D4 D4 2008

I remember when the 'umps' use to come into the rooms, check boots, jewellery, then a quick chat about what they expect from the players and a brief on how they will umpire.

"a brief on how they will umpire".... i like it, very formal but has some appeal. Perhaps a one page document on their approach to umpiring and what their favourite rules are.

ENOUGH with the umpire talk!

They're all shit at D4 so let's get over it!

Now I know why you are called DRONGO...

Umpires in our comp should be lauded for their work. They are of course human, they are allowed by the law of God to make mistakes. Be thankful they are there umpiring your game allowing YOU to play football. They are not SH*T. You are SH*T.

I think a lot of the problems come from there being too few umpires ending in the old "supply V's Demand" scenario. Its not that they are potected per se, its that who would replace them becomes the main concern.

I think you get what you pay for in life and perhaps we don't pay enough for certain services? Then again why would anyone do a job that they don't or can't do properly?

I would say that all umpires are there for the right reasons for sure, but perhaps some are not up to the task.....just like some players and coaches.

Its a good point you raised about notifying the VAFA of concerns. Just be VERY PC when doing so......or they may take it as an attack.....very sensitive people they are!

As for the second ump over-rulling decisions, we all hope common sense would over-ride any ego's but lets live in the real world.......unfortunatly this rarely happens nowadays, in any area of life, let alone minor sport codes.

This is an area of our game that has always been controversial, however it is even more so now because we have more than 1 umpire - it also leads to inconsistancy of decisions and opinions / interpretations.

The only way out of this hole is to "enforce" training for umpires on both levels and promote umpiring to current and recently retired players.
It would also be good to have the umpires come into the rooms prior to the game to introduce themselves and set the rules / tone for the day. Used to work a treat in the good ol' days....

I agree on enforced training attendance for umpires at all levels.
As to the feeling there is nobody to replace them; this appears to be another myth being rolled out to justify some poor performances being acceptable. My informants tell me there are quite a few young umps doing under 19s that are more than keen to move up to senior ranks. But for some reason are not getting the opportunities.
If the powers that be are worried about their lack of experience, give them an experienced and well respected (by players) ump to pair up with for a few weeks.

Also let me clear up a mistake in my previous post. It is not an 'overule' that is banned. It is that they are told (allegedly) not to call a free that the controlling umpire has missed. Even though it may have been clearly seen by the non controlling umpire.
When we see this type of situation happen in AFL games and the ump who is not in control makes the correct call, he is lauded for doing the right thing. Why should it be different in the VAFA? Or is it just the lower reaches of VAFA that this is the case?

ENOUGH with the umpire talk!

They're all shit at D4 so let's get over it!

Sorry Drongo, most are decent umpires that could still cut it at higher levels or are still trying to move up the ranks.
It is just a very small minority of umpires I feel are not servicing the best interests of the players as a whole.

Sorry Drongo, most are decent umpires that could still cut it at higher levels or are still trying to move up the ranks.
It is just a very small minority of umpires I feel are not servicing the best interests of the players as a whole.

do some real service and forward your umpiring concerns to Benny (Prez of the VAFA umps) - instead of of the senseless - unproductive way of posting of forums..

Incorrect Daniel if you think the VAFA head honchos don't look at this forum............

One particular incident on Saturday (WB v BHN) had both teams laughing and scratching their heads.

BHN bloke tackled a WB bloke after he got rid of the ball. Free kick awarded downfield. (say 40m). Correct decision.
WB player then gets the ball and kicks another 50m (after play had stopped) to WB goal about 20m out directly in front.

Umpire that paid downfield on HB/wing advises downfield kick to be taken from 20 out. Players remonstrate but umpire that didn't pay downfield kick now in control of the play - did not want to overrule the 1st ump - comical!

So the downfield free kick ended up 80m down the ground and WB slotted the easiest of goals.

Surely common sense can prevail in such situations?

Why can't the umpires discuss amongst themselves? It seems like they are told they cannot speak to each other on field??????????? Is this correct????

FP

BTW - they actually umpired well (for D4) apart from this lack of communication.

Incorrect Daniel if you think the VAFA head honchos don't look at this forum............

One particular incident on Saturday (WB v BHN) had both teams laughing and scratching their heads.

BHN bloke tackled a WB bloke after he got rid of the ball. Free kick awarded downfield. (say 40m). Correct decision.
WB player then gets the ball and kicks another 50m (after play had stopped) to WB goal about 20m out directly in front.

