D4 D4 2008

Rankings for clubs that talked themseleves up way to much before the seaon started are and have shown little: (From best to worst)
12. SM
11. WB
10. EP
9. BHN
8. AP
7. SFX
6.KEW
5. NB
4.RC
3. SYN
2. MTL
THE WINNER IS
1.BUL :D

nice post u twat after we have just come off at 12 goal win

Hey Rooster, how are you?

Mate, loved the trip up the Hwy, very relaxing and quite scenic!

You guys have great facilities and a top ground. Good bunch of blokes and two very good - tight games! Pitty we lost but you blokes just wanted it more.....

yeah good mate, couple of ripper games, your mob certainly gave our twos a good scare who have been travelling very comfortably. Reckon you have a few blokes in your team that could add some good toe to the ones.

We were pretty lucky in the seniors, could've gone either way there for a while. Probably West Brunswick aside, the competition is much more even than what results are showing. It was only a matter of time before Eley park strung some quarters together and showed what they can do, and BC showed last week in the first half they have the cattle to give the top sides some grief. Lovin the league, and great to see every club hanging back for a brew, didn't always get that in clubbies.

Reckon if you get some fitness into the direct infleunce lead singer, you will have a weapon.Imposing man. Good luck for the coming weeks, reckon you'll play finals despite a pr1ck of a draw.:thumbsu:

Rankings for clubs that talked themseleves up way to much before the seaon started are and have shown little: (From best to worst)
12. SM
11. WB
10. EP
9. BHN
8. AP
7. SFX
6.KEW
5. NB
4.RC
3. SYN
2. MTL
THE WINNER IS
1.BUL :D

Interesting rankings - besides SFX what clubs have talked themselves up

If I understand correctly, you're saying Bulleen talked themselves up over summer and have not lived up to it. I hope your wrong. I hope I'm wrong. No-one from Bulleen that I know of have talked themselves up or the club. They have been going about their business, getting to know the coaches, getting to know new players and just focusing on having a better year than last. There are no ego's at Bulleen, just team orientated footballers who are striving for the common goal.

understand your frustrations mate, fortunately the bigfooty forum is a far cry from reality. Must admit it I use to take SFX critisicm personally when i read it on here, but get it now it's just a bunch of blokes p1ss farting around who don't really represent the majority of opinions out there on a Saturday.

To be honest it's pretty rare to come across arrogant football clubs, every club might have the odd arrogant player but the Aussie way is to shoot a bloke down who is getting ahead of himself, think this would be the case at most clubs.

FWIW can't remember BC ever being talked up on here, even so, there would be no shame in honkin the horn a bit to mark the improvement of what was obviously a pretty ordinary year for you last year.

yeah good mate, couple of ripper games, your mob certainly gave our twos a good scare who have been travelling very comfortably. Reckon you have a few blokes in your team that could add some good toe to the ones.

We were pretty lucky in the seniors, could've gone either way there for a while. Probably West Brunswick aside, the competition is much more even than what results are showing. It was only a matter of time before Eley park strung some quarters together and showed what they can do, and BC showed last week in the first half they have the cattle to give the top sides some grief. Lovin the league, and great to see every club hanging back for a brew, didn't always get that in clubbies.

Reckon if you get some fitness into the direct infleunce lead singer, you will have a weapon.Imposing man. Good luck for the coming weeks, reckon you'll play finals despite a pr1ck of a draw.:thumbsu:

Who?

Interesting rankings - besides SFX what clubs have talked themselves up
Yes you i know. I threw this out there to get some notice and get a few blokes going. Obviously worked! SFX would have to be the premiers in the division of talking themselves up! :D Have to say most clubs this year have kept pretty quiet about themselves. A bit of a difference to 2007. Anyway will keep an eye on the D4 results during the year.
:)

Some classic quotes from the Taskmaster

"Well, I am sure you will all be pleased that the SFXOC FC has put the taskmaster on notice and also put a media ban on me. If I stuff up again I will be sacked. The leadership group had a meeting and I am now on last chance basis. (it is the Fev rule). I over stepped the line and my comments and views on this forum were deemed to be un satisfactory.

