D3 D3 Section 2008

I dunno, but playing the DVFL sides is always a massive challange, they are generally bigger and harder bodies, and they get paid so they are generally pretty good! not that D3 footballers aren't tho!!

fair enough, they would want 2 be good if their getting paid.. 4give my ignorance, but DVFL? is that diamond valley? im quite new 2 the whole footy thing, started in 2006 so im quite green.. If thats the case, what other teams play in that league, and what standard in vafa is it equal to?

Yeh thats Diamond Valley, its actually NFL now, my bad!! But yeh it used to be the premier local football league in Vic, standard has dropped below EFL in my opinion.

There is 2 divisions, div 1 is still very good and Heidelberg would give most probably all VAFA A grade clubs a flogging!! Its very hard to tell were it all fits in, and u can argue who is better all day long tho!!

But last year we (Eltham) beat Mernda in a praccy by a few goals in both games and they finished middle of the road in divy 2 and we were runners up and premiers (ressies) in D4.

Yeh thats Diamond Valley, its actually NFL now, my bad!! But yeh it used to be the premier local football league in Vic, standard has dropped below EFL in my opinion.

There is 2 divisions, div 1 is still very good and Heidelberg would give most probably all VAFA A grade clubs a flogging!! Its very hard to tell were it all fits in, and u can argue who is better all day long tho!!

But last year we (Eltham) beat Mernda in a praccy by a few goals in both games and they finished middle of the road in divy 2 and we were runners up and premiers (ressies) in D4.

Oh i know exactly where u finished last year! i played in the 2's gf. (still spewing bout the loss)

They were both very competitive games, which was good and a credit to both clubs. (not like the afl grannie collingwood shoulda played geelong i reckon)

Im looking forward to another good season this year, im anxious to see how we both go.. Also i liked ur ground.. second only to ours! We should do ok, i played d3 2006, and we did do terribly that year being relegated, but then again we had 15 blokes week in week out in the 2's, and the 1's well... So i really cant comment accurately, but if the standard in d3 is the same as 06, i hope we both will surprise alot of the faithless on big footy..

Re: 2008 D3 Odds

Well done to those making some sort of prediction of what the ladder will be like at the end of the season. Here are my openning markets for the D3 season.

Team...... Prem Prom Top4 Rel Spn
Williamstown 2.80 1.40 1.20 16.0 35.0
St. J o h n s 3.00 1.50 1.30 15.0 31.0
Elsternwi c k 4.50 2.70 1.60 13.0 26.0
L a T r o b e 9.00 3.20 1.80 11.0 21.0
H a w t horn 9.00 5.00 2.20 7.00 13.0
Power house 18.0 12.0 2.60 2.80 6.00
Monash Gryp 26.0 14.0 2.80 2.30 4.50
U H S - V U. 31.0 15.0 3.20 2.60 5.50
E l tham O C 31.0 15.0 3.20 2.60 5.50
Swinburne U 41.0 16.0 4.00 2.00 3.50

Apologies if it's hard to read, the forum doesn't like tables

Tough field to draw up.

Everyone agrees Willie & JOC's are clear favorites and hard to beat. This leaves everyone else fighting for only two spots on the top 4. Elsternwick, La Trobe & Hawthorn all have good claims while Power House will require Eddo and Monash need to improve to make it. UHS & Eltham have a big task with so many teams vying for perhaps 1 position while also coming up.

Relegation is wide open, really hard to pick a cert to go down but on previous years form, Swinburne, Monash, Powerhouse along with the two coming up will be battling this out.

Odds differ from my predictions as I think these try to remove my personal views.

Any Takers??

I also like Glen Eira & Banyule to come down in 09 while Kew & St Francis Xavier will be the boys talking it up in the forum about how the standard in D4 is exactly the same as D3 now.

Rooster

Noticed the odds come in a bit over the last couple of days rooster, I'm keen on Willi and Elsternwick to play off in the granny.

