Umm I didn't think you'd come in that quick!
Bored & can't get into work today - so I'm trawling for comments!

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Umm I didn't think you'd come in that quick!
Bored & can't get into work today - so I'm trawling for comments!
IFF,
Is Tim Fradkin going around this year?
Ophidian Old Boys
Called in at Westbourne tonight on the way home, mentions of a considerably understrength mixed team on Sunday so predictions of a drubbing are well off. Both coaches will be trying players in new positions and doing a revolving door policy on the interchange so as usual absolutely nothing can be read into the results of a praccy match.
(Unless one side is a clear winner, in which case tyres are pumped up and bold statements made all over bigfooty, in keeping with the honourable tradition.)
Look forward to meeting some of you guys on Sunday morning.
I was typing out an e-mail to a mate & thought that I'd post the contents on here to see what others thought........
A quick summation:
Any comments?
- West Brunswick – likely to be very good after winning 6 games in D3 last year & being desperately unlucky to be relegated.
- Kew – similar to above, although they have been ‘old’ for a while & some of them may have retired now they’re back in D4 or stayed on thinking they were a chance for another flag. Big question marks about them.
- St Francis Xavier – first year in. Very good apparently in Clubbies last year & expected to be players this year, although there are questions about depth, similar to Mt Lilydale last year.
- Mt Lilydale – you’d expect them to be better for a year back in D4, and they were good last year. Big watch. Tough to know too much as they’re pretty quiet.
- Box Hill North – steadily improving over the last few years & no reason to assume this won’t continue. A
- Albert Park – news on Tuesday night was that they’re off their ground for the first 5 weeks of the season. This always hurts them & hard to see them playing finals if they don’t start winning early.
- Richmond Central – definitely stronger than last year is the word. I’d be surprised to see them play finals, but they are gradually changing to a wining culture again, so they’re a chance.
- Syndal Tally Ho – will win their share of games, but probably won’t play finals.
- South Mornington – are they going to improve on their first half of last year; or are they going south with players going back to local leagues? (Like the rumours say…..) We’ll know by round 4….. Unknowns…..
- North Brunswick – have lost players back to Trinity (I think) & will struggle this year.
- Eley Park – started to improve last year & the word is they’ve continued to recruit well. Will push up towards the centre of the table.
- Bulleen Cobras – definitely improved on last year, but would need to improve by 10 goals plus per game turnaround for anyone to notice.
I agree with your summary totally.
Even if OW play with a mixed side and have 15 out the game will be all over by half time. Even so, I think a good pants-down-spanking isn't a bad idea to iron out a few kinks. If you can be competitive against a side that is 2 leagues above then that's a very positive sign - and players who perform well when the going is tough will be alright against a D4 side.
The cream might float to the top a bit quicker and sort out who is who among the new guys, maybe.
I was typing out an e-mail to a mate & thought that I'd post the contents on here to see what others thought........
A quick summation:
Any comments?
- West Brunswick – likely to be very good after winning 6 games in D3 last year & being desperately unlucky to be relegated.
- Kew – similar to above, although they have been ‘old’ for a while & some of them may have retired now they’re back in D4 or stayed on thinking they were a chance for another flag. Big question marks about them.
- St Francis Xavier – first year in. Very good apparently in Clubbies last year & expected to be players this year, although there are questions about depth, similar to Mt Lilydale last year.
- Mt Lilydale – you’d expect them to be better for a year back in D4, and they were good last year. Big watch. Tough to know too much as they’re pretty quiet.
- Box Hill North – steadily improving over the last few years & no reason to assume this won’t continue. A
- Albert Park – news on Tuesday night was that they’re off their ground for the first 5 weeks of the season. This always hurts them & hard to see them playing finals if they don’t start winning early.
- Richmond Central – definitely stronger than last year is the word. I’d be surprised to see them play finals, but they are gradually changing to a wining culture again, so they’re a chance.
- Syndal Tally Ho – will win their share of games, but probably won’t play finals.
- South Mornington – are they going to improve on their first half of last year; or are they going south with players going back to local leagues? (Like the rumours say…..) We’ll know by round 4….. Unknowns…..
- North Brunswick – have lost players back to Trinity (I think) & will struggle this year.
- Eley Park – started to improve last year & the word is they’ve continued to recruit well. Will push up towards the centre of the table.
- Bulleen Cobras – definitely improved on last year, but would need to improve by 10 goals plus per game turnaround for anyone to notice.
No idea until at least round one, however Syndal do have quite a few new players, and some pretty good ones, watch the forward line this year, three hard running strong marking players have slotted in and with some new recruits in the midfield along with the cisco kid running the lines we will be okay.
No idea until at least round 1? We won't really have any idea until well after that. Would you rather read people's speculations based on what they've heard, read on here and made up, or the other standard crap about how everyone wants footy to start, training has been good but we should be allowed on grounds, one week at a time blah blah blah?
I wouldn't expect Manny to give us any details of his new recruits - he's well trained in playing cards close to his chest (and rightly so at this stage)!
Thats why it says AT LEAST ROUND 1???? and yes manny doesn't say too much thats why i'm here.
Thats why it says AT LEAST ROUND 1????
Is it possible for every side to improve? Surely some team out there is thinking, boy-o-boy are we in for a long season! At this point in time the only teams that could be considered like that are AP and SouthM....but only because we never hear anything about them.... That, and because SMorn have a -4 clearance count, which can't be good.
The general trend of the last 2 seasons has been improvement. I can't see why this trend can't continue.
Is it possible for every side to improve? Surely some team out there is thinking, boy-o-boy are we in for a long season! At this point in time the only teams that could be considered like that are AP and SouthM....but only because we never hear anything about them.... That, and because SMorn have a -4 clearance count, which can't be good.
Ophidian Old Boys
is richmond going to have a pratice match before the season startshttp://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3232-0-49970-0&a=CLEAR
Click on Source to see the list sorted by which clubs are losing players, and Dest to see what they've picked up.
According to the list South Mornington have lost two and gained three. But that doesn't show retirements, just clearances.
That is very nice of your friend to tip us as flag favorites. But Ruck Machine, you know as well as I do, it is D4, anything could and prob will happen!!!
I will say this though, We (SFX) are all looking forward to the season ahead and we will endeavour to win every game we play and like every team at this time of the year, are quietly confident. But our main focus is Rd 1. Like that old cliche, "We will take it one week at a time"
We have a Prac match against Syndal this weekend (At SFX College, Beaconsfield) and we are hoping for a good win to put us in a positive position, for RD 1 against Eley Park!!!!
from what i understand eley park have lost, lost and lost (players that is and struggling 4 numbers big time), so from their performances last year SFX should totally destroy them in round 1. so look forward to it SFX, Round 1 should be a ripper start in D4. and maybe a sign of things to come, D3 does seem to be a popular outcome according to the pundits on this site for SFX.
May i ask how you came to the understanding of us loosing so many players?