So the forum is all yours , you will not hear from the master again.

Over and out!!"

"We will let the scoreboard do the tralking Rooster. Now thats CONFIDENCE!!!!

And I will back Rooster up, not because he is a team mate, but its the best club I have been associated with.

Go X-Men!!!:thumbsu:"

"It is called confidence. Confident in own ability, confident in your team mate winning the ball, confidence in the TEAM. There are no individuals at SFX, its all about the team and if someone does think they are an individual, they are quickly found out by the coaching staff.

We have a style of football we play and if that sadly is tagged as "arrogant" by outsiders, then you are all very mis lead! We go out each week to be competitive and if it results in a win, then GREAT!!!!!!!!!! we will enjoy it, just like everyone else!"

Confidence can also equal being up yourselves.

I'm not sure which club you are associated with, and to be honest I don't really care. You'd give Rex Hunt and ET a run for their money with the big fish you've been reeling in of late.

Unfortunately your opinion doesn't count though because you haven't openly supported
a. every other club for how great a bunch of blokes they are;
b. the umpires, who are just wonderful in every way, shape and form; or
c. your own club by talking up how hard you've worked and how much effort has gone in to making things work this year, even though you are more Australian than skin cancer and love tall poppy syndrome more than football itself.

I'm not sure which club you are associated with, and to be honest I don't really care. You'd give Rex Hunt and ET a run for their money with the big fish you've been reeling in of late.

Unfortunately your opinion doesn't count though because you haven't openly supported
c. your own club by talking up how hard you've worked and how much effort has gone in to making things work this year, even though you are more Australian than skin cancer and love tall poppy syndrome more than football itself.

That's a bit disapointing. There is no malice in my posts I have just found "The Taskmaster" to be an easy target. He is probably a ripper bloke but he leaves himself wide open on this forum.
As for my team I don't have one. I am a loner and a nomad who like the Hulk has been forced to walk the earth alone. I have a few mates playing at several D4 clubs which is where my interest comes from.
It's all good fun.

Tips for Round 5

West Brunny by 150 points
Kew by 9 points
Eley Park by 15 points
Mount Lilydale by 57 points
Albert Park by 35 points
Richmond by 26 points

That's a bit disapointing. There is no malice in my posts I have just found "The Taskmaster" to be an easy target. He is probably a ripper bloke but he leaves himself wide open on this forum.
As for my team I don't have one. I am a loner and a nomad who like the Hulk has been forced to walk the earth alone. I have a few mates playing at several D4 clubs which is where my interest comes from.
It's all good fun.

I was taking the p!ss. Just like you, I've used sarcasm as a tool for bagging out the often-wide-open Taskmaster. He's might be a ripper bloke, but based on what he says here he could easily be not so ripper as well - much like a lot of us who have anything to say

Sorry mate. I was trying to be nice for a change. I don't think it suits me. I couldn't give a toss what sort of bloke he is.

Just keeping the guard up PP, can't come out swinging when you're one of the new kids on the block. Not a bad analogy though, my complexion has copped a hiding this "Winter".

This week will see -
WB with Bainy, Gibbo, Gally, Irv, Dishon, Hen and the fleet by as many as they like against NB.
Sharkers if improved to win by 5 goals at BH.
Kew by a point over SFX.
Centrals to continue SM's slide.
Falcons by 3 goals against a confident Cobra outfit.
Mountainmen to win by 10 goals at Syndal.

Teams sorting themselves out with no real surprises.
WB look to be the yard stick.
Kew and SFX looking to be the threats.
Mt Lilydale have the ability to be in the mix as the season progresses.
Centrals and Falcons other contenders for finals berths.
Sharks may have a run, next few weeks to tell.
Write off the others.
SM to continue to slide against respectable opposition and lack of depth. Box Hill perennial pretenders, Cobras on the way up with youngsters and improving, and Syndal consolidating. NB disappointing.