Also, Latrobe Vs South Melbourne Districts (D1) in late March

Oh i know exactly where u finished last year! i played in the 2's gf. (still spewing bout the loss)

They were both very competitive games, which was good and a credit to both clubs. (not like the afl grannie collingwood shoulda played geelong i reckon)

Im looking forward to another good season this year, im anxious to see how we both go.. Also i liked ur ground.. second only to ours! We should do ok, i played d3 2006, and we did do terribly that year being relegated, but then again we had 15 blokes week in week out in the 2's, and the 1's well... So i really cant comment accurately, but if the standard in d3 is the same as 06, i hope we both will surprise alot of the faithless on big footy..

U would remember that game with the 2 kicks that u got (kidding) do u know who we are playing in practice games nikko teen.

WARERKNUCKLES SEASON PREVIEW 2008

Elsternwick:- From all accounts will be contenders, but they are contenders every year and fail to provide for there beer swilling supporters. Umpire love-fest after the game is a sight to behold.​

Swinburne:- Words of advice for a chance at success in 08, lose the pre-game music and keep the chick behind the kiosk. One of my favourite teams to play chalking up 33 touches in a devestating display back in 2007.​

Uni High:- Making up the numbers, i mean really Green and Brown? Predicting straight drop back in 08. Sorry boys but i have no respect for u, the fact i copped a boozebus in 06 snaking my way back to a respectable suburb. The memorys of dobbing one from 55 on the run (2005)is dampered by your lack of ability as players.​

Powerhouse:- Absolute no chance. Words coming from many of there players mouths go something like Eddo this, Eddo that. My god without EDDO u are just a club with undersized changerooms. Personal performances to many to mention against this rabble. PM me if u want full details.

Eltham:- Will have to prove good hosts otherwise i`m not wasting my time or money(fuel) to hike out to this out-post. Question is are they still giving away land in eltham?​

St Johns:- Up there with Zoo boys on dress sense, have massive raps on them this year coming from D2​

Hawthorn:- Can not wait to play these pretenders, Wafer has a history of carving up against this mob.​

Williamstown:- Lack of funds could see team withdraw by mid season. Genuine concern over the bridge that this once proud club can not rub 2 coins together. Word has it mid-season D3 pull together fundraiser to save this battling mob. And lets just hope they are still not passing off sea-gull meat as pork this year, commitee got stung on that one last year.​

Monash:- Will this club ever trouble the scorers. My mate calls them the Gryphoons, good name the wafer thinks. What is with the pitch in the centre of the ground = carpet burn. Bags of goals are all i know, very poor backline.​

LaTrobe:- Can not comment as have never found there ground, have found the uni but never the ground. Where is there ground?

Spot on just a kid. I`m a Gryphons player and believe our surface is top notch. To the point when drought 07 occured Caulfield Grammar kicked us off Tuesday, or should i say Glen Eira.

Whats going on with this thread anyhow. D4 love fest. Looking forward to knuckling the d4 minnows when they take on the might of the Gryphs.

Not doing your club any favours here!! Absolutly looking forward to playing u now!!

Ah woops wafer. By the way, I can't remember any dominant performances against the House by a Monash player in recent years (unless you're Leeton in 1 game 2 seasons back!).

What's this obsession with Eddo anyway? The House won games without him last year, including a match where he couldn't move against Hawthorn. Yeah he's a good player but down at the House, he's just one of the boys.

WARERKNUCKLES SEASON PREVIEW 2008

Elsternwick:- From all accounts will be contenders, but they are contenders every year and fail to provide for there beer swilling supporters. Umpire love-fest after the game is a sight to behold.​

Swinburne:- Words of advice for a chance at success in 08, lose the pre-game music and keep the chick behind the kiosk. One of my favourite teams to play chalking up 33 touches in a devestating display back in 2007.​

Uni High:- Making up the numbers, i mean really Green and Brown? Predicting straight drop back in 08. Sorry boys but i have no respect for u, the fact i copped a boozebus in 06 snaking my way back to a respectable suburb. The memorys of dobbing one from 55 on the run (2005)is dampered by your lack of ability as players.​

Powerhouse:- Absolute no chance. Words coming from many of there players mouths go something like Eddo this, Eddo that. My god without EDDO u are just a club with undersized changerooms. Personal performances to many to mention against this rabble. PM me if u want full details.

