D4 D4 2008

Not at all. You would be about the only bloke on this site that doesn't know who I play for. Check through the Flowerpower posts - a untrained monkey could work it out.

You blokes were fairly quiet (with the yap) all year, finish 2nd (great effort first year in) but when things done and dusted you decide to spruik up?

Humility goes a long way.

Good luck in D3 in 2009.

Spare me the humility lesson.

Thanks for your well wishes for season 2009.

Same to you, good luck talking yourselves up in march, april, then by sep finishing mid range.................again!!!!!

Ease up platts, has only played 20mins of footy in 2 years, however, rumour has it since he has given away the coaching will have a kick next year.

Look out if he does. Gun player at Parade / Banyule if it's the same one. Should come to the snakes though.....for no reason other than we want more good players.

Earlier this year I mentioned a possible pre-season comp for D4.

I am still pretty keen to look at doing something if we have support from the clubs.

My first thoughts are of a 2 day comp, played at an inner city oval (Perhaps Gosh's paddock etc) where we can have a "lightning Premiership" type event. Each club would have one team represent, and get a minimum of 3 games for the weekend. (So all listed players have the opportunity to participate) Obviously there would be bragging rights for the pre-season winners, and perhaps a small reward like a team pub clawl or sporting goods etc. Something that will help bond the winning team, or assist their club financially. This would be done with sponsorships, and hopefully we can get away with no costs to any club or player.
I reckon the weekend before the season starts (Or 2 weeks out) would be ideal. A great way to launch the season, and it would really add to the flavor that is D4.

Let me know what you think, and if it would be worthwhile exploring the proposal?

Look out if he does. Gun player at Parade / Banyule if it's the same one. Should come to the snakes though.....for no reason other than we want more good players.

Lakey. He is 36 and same bloke who coached Kew Seniors this year. His glory days are well and truely behind him. I may get a whack for this but brothers should be honest.

Ease up platts, has only played 20mins of footy in 2 years, however, rumour has it since he has given away the coaching will have a kick next year.

For Banyule Magoos I hear????

Or is it the ones Oldtimer?

Could definitely play in his time. Maybe still up to a slot as a fill in in the forward rocket????

Lakey. He is 36 and same bloke who coached Kew Seniors this year. His glory days are well and truely behind him. I may get a whack for this but brothers should be honest.

Yes they should! However many an ol legend has made a decent comeback in D4...........

Best and Fairest by Club
Albert Park - ?
BHN - ?
Bulleen - B. Cookson
Eley Park - M. Viola
Kew - C. Horne
Mt Lilydale - ?
North Brunswick - M. Sorleto
Richmond Central - D. Andrews
South Mornington - ?
St Francis Xavier - ?
Syndal Tally-Ho - L. Phipps
West Brunswick - ?

North Brunswick:

1st: Mick Sorleto
2nd: Dave Pizzari
3rd: Robbie Santacroce

Ozza, any chance of some young blokes coming through? I'm sure I played against Mick Sorletto in 1995, Pizzari not too many years after that. Surely there's some younger talent looking to take over? Where's PD's son playing now?

Jason Harkins (1st year player - 21 y.o) was 4th
Ben Williams (3rd year player 24y.o) was 5th and Jarrod Ford, Steve Miller, Nat Myers and Dean Briffa (all 2nd or 3rd year players and under 25) all would have finished in the top 10 - so I'd say there are plenty coming through.

Not 100% sure where's PD's son plays at the moment - I think closer to home. PD's nephew is playing for us - and really coming through - he is one of 7 kids under 22 that came down together and have played more ones thans 2's in their second year.

Hopefully Midge's son (who is a GUN) will play for us next year.

Don't think just because a couple of veterans won the trophies that the young blokes aren't there and performing. Sth Mornington would be the only side younger than us.

How many blokes have retired from your side this year? Jusr curious as we had a couple and with alot of younger guys in our side could be tough. Also we have our annual GM next week and the main discussion point is on the proposed name from Syndal to Chadstone, curious as it will be discussed what do yuo guys think of this? I know Bulleen are changing the name as well did they have any backlash from former players etc regarding the decision?

Don't know if we're having any retirements. Nobody specifically said they were retiring at the end of last year - but there are a couple who could go either way and haven't decided yet.

