Damage check ..... team next week

I disagree. Bentick covered his role pretty well I thought - did the hard stuff and some good things, including laying some excellent tackles.

Thornton could've been the difference - we really did miss his poise in defence, not to mention his drive from there. Sets up a lot of attacks.

agree with you 100%, would like to see bentick and hadley in the team together

thought bentick filled in hadleys roll well today
should give jackson or blackwell a go
In: edwards, Hadley, Saddington, Hammer(stretch w/e rucks if fit)
Out: Thornton, hartlett, grigg(get his confidence bak in vfl), pfieffer

Don't think Hadley would've done any better mate considering that Adelaide's midfielders were on fire. Even Judd couldn't quell them.

In the end we'll never know, but what I do know is that Hadley has been fantastic over the last few weeks. His main role in the side is to provide a bit of grunt and help win the clearences, and today we lack both grunt and clearences. We need him back.

serious? did u see it? think it could b a week?

Blokes on the telly seem to think it's a head-butt off the ball. West came straight off but returned 10 minutes later.

Kennedy playing a great game thus far. :eek:

OUT: Thornton, Hartlett

IN: Hadley, O'hAilpin

Whilst Carlos' form hasn't been the best, we need another tall defender and we know Carlos always plays for the jumper.

Our midfield could do some damage against the Eagles (who would've thought those words would come out of a Blues supporter's mouth 12 months ago :D ), especially if Kerr is out suspended and Cox isn't 100%.

From what I've heard, Kennedy played well last night and McKinley continues to impress.

Hunter, Glass, Hurn & Embley also went down so those guys won't be 100% either.

I'll be unpopular for saying this, but we should bring in Saddington ..
We could use another expereinced defender in lieu of T-Bird's injury ...

I think Gibbs should also be dropped to the Bullants for a couple of weeks, just for him to enjoy playing footy under less pressure right now.

In: O'hAilpin, Edwards
Out: Hartlett, Thornton

It was evident yesterday when Ratten pushed Waite up forward that he seems to have come to the realisation that we need another forward at the top end. Edwards will be very important to us in the coming weeks.

Irish will play back. Where he SHOULD be playing.

Why the embarrassment smilie?

Just remember who we got as a result for giving him up :thumbsu:

I was one of the loudest voices suggesting he had shown us nothing and that people who were convinced he was going to be a player were just guessing. Last night he was a different player completely. Don't know what it says about WC's development system, ours or the blokes own ability to rise above disappointment but fair dinkum for the first time I saw what people were suggesting he was capable of. He could be anything. Only one game but a pretty handy debut. Be painful if he stars next week against us.

I'll be unpopular for saying this, but we should bring in Saddington ..
We could use another expereinced defender in lieu of T-Bird's injury ...

I think Gibbs should also be dropped to the Bullants for a couple of weeks, just for him to enjoy playing footy under less pressure right now.

:eek::eek::eek:

Completely disagree!

If anything, Gibbs should be played up the ground more and not in defense, where he can enjoy the luxury of playing alongside Judd, Stevens and Murphy.

:eek::eek::eek:

Completely disagree!

If anything, Gibbs should be played up the ground more and not in defense, where he can enjoy the luxury of playing alongside Judd, Stevens and Murphy.
Gibbs should either play midfield or in the VFL...

he is waisted in defense and the pressure can be tough on the kid...

just give him a run in the midfield and breaks in the forward line instead of playing him at FB

Right now I think Gibbs is a bit like a sheep thrown to the wolves, I think he is often unfairly maligned, and right now his confidence is shot, and I honestly feel for his own personal development, he should have a few games in the VFL to build up his confidence and enjoy his footy with less pressure ...

Right now I fear that Gibbs honestly needs to go out and enjoy getting a kick with the Ants, and not worry about making mistakes in the backline in the AFL.
To be honest, I blame more the surrounding players in the backline/midfield for Gibbs error yesterday, hardly any of them were giving him decent leads and vocal on-field support (from where I could see)

I am not really worried about winning next week's game, I just think right now Gibbs has to be nutured along more slowly (even if he was a number 1 pick) ..
Bring in Armfield to cover him (he is a quality talent) and give Gibbsy a break to build up his confidence ..

I don't really see the benefit of dropping Gibbs to the Bullants. All he is going to do is get a heap of touches, and come back into the Carlton team the week after. Ratten played him on Goodwin yesterday for the experience, and I have no problem with that. I still believe that Gibbs will play a more offensive type game going into the second half of the year.

I was one of the loudest voices suggesting he had shown us nothing and that people who were convinced he was going to be a player were just guessing. Last night he was a different player completely. Don't know what it says about WC's development system, ours or the blokes own ability to rise above disappointment but fair dinkum for the first time I saw what people were suggesting he was capable of. He could be anything. Only one game but a pretty handy debut. Be painful if he stars next week against us.

Not really, seeing as though Juddy will probably have a ball against WCE's weaker midfield, especially if Kerr is out.

Good luck to JK, hope he goes on to have a good career. But not once do I regret our decision to recruit the best player in the land. Of course it's tough to see JK doing well, and we would like to see him in a Carlton jumper, but it's one game and by god, we got Judd out of him so he has served us better than he may ever serve the Eagles, no matter how good he turns out to be. :thumbsu:

Saddo not playing for the Ants today. Tends to indicate he's injured too ;)

In: Hampson, o'hAilpin, Hadley, Wiggins
Out: Cloke (inj), Thornton (inj), Hartlett (inj), Grigg

Damage check ..... team next week