D4 D4 2010

Round 5 Preview:

Nth Brunswick over The Cobras by 23 Pts (Should be a fiery Northern Derby as the loser falls right off the pace, however I favour the home side who should relish the damp conditions at Allard Park).
South Mornington over Synners by 54 Pts (The Tigers would not want to take this game lightly as Chadstone are a developing nation, however class will prevail. Mitchell Duff to continue his good form for the home side)
Monash over BHN by 67 Pts (The Gryphons juggernaut is gaining momentum each week and realistically the Demons will be lucky to get this close as the depth at Monash is the best in the comp. Matt Fletcher to star for the visitors).
Snakes over the Sharks by 17 Pts (Arguably match of the round as Eley Park are also improving, but Richmond cannot afford to drop home games if they are the real deal and should win a close one. James Egan to prove the difference).
Mt Lilydale over Pt Cook by 58 Pts (It will be far more committed Doggies outfit tomorrow, but they are playing the competition frontrunners who will be far too strong in the wash up. Rams comfortably)

Round 5 Review

4/5 (20/25 cumulative)

Big winners for the weekend past were clearly Eley Park, who not only took a big scalp in Centrals, but won on the road. Midfielder, Damien McCabe is fast gaining a reputation as the finest ball handler in the competition and the Sharks are brimming with confidence after a belated start. The Snakes on the other hand, look like they need the up and coming rest to recoup some of their early season form. Monash continue to impress and definitively won each quarter against a spirited but inferior Demons outfit. Many speak of the Gryphs defence being their strength, but 51 goals in the past two weeks means they also have a very potent forward line. Lee Wells has become a converted forward and is arguably the best contested mark in the competition, so backmen beware! Point Cook are a case of Jekyll & Hyde depending on which side of the West gate their game is played and whilst the Rams took the points, the Doggies showed they will be no easybeats at home. Aaron Marsh and Andy Rodwell inversely mirrored the fortunes of their respective teams with dominant displays in the key forward post. The clash between bitter rivals Manningham and Nth Brunswick provided the match of the day, but the home ground advantage got proved significant. South Mornington barely raised a sweat and won by 121 points.

Round 6 Preview

The Rams Over Box Hill North by 52Pts (Sure the Demons will make a game of it and be hard at it at times, but ultimately their skill level is poor and Brendon Byrne will have a field day mopping up across half back for the visitors)
North Brunswick over Synners by 48Pts (Who could possibly pick Chadstone, a team that has only managed 162 points in five games. Stuart Hearn to collect 40 plus possessions amongst the carnage).
Monash over The Cobras by 34Pts (Agree with many of my colleagues that this is a danger game for the Gryphons, however the class gap is so great that Manningham’s efforts will be in vain. Nick Rutherford to star for Monash).
Razorbacks over South by 13 Pts (I have the sneaking suspicion this one will be close all day so any bystanders could do a lot worse than to venture over to St James Park for the match of the day. Don’t be surprised if South take it right up to Swinny, but then again…?)
Eley Park over Pt Cook by 48 Pts (I’m tipping that the Dogs will play with their Edward Hyde persona and get eaten alive at Whitehorse Reserve. Blake Sahlstrom to benefit from this misanthropy and snag a few. Sharks easily)

Good luck to all

Quasi

Damian McCabe - not only is he silky smooth on the football field, he is also one very fresh man and his day job modelling CK briefs doesn’t go un-noticed at shark park.

Box Hill Nth vs Mt.Lilydale: Last week I overheard a few B.H.Nth boys talking alot of 'trash about Mt.Lilydale and how they will aproach this as a G.F. So I'd expect a fairly physical approach by the B.H.Nth side. In saying that Mt.Lilydale have never lost to 'em and will run away with the game after an even first half. Mt.Lilydale 8 goals.
Chadstone vs Nth.Brunswick: If Nth.Brunswick can win this by 15-20 goals they may find themselves in the top five. Nth.Brunswick 10 goals.
Manningham VS Monash: Monash will give the cobras a good old floggin out at Koonung and will still have a gear or two spare. Monash 16 goals.
Swinburne vs Sth.Mornington: Sth.Mornington have not been able to take wins on the road for years and will continue the trend. Swinburne 9 goals.
Eley Park vs Point Cook: Predicting this to be the closest for the round. Eley Park would be feeling pretty good leading into the match but Point Cook had a sniff at self belief last week and may be ready to taste it. Point.Cook 2 goals.

Richmond vs Bye: Lucky for them, as three losses in a row would of truly hurt the club, considering they fancy a flag tilt in 2010.

Hey Sneako, is Nick Hooke injured at the moment?

