At Westbourne now it will be a struggle for some time without juniors. But we haven't been around longer than Point Cook technically we are three years old. Most of the juniors that were at Westbourne now play in the higher age brackets at the Suns. Couple of myths the last points you made that I would be able to answer. Whilst the school is a massive help with facilities we see very small amounts of players come to us reason being no juniors and they have established themselves at another club by the time we try recruiting. Lastly cashed up not sure what that means I think I know where you might be heading probably a look at our financial statement from last years agm would show you we are certainly not cashed up in fact we are still fighting to arrest the debts incurred from the split. Like most clubs these days we are on the edge. We are really lucky the player numbers have swollen to 110 this year and its mostly mate of a mate if you chat to any blokes from Westbourne in an after match they are there for a beer and some mates and they enjoy the club. Hard work has got us to here and like all clubs there is plenty more ahead.

Majority of the better players from junior days have all gone to other clubs chasing flags ie Werribee Districts, Hoppers, Altona , Spotswood and other WRFL clubs. If they kept these guys they would be flying. Theres only a couple of guys from junior days playing seniors footy at PC.

Yeah I guess we all constantly have to give up on better players for the paid clubs but it still is great to see a lot of blokes on your list this year and ours that just play because they luv it. I think you guys have the most on your list you have had for a while.

A couple of really good matches this week

CB v's WG (Should be a good match, WG by 2 goals)
Latrobe v's House (Match of the round, Picking Latrobe to hand House their first defeat by 3 goals)
SM v's UHS (UHS too strong , 10 goals)
AP v's Richmond (Good match, AP by a goal)
PC v's Swinbourne (Swinbourne too strong by 8 goals)

Cobbies over the Warriors. They haven't beaten us at home and we've never won there. Good to be playing them again though. Unfortunately, I won't be able to get there as I am in Venice. Actually, I'm not that upset. Good luck Rog but I hope we get you.
Latrobe to crash the House. Can they stop Nagle?
UHSVU
Falcons
Pigs