D4 D4 2008

I find it funny how the SFX boys need to go out of there way to take digs at BHN. I thought the game was generally played in good spirits (with the exception of 2 or 3 incidents).

The umpiring was atrocious and one umpire in particular (not Nelly) was terrible.

#14 for SFX was easily their best player. Was his name Weed?

agreed. and yeah weed was excellent.

Im not an SFX player i was there as a supporter and it's not about taking digs at BHN it's about letting you no how you guys let yourselves down with a few actions that werent needed! yeah i had a crack at your ground and your change rooms but that was my view! dosent mean it was the SFX players view! This forum is for personal oppinions and that was mine! i was serious about the way the players reacted to the umpiring! weather it was bad umpiring or not they dont deserved to be threatend! And if you are saying that it's ok for that to happen then you have seriously no leg to stand on saying what i said was harsh!

I would never condone threatening an umpire.

HAHAHAHAAH
I went down to BH yesterday to watch sfx v bh! What a disgraceful foootball club BH are! This is how my day went
Arrived at the football ground- i mean cow paddock at 11.30 to watch the 2's it was a good tough game but just seemed there were way to many f__k heads running around for the BH 2's! So i new that the 1's would be just as interesting!
Thought i would go an expect the ground to see what the surface was like! didnt have to worry about jumping a fence because there was none! It was like someone said here is a bit of land lets puts some white lines on it and a few posts at either end and call it an oval! Anyway while walking across the field i started feeling a bit sea sick, and realised that the ground was a f----kin disgrace it was patchy, uneven, pot holes everywhere and there was actually an up hill and down hill slope on the ground! one of the worst grounds i have ever seen! A health hazerd! but it seemed it was going to be the trend for the day!
The 2's finished it was a quality game SFX won in a hard win but it was amusing to see just how much it meant to the BH coach when tears were streaming from his face! He just stood there looking at the score bored like it was a bad dream! To bad he had to coach that bunch of ferals!
Anyway onto the seniors- I went into the change rooms, WOW what a change room it pretty much matched the ground was small and shit! The boys were getting ready for a good game. The boys ran out onto the ground and began the warm ups. After five minuts and a few rolled ankles the game was ready to begin! It was a quality game i will give BH credit they kept coming and never gave up! To bad they were f----n ferals that wanted to scrap the whole game and the poor umpire he coped it! all game these bh players gave it to this umpire and he let it go it! The BH coach on the bench was a huge feral kicking chairs and telling his players to hit blokes or get off the field! Oh yeah i forgot about the benches or the lack of! There were 2 and a half chairs for the SFX boys the half a chair was like the ground a bit of a health Hazerd!! Classy Club this one! Anyway the game finished and SFX won a quality game but was dissapointing to see a few BH players making threats to the umpire! Telling him he is only in charge for 2 hours a week and that there were plenty more hours in the week to sort it out!! ALL CLASS!!! F-kn FERALS!! Anway after the game i thought there is no way i was sticking around for a few beers to support a disgraceful club like this so i left! spoke to me mate this morning who did have a few beers after the game and he said that they wanted to buy a slab for the bus trip home! You wouldn't believe what they got charged! not40, not 50 not 60 not 70 but f kn $80 for a slab! beacause apparentley the only sell beer in 6 pacs not a whole slab!! So after all that i have to say i will never be going back to that pathetic ground where the whole experience was a disgrace!
Ground= 0/10
Change rooms=2/10
Canteen=2/10 - had to be a half wit working in there heck ke was slow
Blokes=2/10
Bar= $80/10

now thats more like it.
i'm sick of reading all this love-in crap on this thread. sometimes i wonder if you guys all hold hands when you're playing each other. as for our mates at BHN, they are a bit excitable, but they're about as threatening as a bruised grape. now $80 for a slab, here's a tip, a quick gesture to the barman and there's a bottleshop just down the road, half price, not that hard to figure out, hell you could maybe get 2 slabs! imagine that. next time.

Ruck Machine, I have to agree with all the comments about the BHN FC. That ground is an absolute disgrace. I cannot believe that it is passed to play footy on, anything for that matter, I would not even let my dog Sh.t on it!! And $80 for a slab??? Turn it up!!! And we were the only guys having a drink in YOUR Rooms.

You guys took it up to us and it was a good game, we had to work really hard for the win and full credit to you guys, but to threaten the umps at the end, gee the maturity of the joint shone through.

Mate, you lost the game, ye it was dissapointing for you blokes, but you were beaten, live with it!!

And Phantom13, when did I say I was not a fan??? I just said that I could not see where your 1st win was coming from, bloody hell!! And it must be going well wen the reserves coach, threatens to hand in his resignation from wat I have heard.

