D3 D3 Section 2008

Was just wondering what peoples thoughts were on biggest home ground advantage? Number of goals and so on.

Wafer08?

Wafer,

What's your prefered posotion mate? Just putting together my first draft of my D3 2008 team of the year and wanted to know where you want to play. You're a certain starter at this stage.

As for home ground advantages read on, I will also refer to grounds from now on as they're listed below:

1- La Trobe - Main Oval 'Waverley' Massive Oval and completely different to anything any other team will play on all year. Very heavy if wet and sides will struggle to run out games there, the fact La Trobe are a handy side as well compounds the issue - 6 Goals
2 - Williamstown - Fearon Reserve 'The Wind Tunnel' There's an art to playing in the wind - 5.4 Goals
3 - Elsternwick - 'the Postage Stamp' is so small even D3 sides are able to flood. Elsternwick play this oval very well and don't lose often there. Can slow the play if the visiting teams gets on a roll by booting the ball into Oval 1 or the golf course. 4.5 Goals
4 - Eltham - It's a fact few in D3 will have seen 'The Shell'. From all reports it's big, lush and smells of kangaroo excrement, a frightening trio for any visiting team. - 5 Goals
5 - St John's - 'The Ghetto' - One word - Doveton. 4 Goals
6 - Swinburne - 'The Sty' is aptly named for both the team that plays there and the condition of the ground post round 3. Agree with Old Warrior here, advantage grows as the season wears on. 0-8 Goals Average 4
7 - Monash - 'The Cave'. Another small ground but with the exposed cricket pitch in the centre but better surface than the postage stamp detracts from the advantage. 3 Goals
8- Hawthorn - 'The Nest' Other than the odd shape down one end, this is a pretty placid ground. 2.5 Goals
9 - Power House - A perfectly shaped oval, the local traits at 'The Park' seem to be the Albert Park Doctor which rolls in the afternoon and the rock hard centre in dry seasons. Can make it tough for visiting sides to kick straight. 2 Goals
10 - UHS-VU - 'The Zoo' - Not a huge advantage here. Pretty standard oval without many quirky traits. UHS didn't win there much last time so other teams won't fear the venue. 1 Goal

If anyone has better names for ovals please let me know,

Rooster

Wafer,

What's your prefered posotion mate? Just putting together my first draft of my D3 2008 team of the year and wanted to know where you want to play. You're a certain starter at this stage.

As for home ground advantages read on, I will also refer to grounds from now on as they're listed below:

1- La Trobe - Main Oval 'Waverley' Massive Oval and completely different to anything any other team will play on all year. Very heavy if wet and sides will struggle to run out games there, the fact La Trobe are a handy side as well compounds the issue - 6 Goals
2 - Williamstown - Fearon Reserve 'The Wind Tunnel' There's an art to playing in the wind - 5.4 Goals
3 - Elsternwick - 'the Postage Stamp' is so small even D3 sides are able to flood. Elsternwick play this oval very well and don't lose often there. Can slow the play if the visiting teams gets on a roll by booting the ball into Oval 1 or the golf course. 4.5 Goals
4 - Eltham - It's a fact few in D3 will have seen 'The Shell'. From all reports it's big, lush and smells of kangaroo excrement, a frightening trio for any visiting team. - 5 Goals
5 - St John's - 'The Ghetto' - One word - Doveton. 4 Goals
6 - Swinburne - 'The Sty' is aptly named for both the team that plays there and the condition of the ground post round 3. Agree with Old Warrior here, advantage grows as the season wears on. 0-8 Goals Average 4
7 - Monash - 'The Cave'. Another small ground but with the exposed cricket pitch in the centre but better surface than the postage stamp detracts from the advantage. 3 Goals
8- Hawthorn - 'The Nest' Other than the odd shape down one end, this is a pretty placid ground. 2.5 Goals
9 - Power House - A perfectly shaped oval, the local traits at 'The Park' seem to be the Albert Park Doctor which rolls in the afternoon and the rock hard centre in dry seasons. Can make it tough for visiting sides to kick straight. 2 Goals
10 - UHS-VU - 'The Zoo' - Not a huge advantage here. Pretty standard oval without many quirky traits. UHS didn't win there much last time so other teams won't fear the venue. 1 Goal

If anyone has better names for ovals please let me know,

Rooster

Elsternwick - The s^%$hole - nobody should be allowed to play football on that ground. Have never seen it with much grass, however, does have plenty of dirt. Also, has a fantastic tree on the Half forward flank at the golf course end. The ammos should allow them to play on the main ground. As far as home ground advantage - definitely the best in D3 this year.

