D4 D4 2008

Saw a bit of the Kew v Albert Park game, as mentioned early umpires were good, the ground is in perfect condition and is a great venue to watch the footy on a Saturday afternoon.

Kew look like a very good team with a mixture of young fast players (form a recent U/19 premiership team) and a lot of talls who can take a grab. Albert Park didn't have the height of the speed to match it with Kew.

Kew would of won by a lot more if they were les selfish, there is not a lot of centering of the ball when going for goals, everyone was having pings from all angles.

In summary, Kew are a very good team and thirves on a big ground, while Albert Park look like a middle of the road team who needs a smaller ground to be at their best.

Very accurate summary 31. At the moment we only have 3 players from the 2004 under 19 grand final side playing seniors.

Have to agree with Spy1, everyone loves to bag an umpire but its amazing how they shut up once they've run about with a whistle themselves. I get this all the time in the juniors, the same parents who arc up about decisions or missed frees all magically vanish whenever its time to hand out tops for water carriers, boundaries, goal umps etc. None of them in a month of Sundays would ever put their hand up to do a coaches or umps course (even with the club meeting all expenses). Probably too fragile to stomach the thought of copping a spray from their fellow ferals.

Any (league) umpire does the best that they can on the day. Those who are there to make up the numbers get observed and get reported by clubs and get weeded out. Our Nelly could easily get a gig in any other comp and be running a second division game every weekend (provided the knees could take it). Ammo field umpires are a large group and the majority treat it as seriously as any player intent on having a good game. To get noticed and climb the ladder requires youth, ability and bloody hard work, pick any two. Spy1 spelled it out. D4 is a pitstop for the young scufflers and those turned out to pasture, but especially those who like the atmosphere and the clubs and are comfortable where they are. Rejoice, and cherish them, even if they pay the odd handball mark, because they are the backbone of your comp.

Spy1 missed another category of WM - those tight-shorted gelled alphabet boys who occasionally get a D4 gig because vacancies come up and they volunteer their time (cliche alert) for the love of the game. They can seem inconsistent because they'll pull you up for stuff you've got away with all season. But thats the same for both sides - deal with it.

Oh, another category less often seen is a higher grade umpire moonlighting as a club umpire. Happens occasionally, especially for praccies and Sunday games. You never know which clubby you heap abuse on this week might turn up wearing official whites later on.

So stick it up 'em, Nelly, and keep running until you're 70. Add me to the list of those who'll buy you a beer after the game.

here here!!! Umpired an intra club this year and never again. Even my own brothers turned on me and looked like they genuinely wanted me to jump off a bridge. Albeit, I was an absolute shocker....the old premature blow of the whistle for dropped marks featured about 6 times in 3 x 15 min quarters and it was impossible on occassions to know whether or not the player correctly disposed of the pill.

As gooda blokes as we might be off the field, we are all irrational pr1cks on the field. I respect umps that don't take it personally as i was a nervous anxious bastard by the last quarter and they were all my best mates! good form from nellup to come in for a few beers after wearing some wrath from us angry white line fever ridden hot heads.

here here!!! Umpired an intra club this year and never again. Even my own brothers turned on me and looked like they genuinely wanted me to jump off a bridge. Albeit, I was an absolute shocker....the old premature blow of the whistle for dropped marks featured about 6 times in 3 x 15 min quarters and it was impossible on occassions to know whether or not the player correctly disposed of the pill.

As gooda blokes as we might be off the field, we are all irrational pr1cks on the field. I respect umps that don't take it personally as i was a nervous anxious bastard by the last quarter and they were all my best mates! good form from nellup to come in for a few beers after wearing some wrath from us angry white line fever ridden hot heads.

The ''White line fever" can get the better of most footballers in atleast one incident a game and there is no way I would ever consider umpiring a game of any sort! I guess we should all try and remember that umpires are crucial for the game and are only human! ( sort of) ( shoe on the other foot):confused:

I have played 50+ games now in the VAFA and the umps have only significantly effected the outcome of one game. So they're doing ok.

Sneako, it was a great game of footy, glad we got up on the day in front of wat was prob the biggest Ammos crowd I have seen. Good atmosphere Def!!!!!

Dont know about the worst umpiring ever. Some of it was ordinary, but that happens in D4 footy. But I did make an observation and this is directed at NELLUP. Take this as constructive critisism and not a dig at umpires. Peter, you can not umpire a game of footy standing 60m away from the contest, it was so frustrating to both sides. 2 perfect examples yesterday, you paid 2 marks from a handball???????????? Umpiring is not rocket science, it takes a little bit of common sense!!!!

And Sneako, having a dig at one of our players is not on!!! I will remind you of your no 46 who all he wanted to do all day was belt someone. (Just ask the ump). So give that a rest mate!!

But have to say was a good game to play and played in great spirits. Look forward to the return match!!