Just noticed he didn't play last week and hasn't been included in the team list this week.

Hey Sneako, is Nick Hooke injured at the moment?
Just noticed he didn't play last week and hasn't been included in the team list this week.

The big Fish is in the U.S living it up for a while. What role are you playing 2morow R.M? Ruck, C.H.F or do you get the job on your good mate J.Rob?

Turbo’s Friday Preview
Round 6 - Box Hill North v Mt Lilydale

The Rams are not quite the same force away that they are at home. This is backed up by last year’s results, where we went down to them by 30 points in round 1 at home, but were spanked to the tune of 81 points in round 13 up in the hills. Having never beaten Mt Lilydale before, you could tell at training this week that the guys who have been around for a few years want nothing more than to break that drought. I’m tipping that it won’t take long for the new guys to realise why we want to beat Mt Lilydale so badly.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Having now won 4 from 6 away you’re right on the money Turbo….
I think you’ll find Turbo that the new guys now realise they should have gone up the road to EP or down the freeway to Manny where those clubs are far more competitive and play to win. Our coach gave a copy of your preview to us players who had a good laugh at your expense. We didn’t use this preview as a motivation, we didn’t need to.

Hey Ruck Machine. I reckon you had your colours lowered by Jim Baughan, the Mt Lilydale ruckman, today. Would you agree...??

Highway Star, JB is a good up and coming ruckman but in fairness to RM he was also up against FV who played a great game. RM was one of the very few bhn who worked hard all day.

Turbo’s Friday Preview

The Rams are not quite the same force away that they are at home. This is backed up by last year’s results, where we went down to them by 30 points in round 1 at home, but were spanked to the tune of 81 points in round 13 up in the hills. Having never beaten Mt Lilydale before, you could tell at training this week that the guys who have been around for a few years want nothing more than to break that drought. I’m tipping that it won’t take long for the new guys to realise why we want to beat Mt Lilydale so badly.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think you’ll find Turbo that the new guys now realise they should have gone up the road to EP or down the freeway to Manny where those clubs are far more competitive and play to win. Our coach gave a copy of your preview to us players who had a good laugh at your expense. We didn’t use this preview as a motivation, we didn’t need to.

Fantastic story there fruitloop.

Turbo’s Friday Preview

I had a look on thier website and there was alot more written than what you've posted Fruitloop. I dont think there is anything wrong with a club trying to find a different source of motivation but some of the things they had written on a website (easily accessed) are rather degrading towards the Rams. Looking at the scores it may have worked for Box Hill in the first quater but seemed to work in Mt.Lilydales favour for the remainding three.
P.S. Is thier ground still covered in dog crap?

Turbo’s Friday Preview

I had a look on thier website and there was alot more written than what you've posted Fruitloop. I dont think there is anything wrong with a club trying to find a different source of motivation but some of the things they had written on a website (easily accessed) are rather degrading towards the Rams. Looking at the scores it may have worked for Box Hill in the first quater but seemed to work in Mt.Lilydales favour for the remainding three.
P.S. Is thier ground still covered in dog crap?

Ha....Honestly there was plenty of dog-shit on both thier poor excuses for grounds. I was starting to think they only laid it out for our visits to the needle infested Bok Hill North.
We did have it read out, but as said not for motivation, just more for a laugh at a side that has never even come close to a win against us and have only won about 9 games in four years, all to sides well below them on the ladder. Had some great laughs during the game and out of all the side splitting moments I thought I'd share two events....Number 1: Ruck Machine (who was one who tryed all day) marked the ball 10 meters from his own goal and due to his obvious excitment at this fact he'd done so, had a 'brain melt-down and decided to play on which resulted in him getting crunched and pinged for dropping the ball 2 meters from goal. Shattered! Number 2: The very 'honest', 'hard working', 'fair' and truly 'brilliant' Mr.Penny was having such a rotten day he starting roll playing for what seemed to be a part in some kind of action movie, with verbal lashings handed out to all wearing a Box Hill Nth jumper and was worthy of several 'Dive of the year' nominations (3 free kicks = 3 goals). To see him dragged at the start of the last quater with a tear welling in the eye was truly satisfying.

