D4 D4 Section - 2016

Jesus Waz, even up on your perch in Div 2 you still hang on to your hatred for South. Whether or not it was a one hit wonder we at least won the flag and went up to div 3 the right way (yeah we came crashing back to Earth the next year!), unlike you blokes losing 2 grand finals and now in div 2. that must sting a lot hey!
For a club thats only been fielding a senior side since 2007, I reckon 1 senior premiership from 1 grand final and 1 reserves premiership from 2 grand finals aint that bad a strike rate. 1994 your last senior flag???? I was still in primary school then! so lets revisit this thread in 2036 and see where we stand

no doubt losing 2 grand finals would sting. They do now have 3 senior sides and have consolidated their 1st year up a grade. I reckon if we revisit this in 20 years you might be talking clubbies

That's why I said give it 20 years! Anyhow I'm not even at South anymore, just enjoy following the results and the forum, but anytime Big Waz wants to have a crack at us, I'll be sure to defend us.

Jesus Waz, even up on your perch in Div 2 you still hang on to your hatred for South. Whether or not it was a one hit wonder we at least won the flag and went up to div 3 the right way (yeah we came crashing back to Earth the next year!), unlike you blokes losing 2 grand finals and now in div 2. that must sting a lot hey!
For a club thats only been fielding a senior side since 2007, I reckon 1 senior premiership from 1 grand final and 1 reserves premiership from 2 grand finals aint that bad a strike rate. 1994 your last senior flag???? I was still in primary school then! so lets revisit this thread in 2036 and see where we stand

Becoming the whipping boys of D3 and now D4 the two seasons after winning a GF is not "doing it the right way". Obviously there wasn't a strong enough culture down there to keep your players from abandoning ship.

Whatever Warwick, those 2 grand final losses must really eat at you, its ok mate, RC just can't perform on the big stage!Just tell me mate as I can't find records from your premiership back in 94, I guess you blokes never had any lean periods in the years after that? Is this your senior trophy cabinet from the last decade?
trophy-case--UDU2Ny02NTkuNjQxOA==.jpg

Sorry just found a vafa publication from 92, only 5 years after your first senior flag and from this one, you guys were 5-11 with a percentage of 38!!! I'm all for having banter, but just remember all clubs go through lean periods

I would be interested to know how many of the SM premiership team were there the year before and the year after. This isn't a potshot, but would I be right in saying a club tragedy assisted the numbers that year?

Yup... Nothing hurts like losing a grand final. Except maybe being relegated...

Yeah the premiership medallion and cup and flag helps get through relegation....
I would be interested to know how many of the SM premiership team were there the year before and the year after. This isn't a potshot, but would I be right in saying a club tragedy assisted the numbers that year?

Yes and No... We picked up maybe 4 solid players that played 1's and helped us win that flag, the rest had mainly been 10 year players who played from U/16's together right through, that flag was a long time coming. And it was inevitable that we would lose a lot of those players as getting upward of 25, it's hard to keep playing footy and not get paid and most of these blokes are tradies and couldn't afford to get injured.

Whatever Warwick, those 2 grand final losses must really eat at you, its ok mate, RC just can't perform on the big stage!Just tell me mate as I can't find records from your premiership back in 94, I guess you blokes never had any lean periods in the years after that? Is this your senior trophy cabinet from the last decade?
View attachment 161938

I remember hearing you were not very good winners. Now it sounds like you are not very good losers either

Sorry just found a vafa publication from 92, only 5 years after your first senior flag and from this one, you guys were 5-11 with a percentage of 38!!! I'm all for having banter, but just remember all clubs go through lean periods

South are a shit club with a shit culture, caused by the mass exodus of players after going up -
Yeah the premiership medallion and cup and flag helps get through relegation....

Yes and No... We picked up maybe 4 solid players that played 1's and helped us win that flag, the rest had mainly been 10 year players who played from U/16's together right through, that flag was a long time coming. And it was inevitable that we would lose a lot of those players as getting upward of 25, it's hard to keep playing footy and not get paid and most of these blokes are tradies and couldn't afford to get injured.

South are a shit club with a shit culture, caused by the mass exodus of players after going up one div - sounds like you are one of the rats who deserted the sinking ship?? Every club in the VAFA has the same problem of not being able to pay players (except the cobras for a few years and also St Mary's before the take over) so its hardly an excuse!