I think changing your name to Chadstone is a good thing. Thats just from an outsiders p.o.v. If I was living in the area - and didn't know any football clubs but wanted to join one - Chadstone Football Club sounds a little more appealing and notable to be honest.

I definitely agree with Ozza on this one, changing the name to 'Chadstone Football Club' will open up huge recruiting and sponsorship opportunities.

Don't know if we're having any retirements. Nobody specifically said they were retiring at the end of last year - but there are a couple who could go either way and haven't decided yet.

What are Bulleen changing their name to?

I know to many, when you have the Bulleen, Templestowe and Bulleen-Templestowe football clubs all within 5km of each other it does get confusing...

Best and Fairest by Club
Albert Park - ?
BHN - ?
Bulleen - B. Cookson
Eley Park - M. Viola
Kew - C. Horne
Mt Lilydale - ?
North Brunswick - M. Sorleto
Richmond Central - D. Andrews
South Mornington - ?
St Francis Xavier - ?
Syndal Tally-Ho - L. Phipps
West Brunswick - ?

Mt Lilydale vote count (last 9 rounds) and presentation night is this Sat night

Manningham Football Club, I think.

Close RM - but not quite on the money.

The name will be the Manningham Cobras as long as there are no speed humps encountered from here.

At this stage there has been nothing from past players to criticise the decision. As was mentioned earlier, there are many other football clubs in the area, particularly Bulleen-Templestowe, which creates identity confusion for the Cobras. We will also be one of the very few clubs of any sort in the area to carry the name of our council (which you wouldn't think could hurt). Past players are aware of this & I suppose that it helps that we are a relatively recently merged club (Bulleen United & Canterbury North Balwyn merged in 1996), so the history is not as strong.

Anyway, we're very much looking forward ot it & look forward to success on & off the park in 2009.

Levi,

I know that Syndal tried this name change a couple years back. It is a good idea as it would be good for the club, but the main prob is the so called backlash from former players, but more importantly, the life members. Thats wat held it back last try.

But all the best, surely Janine and Pete can weave there magic!!!

Also heard that Syndal/Chadstone may be changing there coach for 2009!??? No More Manny?? Dont take it as gospel, just a rumour.

Jason Harkins (1st year player - 21 y.o) was 4th
Ben Williams (3rd year player 24y.o) was 5th and Jarrod Ford, Steve Miller, Nat Myers and Dean Briffa (all 2nd or 3rd year players and under 25) all would have finished in the top 10 - so I'd say there are plenty coming through.

Not 100% sure where's PD's son plays at the moment - I think closer to home. PD's nephew is playing for us - and really coming through - he is one of 7 kids under 22 that came down together and have played more ones thans 2's in their second year.

Hopefully Midge's son (who is a GUN) will play for us next year.

Don't think just because a couple of veterans won the trophies that the young blokes aren't there and performing. Sth Mornington would be the only side younger than us.

No worries. I remember Midges son at games when we used to play against you. I'm pretty sure I remember him telling me over a beer one evening that he was keen on playing with him when he was old enough.

Hope the young blokes continue to get better as NB are a good club and always very welcoming.

Going out on a limb here, but guessing your'e not exactly part of the Manny fan club. I haven't heard any such rumors, pretty sure he wants to coach and i know the playing group are keen for him to stay on. Very respected and the way he kept the playing group together through a very tough year was exemplary IMO. Like i said nothing in stone yet, but i think he will be there next year if he wants to be.

Levi,

I know that Syndal tried this name change a couple years back. It is a good idea as it would be good for the club, but the main prob is the so called backlash from former players, but more importantly, the life members. Thats wat held it back last try.

But all the best, surely Janine and Pete can weave there magic!!!

Also heard that Syndal/Chadstone may be changing there coach for 2009!??? No More Manny?? Dont take it as gospel, just a rumour.

Going out on a limb here, but guessing your'e not exactly part of the Manny fan club. I haven't heard any such rumors, pretty sure he wants to coach and i know the playing group are keen for him to stay on. Very respected and the way he kept the playing group together through a very tough year was exemplary IMO. Like i said nothing in stone yet, but i think he will be there next year if he wants to be.

I never said if I was a fan or not. But did say was a rumour!!! Just all speculation and in your words, nothing set in stone.