D4 D4 2008

when we played against bhn they had 2 grounds the one we played on which was sh1t to say the least and another 1 heaps green next to it. we asked why we wernt playin on the better they said cause its 15m shorter. i kno id prefer to play on a slightly shorter ground that got a better surface then the sh1t one we did play on

Whilst trying to find out what club Matt Dillon's from by looking at previous posts I stumbled upon this gem from Peter Pan. At least you had a go Pete!!!

Anyone willing to throw out an preseason ladder prediction?

Here are my thoughts

top few:

BHN - On the way up - not this year
Eley Park Sharks - big off season recruiting I hear - have definitely been big improvers judging by past month and a bit
Mt Lilydale - dark horse finals contenders - may miss out if Richmond can keep winning

middle of road:
West Brunswick - not sure how they'll react to the drop - i think we have all seen how'd they would react!
North Brunswick - early preseason = April champions = No games in September - still won't be playing in September
Albert Park - can't see them going that well. New coach might change
that though - would say he has changed it based on past 2 weeks
Syndal - Manny hanging around? - probably not after this year

down there:

Richmond Centrals, will be OK but nothing special. - will press for finals
Bulleen Cobras - big changes required - at the moment has changed slightly in boths areas
South Mornington - exodus of players is on the cards - correct
Kew - merger did nothing for them last year, they won't improve any this season - obviously mergers are stronger in the second year:D

Just a thought anyway, I look forward to finding out how close my predictions are when the season gets underway in 5 months
Last edited by Peter_Pan; 23rd November 2007 at 10:44.
user_offline.gif
I'm interested to know, and I going voluntary or will I be pushed....need to prepare myself.

Manny

I'm interested to know, and I going voluntary or will I be pushed....need to prepare myself.

Manny

Actually i would like to know as well, i can confirm we want him around, he is the best part of the club and despite the fact we haven't put the results on the board i wouldn't ant anyone else coaching us, so if you dont know anything keep your mouth shut and dont stir up shit

Read what I wrote - probably!! - i didn't mention that he would get asked to leave and I am not implying that, rather he might wish to ply his trade elsewhere.

I know that you are struggling on field but it is hard to succeed when you aren't allowed on your ground during pre season and that the council give you no help at all. Peter Pan poised a question and I answered it.

Manny

I'd say jump. The view is better when you get to pick the timing.

Just kidding Manny, good luck for the rest of the year.......you've had some close lossed and good wins. The two's are going Ok as well. Alot to be positive for. And like most clubs - the difference is being able to get all your guns on the park at the same time. Very frustrating.......but part of D4

I'd say jump. The view is better when you get to pick the timing.

Just kidding Manny, good luck for the rest of the year.......you've had some close lossed and good wins. The two's are going Ok as well. Alot to be positive for. And like most clubs - the difference is being able to get all your guns on the park at the same time. Very frustrating.......but part of D4

When did these happen? Syndal are 0 - 10

With the exception of SFX and Mt Lily.as far as I am aware all D4 grounds are maintained by councils and rooms provided by councils for footy during winter and reverting to cricket for summer,so where to does anybody get off bagging a clubs ground and rooms when it is out of their control,very ordinary comments when the clubs have no control.

Where was I being critical? My information though was that EP were in negotiations with council when the new pavillion was constructed but forgot to ask for social rooms. This is merely hearsay though so I am more than happy to be corrected.

when we played against bhn they had 2 grounds the one we played on which was sh1t to say the least and another 1 heaps green next to it. we asked why we wernt playin on the better they said cause its 15m shorter. i kno id prefer to play on a slightly shorter ground that got a better surface then the sh1t one we did play on

Pidge, the other oval may be greener but the surface is ankle shatteringly rough!

Whilst trying to find out what club Matt Dillon's from by looking at previous posts I stumbled upon this gem from Peter Pan. At least you had a go Pete!!!

Just a thought anyway, I look forward to finding out how close my predictions are when the season gets underway in 5 months
Last edited by Peter_Pan; 23rd November 2007 at 10:44.
user_offline.gif

This can mean one, or any combination, of three things:

1. Things can change quickly over the summer months;
2. Hearsay and Chinese Whispers aren't a reliable source of information; or
3. I didn't (and probably still don't) know anything

this weeks games

West Brunswick will kick the highest score of the year. Somewhere between 200 - 330.

Kew should be to strong at home

Flat trackers to bounce back against North Brunny

Box Hill over Bulleen in the "paying for pride cup"

Albert Park over Eley Park

X Men by plenty over the Ho's

this weeks games

West Brunswick will kick the highest score of the year. Somewhere between 200 - 330.

Kew should be to strong at home

Flat trackers to bounce back against North Brunny

Box Hill over Bulleen in the "paying for pride cup"

Albert Park over Eley Park

X Men by plenty over the Ho's

Question to all and sundry:

Given we are now entering the colder months (And it has been quite chilly for a while) are we more likely to see "predictable" results given the possibility of some of the lower teams (Those not in finals contention) numbers dropping off at training, Coaches playing younger kids etc???

