Dane Swan

And who would we bring in? Which player in the ressies is ripping it up and deserves to be in the side before Harry?

Bully for you.

Who cares who we bring in? We're losing anyway, so we can either lose again, or maybe discover a kid that steps up in the real stuff.

There are players out there who are reserves superstars *cough McCarthy* that don't cut it with the big boys, but then there are players who may not shine for the reserves, but seem to step it up when they need to in the seniors.

Obviously the latter happens far less, but you'll never know if you don't play them.

Fact is, you can't have depth if you don't get games into kids. Depth doesn't appear out of thin air.

We had depth in 2010 because back in 05/06/07/08 we played Dawes, Cloke, Reid, Brown, Pendlebury, Thomas and Goldsack all as kids. We got games into them, and outside of Pendles, most of them looked they could go either way. But we persisted. As a result, we made finals and not much else.

This is what's going to have to happen now. Much like Hawthorn had to do in 2009 and 2010. They had to play players because of all their injuries, and they discovered some great young players.

Having said that, Hawthron also recruited better mature age players. Something Mick basically didn't really do. But still, point remains.

In the end, Bucks is now going to have to persist with Paine, Seedsman, Yagmoore, Hartley, Witts, Ceglar and Fasolo and the like to create that depth.

With the top end talent we have, this shouldn't be a problem, but when your top end is playing like dog shit, the kids look that much more 'ill-prepared' as a result.

If we were playing like our normal selves, these kids would chip in with little contributions here and there and wouldn't look so exposed and we'd be talking about how much better they look. Instead they're being thrown to the wolves thanks to no cover by the senior players and we talk about how shitty they are, which is wrong.

Outside Sinclair, I still believe all of the kids I mentioned earlier will be players, and good ones. But the senior blokes need to pick thei game the f**k up. Funny how I mentioned this during the NAB Cup also and that has carried through to now. The kids were fine during the NAB Cup also, but the senior players were well down being in CBF mode. Problem is, they're still in CBF mode and the kids as well as our club, are suffering as a result.

Make no mistake, there is a new gameplan bieng forced on this group, not a 'tweaking' as they like to say. It's going to take time to get it right, but senior players putting in zero effort won't help matters.

Swan, Jolly, O'Brien, Toovey, Dawes, Thomas and others need to wake the f**k up if we're going to turn this ship around.

I 100% believe that this year still could be a premiership year, but it's going to take much harder work than these guys have been used to for the last few years. Mick was too soft on them, and now Bucks has to look like the bad guy forcing the hard yards on them. Every player reported that it was the hardest Arizona yet. Hell, hopefully this problem is far simplar and maybe their training load was GIANT before the season started and they're only now easing off?

As I said in another thread, I won't write this season off, or push the panic button until after rounds saaaay 7-10. If we still look like this then, different ball game.

I'm keeping the faith that we can turn this around, and go into the round 8 game against Geelong 5-2 and use a big win against the Cats to revitalise the belief in this group.

Notorious poor trainer.

Funny you say that I am pretty sure pendles made a comment that he and Ben Johnson like to race each other in sprints. Just because you don't put in 100% at training doesn't make you lazy everyone knows some players can have a natural fitness and stamina. I am sure Swan knows what he needs to do to play well perhaps he isn't tackling as much for fear of injury this time last year he was carrying a few that no one knew about, his body was sore before he went to Arizona worse than it has every been. Perhaps his being careful I think Eddie mentioned there are some playing injured at the moment maybe he is one of them O'Brien had some strapping around ankle. Pretty sure in some of the centre clearances he was using his body to keep Judd away from it then it's up to the others to get the ball, he was probably the only one strong enough, as for him not liking Buckley what a lot of rubbish he has signed up for three years knowing his the coach. People are just trying to blame even Richardson said with ten players missing from final side impossible to cover that loss. Davis especially being missed in the back half especially his 100% accuracy lighten up people.

I didn't say he was lazy, i said he was a poor trainer, on the field and in the gym, although when you can BP 150kg+ you can be excused from gym duties, what i'm saying is he does what he's asked to do, nothing more, he certainly isn't the first out last in type.

If anyone disagrees that he is a poor trainer then I am telling you go to a training session and keep a very close eye on him.

I just seem to remember hearing about how a few years ago he was told what he needed to do to take the next step and worked his arse off to get there, and now he's the fittest player in the comp.

Regarding training intensity etc though, you can be working hard without appearing so. Laconic does not necessarily equal not working hard.

I just seem to remember hearing about how a few years ago he was told what he needed to do to take the next step and worked his arse off to get there, and now he's the fittest player in the comp.

Regarding training intensity etc though, you can be working hard without appearing so. Laconic does not necessarily equal not working hard.

He laid off the piss and dim sims, started keeping decent hours etc etc, but i don't think his trackwork changed, it's not unusual for a sportsman to be a poor trainer, it's what they do on the field that counts, certainly can't blame his trackwork for his slow start to 2012 because it's worked every other year, i think his problem is between the ears.

If he's not interested, piss him off now.

He's been by far the most disappointing of a large group.

As I said in another thread, I won't write this season off, or push the panic button until after rounds saaaay 7-10. If we still look like this then, different ball game.

Ed you are the worst in this thread but by no means the only one who is guilty of massive over reaction.