The surface at Elst No 2, use to be one of the better around the ammo's, untill the Bayside council decided to give it a flogging with Elst, Ajax (sen and 19's), VAFA 19s, Fida and countless games of school footy playing on it in the last 3 or so years.

Why did they put ajax on it? i thought that was for bathrooms? seems silly is all.

One has to feel for the Red Sea pedestrians, chucked off the Gran Prix track.Have been homeless for some years now. When will they reach the promised land?........ The Linton Street Oval perhaps? Stay tuned...............

Meanwhile...........
La trobe oval = over-watered last year. A swamp. Not even the son of God could walk across it!

Elsternwick No.2 Oval = overused. Abused.

Eltham Oval = the local canine fraternity leave their opionion on the surface, on it's surface.............As do the dogs of Rathmines Rd.

One has to feel for the Red Sea pedestrians, chucked off the Gran Prix track.Have been homeless for some years now. When will they reach the promised land?........ The Linton Street Oval perhaps? Stay tuned...............

Meanwhile...........
La trobe oval = over-watered last year. A swamp. Not even the son of God could walk across it!

Elsternwick No.2 Oval = overused. Abused.

Eltham Oval = the local canine fraternity leave their opionion on the surface, on it's surface.............As do the dogs of Rathmines Rd.

i do have to say there must be an art to playing on the wicks ground without doing an ankle or worse.. good strategy, might start diggin holes in brens in the wee hours this year.. definitly need a shower after eltham.. or two even if u dont wanna get chased 2 ur car by dingos thinkin ur a wounded wallaby..

WTF seriously, i'll let u blokes shit can us as a D4 team for now, we need to let our footy do the talking to prove u blokes wrong....

I dunno if im some kinda ******, But for f@rk sake i have been playing footy on that ground 4 about 10 years and have not once smelt a thing other than grass, no sh!t, no piss, no dingos, the odd roo and roo poo but i have never fallen in any......

***** sooks.....

P.S Roo's eat grass, there poo does not smell...

WTF seriously, i'll let u blokes shit can us as a D4 team for now, we need to let our footy do the talking to prove u blokes wrong....

I dunno if im some kinda ******, But for f@rk sake i have been playing footy on that ground 4 about 10 years and have not once smelt a thing other than grass, no sh!t, no piss, no dingos, the odd roo and roo poo but i have never fallen in any......

***** sooks.....

And your roos' piss doesn't smell either????

***** sooks.....

Of course it stinks, it wreaks! ur just used to it. And its not the odd one, theres many of them.. was every where when we played. I suppose thats why the grounds so green and good but.. fertilized.

Ignoring the grammar that stinks more than kangaroo faeces, the idea that anything that eats grass has odourless defecation is bizarre. Cows, goats, sheep, Bob Marley - all have(had) an exclusively grass diet and smelly stools from all reports.

Hey guys, just out of curiosisty, who (if any) is the (are the) most hated teams in d3? There were only a couple of sh!t teams last year in D4 that every1 had a gripe about.

Hawthorn springs to mind, but apparently they are doing quite a bit off field to stamp out the troubling elements. Apparently.

Why don't you ask your reserves umpire? He knows a lot about a lot.

Hawthorn springs to mind, but apparently they are doing quite a bit off field to stamp out the troubling elements. Apparently.

Why don't you ask your reserves umpire? He knows a lot about a lot.

Hes very diplomatic and wouldnt tell me even if he hated a team.. I was mainly curious to see every1 elses oppinions.. besides, was hoping for some kind of banyer through big footy as work is slow right now..

