Dale Thomas.

And you have every right to criticise him if you see fit... i just felt the vitriol was a little over the top.
To suggest he is pea-hearted is quite plainly wrong, too. He may be inconsistent at the moment but he certainly does not mind putting his body on the line.

I didn't see him put his bollocks on the line once yesterday. Even when things were going Collingwoods way in the second half, he was nowhere to be seen. He just goes missing mate. He strikes me as a pretty selfish type of player. As I said, downhill skier.

So he had a quiet game. So what? Hes a gun and you will accept this in the not too distant future. You know you would kill to have Dale Thomas on your list.:)

pointless thread , why there is even a dale thomas one on the carlton forums i dont know lol.

murphys great

thomas is great

pendlebury is great

three stars of the future leave it at that

players have bad form or quiet games. to suggest thomas doesnt do team things and cant find a hard ball shows a bit of lack of footy knowledge when it comes to him.

love carlton btw lol just defending my collingwood boy from being slandered, hes no murray vance or luke livingston he is the real deal

Oh come on please. We had that many Collingwood posters come in here and say that Dale Thomas was this, and Dale Thomas was that. Fact of the matter is that Dale Thomas is over-rated by Collingwood supporters based on the fact that he can pull a goal out of his backside every now and again.

He goes missing when the whips are cracking, and as I said, couldn't get a hard ball if his life depended on it.

That's just absurd. He was top four in hardball-gets at Collingwood last year according to the AFL's own stats.

You're generally a pretty level-headed poster. Surprised to see you regurgitating the moronic Dale-Thomas-is-soft line. Anyone who has even the smallest clue knows that he's not.

This thread is still around? Pfft.

Thomas was poor yesterday. Couldn't get into the game at all.

Regardless, I don't think of us are the slightest bit concerned... he will be a star. Pendlebury on the other hand... 33 touches, 0 clangers, 82% effectiveness, 10 of them contested, 11 marks, 7 tackles, 7 clearances, 3 assists... gotta love it. :) The only fault was his accuracy in front of goal.. which was terrible.

Pendlebury isn't as damaging as Murphy and doesn't impact on games even when he has a stack of the ball.

Noticed this when we beat you this year.

Murphy takes it straight up the guts and goes direct, Pendlebury chip the ball around and wide to the flanks after sidestepping an opponent.

Thomas is a junktime general and front runner like Andrew Lovett.

Pendlebury isn't as damaging as Murphy and doesn't impact on games even when he has a stack of the ball.

Noticed this when we beat you this year.

Murphy takes it straight up the guts and goes direct, Pendlebury chip the ball around and wide to the flanks after sidestepping an opponent.

Thomas is a junktime general and front runner like Andrew Lovett.

Whatever helps you sleep at night. Murphy was missing a few targets today... tsk tsk tsk. Pendles didn't.

Oh come on please. We had that many Collingwood posters come in here and say that Dale Thomas was this, and Dale Thomas was that. Fact of the matter is that Dale Thomas is over-rated by Collingwood supporters based on the fact that he can pull a goal out of his backside every now and again.

He goes missing when the whips are cracking, and as I said, couldn't get a hard ball if his life depended on it.

Both good players but IMO Murphy is a more all round player and gets his own ball. Thomas is a show pony who loves the fancy stuff but goes missing when the heat is on. The blues made the right choice for sure.

He does NOT go missing when the heat is on. Have you watched him? Round 14 (?) last year, semi-final last year... he arguably won us both games. Countless times he's kicked the goal to turn the tide, after we were in trouble after conceding consecutive goals. This year against Richmond, they had just kicked 3 or 4 in a row... Thomas pulls a goal out of his arse from the pocket and we get some breathing space. There are plenty more examples.

In saying that, you are correct, Murphy is definately a more complete player. And we would've taken him if we had pick 1, because he is what our midfield needs. But once Thomas works consistancy into his game, he'll be awesome.... so we're very happy too.

Carlton fans seem to be the only people who don't admit he's a very good player.

Thomas is quick but useless as a flying mop.

He's so useless that over 430 posts have been made on a thread on the Carlton board about him!

Murphy and Thomas are two different players that play two different roles. Murphy can run all day on the ball and will become a premier midfielder in the AFL. Thomas is a flanker/ winger who inspires the players around him with his ability to take mark of the year contenders and goal of the year contenders every week.

Two completely different positions and completely roles in their sides.

Why dont we compare Dale Thomas with Aaron Sandilands?

That's just absurd. He was top four in hardball-gets at Collingwood last year according to the AFL's own stats.

You're generally a pretty level-headed poster. Surprised to see you regurgitating the moronic Dale-Thomas-is-soft line. Anyone who has even the smallest clue knows that he's not.

I can only go by what I have seen over the past 3 weeks. And he hasn't shown a willingness to work when the ball has been in a contested situation. I just don't get all the wraps on him to be truthful.

Vanilla Smurphy? The cough up king?

