D4 D4 2010

Fruity - the season is more marathon than sprint. Don't get sucked in by the hype of one game.

There are a number of clubs that are presenting as around the mark, PC are certainly one of those. ML are another, although Gryphons are quiet everyone expects them to be around the mark, RC have been OK the last couple of years & would be hoping for the upward trajectory to continue. NB seem to have recruited very well & SM are always hard to beat at home & will be in contention for a fair part of the year. The Cobras are hoping to be around the mark.

At this stage we're not really hearing or seeing enough to think that EP, the Chad, BHN or Swinburne (although to be fair there hasn't been a lot out of them) to suggest that they'll be strongly contesting for finals.

Anyway, by my guestimations there'll be at least 7 teams playing it out for 5 finals places. As I said, it's a marathon & in D4 there is still a chance that the guys to take your team to the next level haven't even appeared as yet!

Good post :thumbsu:

Thanks for the reminder Chewy.
All at the cobras are greatful for the kind words and deeds of Div 4 (and other) clubs. The effort of the BHN boys was outstanding.

I should expand on this a little - because it was a great effort. The BHN boys have a regular BBQ - they put the price up to $2 for a snag and donated $205 to the Tags fund.
One of the boys named it "Snags for Tags"! Corny but i like it.
great job to all at BHN!:):thumbsu::):thumbsu:

Round 1 tips:

North Bruns v Monash: Shaping up to be a real test early for both sides. Will be a big day at Allard park. Monash by 3 goals.

SM v Mann: Manningham have to travel down to Citation to play the unpredictable Tigers... Still, Mann will be too good at this stage. MC by 5 goals.

The Chad v Lilydale: Lilydale much too strong for an improving Chadstone. ML by 12 goals.

Point Cook v Richmond Central: First game for PC, first match for both in a potential rivalry! Both teams looking to get out of the gates quickly. RC by 1 point.

Eley Park v Swinburne: Very quiet from both teams in the offseason, but a poor showing from EP against ML has them down in the power rankings. Swinburne by 3 goals.

BHN: Bye.

Power Rankings posted after round 1 :)

If you have a look at the blokes they have recruited I'm sure the cobras would be very disappointed if they didn't make the finals.

With Beliss, Big Sam and a number of others from Nunawading going to the club they will be very strong!!

Dead right Oldtimer - depending on the supply, Big Sam McCallum could kick an absolute baggful.

dont think Badanjack was ever paid he started at the cobras as an 18 yo and i think he played out his whole career there.Cookson is the one we always had our doughts about. 2 years ago a few cobra boys did some pre season with Nth. one of them was a mate of cooksons he openly said that cookson was gettting paid?
checked out the nunawading boys Mccallam was there skipper last year, Bellissmo is a premiship coach would hav to be worth more than cookson?
from what im told both can play.

does it really matter if anyones getting paid? tell me its not going on in the higher grades. anyway wouldnt the problem be with team mates rather than other clubs.

OF COURSE IT MATTERS YOU DROPKICK....its called cheating.....i hope the ammos nail em to the wall......

So who will be the highest paid at manningham cookson, big sam or anyone of their numerous nfl recruits ?.The word going around in D3 is it is not the first time this has happened at this club.

This old chestnut is pulled out every year. I've been on the committee at Manningham for over 5 years now and I can tell you for a fact that no player has been paid by the club. Even if we had the inclination to break the rules (which by the way we don't), we haven't had the cash - it's all gone to servicing a debt with the VAFA which we finally paid off last year.

dont think Badanjack was ever paid he started at the cobras as an 18 yo and i think he played out his whole career there.Cookson is the one we always had our doughts about. 2 years ago a few cobra boys did some pre season with Nth. one of them was a mate of cooksons he openly said that cookson was gettting paid?
checked out the nunawading boys Mccallam was there skipper last year, Bellissmo is a premiship coach would hav to be worth more than cookson?
from what im told both can play.

does it really matter if anyones getting paid? tell me its not going on in the higher grades. anyway wouldnt the problem be with team mates rather than other clubs.

