D3 D3 Section 2008

nothing wrong with willi's ground.it's in good nick,and we're training on it.we don't need to worry about finding grounds if needed,as one of our clubmen works for the local council.i dont know where a lot of info comes from a few guys on here,i think that its just made up.

i suspect ur right mate, makes for conversation though.. however i do know what he means bout the councils, theyre pretty anal bout the grounds, would be handy having a mole in the council network though..

At vu if we even look at the ground before march we get shouted of by the local park ranger.

Pretty confident this fool is not from the Gryphs.

Of the few players that have played well over the years, they are not the type to get on here and tell everyone about it.

Iceburg,

With full confidence i can say i`m a Gryphon. In fact myself and Flowerday have been in heavy training since New Years around Caulfield way.

Can u guess my identity?

Wafer08.

reckon at least one of the D4 teams are gonna exceed the thoughts of the other teams and monash are looking to see what D4 is really like not this massive gap that is being implied but reckon williamstown will take the flag

Iceburg,

With full confidence i can say i`m a Gryphon. In fact myself and Flowerday have been in heavy training since New Years around Caulfield way.

Can u guess my identity?

Wafer08.
The only footy Flowerday will be playing in 08 is AFL on his playstation 2, while recovering from his second knee reconstruction.

i know this is a little left wing but if any1 has a bag of meth to spare could u find it in ur heart to part with it?, i think wafer needs his next hit to loosen his aids cave..

Relegation Double Odds

Well it's only 74 days until the start of the D3 season and all the talk seems to be revolving around the relegation hopefuls. The Gryph's seem to be the favourite at the moment, but is this just a reaction to someone shooting their mouth off or a genuine feeling Monash will find it hard to win a game this year. Let's not forget that Monash have been the pre season relegation favourites every year since their short trip to D2. If there is one thing Monash have proven over the past few years, it's that despite a lack of ability they will put up one hell of a fight to avoid relegation.

Swinburne also seems to have fallen a bit in previous years after winning the 03 flag. They still seem to be relying on the same guys who won that flag but are now 5 years older.

Powerhouse finished mid table last season and would seem to have enough depth to win the 6 or 7 required to stay up even if their players are as infatuated with Eddo as waferknuckers insinuates.

The 'D4 Minnows' on the other hand could go either way. A few premiership retirements for UHS-VU in the wrong positions (There are always a few) could make it difficult for them while, if the retirements are covered well they could indeed push for finals action.

Eltham on the other hand make there first appearance in D3 and despite clearly having some talent, may simply struggle to perform week in week out. As I've previously said, there won't be the Richmond Centrals and North Brunswicks of the world to play every second week. This could mean some unexpected losses for Eltham if they don't come ready to play.

After all that here's this week's installment of odds, and since all the talk at the moment is about relegation, I've put together my 'Relegation Double' list.

Swinburne Uni Monash Gryphons 5.80
Swinburne Uni Eltham OC 6.50
Swinburne Uni UHS-VU 6.50
Swinburne Uni Powerhouse 7.00
Monash Gryphons Eltham OC 7.50
Monash Gryphons UHS-VU 7.50
Monash Gryphons Powerhouse 8.10
UHS-VU Eltham OC 8.50
Eltham OC Powerhouse 9.10
UHS-VU Powerhouse 9.10
Swinburne Uni Hawthorn 18.00
Eltham OC Hawthorn 21.00
Monash Gryphons Hawthorn 21.00
UHS-VU Hawthorn 21.00
Powerhouse Hawthorn 31.00
Monash Gryphons La Trobe 31.00
Swinburne Uni La Trobe 31.00
Swinburne Uni Elsternwick 31.00
Powerhouse La Trobe 41.00
Eltham OC La Trobe 41.00
Eltham OC Elsternwick 41.00
Swinburne Uni Williamstown 41.00
UHS-VU La Trobe 41.00
UHS-VU Elsternwick 41.00
Swinburne Uni St. Johns 41.00

For others, just ask

The Williamstown / St. John's double is the rank outsider at $351.00

Next week I'll update you all on the promotion double odds.

Rooster

Re: Relegation Double Odds

Swinburne Uni Monash Gryphons 5.80
Swinburne Uni Eltham OC 6.50
Swinburne Uni Powerhouse 7.00
Monash Gryphons Eltham OC 7.50
Monash Gryphons UHS-VU 7.50
Monash Gryphons Powerhouse 8.10
UHS-VU Eltham OC 8.50
Eltham OC Powerhouse 9.10
UHS-VU Powerhouse 9.10
Swinburne Uni Hawthorn 18.00
Eltham OC Hawthorn 21.00
Monash Gryphons Hawthorn 21.00
UHS-VU Hawthorn 21.00
Powerhouse Hawthorn 31.00
Monash Gryphons La Trobe 31.00
Swinburne Uni La Trobe 31.00
Swinburne Uni Elsternwick 31.00
Powerhouse La Trobe 41.00
Eltham OC La Trobe 41.00
Eltham OC Elsternwick 41.00
Swinburne Uni Williamstown 41.00
UHS-VU La Trobe 41.00
UHS-VU Elsternwick 41.00
Swinburne Uni St. Johns 41.00

For others, just ask

The Williamstown / St. John's double is the rank outsider at $351.00

Next week I'll update you all on the promotion double odds.