You are seriously not comparing him to the human highlight reel Thomas are you?

Takes 3 of Smurphy's possessions to equal one of Daisy's!

Vanilla Smurphy? The cough up king?

You are seriously not comparing him to the human highlight reel Thomas are you?

Takes 3 of Smurphy's possessions to equal one of Daisy's!

Haven't you cut those apron strings yet flog??????

u collingwood blokes wouldnt hav a clue. figure this... why does murphy have almost as many goals as thomas when he plays in the middle and thomas is a HFF? Not realy the hallmark of the great HFF you pump him up to be.

It's very easy to look good on a HFF in a reasonably good team, I mean my God.... Houlihan was touted as the next big thing playing on that positon in the early part of this decade!!!

It's very hard for Murphy to look great in an outfit that sports a number of quality mids. Pushing last year aside (where Murphy got a heavy tag every game) Murphs has had a far better career than Daisy the cow. Just in the first 5 games this year alone he has put the case to bed!

PS. FWIW, Murphs and Pendlebury is a far better comparison. Probably even atm imo

hey all you carlton flogs that is the biggest load of shit that i have ever seen can you tell me how many finals appearances your little lover boy has played in i can NONE . For crying out loud it shames me to be sucked in to such a bullshit post but hey if you want to carry on about a player who gets 20 touches a game which half of everyones team does including melbourne then good on you flogs, see you in round 12 for some redemption and thomas magic

Did you toss and turn all night?

not as much as you flogs do , heres a tip for you sotosseros go to the tab and put a pineapple on josh kennedy to be the top goalscorer in your game this week , should be very humurous watching him tear you squibs a new arse p.s read the signature!

Quite amusing all this. The very fact this exists is testament to Thomas as a player. Obviously no one watched the 2nd quarter of the ANZAC game? In 5 minutes of play Thomas turned the momentum the Magpies way with a couple of great little cameos, was he BOG? Nope, not the way the team plays, nor is it his role yet. Once you have any understanding of the Pies game plan you may be able to comment with a bit more insight. You guys should be worrying more about your player development than whether DT is a down hill skier. The way some of your young guns have been talked up they should be ripping teams hearts out, instead they are ripping your hearts out.

Something else I find bewildering for Carlton is that Bryce Gibbs, (part of a leadership group that couldn't lead a rat up a drainpipe) stated what a great role model Brenda Fevola was in The Hun on the weekend!! Thats right, you have let one of the great 'coasters' of the modern game, a man who plays well every 3rd week, and has spent most of his career gambling or in bars, mentor a star recruit. From Ireland to inner city Melbourne, Fev has been the satellite that has orbitted around a series of embarassing disasters for your club and yet, pathetically, you continue to trust him. Guys please, start a new thread about your own Olympic luge team. At least our down hill skiers are standing, yours' can't even be arsed getting off their backs!

Because teams get to play in finals based on individual performances :rolleyes:

Whose the flog?

god cant believe this thread is still going, doesnt neone have nething better to do? its obviously not gunna be resolved.
and how the f#ck is this meda07 w***er not red carded yet?!

2008 stats - Dale Thomas V Marc Murphy.
Dale Thomas:
Kicks: 61
Handballs: 22
Average: 13.8 disposals
Marks: 32 Average 5.3
Frees For: 3
Frees Against: 6
Goals: 9

Marc Murphy:
Kicks: 103
Handballs: 31
Average: 22.3 disposals
Marks 50 Average 8.3
Frees For: 10
Frees Against: 2
Goals: 5

Thomas struggles for a touch in the midfield and hasn't even kicked 10 goals as a forward? What can that useless maggot do?

god cant believe this thread is still going, doesnt neone have nething better to do? its obviously not gunna be resolved.
and how the f#ck is this meda07 w***er not red carded yet?!

Am I imagining things or has some of HBF's tolerant demeanor rubbed off on all the mods?

We don't want tolerance towards opposition trolls, we want you to get medieval on their asses!

Am I imagining things or has some of HBF's tolerant demeanor rubbed off on all the mods?

We don't want tolerance towards opposition trolls, we want you to get medieval on their asses!

there isnt enough consistency... i got red carded for something that was no where near as bad as what this toss is saying

I'm pretty much over opposition supporters calling Thomas soft. Sure he needs to find more consistency, he does tend to fade in and out of games, but he is NOT soft. He works very hard and goes in as hard as anyone. He has also lifted for the big games on a number of occasion already, and has won a couple of games last year off his own boot. Sure he was quiet last week, but even then he kicked a goal and did a couple of good things that helped turn the momentum our way.

not as much as you flogs do , heres a tip for you sotosseros go to the tab and put a pineapple on josh kennedy to be the top goalscorer in your game this week , should be very humurous watching him tear you squibs a new arse p.s read the signature!

Here's a tip for you. Two trolling posts in the one thread equates to a yellow card. PS. I read the signature and I suggest you take your own advice. 'Bye.