Absolutely did not play whole career at Cobras - Played higher VAFA & outside then returned to the "Big O - $days."
Correct Plugger?

Hey big w***er who made you the spokesman for D4, you are so full of yourself you twit.

Two out of a total of three of your comments on this forum have been to condemn a club for cheating, and to call me a w***er....

Why should anyone pay any attention? At least I can block you.

Two out of a total of three of your comments on this forum have been to condemn a club for cheating, and to call me a w***er....

Why should anyone pay any attention? At least I can block you.

Well said Waz!

Fellas - lets keep the talk to footy. Its what we are all interested in.

Absolutely did not play whole career at Cobras - Played higher VAFA & outside then returned to the "Big O - $days."
Correct Plugger?

i stand corrected played 2 seasons at nunnawading, played the start and end of his career at manningham. dont think its fair to just single out manningham as i said it is well known players are payed in higher grades. when i played at another vafa club (many years ago) some players didnt pay for drinks, gear subs etc, this is also a form of payment. how many clubs can say they havent done that? we did it a few years ago. (no money ever changed hands)
most clubs would hav a few players gettin looked after in some way. so ,lets get over it.
sorry plugger, iff didnt think it would start all this

Pfft... There is nothing to say sorry about. The reality of low grade VAFA football is that accusations about money will fly when clubs make improvements on field.

Rusty, Plugger & I have been around the footy club for a long time & know that the emphasis on improving player stocks has always been driven through a strong & progressive committee. Get your off field right & the on field will follow. The last 3 years in particular have really focussed on this.

And to be fair, we've stolen a lot of good ideas from other D4 clubs. We've looked through other clubs code of conducts, strategic plans, sponsorship programs & observed other administrative modelling that other clubs have done for us. We've played around with our decision making structures & how they work. (We're all volunteers with family & work committments, so how do we lighten the load on the decision makers.)

So thanks to the other clubs who have helped us along the way.

We're trying to create our own template for continued success. If the almighty $$$ was the tool then your decision making is fundamentally flawed & while success may come, you're club will be broken & entrenched back in D4 (if alive) before you know it.

Now as Plugger has already said, let the on field battles begin. The pen might be mightier than the sword, but it doesn't win you a game of footy.

Round 1 tips: Seniors

After taking care off Uni High two weeks ago and sending up to 3 Uni High to hospital before half time NB are primed for this weeks game against Monash. At home NB are hard to beat, they also will be one of the two big improvers this season. But a tough task first up against a strong Monash who were unlucky to come down last year and look as though they have also recruited well....Monash x 8g

We all know that SM at home is a 10g better side, they have recruited well but Manningham has 'enticed/attracted/convinced/purchased' many top footballers to their club. This will be suffice enough to get Manny over the line x 7g in a big win and early premiership favouritism.

Point Cook's debut this weekend will be interesting, unfortunately they come up against a Rich Central who are extremely keen to make up for their embarrassing finals loss last year...good luck PC in your first game but RC by 6g.

Chadstone have picked up a number of key position players (some bald and not so bald!!) and will add some great strength to the team. MTL have also picked up a handful of quality players and should win comfortably by 5g. (I hear after MTL going to appeals to clear them)

Eley Park has been hit hard by injury (I heard they lost several more key players last week against MTL) and hasn't been able to train on their ground until this week?? Even with Yaman out Swinburne have enough new and current players to get them over the line x 4g.

Great win by BHN:thumbsu:

Reserves

NB x 6g
Manny x 5g
RC x 4g
MTL x 3g
EP x 2g

MTL have also picked up a handful of quality players and should win comfortably by 5g. (I hear after MTL going to appeals to clear them)

Get the banshee to the appeals tribunal.

wwwwwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!