Eltham:- Will have to prove good hosts otherwise i`m not wasting my time or money(fuel) to hike out to this out-post. Question is are they still giving away land in eltham?​

St Johns:- Up there with Zoo boys on dress sense, have massive raps on them this year coming from D2​

Hawthorn:- Can not wait to play these pretenders, Wafer has a history of carving up against this mob.​

Williamstown:- Lack of funds could see team withdraw by mid season. Genuine concern over the bridge that this once proud club can not rub 2 coins together. Word has it mid-season D3 pull together fundraiser to save this battling mob. And lets just hope they are still not passing off sea-gull meat as pork this year, commitee got stung on that one last year.​

Monash:- Will this club ever trouble the scorers. My mate calls them the Gryphoons, good name the wafer thinks. What is with the pitch in the centre of the ground = carpet burn. Bags of goals are all i know, very poor backline.​

LaTrobe:- Can not comment as have never found there ground, have found the uni but never the ground. Where is there ground?

Good waferknuckles, i suspect the only time u rack up 33 touches on any kind of ball is backstage at an elton john concert. Will be good watching your team get relegated.. When we play u you will see why the 2 teams from d4 were promoted.

Wafer is more than happy to name himself. To his teammates he is known as the GIFTED ONE. As far as i know the opposition refer to me as the TALENTED ONE.

Will be happy to back up my words on the field. U will find me dominating around the centre of the ground directing traffic and being a general ball winner.

Any queries please PM me.

Wafer08.

Wafer is more than happy to name himself. To his teammates he is known as the GIFTED ONE. As far as i know the opposition refer to me as the TALENTED ONE.

Will be happy to back up my words on the field. U will find me dominating around the centre of the ground directing traffic and being a general ball winner.

Wafer08.

yes yes talented one.. they call me the ledgend killer, and the phenom, and the game also.. Should be good watching u sook when u the only touches u get r from a michael jackson wanna be in the showers..

Kidding mate, hope u do well. Although im not expecting it..

Wafer08.
talk about arrogant! unless it`s tongue in cheek

i think uni high will surprise alot of temas this yr compared to when it was prev d3 yr

Possibly, however with the superior intellect and talents of waferknuckles the talented one all teams will struggle.. to keep lunch down.

Ill be happy so long as its a nice and even year. Im really looking forward to the new season and playing some quality opposion. Although i think Willie are the team 2 beat..

wafer your kidding mate, the gryphs have been ordinary to say the least for the last 3 seasons, talk about making up the numbers.. best thing for you is to play d4, see what its like to play finals mate. why would you pay out a team like UHS who just went 19-1 and won a flag. I played against them in 07 and i tell ya mate they will suprise alot of teams.

So how is everyones grounds looking this time of year? Are other clubs allowed to water and train on them?

I think the grounds are looking a little better than this time last year, it would be real hard to do alot of pre season training without a ground to train on.

Grounds are lush in my eyes at the moment. Could not see why councils would have a problem with training. Then again we all know how pedantic the councils can be.

Yeah i know, if they stopped mowing the grass so short 4 cricket the grounds would be in better shape still. Most grounds in seen look alot better than last year come on rain!

My extravagant odds needed to be reined in. An error in my excel spreadsheet was not taking into account 2 winners for promotion and 4 for finals etc.

I also have it on good authority that ALL inner city councils will be preventing ANY pre season training or practice matches on council ovals come Feb. Hawthorn, Power House, Elsternwick, Monash, Swinburne, UHS and possibly Williamstown may struggle to find a council approved venue to train on. This will be a clear advantage for the likes of St John's, Eltham & La Trobe. Some further odd movement may be required .