This week we will see -
WB with Hen, Bainy, Irv, Dishon, Gall and the fleet by as many as they want against NB.
Sharkers by 4 goals if they are improved at Box Hill.
Kew by a point in the match of the round hosting SFX.
Centrals by 8 goals over SM.
Falcons by 5 goals over a confident improving Cobra outfit. Danger game.
Mt Lilydale by 10 goals at Syndal.

Ladder beginning to take shape with few surprises at the top.
West Brunny look to be the yardstick with SFX and Kew as likely challengers. Mt Llydale may have the ability as the season unfolds. Likely battle for other final spots between Centrals and Falcons. Sharkers a rough hope if they can can continue improvement.
SM on the slide and look to lack depth as well as play more respectable opposition upcoming, Box Hill perennial pretenders apparently (then what have they done in seasons past to be aspirants?), Cobras young and showing improvement and liveliness off the field, Syndal and NB can hopefully consolidate and build for future seasons.
Potential Cinderalla story. Centrals, go for glory! Many people admire the efforts of many and the way your club go about things.

I see the Centrals are in the 5.

When was the last time they played finals football, surely not since they were relegated from D3 in 2002?

Which club has the longest finals appearance drought going?

I see the Centrals are in the 5.

When was the last time they played finals football, surely not since they were relegated from D3 in 2002?

Which club has the longest finals appearance drought going?

I think 2000 was our last appearance, although no one from that time remains (9/11!)

As for longest finals drought we may be 2nd only behind our mad cousins at Punt Rd, However I am sure it wouldn't be the worse in VAFA (But may be wrong)

Enjoy the wet everyone....(On the ground)

Some classic quotes from the Taskmaster

"Well, I am sure you will all be pleased that the SFXOC FC has put the taskmaster on notice and also put a media ban on me. If I stuff up again I will be sacked. The leadership group had a meeting and I am now on last chance basis. (it is the Fev rule). I over stepped the line and my comments and views on this forum were deemed to be un satisfactory.

So the forum is all yours , you will not hear from the master again.

Over and out!!"

"We will let the scoreboard do the tralking Rooster. Now thats CONFIDENCE!!!!

And I will back Rooster up, not because he is a team mate, but its the best club I have been associated with.

Go X-Men!!!:thumbsu:"

"It is called confidence. Confident in own ability, confident in your team mate winning the ball, confidence in the TEAM. There are no individuals at SFX, its all about the team and if someone does think they are an individual, they are quickly found out by the coaching staff.

We have a style of football we play and if that sadly is tagged as "arrogant" by outsiders, then you are all very mis lead! We go out each week to be competitive and if it results in a win, then GREAT!!!!!!!!!! we will enjoy it, just like everyone else!"

Yes I am a very very ordinary individual. You only have to ask the boys from SFX. They would be happy to agree with the above statement!!

As for confidence = Up yourselves, well I think and I am prob very safe in saying this, that 99% of us are up ourselves. If you pull on your clubs jumper on the weekend, then you must have confidence in your own ability to play the game, if not, then you prob should not be out there.

And thanks for taking the time to go through the forum notes and highlight some of the things I have written. I cant see wat is in those quotes that constitutes, Me, us, SFX talking ourselves up. Just some things you learn as a junior.

But hey I am a very simple man and I have trouble with the english language, so maybe I have it all wrong!!

Yes I am a very very ordinary individual. You only have to ask the boys from SFX. They would be happy to agree with the above statement!!

As for confidence = Up yourselves, well I think and I am prob very safe in saying this, that 99% of us are up ourselves. If you pull on your clubs jumper on the weekend, then you must have confidence in your own ability to play the game, if not, then you prob should not be out there.

And thanks for taking the time to go through the forum notes and highlight some of the things I have written. I cant see wat is in those quotes that constitutes, Me, us, SFX talking ourselves up. Just some things you learn as a junior.

But hey I am a very simple man and I have trouble with the english language, so maybe I have it all wrong!!

Bingo