D4 D4 2008

Can report we (SFX) had a solid 6 quarter hitout against South Mornington, it was basically 3 quarters of reserves and 3 quarters of seniors with plenty of overlapping due to limited numbers.

There was one end of the ground with a huge Benny Gale blowing so the teams that had it in the first and third quarters had an obvious advantage.

First 3 quarters saw SFX victors by about 50 points but had the wind advantage.

Next three quarters saw South Mornington victors by 4 goals (this time they had the wind advantage) but would still say they outplayed us. Unsure of how many they had out but we were missing about 10 from our first 22 due to cricket etc.

Ordinary day for football with the wind,heat and hard ground but good for blokes to blow out some cobwebs. Must be said South Mornington were a ripper bunch of blokes who all stayed back for a well deserved beer. Their seniors definitely look like they'll be a handy outfit, very slick and hard at it and gave us a good idea of what to expect.

Thought their number 2 (think they were referring to him as "Rich") was probably BOG. must be noted that the "Taskmaster" also took a few very good contested grabs and looks at home in the SFX forward line!

Looking forward to a hitout with Syndal in a couple of weekends.

Interesting... So SM's seniors won? I don't know whether to think SM have gotten stronger or SFX aren't as hot as they spruiked themselves to be. Of course its only preseason.... I'm getting carried away.

I'm gunna bite........it was you guys doing to spruiking, based on an obviously flawed theory that you could measure clubbies form agaisnt D4. Maintained the whole time i had no idea how we'd measure up! SM are guns....we're shoe ins for the spoon:p.

At least you guys are getting a game. WBFC are still running around Prinny Park. Looks like we wont get to train on our ground until round two. Not ideal preparation

WB haven't touched a footy yet? Unless they're letting people train with footies on princess park?

North Brunny has had similar issues - but have now been allowed back onto our home ground. We won't have praccies, but can train in runners on Allard. We have had no chance to use any other grounds either and were using the grass inside teh Brunswick velodrome for a while (which we used all last season).

Hey OZZA how are you looking numbers wise???

Training two nights a week. We have a one hour time slot on both nights. How generous the council is :)

Well thats not so bad? I'm sure the ground you get in PP is in pretty good nick... and most teams wouldn't do much more than 90 mins during the preseason, so if you go for a run before and after and spend 60 mins with the footies then I'm guessing thats better than a lot of other clubs??

The surface is shocking. It's uneven, sand based rubbish with the odd patch of grass. I have sore ankles after every training session. Wouldn't mind having a few kicks at goal before round 1 either!

Not many grounds have goal posts until April. I think you guys have done fine, there would be teams a lot worse off than that.

Fair enough then, how has your preseason been?

We've had some decent numbers at training, but we still have a few injured from last year who will be struggling for round one.

Hi All,

I have been thinking that D4 has been spoiled for power forwards over the past few seasons with Edwards, Lauletta, Gerrard, Badenjak etc.

Will there be any big power forwards this year?

Also, Who do you think will win the goal kicking?

Cheers,
RM

West Brunny have Steve Smythe at full forward. Sits in the square and not many blokes will be able to move him. Needs to stay fit tho.

J Sudholz, kicks a long ball and should be a chance.

Excuse the WB bias :)

Sudholz can play ruck but we have a new bloke down and our skipper who usually plays at Centre Half Forward will not be back from injury until at least half way through the year.

Gets around the park and has good skills. Can't really judge as i'm not a ruckman. Looks alright though. Took a year off last year and this is only my second season so i haven't seen him play a game yet.

Hi All,

I have been thinking that D4 has been spoiled for power forwards over the past few seasons with Edwards, Lauletta, Gerrard, Badenjak etc.

Will there be any big power forwards this year?

Also, Who do you think will win the goal kicking?

Cheers,
RM

Troy Whiting (Fish) kicked 60 odd goals in 10 appearances for us last season. If he plays the year out he should win...at that rate anyway!

Probably the best kick for goal I saw last season. Go Fish!

I'd agree with Waz on Whiting. Not overly big, not overly fast or a high flyer.
Just knows how to play footy. Gets it regularly and seldom misses. Will kick plenty of goals and is Richmonds best player.

Troy Whiting (Fish) kicked 60 odd goals in 10 appearances for us last season. If he plays the year out he should win...at that rate anyway!

Probably the best kick for goal I saw last season. Go Fish!

Nah Waz, the wheels have fallen off, Fish has been caught, and its all looking crap down at KB. (Give the scribes nothing mate!!)

Time to skuttle the boat and re-build again. Poor ol' snakes.
(Give the scribes nothing mate!!)

Onto Sth Morn, if they improve with numbers from last year and their seniors only have to play 1 game, (As a few had to play both) I'll tip them for the flag!