Rooster

I'll put an orange on

At the end of the home and away season:

Williamstown: word around town is that the new (old) coach has brought back a more disciplined approach this pre-season. Expect big things from Dave Lee who will have a full summers training under his belt. Tim Wheeler will dominate again. No-one will get within eight goals of them at home if they get to play at the Fearon this year.

LaTrobe: big list to pick from, U/19’s coming through. Very high turnover of players but still as likely as anyone to be right up there this year.

Monash: will win 8 of their games at home this year as well as four away so should hang on to 3rd place. Once again Wells and Rutherford will dominate.

UHS-VU: beginning to reap the rewards of the relationship with VU. Will get another influx of players from there as well as the surrounding area. Crackers still one of the best players in D3, will fill the holes where required.

Powerhouse: big Eddo plays a full season then they will win enough games off his boot alone to finish around the finals. If he doesn’t play then they won’t finish far off relegation

Swinburne: These guys just keep on hanging in there. Everyone has been predicting relegation for them the past couple of years but they seem to win games when it matters. Will be unbeatable at home from rounds 9-16 when their ground becomes the biggest quagmire in Melbourne.

Hawthorn: if Collins plays then these guys will play finals, if he doesn’t then they’ll be making up the numbers – win enough games at home to stave off relegation for a season but that will be all.

St Johns: I get the feeling they’re a club on the decline. Generally play with a lot of spirit, particularly at home, but I just don’t think they’ll have the cattle to win more than 6 games

E’wick: their good players are very good for this level of footy but they all must be 30+ now and their best is well behind them. Not sure what is happening with Jack Neill this year – if he plays then they will be close to finals, if not then it will be relegation. Injuries can’t continue to be the excuse for these guys when old age is the reason for them.

Eltham: will get a big wake up call this year. Without RC’s or Nth Brunnie to get the stats up against and rest the bodies The Turtles will struggle big time this year. There are no easy games in D3, even the sides near the bottom are difficult to beat at their home grounds.

F U O W

TENNIS NUTS SEASON PREVIEW 2008

Eltham OC – Robin Haase – Qualifier. No one knows much about their game, what to expect when playing them or really sure where exactly they’re from. Could surprise and win a few matches here and there but not seriously considered a title contender.

Elsternwick – Mark Philapoussis – Has promised a lot for a very long time without every really delivering very much at all. Injuries have been the perpetual excuse when a lack of fitness and age are the causes now. If he can get fit, may or may not fire one more shot before inevitably sliding down the rankings.

Hawthorn – Lleyton Hewitt – Arrogant & universally unpopular. Was there abouts last year and scored some big wins but too easily dominated by the big boys with better firepower when it really mattered. Tough to beat at home when the crowd is behind them. Still battling away in the hope of making it back to the top but doesn’t really have the game to get there anymore.

La Trobe UniThomas Muster - Almost unbeatable at home on surfaces that suit, but can struggle when the ball moves from end to end more quickly than they’re accustomed. Could finish the year with a 9-0 home record and 0-9 away. Not expecting much if they do make the finals unless they get a favorable surface.

Monash GryphonsPat Rafter - Likeable lot and had some great success about five years ago without ever reaching the top. Hasn’t done much since then and no one is expecting anything now. Most impressive thing now about these guys is the quality of female that seem to hang around (2007 trainers).

St John’sNovak Djokovic - Highly rated performer after doing it tough growing up in the wrong part of Eumemmerring (or the world). Always a chance if they perform to their best. Still trying to revive 1980’s haircuts and fashion without a lot of success apart from close family and friends

Swinburne UniPete Sampras – Dominated in a bygone era but now too old, slow and injury prone to perform consistently. Still good enough however, to put on the occasional exhibition against today’s best and be very competitive.

Power House – Marat Safin - Has got more firepower than anyone else going around and extremely tough to beat anywhere when on, but no one is really sure weather or not that firepower is going to be there each time they turn up to play. May just take six months off to go mountain climbing in an attempt to return fresher next year

UHS-VUBernard Tomic - Just won the junior event but not taken seriously by the main field yet. Could be something in years to come but for now will need to improve all areas of their game from the last time they were seen if they want any respect from their opponents.

Williamstown – Roger Federer – Recent coach change has brought big expectations. The most complete in this section, but the field will be working hard to bridge the gap before the end of the season. Favourite to win the title but as we’ve seen all it takes is one loss at the wrong time…..

Greetings D3lings,

Just thought i shall update u on Gryphons pre-season post christmas cherry popping session tonight.

6.00 (sharp) - Warm up, 46 on the track. Majority look to have done the work during the festive season.