I wouldn't wait 20 years, South will be all but a memory by then.......

I remember hearing you were not very good winners. Now it sounds like you are not very good losers either

As stated previously, I'm no longer with the club, nor any football club so I can't speak on behalf of them as to whether or not they are good winners or losers. However I speak for myself and I cop whatever is coming my way but I also dish it out. Bit of banter never hurt anyone and as you can see from my profile I'm not hiding behind a nickname of some latino rock god.

South are a shit club with a shit culture, caused by the mass exodus of players after going up -

South are a shit club with a shit culture, caused by the mass exodus of players after going up one div - sounds like you are one of the rats who deserted the sinking ship?? Every club in the VAFA has the same problem of not being able to pay players (except the cobras for a few years and also St Mary's before the take over) so its hardly an excuse!

I wouldn't wait 20 years, South will be all but a memory by then.......

Thank You Cosmo,
Whilst yes I left the club in 2013, it was not through desertion, I now have weekend commitments that don't allow me to participate in football activities. But I do go back when I can and actually played 2 games last year when I was available

Bigwaz, Richmond were terrible in the early 2000's (almost Chadstone bad). Congratulations on turning the club around (given your location an easier task than you made it look). However your hubris has little basis without a flag. Win a flag and gloat all you want.

Squidsy, South Mornington were a terrible bunch of blokes with crap facilities (they spent all their money on paying palyers). I'm sure the lower divisions will rejoice when you fold (hopefully next season).

Bigwaz, Richmond were terrible in the early 2000's (almost Chadstone bad). Congratulations on turning the club around (given your location an easier task than you made it look). However your hubris has little basis without a flag. Win a flag and gloat all you want.

Squidsy, South Mornington were a terrible bunch of blokes with crap facilities (they spent all their money on paying palyers). I'm sure the lower divisions will rejoice when you fold (hopefully next season).

I was president in 2012, at no time whilst I was there did we pay any players, nor their wives, girlfriends or boyfriends aunties/uncles etc! As for the facilities, yeah they are stinking!

in one year went from a premiership side with guys missing out on a game in the 2s to the following year having 20 odd players in total just before the season started. The facilities aren't the only thing to stink

Fair enough!

When I haven't been in this thread for a month

pizza-fire-1435263526.gif

Hi all.

On behalf of the North Brunswick Football Club, i'd like to let you all know that last night we lost not just a legend of our Club, but also a VAFA legend in Peter Dowsett, affectionately known to everyone who he ever had dealings with as PD.

Like Cookie a few months ago, PD too lost his battle against cancer yesterday afternoon just after 4pm, surrounded by family and friends.

PD was a great player and leader for our Club and also a larrikin which made him all the more likeable.

He will be sorely missed by all of us.

RIP Pete.

Commiserations to all at North Brunny from those of us at Canterbury. Good luck tomorrow.

Now that we are getting towards the end of the home and away season, has anyone given any thought to who will win the best and fairest in the comp? Tom Bell will poll well again, and it will be interesting to see how the umpires rate Dale Collins' fantastic goal kicking feats. But I reckon Shane Mclaren will win it in a canter. He is an absolute jet. Anyone else got any names to put forward?

Valeyard, please enlighten us as to what "POWERHOUSE" D4 club you support? and I assume your on the committee so you have intimate knowledge of what it take to run a club in the VAFA......

We all have weekend commitments mate, but that's the issue at South you were front runners and when it got hard you all left....

Now that we are getting towards the end of the home and away season, has anyone given any thought to who will win the best and fairest in the comp? Tom Bell will poll well again, and it will be interesting to see how the umpires rate Dale Collins' fantastic goal kicking feats. But I reckon Shane Mclaren will win it in a canter. He is an absolute jet. Anyone else got any names to put forward?

Winner surely comes from a top 3 side! Canterbury 0 games dropped
Westbourne/pt cook 2 games!
Dale Collins is my pick! That trot of games he had with 7+ goals may be what gets him over the line!

We all have weekend commitments mate, but that's the issue at South you were front runners and when it got hard you all left....

Yeah I'm a celebrant nowadays so my weekends are taken up with weddings, so kinda hard to duck in play 2's and then fly out to the yarra valley or the city or where ever for a wedding. But couldn't care less what you think of me.