Aiden Domic 21 disposals, 9 marks, 5 tackles

Dandenong

Lachlan Young 17 disposals, 6 tackles, 3 goals 1 behind
Aiden Bonar 18 disposals, 7 marks, 2 goals 1 behind
Hunter Clark 22 disposals, 9 tackles, 1 goal
Luke Davies-Uniacke 18 disposals, 7 handball receives, 1 goal
Oscar Clavarino 10 disposals, injured in 3rd quarter
Riley D’Arcy 6 disposals, 6 tackles, 2 behinds

Always skeptical about clear cut number ones. Gibbs Murphy Scully Swallow Watts et al were all clear cut number ones IIRC. Some very good players but not the best players from their respective drafts.

With pick one you often pick a person that is almost certain to not flop. It is very rare for a pick 1 without injuries to be a failure.
Once you start moving further away from pick 1, there become a few more question marks on a players game and if they fix those issues, they can become the best player, but if they don't then they under perform.

With pick one you often pick a person that is almost certain to not flop. It is very rare for a pick 1 without injuries to be a failure.
Once you start moving further away from pick 1, there become a few more question marks on a players game and if they fix those issues, they can become the best player, but if they don't then they under perform.

Teams play it safe for sure, from fear of stuffing up a number one pick.

Another point to make about this is that players are essentially unsolved jigsaw puzzles at draft time, some are more put together then others but there will always be parts to the puzzle that won't be solved until the player gets into life as an AFL player. This where the players drive and commitment coupled with the development and coaching that he received at his AFL club really comes to the fore to determine what those "unsolved" parts of the puzzle look like. Obviously, injuries and fitness play a role in this as well.

Some clubs seem to manage players better then others but it's Interesting that the guys you mentioned all ended up at clubs where player development, coaching and even culture have been called into question over the years.

Nice attempt D_P_S. At Brisbane's pick 14 Matthew Ling or Andrew Brayshaw would seriously be in the mix.
Yep I have Brayshaw lower than he should go, he is making a case for the top 10 with every game. Any of those 2 would be great for the lions but so would Garner, don't think you will get any homesickness with him he will strive to be a leader at your club.

Naughton at 6?....WTF?
Pies need key position players and he is the next best available. Naughton has been very good in the WAFL seniors and overall he has had a fantastic year. If Griffen Logue can go top 10 I dont see why Naughton couldn't. If not Naughton I feel they will go with Stephenson

What about James Worpel briz? You gone off him?
Nope. Still would love Worpel at the Lions. Is pick 13/14 to high for him? That seems to be the general consensus. I would love to pick up Worpel with our second round pick, but what are the chances we keep that pick or Ballenden slides in to the second round?

No Charlie Ballard or Harrison Petty?....Where do you rate these 2 highly skilled well-balanced talls?

Definitely in my top 40.
Petty is close, I don't rate Ballard as high as others so he isn't top 40 for me yet

If Higgins is going at 21 this is a very strong draft
Being a smaller midfielder hurts him, he will go top 20 i reckon but I can't quite pick which club would need his type
Great job mate! Don't like being negative, but the dogs won't be taking another skinny ruckman with English, boyd, Roughead & campbell on their list
Hayes isn't that skinny he is more readymade than English is

Visit our board - clear number 1 according to many there...

To be fair, I think he is going to be very good. Definitely has the intercepting thing going ala Lever and is a Pies fan. Could probably play 3rd tall in the AFL next year.

I'll admit that I'm not privy to the WAFL goings-on, or it's current standard of play.....But he must have improved remarkably since his Under 18's carnival, is all I'll say.

The best measure is always when you see & compare the elite kids up against one another.

I'll admit that I'm not privy to the WAFL goings-on, or it's current standard of play.....But he must have improved remarkably since his Under 18's carnival, is all I'll say.

The best measure is always when you see & compare the elite kids up against one another.
Really? I thought we was solid at the champs. At that time I thought he was worth around ~20.

In any event his "rise" was on the back of being in Peel's best in all but 1 of his 5 or 6 games. Which is fairly impressive.

For the record, I don't rate him anywhere near where much of our board does (they are obsessed with anybody from WA and ESPECIALLY from Peel) but I don't think he is an unrealistic pick at no6 IF that team wants the next best KPP (assuming we take Brander). He has sticky hands and reads the flight really well. Kicking looks ordinary but tends to hit the target.

Really? I thought we was solid at the champs. At that time I thought he was worth around ~20.

In any event his "rise" was on the back of being in Peel's best in all but 1 of his 5 or 6 games. Which is fairly impressive.

For the record, I don't rate him anywhere near where much of our board does (they are obsessed with anybody from WA and ESPECIALLY from Peel) but I don't think he is an unrealistic pick at no6 IF that team wants the next best KPP (assuming we take Brander). He has sticky hands and reads the flight really well. Kicking looks ordinary but tends to hit the target.

I had Petty ahead of him as the best key position defender at the champs....I know Aaron made AA, but there really was not much to chose from to fill the key defensive posts....Petty looked the more balanced footballer to my eyes.

So Peel is effectively Freo's 'reserves' & feeder club?....Obviously your supporters are getting exposed to him on a weekly basis.....Sometimes proximity & continued exposure can obscure the lens & deflect from the bigger picture.

you and me both.....we saw enough on the weekend eh?;)
I've decided to not play footy myself this weekend just to see Dandenong vs Sandringham on Saturday. Crazy amount of top end talent in this game, should see Nathan Murphy live for the first time aswel.

The midfield battle should be incredible with LDU and Clark vs Brayshaw and Constable. Hopefully they give Bonar some time in the middle aswell

I had Petty ahead of him as the best key position defender at the champs....I know Aaron made AA, but there really was not much to chose from to fill the key defensive posts....Petty looked the more balanced footballer to my eyes.

So Peel is effectively Freo's 'reserves' & feeder club?....Obviously your supporters are getting exposed to him on a weekly basis.....Sometimes proximity & continued exposure can obscure the lens & deflect from the bigger picture.
Yeah Peel is our alignment club (read: reserves). I agree Petty was good too.

Definitely think that is the case. I can understand them having an emotional attachment too. For the record if we actually needed a KPD I wouldn't mind so much, but it is the only position we have quality and depth in.