6.05 - Coach`s speech/ Welcome new faces (8 or so).

6.15 - Sprints / curcit work

6.20 - 12km time trial (which incidently was dominated by wafer, backed off in the latter half.)

7.10 - Ball work for the main group. I was singled out to practice my trademark 50m spiral wrong foot, shanked the first one then nailed the rest.

7.45 - Contact session. Coach asked me to sit out for fear of injury, gave me the usual banter of how he could not risk me at such an early stage of the season / u have already proved yourself on the field, this is for the benifit of the young guys.

8.00 - Series of 400m timed runs, i took it upon myself to wield the clock and encourage the boys a bit short of a run.

8.30 - Social rooms after shower and spruce up. Was hounded by all the usual "old boys" with war stories about how good i am. Will these guys ever let up?

8.45 - I gave an off the cuff speech of the direction for season 2008. Could have heard a pin drop as the room hung on to every word. As they say actions speak louder than words, but if the words have as much meaning as actions they must have been spoken by Wafer.

9.00 - Training gear returned to me washed and pressed by one of my groupies. I have time for these pictures of glamour but just once i would like these ladies to understand the man underneath, not just the charm/body/brains/leadership/good looks and general enigma qualities.

Well thats just a quick one on the progress of the Gryphins so far. Anyone else care to shed light on their clubs happings in this first week back on the track?

Wafer08.

The ChosenOneTwo. This is a public forum. If u Private msg me again with that childish foul language i shall have no choice but to cease using this message board. Everyone on big footy knows who i am and if u have the "Guts" to identify yourself i would be happy to go 12 with u. We know what the result would be.

P.S. enjoy running the bench for the 2`s this year SLIMEBAG.

Wafer08.

Greetings D3lings,

Just thought i shall update u on Gryphons pre-season post christmas cherry popping session tonight.

6.00 (sharp) - Warm up, 46 on the track. Majority look to have done the work during the festive season.

6.05 - Coach`s speech/ Welcome new faces (8 or so).

6.15 - Sprints / curcit work

6.20 - 12km time trial (which incidently was dominated by wafer, backed off in the latter half.)

7.10 - Ball work for the main group. I was singled out to practice my trademark 50m spiral wrong foot, shanked the first one then nailed the rest.

7.45 - Contact session. Coach asked me to sit out for fear of injury, gave me the usual banter of how he could not risk me at such an early stage of the season / u have already proved yourself on the field, this is for the benifit of the young guys.

8.00 - Series of 400m timed runs, i took it upon myself to wield the clock and encourage the boys a bit short of a run.

8.30 - Social rooms after shower and spruce up. Was hounded by all the usual "old boys" with war stories about how good i am. Will these guys ever let up?

8.45 - I gave an off the cuff speech of the direction for season 2008. Could have heard a pin drop as the room hung on to every word. As they say actions speak louder than words, but if the words have as much meaning as actions they must have been spoken by Wafer.

9.00 - Training gear returned to me washed and pressed by one of my groupies. I have time for these pictures of glamour but just once i would like these ladies to understand the man underneath, not just the charm/body/brains/leadership/good looks and general enigma qualities.

Well thats just a quick one on the progress of the Gryphins so far. Anyone else care to shed light on their clubs happings in this first week back on the track?

Wafer08.

Gold!

We've got a spot warmed up at the bar for you down at Central Land whenever you're ready Wafer!

Could have heard a pin drop as the room hung on to every word.

I am backing that is because all the boys had cleared out of the rooms by 8.30. Sounds very much like wafer talking himself up in front of the mirror

The ChosenOneTwo. This is a public forum. If u Private msg me again with that childish foul language i shall have no choice but to cease using this message board. Everyone on big footy knows who i am and if u have the "Guts" to identify yourself i would be happy to go 12 with u. We know what the result would be.

P.S. enjoy running the bench for the 2`s this year SLIMEBAG.

Wafer08.

This is the only time ill ever agree with u wafer, but please, if ANY one is going to insult wafer im sure that every1 on big footy would love to hear it so please, dont hold back, let loose so we can all have a good chuckle about it. I personally would love 2 see u kicking barrells wafer, i imagine it would look much like the donkey kong of old.. Have a cup of concrete and harden th f**K up wafer, do the running instead of holding the clock, thats the easy way out, and u have a coach 4 that! Looking forward 2 seein ur trainers too..

Lol funny thats comming from u to harden up, wasnt it you that didnt go to pre xmas training because you just brought a playstation 3. Monash trainers wouldnt be worth the time for you nikko teen, because they would be of anglo saxon decent, and every1 at vu knws what type u are into

Well i may like the ol bollywood princess, or persian rug but i have been occasionally known to be partial to the moon-tan of the saxons.. Get that in ya sax. Its not my fault if i like dark chicks, u know what they say, once u go black, u go home in a wheelchair. Besides we all know what ur taste is pisani, the best thing bout 21year olds for u is there are 20 of em..