Umpiring umpiring umpiring, one very average umpire made both look bad, both teams got very frustrated with decisions. Yeh was a great mark...sorry handball...sorry mark....no sorry handball. Blinded by the light were you Nellup, may I suggest a toupee, this may help with blockout in future. (May enhance your age by many a year...may)

Not naming a player but when watching the ressies in the 2nd qtr a SFX player who wasn't wearing two straight verticle numbers on his back is obviously a big admirer of Barry Hall and is capable of replicating such acts behind play. The Mt Lilydale player on the receiving end did recover and the next day could only wink with his left.

Take all the above out of the game it was a great day, great venue for footy and a good crowd on hand. One's & two's games were exciting till the end.

The old saying " The ump will never change his decision" is true. Nellup, not having a go mate and if the sun was in your eyes, then I will believe you. Just a little frustrating thats all and its prob why some scuffles start from poor decisions, but I do have to remind myself that umps are human???? Well most are. Doing a good job Pete, keep up the good work.

And yes, rooster was a disgraceful ump in the intra club. Bloody woeful!!!!!!;)

Umpiring umpiring umpiring, one very average umpire made both look bad, both teams got very frustrated with decisions. Yeh was a great mark...sorry handball...sorry mark....no sorry handball. Blinded by the light were you Nellup, may I suggest a toupee, this may help with blockout in future. (May enhance your age by many a year...may)

Not naming a player but when watching the ressies in the 2nd qtr a SFX player who wasn't wearing two straight verticle numbers on his back is obviously a big admirer of Barry Hall and is capable of replicating such acts behind play. The Mt Lilydale player on the receiving end did recover and the next day could only wink with his left.

Take all the above out of the game it was a great day, great venue for footy and a good crowd on hand. One's & two's games were exciting till the end.

Enough about the umpires. It's getting boring.

Round 3 Tips

North Brunswick vs South Mornington (Allard Park)

Key Players: D. Pizzari (NB) and M. Clarke (SM)
My Tip: SM by 1 Goal.

Syndal Tally Ho vs Box Hill North
Key Players: M. Pinder (BHN) and F. George (STH)
My Tip: BHN by 1 point

Bulleen vs St Francis Xavier
Key Players; B. Cookson (BC) and J. Lenders (SFX)
My Tip: SFX by 10 Goals

Richmond Central vs Albert Park
Key Players: S. Bennett (AP) and N. Nuske (RC)
My Tip: RC by 2 Goals

West Brunswick vs Kew
Key Players: B. Irving (WB) and G. Bell (Kew)
My Tip: WB by 6 Goals

Eley Park vs Mt Lilydale
Key Players: M. Rhodes (MtL) and M. Viola (EP)
My Tip: MtL by 5 Goals

Anyone at the Richmond Centrals game on the weekend. I see Oden Hickey was named in the best. Is a very tallented footballer when he wants to be. what position was he playing??

Some great games of footy scheduled for Rd 3.

NB V SM - 2 youngest lists in D4. Good Opp for NB to get on the board for 2008. And SM could go 3 - 0!!!

RC V AP - Can Rich go for the 3 - 0 start. Or will AP stop there run??

WB v Kew - Match of the round. The 2 D3 Teams meeting for the first time. Can anyone stop WB??? Maybe Kew???

Speaking of umpires... Wouldn't you like to these umpires... ay ay ay

umpires_small.JPG

I'd say better than the one's going around now, lots more hair too nelly... he he he

The old saying " The ump will never change his decision" is true. Nellup, not having a go mate and if the sun was in your eyes, then I will believe you. Just a little frustrating thats all and its prob why some scuffles start from poor decisions, but I do have to remind myself that umps are human???? Well most are. Doing a good job Pete, keep up the good work.

And yes, rooster was a disgraceful ump in the intra club. Bloody woeful!!!!!!;)

More scuffles break out because of umps. Please what a load of crap. Yes they make mistakes. Ever made a poor decision on the footy field mate? Ever choosen the wrong option? Kicked to the opposition? If anyone ever blames poor umpiring for getting in a scuffle then they are a moron.
I would suggest anyone who is bagging these guys need to try it themselves. It is one of the hardest and most character building things Ive ever tried(especially when you have A$$holes like Tony boyce doing it with you) I lasted 6 games and gave it in. Playing is much easier and that is coming from someone was a very ordinary footballer.

Anyone at the Richmond Centrals game on the weekend. I see Oden Hickey was named in the best. Is a very tallented footballer when he wants to be. what position was he playing??

I saw him the week before and he was terrible, was lucky to hold his spot imo. When he gets he looks good but he could not get near it last week. OBviously a big turnaround for him.