Umpire that paid downfield on HB/wing advises downfield kick to be taken from 20 out. Players remonstrate but umpire that didn't pay downfield kick now in control of the play - did not want to overrule the 1st ump - comical!

So the downfield free kick ended up 80m down the ground and WB slotted the easiest of goals.

Surely common sense can prevail in such situations?

Why can't the umpires discuss amongst themselves? It seems like they are told they cannot speak to each other on field??????????? Is this correct????

FP

BTW - they actually umpired well (for D4) apart from this lack of communication.

FFS enough about the umps.

I'll second that.

I'll fourth that.

But why are umpires immune to critisism when warranted?

I reckon its the toughest job around but that doesn't mean they are an Adam Goodes (protected species).

I just highlighted the incident where the second umpire put the head in the sand and WB were even bemused / laughing. All it would have taken was communication between the two umps to resolve.

I'm sure every coach points out to players when they have not abided by team rules. Umpires don't have the luxury of a coach every game to tell them what they have done right and wrong. Most umps read this forum so if it helps them to get better by pointing out clearly incorrect decisions, it is a win for everyone. And they were very good apart from this incident!

You might get them next week Tinkerbell, Baker-Finch, Drongo. It would be funny if you lost with a kick after the siren in the same circumstance!!!!! :):):)

FP

I'll fourth that.

But why are umpires immune to critisism when warranted?

I reckon its the toughest job around but that doesn't mean they are an Adam Goodes (protected species).

I just highlighted the incident where the second umpire put the head in the sand and WB were even bemused / laughing. All it would have taken was communication between the two umps to resolve.

I'm sure every coach points out to players when they have not abided by team rules. Umpires don't have the luxury of a coach every game to tell them what they have done right and wrong. Most umps read this forum so if it helps them to get better by pointing out clearly incorrect decisions, it is a win for everyone. And they were very good apart from this incident!

You might get them next week Tinkerbell, Baker-Finch, Drongo. It would be funny if you lost with a kick after the siren in the same circumstance!!!!! :):):)

FP

:confused: instead of making presumptions that "most" umpires read the forum, which by all means if they do, good on 'em,why not go about the outlined feedback system in placed for the umps, as each club has Benny's number (prez of the VAFA umps association) they have clear instructions to provide constructive feedback about the umps - this was outlined well before the 1st round. - even if its feedback on reserve (club) umps. why continue sidetracking by posting ancient glorifying 'sam newman' style of hate of the decision makers - instead of going thru the right channels so it can be addressed? - even to highlight the particular incident you are talking about..

and fyi - i aint an ump. just a person who respects em, because in the end they are just humans.

South Mornington may have a few recruits in the pipeline next season?

What ?
quick calender check please - june
Mate win a spoon before you start jumping the gun !
I have had enough of march champions little alone june and nine months champions!
But while we are at it - i hear a bloke that used to play at wb had a kid last week (in angola where he is on diplomatic duties ) and apparently this kid has a gun kick on him( according to his mother anyway ) when that kid turns 20 west brunswick might have a gun recruit so look out everyone !
west brunny for premiers in 2027 !

Massive week this week.

St Francis up against West
Mount Lilydale v Albert Park.

The top 4 could look like this if West Brunswick, Kew and Mount Lilydale all win.

West Brunny 10 - 0
Kew 9 - 1
ST FRAN 7 - 3
Mount Lilydale 7 - 3

Kew have been up for a while and Eley Park have come good. May be an upset.

21 from 24 last week...here we go again...can anyone better??

1st's
AT HOME....SM in a close one v BHN (5p)
Syndal like above v NB (3g)
R'mond (too many injuries...but) by 4g v Bulleen
MTL by 4g v the improving APark
SFX smarting over last weeks loss, will regroup but will still lose x 6g v WB
Eley.P will surprise Kew but will still lose a close one by a few goals.

2nd's
SM x 4g v BHN (BHN beware there's a ripper ump at home down south!!)
Syndal will just lose to NB x 3 points
R'mond x 8g v Bulleen
MTL at home x 1g v APark
SFX in the upset at home x 2g v WB
Eley.P to lose x 6g at home to Kew

No Buddy......no Hawthorn:thumbsdown:

Massive week this week.

St Francis up against West
Mount Lilydale v Albert Park.

The top 4 could look like this if West Brunswick, Kew and Mount Lilydale all win.

West Brunny 10 - 0
Kew 9 - 1
ST FRAN 6 - 3
Mount Lilydale 6 - 3

Kew have been up for a while and Eley Park have come good. May be an upset.

why have wb and kew played 10 games...yet sfx and ml only played 9?? did they have a bye?