I was talking from an individual standpoint, your teammate rooster talked me up then you said Cisco would run rings around me, i would have to agree with you in any event. Sounds like there was a bit in the BHN game, SFX doing very nicely in 2nd would it be too early to say it's a two horse race??

Very early considering they are yet to play west brunswick and got beaten by Kew.

Looking forward to the Mt Lilydale v Richmond Centrals match up in the next round. Both teams on 5 wins and battling it out for the 4th spot on the ladder. The Rams with some vital players to return for the game and the Snakes who seem to be improving with every week. Definately the match of the round!!

Yer true Phantom......Sorry mate, I have not seen you play much footy so i had to go with the cisco kid!!!! Ye prob to early to say its a 2 horse race, there is Kew, RC and MtL in that mix. And we did have a loss to the Kew boys. So we still have plenty of hard work to do, b4 we can say that we will be a finals threat! No there really was not much in the BHN game, just an incident at the end with the umps and the state of the ground, apart from that a good game of footy. Not sure who the Hawk is, but as Rooster said, no reflection on the playing group.

Ruck Machine, how is the young bloke that looked knocked out cold yesterday late in the 3rd after I took a hanger on him................I think he was belted in the head by his own team mate?? It was the longest 5min wait to kick a goal I have ever encounted and these days I am very ordinary around goals, so waiting that long did not help..........

Yer true Phantom......Sorry mate, I have not seen you play much footy so i had to go with the cisco kid!!!! Ye prob to early to say its a 2 horse race, there is Kew, RC and MtL in that mix. And we did have a loss to the Kew boys. So we still have plenty of hard work to do, b4 we can say that we will be a finals threat! No there really was not much in the BHN game, just an incident at the end with the umps and the state of the ground, apart from that a good game of footy. Not sure who the Hawk is, but as Rooster said, no reflection on the playing group.

Ruck Machine, how is the young bloke that looked knocked out cold yesterday late in the 3rd after I took a hanger on him................I think he was belted in the head by his own team mate?? It was the longest 5min wait to kick a goal I have ever encounted and these days I am very ordinary around goals, so waiting that long did not help..........

He is fine, nice lump on his head ... you're right it was friendly fire.

It was a nice kick for goal considering the wait.

Have you played the old team yet?

He is fine, nice lump on his head ... you're right it was friendly fire.

It was a nice kick for goal considering the wait.

Have you played the old team yet?

Glad to hear he is doing fine.

No have not played the old mob yet mate. 3 weeks time, we play syndal. Should be a good game and Im expecting to cop it, but that will be hopefully some freindly banter between old teammates. But we have 2 very important games coming up, Albert Park and then West Brunny.

Glad to hear he is doing fine.

No have not played the old mob yet mate. 3 weeks time, we play syndal. Should be a good game and Im expecting to cop it, but that will be hopefully some freindly banter between old teammates. But we have 2 very important games coming up, Albert Park and then West Brunny.

Geez - some harsh comments. Looking forward to the return game.

we had our big function on last night so we had to make a make a move early.we always try and stay for a couple at least.
Fair enough strummer, you will find the BHN boys were in the same boat and some would of headed off straight after the game to get ready for the night ahead. So not ideal, Really enjoyed the games on show, good luck for the rest of the season.

Tunnelball - Can you shed any light on why D. Finkemeyer is not playing at the moment. Looks like the mounties are really missing his leadership & aggressive style of football in the backline.

Geez - some harsh comments. Looking forward to the return game.

None of these comments have been given by the playing group. We actually thought the players from BHN weren't a bad bunch of blokes who played the game hard but fair. I thought the umpire decisions went against both sides. Flowerpower pull your head in! Mate we are all here because we love playing football, we as players can't control other peoples thoughts who don't pull on the football jumper week in and week out. One persons opinion means sh1t all.
Looking forward to having you boys out to the country down our way in the future.

From reading posts over the past few weeks I am starting to see that SFX have a touch of the St Mary's about them. Complaining about umps (not this week, but in the past), poor facilities (this week), about coping jibes from opposition teams (practice match pre season). Boys just get on winning games and not worry about things you can't control.

Does anyone else notice how some of the most inflamatory posts usually come from a 'Newbie' who we have not heard of before.
These posts all seem to start with "I just happened to be in the area and dropped in for a look...", "I don't support either team but live local so I thought I'd check out ..." or "I had a relative playing at such and such yeasterday so I went along, not having seen a D4 game before."
More likely these comments don't come from a player from any team but from someone who just wants to grind a personal ax or get a thrill out of causing some bad blood on the boards.
The game was close and all day. Both teams seemed to have a respect for each other at the end of the day.
The umpiring situation. Thought it was one of Nelly's better displays considering the poor work of his mate.
BHN and the umpire in question have a bit of history, having sent several reports to VAFA about him in the past.
Why he was sent to the game only VAFA know. It is like waving a red rag at a bull. Did not see a player abusing the umpire at the end of the game. If it happened then I am sure that player will be brought before BHN's own 'Code of Conduct' panel and discilplined accordingly.
The ground is frustratingly beyond the control of the club. It was just starting to come good from some work the club itself had done; then in the last 2 weeks Whitehorse decided to cut the cooch grass covering a lot of the ground so low it is now almost completely gone.

