Dale Thomas vs Kyle Reimers

He has had more football experience, but has more room for improvement and upside than Reimers does.

lol at thinking Reimers has more upside than Thomas

70uiqw.jpg

Plus Reimers has a bigger chest than Thomas. He is obviously stronger than Thomas.

Reimers also relies on his physicality to get by, much moreso than Thomas.

haha ahh man seriously just give up.
dale thomas- 185cm, 84kg
reimers- 182cm, 77kg.

so reimers is obviously stronger then thomas because he has a bigger chest yet he is weighs 7 kilo's less then thomas does?

your digging yourself a pretty big whole..

the only reason thomas has more upside in the eyes of supporters is because he has performed below expectations... many players stay that same way, the fact that reimers although weighing less and being much less experienced has been much more consistent then thomas would weigh in reimers favour,

just to let you know though i thought thomas has more upside as well, although i dont think he will ever be as good as what collingwood supporters hoped.

dale thomas- 185cm, 84kg
reimers- 182cm, 77kg.

so reimers is obviously stronger then thomas because he has a bigger chest yet he is weighs 7 kilo's less then thomas does?

the only reason thomas has more upside in the eyes of supporters is because he has performed below expectations... many players stay that same way, the fact that reimers although weighing less and being much less experienced has been much more consistent then thomas would weigh in reimers favour,

just to let you know though i thought thomas has more upside as well, although i dont think he will ever be as good as what collingwood supporters hoped.

How will he ever get out of this whole? :eek:

So?

Age is not the only factor.

I love it how some people can't see past it.

Reimers is more developed than Thomas.

i'm an avid footy fan, live around the corner from windy hill, watch training and vfl games as often as i can. when essendon took reimers at bottom age in draft he was so raw and underdeveloped he struggled at vfl level in 07. it was surprising how well he performed in 08 given he has so much development left. he has the right attitude, the skills which have taken him this far but plenty of improvement to come in his body which is evident by his light weight.

Tell me one real flaw in Reimers. One.

He's quick, strong, good skills, has great vision, he's aggressive, backs himself for goals, has a brilliant work ethic (watch him when he's on the mark), gets under the opponents skin and is an entertainer (he inspires the crowd).

dale thomas- 185cm, 84kg
reimers- 182cm, 77kg.

I don't care about these stats tbh. I've seen both play, and it seems obvious to me that Remiers is a stronger person physically than Thomas. Tell me he weighs more, I don't care. I've seen them play, Remiers is stronger.

So you also think Thomas has more upside? Brilliant, we are in agreeance then.

I don't care about these stats tbh. I've seen both play, and it seems obvious to me that Remiers is a stronger person physically than Thomas. Tell me he weighs more, I don't care. I've seen them play, Remiers is stronger.

So you also think Thomas has more upside? Brilliant, we are in agreeance then.
You would think that Reimers would have dominated junior football if he developed quickly physically.

The fact that Reimers is stronger despite being 18 or so months younger as well as having 1 less preseason probably suggests that Reimers will always be stronger physically.

Personally I think Thomas has more "upside" but I believe he is far less likely to reach his highest potential than Reimers.

to be fair i reckon reimers stat of 77kgs is probably at the beginning of the year and he built up a fair bit as the year went on.

if i were a collingwood supporter i'd be disturbed if you think reimers has bypassed thomas in physical development already.

its not because of collingwood that i don't like thomas - its his receiver style of play and his attitude thinking he's better than he is thats annoying.

give me heath shaw over thomas any day - tough footy player and a decent bloke. the off field thing wasn't so bad - he was sticking up for a mate. a true trooper - if it were young dale he would have been the first to dob didak in to make himself look better to eddie and co. i maintain that heath shaw should one day be captain of collingwood - i'd find it very amusing if one of the nancy boys in josh fraser or dale thomas got the gig.

Firstly, I also rate Heath Shaw higher than Thomas. I personally think he's our best player along with Didak.

I also think it's pretty stupid you think you know Dale Thomas' personality and you assume he'd dob a mate into the cops. Pretty pissweak statement if you ask me.

Would love to have Reimers playing for Carlton.

Goes in hard and has a good kick.

Thomas is all flash IMO.

K Reimers gets my vote...

Thomas is a 1 trick pony and has flat track bully written all over him. He'll take hangers and kick flashy goals. But when the chips are down... he will go the one hander or a no look handball and mess it up.

Looking forward to seeing the EMO go about his work next year... he has grunt.

One of the worst threads ever. Thomas is streets ahead of Reimers. Thomas is putting on some muscle and will be an elite midfielder in the next two seasons.

Reimers is a flanker. Nothing more. Orange boots says it all.

So?

Age is not the only factor.

I love it how some people can't see past it.

Reimers is more developed than Thomas.
physically, or...?
if not, the only thing i can base that statement on is that you think reimers has shown more already in his two years than thomas' 3?

Whoever coined the phrase "children should be seen and not heard" obviously never laid eyes on Kyle Reimers as a kid. One ugly boy.

One of the worst threads ever. Thomas is streets ahead of Reimers. Thomas is putting on some muscle and will be an elite midfielder in the next two seasons.

thomas will not put much more muscle on for the rest of his career. absolute twig.

Whoever coined the phrase "children should be seen and not heard" obviously never laid eyes on Kyle Reimers as a kid. One ugly boy.
He knows it too.
He doesn't give a toss.
Makes jokes about it.
Good bloke though, you should meet him.
Don't mention players looks, because Thomas isn't too flash either.
I have to find the photo of him getting out the water with his shirt off.
Pretty fat.
Stay on topic, who would you rather have on your team?

lol...how many times has Thomas played in the middle? How many times has he racked up 15+ touches?

He had 15 or more disposals in 16 games(played 22) year and average over 15 the year before. Rotated in the midfield in just about every game.

This thread proves 1 thing that bigfooty people have no fing clue and would rather vote for Reimers than thomas because the dont like thomas for 2 reasons. He plays for Collingwood and is a little different(not a robot and looks like he actually enjoys the game)
I dont normally waste my time defending our players but I reckon most people out there have no bloody clue about thomas. There are more myths about him than any other player going around. People say he is soft, a 1 trick pony, runs 1 way. Its all crap. I doubt anyone here can remember a time he has taken a short step. I watch him every week and have never seen it. He is a great chaser and tackler. His courage for his size is better than most(especially in the air) . He does have some weakness's at the moment- He needs to get bigger but from all reports he has put on quite a bit of muscle. He needs to continue to work on his tank. And his goal kicking can be iffy(great field kick though) From all reports he works bloody hard so this should get better each year. Mark my words Dale Thomas will be one of the stars of the comp for many years to come. He is a freak but has the attitude and work ethic to match.

Oh and I forgot to add. You may want to check your facts before you post. All you have done is prove you rarely watch him play. Can't comment on your bloke because I have barely seen him play.

If Reimers was a top 5 draft pick he would be rated a future superstar by everybody, as Thomas was.
Reimers is easily one of our best youngsters, pretty much has no flaws in his game, and will end up a much better player than Dale

Thomas' physical strength, whilst it will improve (to say he will never put on muscle is a stupid statement, unless you're his personal trainer), it will never be a key part of his game.. up until now his small frame hasn't hindered his progress. if anything his major issue has been running out a game in the middle and that will obviously improve with each preseason.

to question his courage is to question your own intelligence. he has taken marks running into packs with the flight of the ball time and time again, as previously mentioned a few posts back you never see him taking a short step.

his consistency does need to improve but that will come with fitness.