More scuffles break out because of umps. Please what a load of crap. Yes they make mistakes. Ever made a poor decision on the footy field mate? Ever choosen the wrong option? Kicked to the opposition? If anyone ever blames poor umpiring for getting in a scuffle then they are a moron.
I would suggest anyone who is bagging these guys need to try it themselves. It is one of the hardest and most character building things Ive ever tried(especially when you have A$$holes like Tony boyce doing it with you) I lasted 6 games and gave it in. Playing is much easier and that is coming from someone was a very ordinary footballer.

Laugh ... you tried it for 6 games and gave up! Says lots for your character! :thumbsdown:

Obviously you are king Sh.t!!!! Look Moron up in the dictionary. The description = collingwood supporter!! Sorry Camo!!

You sound like an ordinary footballer. And No I do not make mistakes......................

Someone commented earlier about umpires' reluctance to call a ball up without a reply. I couldn't agree more - scrums have formed more in the 5 lower-D-level games I've seen this year than I've ever seen before. The delay in blowing the whistle has caused a bit of confusion on MANY occasions. I'm not saying it's unfair or bad umpiring or causing a major spike in the risk of injury - it's just a lot different to last year.

Anyone who thinks sub-standard umpiring doesn't impact the way a game is played may be deluded, especially with respect to fights. I agree with nearly every cliche about umpires being an integral part of the game (and yes I've umpired a game or two, fortunately never with Boyce), but I also think if they don't take control of a game, or if they take too much control in the wrong way, it can be a major contributor to players with shorter than average fuses losing their cool.

Someone commented earlier about umpires' reluctance to call a ball up without a reply. I couldn't agree more - scrums have formed more in the 5 lower-D-level games I've seen this year than I've ever seen before. The delay in blowing the whistle has caused a bit of confusion on MANY occasions. I'm not saying it's unfair or bad umpiring or causing a major spike in the risk of injury - it's just a lot different to last year.

Anyone who thinks sub-standard umpiring doesn't impact the way a game is played may be deluded, especially with respect to fights. I agree with nearly every cliche about umpires being an integral part of the game (and yes I've umpired a game or two, fortunately never with Boyce), but I also think if they don't take control of a game, or if they take too much control in the wrong way, it can be a major contributor to players with shorter than average fuses losing their cool.

Peter are you still happy with your early predictions?????

Originally Posted by Peter_Pan
Anyone willing to throw out an preseason ladder prediction?

Here are my thoughts

top few:

Eltham - will do better at the end of the year this time around
BHN - On the way up
Eley Park Sharks - big off season recruiting I hear
Mt Lilydale - dark horse finals contenders

middle of road:
West Brunswick - not sure how they'll react to the drop
North Brunswick - early preseason = April champions = No games in September
Albert Park - can't see them going that well. New coach might change
that though
Syndal - Manny hanging around?

down there:

Richmond Centrals, will be OK but nothing special.
Bulleen Cobras - big changes required
South Mornington - exodus of players is on the cards
Kew - merger did nothing for them last year, they won't improve any this season

Just a thought anyway, I look forward to finding out how close my predictions are when the season gets underway in 5 months

U know what, i cant understand what every1's problem with boyce is. Every game he umpires, he umpires fairly, and even though im from uni high, i cant remember the last time he has made an unfair call to swing our way, or even 1 that wasnt there. It frustrates me that we get no leeway from him, (i mean, if he was like every other teams ump, he would be throwing stupid free kicks at us week in week out) Seriously, every time a team comes to our ground, they SOOK like no tomorrow cos they didnt handpass b4 getting tackled, tried to take 1 of our heads off in a tackle, two handed shoves in the back or ate a newborn child on the field.

The frees go both ways, so to all the 2's teams that wanna sook about boyce, dont sook, just get better and then maybe a free kick against or for u wont be so influencial on the game.:thumbsdown:

U know what, i cant understand what every1's problem with boyce is. Every game he umpires, he umpires fairly, and even though im from uni high, i cant remember the last time he has made an unfair call to swing our way, or even 1 that wasnt there. It frustrates me that we get no leeway from him, (i mean, if he was like every other teams ump, he would be throwing stupid free kicks at us week in week out) Seriously, every time a team comes to our ground, they SOOK like no tomorrow cos they didnt handpass b4 getting tackled, tried to take 1 of our heads off in a tackle, two handed shoves in the back or ate a newborn child on the field.

The frees go both ways, so to all the 2's teams that wanna sook about boyce, dont sook, just get better and then maybe a free kick against or for u wont be so influencial on the game.:thumbsdown:

Can we please put a ban on all Umpire banter. I have never heard so much sooking in my life.

Agreed. My one and only comment is that I think most of the reserves club umpires seem to do a really good job. Lucas from Nth Brunswick is a brilliant umpire, Waz from RC was good and the BHN umpire on the weekend was also good from what I saw.

Back to the footy. Bulleen guys, was Sth Mornington's ground really that bad last week? We are having issues with our home ground at the minute - but some comments have made me think we shouldn't be looking to swap home games with them for this week.