There was a comment from one of the assistant coaches at one point when a few players were having a push and shove in the backplay. He yelled " Either throw some punches or give it up." This was meant as a sarcastic remark to both sets of players meaning you are all just wasting energy. BHN players are never encouraged to belt opposition players and any person who wants to assert that on this board needs to be reminded that this is not parliment and your hidden identy can be obtained for legal purposes.

As a member of BHN, I say to SFX players and coaches, well played. We at BHN will take comments of certain posters with a grain of salt and don't seriously acredit them to your playing group or committee.

If it was true you were charged $80 dollars for a slab of beer please contact our secretary and we will rectify this matter. I am not a beer man myself so are ignorant of what a fair price at a bottle shop would be. But I will speak to our secretary and attempt to fix this problem to everyone's satisfaction.
As to only selling six packs. That is a part of our 'Good Sports' accreditation. We are not permitted to hand over more than a six pack at a time. Our bar staff are employed by the club and given strict instructions so as not to breach our conditions. However I think a lack of communication a flexibilty has occured and I appreciate your clubs guesture of trying to purchase your travelers from our club.

With regard to awards. We always give away a six pack to each teams best. We have been a little preturbed at a trend at other clubs and at our own club to present these awards up to an hour after the game. In an attempt to rectify this our committee only last week voted in that our wards would be given at 5:10 pm precisely.
And yes we also had a function that night, so unlike other weeks our players were allowed to leave earlier than the normal hour required after the siren.

Having said all that, we will still be gunning for revenge on the paddock next time and are confident we can turn the tables. Till then you have the right to bragging rights.

Does anyone else notice how some of the most inflamatory posts usually come from a 'Newbie' who we have not heard of before.
These posts all seem to start with "I just happened to be in the area and dropped in for a look...", "I don't support either team but live local so I thought I'd check out ..." or "I had a relative playing at such and such yeasterday so I went along, not having seen a D4 game before."
More likely these comments don't come from a player from any team but from someone who just wants to grind a personal ax or get a thrill out of causing some bad blood on the boards.
The game was close and all day. Both teams seemed to have a respect for each other at the end of the day.
The umpiring situation. Thought it was one of Nelly's better displays considering the poor work of his mate.
BHN and the umpire in question have a bit of history, having sent several reports to VAFA about him in the past.
Why he was sent to the game only VAFA know. It is like waving a red rag at a bull. Did not see a player abusing the umpire at the end of the game. If it happened then I am sure that player will be brought before BHN's own 'Code of Conduct' panel and discilplined accordingly.
The ground is frustratingly beyond the control of the club. It was just starting to come good from some work the club itself had done; then in the last 2 weeks Whitehorse decided to cut the cooch grass covering a lot of the ground so low it is now almost completely gone.

There was a comment from one of the assistant coaches at one point when a few players were having a push and shove in the backplay. He yelled " Either throw some punches or give it up." This was meant as a sarcastic remark to both sets of players meaning you are all just wasting energy. BHN players are never encouraged to belt opposition players and any person who wants to assert that on this board needs to be reminded that this is not parliment and your hidden identy can be obtained for legal purposes.

As a member of BHN, I say to SFX players and coaches, well played. We at BHN will take comments of certain posters with a grain of salt and don't seriously acredit them to your playing group or committee.

If it was true you were charged $80 dollars for a slab of beer please contact our secretary and we will rectify this matter. I am not a beer man myself so are ignorant of what a fair price at a bottle shop would be. But I will speak to our secretary and attempt to fix this problem to everyone's satisfaction.
As to only selling six packs. That is a part of our 'Good Sports' accreditation. We are not permitted to hand over more than a six pack at a time. Our bar staff are employed by the club and given strict instructions so as not to breach our conditions. However I think a lack of communication a flexibilty has occured and I appreciate your clubs guesture of trying to purchase your travelers from our club.

With regard to awards. We always give away a six pack to each teams best. We have been a little preturbed at a trend at other clubs and at our own club to present these awards up to an hour after the game. In an attempt to rectify this our committee only last week voted in that our wards would be given at 5:10 pm precisely.
And yes we also had a function that night, so unlike other weeks our players were allowed to leave earlier than the normal hour required after the siren.

