D4 2013

Is there any chance we could not talk about the SFL or the Dragons being in this comp for at least a week, one would think the Dragons are the only team in D4. Verdict on Point Cook is they are a tough, fit and hard running side that go right up the guts, however, to be honest have not really been tested by a top side yet. How is it possible BHN get beaten by Mt Lilydale yet can beat Nth Brunswick, off day for the Bulls? The one positive after 3 rounds, good to see most teams having a win and it being so even.

AMEN! Unfortunately all this Dragons / SFL dribble has been driven by an unknown SFL rep, and looks like everyone has been sucked in. Moving forward, no more responding to trolls - the chumps have been outed!

Yes, v interesting results across the division. Mt L > BHN > Nth Bruns - go figure!! Never seen a more even ladder; no such thing as a form guide in D4! Round 1 is always hard to read into (new structures, player rust, team cohesion, blah blah); guess we'll know more about everyone come June.

Def look fwd to seeing Point Cook in action; I hear they have recruited well and are obviously playing a good brand of footy.

Just got above 50% last week and yearly average isn't much better. Really need the local teams to be a bit more consistent.

Manningham vs West Brunswick
Box Hill North vs Dragons
Mt Lilydale vs Chadstone
Northern Blues vs Hawthorn
Eley Park Sharks vs North Brunswick

Just got above 50% last week and yearly average isn't much better. Really need the local teams to be a bit more consistent.

Manningham vs West Brunswick
Box Hill North vs Dragons
Mt Lilydale vs Chadstone
Northern Blues vs Hawthorn
Eley Park Sharks vs North Brunswick

i tink you are on the money here with these picks except hawthorn will have the blues beaten fairly convincing i'd say. i watched both teams play the dragons this year and the blues look faster and very skillful but hawthorn looked to have the better structure and were harder around the contest.

My tips:
Manningham vs West Brunswick by 12 goals
Box Hill North vs Dragons by 3 goals
Mt Lilydale vs Chadstone by 8 goals
Northern Blues vs Hawthorn by 4 goals
Eley Park Sharks vs North Brunswick by 6 goals

Went down to see the Dragons V Box Hill match on Saturday, and there was such a massive difference between the two sides, it was like the dragons had 19 on the field, and after a count it seemed they did indeed have 19 on the field. Anyone across what happens here? Is it the same as some other city leagues where score for the quarter doesnt count, or its a free kick and 50m or anything else? Good crowd and banter between the 2 sets of supporters, however I am not sure the jeering and laughing at the BHN guy who did his knee by the dragons supporters and players was called for, pretty low act. After seeing Hawthorn, Point Cook and Dragons all play my tip so far is definitely the dragons.

G'day Homebake, I'm the president of the Dragons. I was at the sidelines when this all happened in the 1min mark of the 3rd quarter ( this is as reported by both umpires and signed off by both clubs ). It was an interchange infringement, and it was called by the interchange steward as he was counting the bench players just as quarter commenced, this system obviously served its purpose as he quickly identified we had one short on the bench. Play stopped, umpires called for head count. Free kick was given to BHN in attacking goal square all according to the VAFA rule. As stated in the VAFA rule book, no further penalty shall apply on the day, VAFA board will take the umpires incident report and decide on any further actions. That's as much as I know and recollect, this is why interchange steward is very important and I'm glad it worked in this incident.
As far as the player with the knee concern, I can assure you that no Dragons players were jeering or laughing at that person where I'm standing, in fact, I have seen our players and supporters clap the player off as we should. If there were people jeering and laughing, and you can identify them to me, they shall be delt with by the club, we don't need that in our sport, it is not on. I hope you can understand that.
As I have said in the post match awards ceremony some of our players, coaches and support staff attended, we have great respect for the competition, for our opposition club staff and players, we play the game with a competitive spirit but also with fairness, that's the only way we can attract more people from the community to join our club and our competition.
Come to the next Dragons game, happy to have a good chat. Thanks Homebake.

JP in fact that statement of yours was slightly incorrect. You quoted (Play stopped, umpires called for head count. Free kick was given to BHN in attacking goal square all according to the VAFA rule.)

BHN were awarded a free kick however it was from the 40 metre arc not the top of the square.

Can I say watching the game, it was played in good hard football spirit. The dragons by rights aren't a D4 team, and nor should any club be if you have well over 100 players to chose from.

Credit to BHN must also be given. They outscored the dragons in the second half of the game 63 to 62.

Andrew DO is the best player I have seen play this year. DO has it all, the size, pace and skill.

You may be right, I didn't see what the on field penalty was because I was bolting to my car to grab the rule book, I don't think I've moved that fast ever! Hahaha...the rules said a free kick to the top of the goal square, obviously this sort of thing doesn't happen that often for the umpires to know the exact ruling. I applaud the umpires and the BHN scoreboard for not just blindly wipe off our score as per many people's intuition. Scary thought!!!

Out of all the people at the game you expect the umpires would of known what that rule is. Well at least you hope so

I'm pretty sure it's a new rule for 2013. With less stringent rules on interchange, this was always going to happen once. Every umpire will be written too this week to reconfirm the rule.
No harm no foul.