Ha....Honestly there was plenty of dog-shit on both thier poor excuses for grounds. I was starting to think they only laid it out for our visits to the needle infested Bok Hill North.
We did have it read out, but as said not for motivation, just more for a laugh at a side that has never even come close to a win against us and have only won about 9 games in four years, all to sides well below them on the ladder. Had some great laughs during the game and out of all the side splitting moments I thought I'd share two events....Number 1: Ruck Machine (who was one who tryed all day) marked the ball 10 meters from his own goal and due to his obvious excitment at this fact he'd done so, had a 'brain melt-down and decided to play on which resulted in him getting crunched and pinged for dropping the ball 2 meters from goal. Shattered! Number 2: The very 'honest', 'hard working', 'fair' and truly 'brilliant' Mr.Penny was having such a rotten day he starting roll playing for what seemed to be a part in some kind of action movie, with verbal lashings handed out to all wearing a Box Hill Nth jumper and was worthy of several 'Dive of the year' nominations (3 free kicks = 3 goals). To see him dragged at the start of the last quater with a tear welling in the eye was truly satisfying.

^^ Here are some quoatables for the rematch in a few weeks time Box Hill North. Enjoy the pre-match entertainment.

I note that John Clancy hasn't umpired since the RC game either?

Some interesting results... though no upsets...

It seems manningham got their team selections organised this week in an effort to topple Monash. It cost them in the ressies but the seniors gave it a real crack.

SM did swinburne over in both Seniors and reserves? On the road? That is big for them, swinburne being one of the best reserves sides getting around.

Working out of service all week and will miss the Centrals game so....
Early Tips Round 7:
Nth.B v B.H.Nth.....Nth.B will get over the line at home but I will keep an eye on the B.H.Nth website for any more motivational posts. Nth.B by 12 goals.
Sth.M v Eley.P.....Sth.M at home here even though Eley.P are travelling well. Sth.M by 7 goals.
M.Gryph v R.Cent.....M.Gryph will hand the Centrals a third straight loss which should see them fall from the top five, they then play Manningham and Nth.B and in current form could be looking at five losses in a row. M.Gryph by 14 goals.
M-ham v P.Cook.....M-ham too strong for the cookers. M-ham by 8 goals.
Mt.L v S.Uni.....Mt.L at home are solid even without some of thier best players. S.Uni playing good footy and if they can get a jump on the Rams as P.Cook and B.H.Nth have early thay may have the skill to hold onto it. Mt.L by 3 goals.
Chadstone v Bye.....Finally some points!

I too was at this game and i can now see why #10 from Manningham cut loose on the big mouths from Lilydale.
Sneako do you wonder why no one has any respect for your club ? well its because rather than kicking a club while it is down how about showing some respect and humility to the opposition.

Highway Star, JB is a good up and coming ruckman but in fairness to RM he was also up against FV who played a great game. RM was one of the very few bhn who worked hard all day.
Yeah - to give credit where it's due, Ruck Machine tried hard all game and always strongly contested ruck contests .....

Yeah, I witnessed the same verbal exchange - and several others. I think you'll find that the comments were aimed at one of BHN's water boys who was mouthing off BIG TIME himself and spraying water onto Mt Lilydale players' faces... So maybe he got what he deserved..???

The verbal tirade that extends from J R down to the Banshee is typical of the club. It has been there since joining the VAFA. Why are they thought of as ordinary by other clubs?? - Self explanatory. A great old VAFA saying applies, "IF THE FOX STINKS FROM THE HEAD.....!"

THE EYE
:rolleyes:

Yeah, I witnessed the same verbal exchange - and several others. I think you'll find that the comments were aimed at one of BHN's water boys who was mouthing off BIG TIME himself and spraying water onto Mt Lilydale players' faces... So maybe he got what he deserved..???

I think he only sprayed water in #2's face, but pretty juvenile nonetheless. He's a bit of a smartarse though so he probably didn't mean any malice by it. Did the umpire see it?

Turbo’s Friday Preview

Firstly if turbo gave you a good laugh, then good on the man for doing his job. The preview is always written in a jocular fashion and i'm sure that the man will be stoked to have gotten a few giggles outside of his usual demographic.
Secondly, thank you all for proving the man right as the new members to the club are now well aware of what he was talking about.

Round 7 Tips

Progressive - 22/30

North Brunswick vs Box Hill North - BHN by 1 point
South Mornington vs Eley Park - SM by 2 goals
Monash vs Richmond Central - Monash by 10 goals
Manningham vs Point Cook - MC by 3 goals
Mt Lilydale vs Swinburne - MtL by 5 goals

Where is 3rd man in - still waiting for an explanation?

Also I'd be interested to know monash and pc's views of opposition clubs so far since there would be no history to date.

On another topic - Latrobe appears to be going great guns in d3. Not sure how different their playing list is to last year but I'd bet a top up each year from uni enrolments would come in handy. I think any year in d4 that involves a uni club coming down from d3 will be a hard one for any "district club" to have hopes of elevation. D4 is certainly bluddy hard to get elevated out of!