This weeks odds

Hawthorn & formerly South Melbourne standout as sides who weren't overly popular with other clubs.

Anyway, onto this weeks odds. The final 4 quaddie is offering some very juicy odds.

Odds for Final 4 - Any Order. Others Quote.

1 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick La Trobe $8.00
2 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick Hawthorn $9.00
3 Williamstown St. Johns La Trobe Hawthorn $11.00
4 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick Powerhouse $12.00
5 Williamstown St. Johns La Trobe Powerhouse $15.00
6 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick Monash Gryphons $16.00
7 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick UHS-VU $17.00
8 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick Eltham OC $17.00
9 Williamstown Elsternwick La Trobe Hawthorn $17.00
10 St. Johns Elsternwick La Trobe Hawthorn $18.00
11 Williamstown St. Johns La Trobe Monash Gryphons $19.00
12 Williamstown St. Johns Hawthorn Powerhouse $19.00
13 Williamstown St. Johns La Trobe UHS-VU $21.00
14 Williamstown St. Johns La Trobe Eltham OC $21.00
15 Williamstown St. Johns Elsternwick Swinburne Uni $22.00
16 Williamstown Elsternwick La Trobe Powerhouse $22.00
17 Williamstown St. Johns Hawthorn Monash Gryphons $24.00
18 St. Johns Elsternwick La Trobe Powerhouse $24.00
19 Williamstown St. Johns La Trobe Swinburne Uni $26.00
20 Williamstown St. Johns Hawthorn UHS-VU $27.00
21 Williamstown St. Johns Hawthorn Eltham OC $27.00
22 Williamstown Elsternwick La Trobe Monash Gryphons $28.00
23 Williamstown Elsternwick Hawthorn Powerhouse $29.00
24 St. Johns Elsternwick La Trobe Monash Gryphons $30.00
25 Williamstown Elsternwick La Trobe UHS-VU $31.00
26 Williamstown Elsternwick La Trobe Eltham OC $31.00
27 St. Johns Elsternwick Hawthorn Powerhouse $31.00
28 Williamstown St. Johns Powerhouse Monash Gryphons $32.00
29 Williamstown St. Johns Hawthorn Swinburne Uni $34.00
30 St. Johns Elsternwick La Trobe UHS-VU $34.00

Long Shot of the field is

210 Monash Gryphons UHS-VU Eltham OC Swinburne Uni $1,351.00

As I said, selections are not in order but all 4 need to fininsh in the top 4 to win,

Rooster

what does everyone think of willy?

I've played against them at various stages over several years, and they've always been competitive. Biggest margin over the 8 games I can remember wouldn't be more than 5 goals. They haven't had too many tools to speak of - but aren't necessarily the greatest bunch of blokes either. Should go well this year considering they went alright last - but it doesn't always work like that. There may be an expectation of success given how stiff they were to drop a grade.

It is definitly better to overperform the underexpectation rather than vice versa, and less pressure to do so is always a plus.. Im looking forward to d3 again this year, im curious to see how it all turns out and exactly what the skill difference is like.. i can only imagine the bottom half teams would be round the same as the top 4 for d4 and there wouldnt be 200 point beltings happening every 3rd week..

G'day all

Love the detailed analysis, after knowing nothing about D3 footy before reading this thread, i'm now itching for the season to start and the rivalries to grow (who makes the 4, who gets relegated and all that jazz).

I'm studying at Monash and contemplating throwing the boots on this year, so i'm after some general info on the Gryphons. Never played Amo's before but i hear they're a good bunch of blokes, any info would be great

Cheers!!!

G'day all

Love the detailed analysis, after knowing nothing about D3 footy before reading this thread, i'm now itching for the season to start and the rivalries to grow (who makes the 4, who gets relegated and all that jazz).

I'm studying at Monash and contemplating throwing the boots on this year, so i'm after some general info on the Gryphons. Never played Amo's before but i hear they're a good bunch of blokes, any info would be great

Cheers!!!

Better off comin down to uni high..