I'm pretty sure it's a new rule for 2013. With less stringent rules on interchange, this was always going to happen once. Every umpire will be written too this week to reconfirm the rule.
No harm no foul.

This is going to happen more and more. As the rotation phenomenon filters more and more to local football and now the i/c steward doesn't have to mark down who is coming and going, teams will get caught out more and more.
Watching the Mazenod v Oakleigh game last week, there were guys running onto the field a good 15 metres before their mate had come off. Now, if there is not an advantage to doing this why would they? If they had to wait, they may not get on in time to pick up an oponent who might be in a position to kick a goal?
Surely, in this case, this is more of an advantage to a team than an extra person sitting in a forward pocket 100m away from the ball. And, no penalty for doing it.
Thoughts?

This is going to happen more and more. As the rotation phenomenon filters more and more to local football and now the i/c steward doesn't have to mark down who is coming and going, teams will get caught out more and more.
Watching the Mazenod v Oakleigh game last week, there were guys running onto the field a good 15 metres before their mate had come off. Now, if there is not an advantage to doing this why would they? If they had to wait, they may not get on in time to pick up an oponent who might be in a position to kick a goal?
Surely, in this case, this is more of an advantage to a team than an extra person sitting in a forward pocket 100m away from the ball. And, no penalty for doing it.
Thoughts?
When did the interchange steward come back? I thought they canned the idea?
Dont they have an interchange "Zone" in the afl, where both players can be at the same time...

Round 4 coming up, the ladder should be starting to take a bit of shape from now on and we might start to get a feel for what teams are finals bound and those looking down the barrel of a long cold winter.
My tips (For what they are worth)
North Brunswick v Manningham
West Brunswick v Point Cook
Hawthorn v Box Hill North
Northern Blues v Chadstone
Eley Park v Lilydale

Would have had a clean sheet last week if the locals had saluted, but they should get the points this week.

North Brunswick vs Manningham
Northern Blues vs Chadstone
West Brunswick vs Point Cook
Hawthorn vs Box Hill North
Eley Park vs Mt Lilydale

Would have had a clean sheet last week if the locals had saluted, but they should get the points this week.

North Brunswick vs Manningham
Northern Blues vs Chadstone
West Brunswick vs Point Cook
Hawthorn vs Box Hill North
Eley Park vs Mt Lilydale

Tips for this week from the Robsta

North Brunswick
Northern Blues
West Brunswick
Eley Park

The Robsta gets them all.

I also note that Jackomos is playing again in the Hawthorn Reserves. I am assuming it is the same knob that was around a few years back. Has he grown up? My understanding was that he was asked to leave last time??? Can someone from Hawthorn confirm? And if so, what undertakings has he made to the club to return??? As many clauses in his contract as Fevola? Both similar in brains, but one can play football.

Anyone have anything from the West Brunswick v Point Cook match on the weekend? That is a pretty good result from the Magpies!

Picks for the weekend.
Manningham v Eley Park
Chadstone v Dragons
Lilydale v Hawks
West Brunswick v Northern BLues
Point Cook v North Brunswick

If all results go the way of the first 5 rounds, there will already start to be a bit of a break from the top 6 to the rest that will be pretty tough to reel in.

What does everyone think of the top 6 finals format?

What does everyone think the make up and positioning of the 6 will be come finals time?

1. Hawthorn
2. Eley Park
3. Dragons
4. Point Cook
5. West Brunswick
6. North Brunswick

With the Captain Cooks getting upset last week my perfect score sailed away.

Manningham vs Eley Park
Chadstone vs Dragons
Mt Lilydale vs Hawthorn
West Brunswick vs Northern Blues
Point Cook vs North Brunswick

Strangely... The 11 team D4 has a top 6 (is that right?) and the 12 team D3 has a top 5.... Go figure.

It was in last weeks record bigwaz - I do not really get it either?

The record said week 1 is:
1v6
2v5
3v4

The 3 winners go through and the highest ranked loser also goes through, with the 2 lowest losers gone.

Week 2 is 2 Prelims and week 3 obviously the big one.

1v6
2v5
3v4

The 3 winners go through and the highest ranked loser also goes through, with the 2 lowest losers gone.

So if 6 and 5 and 3 win then second would go straight out?

If it still needs to be a 3 week final system I would have thought this makes more sense (assuming higher ranked team always wins in this example)...

Week 1.
1 & 2 - Week off
3 v 6
4 v 5

Week 2 (Prelims)
1 v 4
2 v 3

Week 3 (GF)
1 v 2

So if 6 and 5 and 3 win then second would go straight out?

If it still needs to be a 3 week final system I would have thought this makes more sense (assuming higher ranked team always wins in this example)...

Week 1.
1 & 2 - Week off
3 v 6
4 v 5

Week 2 (Prelims)
1 v 4
2 v 3

Week 3 (GF)
1 v 2

That is the way it read.

1v6
2v5
3v4

It won't be this because 1st will have nothing to play for...