Having said all that, we will still be gunning for revenge on the paddock next time and are confident we can turn the tables. Till then you have the right to bragging rights.

As I read through the previous posts, I was looking forward to your version of events, Spy - and you didn't disappoint. A constructive reply. I wouldn't be surprised if some of the new posters stiurring up trouble are current posters with new psuedonyms, or quite possibly players from the game in question with something to say but don't want to bring their own club into disrepute.

Ground is clearly not BHN's responsibility, neither are the changerooms to an extent, so any comments on those issues shouldn't be taken as a slur on the club (nor should they be aimed at the club either).

An $80 slab is a poor reflection on the bar manager. Only selling 6 packs one at a time doesn't mean you can't have a discount for the 3rd and fourth six pack sold in succession!

Threats to an umpire may come out in the heat of the moment during a tight game (even then there really isn't an excuse, frustrations can be vented but personal threats are a fair indication of the quality of the individuals responsible) , but once the game has finished all complaints should be directed through the proper channels. If BHN combined forces with their opposition on the day and made a joint complaint about the quality of an umpire's performance then that might make a difference - and is sh!tloads more likely to change things rather than threats from the fence.

And regarding personal details being obtained for legal purposes... if the direct quote was "throw some punches or give it up" - sarcastic or not - I think that would substantiate all claims by the hawk, however poorly worded, about directions from the bench. Have a chat to your local legal advisor - it's not slander if it's true.

Too early, yep. What about Kew?

After the results on the weekend with Richmond being pantsed, I would say it's a three horse race with a couple not far behind the leaders, but in front of the peloton. From what I hear AP will have to lift to give Mt L and Rich a shake for 4th and 5th - but if their injured start to return then it's more than possible...

Some might say the rest are making up the numbers, but I reckon they could upset the top few on their day and that might mean the order of the final 5 isn't set in stone.

Just to break the momentum..........

My wife was looking over my shoulder and read a few posts. (Particularly the last couple) and rekon we are a bunch of whining ol women who would be better suited to a netball court and afternoon tea afterwards. (She has read heaps of mine so I think it more comes from there - I suggested scones with jam and cream and the usual Jaeger bombs)

Agree with you boys though, and if they knew what the ammo's was like, they wouldn't bitch about it. If they are above this level........move to Southern League or whatever.

As for BHN - those comments are a load of crap. After playing and coaching against them for over 5 years now, they are a great bunch of blokes who happen to pay on an unfortunate ground......this year. (Hasn't been to bad in the past. I guess we can't all play at "schools"......)

Pretty fiesty forum over the weekend! Unfortunately I can't weigh in with any disdain as far as the NB v Kew match.

Kew just too good for NB on saturday. Pretty slick unit. Most impressive thing was that they played the same game style for 8 quarters....seniors and ressies doing all the same basic things.

After playing the top 3 teams now - WB and Kew are the clear standouts at this stage.

Was enjoyable having a beer with the Kew boys afterwards. I was in the ressies this week - and the two's umpires were both outstanding. Seniors umps were lauded also for a good job.

Apologies for the lack of whinging and general abuse.

Well.... West Brunswick smashed RC 17-3 in the second half. What a class outfit. These guys are well beyond Eltham or UHS from last season, and would be pushing Williamstown for the D3 premiership IMO. Bastards.

There are not enough WB players in that D4 best. Their midfield was too good. The hitouts were 50/50, but they probably got 95% of the centre clearances.... ouch.

Well done by our ressies though, staying competitive throughout the match except for letting one quarter get away from them. They are starting to bond, which has always been difficult for our twos in the past with so many changes. They'll be pushing deep into the finals this year i'm sure.

Too complimentary towards your opposition Ozza...ban yourself from posting for a week.

Sorry mate... in retrospect we were robbed by the cheating umpires, and all their blokes took cheap shots behind the play all day. ;)

Think we could have done with Chris Grant at Full Forward on the weekend - very handy! fantastc to see 'The Great Man' head back to his old club and do what he did.

Should be a quiet footy week ahead - Think both body and mind will enjoy a week off footy to freshen up a bit.

Well.... West Brunswick smashed RC 17-3 in the second half. What a class outfit. These guys are well beyond Eltham or UHS from last season, and would be pushing Williamstown for the D3 premiership IMO. Bastards.

There are not enough WB players in that D4 best. Their midfield was too good. The hitouts were 50/50, but they probably got 95% of the centre clearances.... ouch.

Well done by our ressies though, staying competitive throughout the match except for letting one quarter get away from them. They are starting to bond, which has always been difficult for our twos in the past with so many changes. They'll be pushing deep into the finals this year i'm sure.

G'day Waz,

I saw Sudholz kicked 9!

Where does he play and how big is he?