If so, I reckon you may be on the $$$ with WB kicking the highest score for the year, and more to come from the top 4 or 5..........

Given we are now entering the colder months (And it has been quite chilly for a while) are we more likely to see "predictable" results given the possibility of some of the lower teams (Those not in finals contention) numbers dropping off at training, Coaches playing younger kids etc???

If so, I reckon you may be on the $$$ with WB kicking the highest score for the year, and more to come from the top 4 or 5..........

With no relegation in place I would expect the bottom clubs to really drop off.

Agree with that, you tend to see some blowouts in the last few weeks of the season when teams looking to get into form for the finals come up against teams who are out of the race and looking forward to the end of the season. Maybe in another 4 weeks or so we'll start seeing this a bit more.

SFX still sniping at BHN?
Give it a rest... I doubt there's a finals showdown between the two. BHN are dead in the water, no use kicking them while they're down.

I can't see how travelling for 1.5 hours to have your pants pulled down in front of everyone on their way to the zoo would be an exciting prospect for the yappy kids at South Mornington.

SFX must be due for a win, after losing two in a row they might be keen to kick some goals. I wish the rolly papers (and their nervous coach) all the best though.

As for the mid-rangers, an upset here or there could throw a spanner in the works for anyone fighting for the 4th and 5th spots

If Box Hill make finals, Schapelle is innocent and Mugabe is just a victim of bad press

There is a chance we can make finals. Therefore we are not dead, simple. If all goes well we could be 6-6 with 1/3 of the season remaining. Also our percentage is not bad considering we're 2 games below .500

I think 10-8 will get that 5th spot.

I can't see how travelling for 1.5 hours to have your pants pulled down in front of everyone on their way to the zoo would be an exciting prospect for the yappy kids at South Mornington.

SFX must be due for a win, after losing two in a row they might be keen to kick some goals. I wish the rolly papers (and their nervous coach) all the best though.

As for the mid-rangers, an upset here or there could throw a spanner in the works for anyone fighting for the 4th and 5th spots

True - it is a total ass pain when your travelling so far and expect to get belted. However if you make the effort you may as well not waste it and go as hard as you can.

Good luck to them for trying

There is a chance we can make finals. Therefore we are not dead, simple. If all goes well we could be 6-6 with 1/3 of the season remaining. Also our percentage is not bad considering we're 2 games below .500

I think 10-8 will get that 5th spot.

10-8 MAY get in on percentage... 11-7 should be definately in.

But, who knows what will happen with injuries etc.

BHN can get in as long as they beat the teams they are competing with: RC, AP, ML and SFX... win a few of those games and they should make it.

ONE WEEK AT A TIME :)

10-8 MAY get in on percentage... 11-7 should be definately in.

But, who knows what will happen with injuries etc.

BHN can get in as long as they beat the teams they are competing with: RC, AP, ML and SFX... win a few of those games and they should make it.

ONE WEEK AT A TIME :)

They can only afford to drop 2 more games to get in. Mount Lilydale in round 13 looms as a massive game

BHN will lose to WB, SFX and will lose to either or both of RC and MtLily.
I reckon they'll be 9-9. Even at 10-8 there % will porbably be hammered by the two top three teams I mentioned.

Just so you don't think I'm attacking them:

Sharks will lose to WB and SFX and at least one, maybe all three of, Mtl, RC, AP. (best case scenario 9-9)

AP will lose to Kew and WB, may come down to round 16 match Vs MtL
(12 - 6 or 11 - 7) IN FINALS if they beat Mt Lily (again).

RC will lose to Kew (twice) SFX and WB. If they win vs MtLily they could be 10 - 8. Would be unlikely to make the finals with that record so will need to knock off one of the big 3.

Mt Lily. Fate is in their hands: Kew and SFX are probable losses but more important games will be Vs AP (rnd 16), Vs RC (rnd 15). Win those two = 12-6 and IN FINALS. Lose them both their 10-8. If the loss was to RC that would take it to % for 5th.

SO:
WB (18-0)
KEW (16-2)
SFX (14-4)
AP (12-6)
MtL(11-7)
---------
RC (9-9)
The rest...

BHN will lose to WB, SFX and will lose to either or both of RC and MtLily.
I reckon they'll be 9-9. Even at 10-8 there % will porbably be hammered by the two top three teams I mentioned.

Our percentage hasn't taken a hammering so far and that's after playing all the top teams once.

They can only afford to drop 2 more games to get in. Mount Lilydale in round 13 looms as a massive game

There are many Massive games looming... RC v SFX, SFX v ML, BHN v RC, AP v ML, ML v RC, AP v BHN ... All of these games are vital for a teams finals positioning/aspirations... I haven't seen Kew yet so I'm assuming they kick ass and won't lose any more games except to WB!