Piss Dane Swan off? The reigning Brownlow medalist, the guy who was B&F 2008-10 and runner up last year. The guy who knocks up getting possessions every week this year (30+). The player who has been listed in the best every week by the club and was listed as our 2nd best on Fri night.

A couple have mentioned they used to love him but not now. What did you think of the Brownlow last year. Maybe you started to doubt him when he only got 43 possies in the QF last year, what about the PF only a shabby 32 possies.

When exactly did you see your way fit to bag a Collingwood champion 3 games into a season. Dane Swan has done enough to be cut slack by you armchair experts. We are going through a golden era, Bucks the man you have wanted in is in charge. We hit a hump in the road and you have hissy fits all over the place and want to trade the car in

You need a bit of backbone and loyalty

Ed you are the worst in this thread but by no means the only one who is guilty of massive over reaction.

Piss Dane Swan off? The reigning Brownlow medalist, the guy who was B&F 2008-10 and runner up last year. The guy who knocks up getting possessions every week this year (30+). The player who has been listed in the best every week by the club and was listed as our 2nd best on Fri night.

A couple have mentioned they used to love him but not now. What did you think of the Brownlow last year. Maybe you started to doubt him when he only got 43 possies in the QF last year, what about the PF only a shabby 32 possies.

When exactly did you see your way fit to bag a Collingwood champion 3 games into a season. Dane Swan has done enough to be cut slack by you armchair experts. We are going through a golden era, Bucks the man you have wanted in is in charge. We hit a hump in the road and you have hissy fits all over the place and want to trade the car in

You thought he was second best?

And you need to stop mentioning numbers to back up your argument. I DID have a problem with Swanny last year. Yeah he won the brownlow and his offensive work was brilliant, but it IS NOT the possessions that I am talking about. It his inability to chase both ways, and his reluctance to do anything if it wont result in stat for him.

As for the QF, I thought he was good, not great. The PF I thought he was magnificent and it was one of the best games I had seen him play. I sit up in the stands, I watch him run around, I see whether he pushes hard both ways, whether he will put his body on the line or not. I've seen him do it a number of times but he chooses when he wants to, and I don't think it sets a great example for the rest of the team.

I don't even care about his poor disposal at the moment, I just want to see him lay a big tackle, or attempt to chase down an opponent with as much speed as he does when running into our open forward 50. Cut him some slack because he is a Brownlow medalist, why? Doesn't that mean he should be judged more harshly, that his efforts should not be substandard?

I still love Swanny but I am not looking at him with rose coloured glasses have a look at his effort and then compared with other elite players,mate you should watch Ablett and Judd to see players who work both ways.

He is one of the most experienced players we have atm and he is showing absolutely no leadership to the young brigade,again it must be said we know he is getting the ball,that is not the problem the problem is his attitude and if you cannot see that you are not looking closely enough he looks like he is in retirement mode already.

Not sure how the two quotes you linked are related.

I'm not pushign the panic button, but I said if Swan isn't interested, then piss him off. I'd rather have an average player who will take orders and bust his balls out there, than a 'superstar' who couldn't give a shit.

Call me crazy.

If Swan looked sore/injured, or even tired, I'd say ok.

He looks like he couldn't give a shit, and anyone who sees otherwise is blind. Now, champion or not, I'm not too sure what kind of supporter wants players who don't give a shit.

If he needs to be dropped, then drop him if that's what it takes to wake him up. Worked wonders for Dal Santo.

Not sure how the two quotes you linked are related.

I'm not pushign the panic button, but I said if Swan isn't interested, then piss him off. I'd rather have an average player who will take orders and bust his balls out there, than a 'superstar' who couldn't give a shit.

Call me crazy.

If Swan looked sore/injured, or even tired, I'd say ok.

He looks like he couldn't give a shit, and anyone who sees otherwise is blind. Now, champion or not, I'm not too sure what kind of supporter wants players who don't give a shit.

If he needs to be dropped, then drop him if that's what it takes to wake him up. Worked wonders for Dal Santo.

Not sure how the 2 are linked ?

In one breath you want Collingwood to piss Dane Swan off because you reckon he looks disinterested next post you reckon you haven't got the panics. Those 2 statements are mutually exclusive to me.

Don't know if you played much footy yourself but anyone who is getting most possessions for their team is working their butt off. Swan may have dropped off a little on his previous phenomenal output over the last 3 games but not as much as a lot of the other top end talent we have.

It's just nonsensical to suggest dropping a champ like Swan because a supporter in the stand perceives that "he couldn't give a shit". It's also nonsensical to throw in inflammatory quotes like "I not too sure what kind of supporter wants players who don't give a shit" when the only evidence for the statement is your observations from the stands which fly in the face of any objective evidence e.g best players, stats etc

I don't mind your postings usually, we need a bit of controversy at times but man you are sitting on the panic button big time

You thought he was second best?

Cut him some slack because he is a Brownlow medalist, why? Doesn't that mean he should be judged more harshly, that his efforts should not be substandard?

I had him in the best , but that wasn't a group you had to do a lot to get into

Not cut him slack because he is a Brownlow medalist rather understand a long history of elite output has to be considered by Ed S who wants to "piss him off" because of his output in 3 games this year.

Dropping Swan because of attitude would be only something those from the inner sanctum are in any position to judge. I have trouble with supporters who want to eat their own at the 1st sign of anything going wrong

Not sure how the 2 are linked ?

In one breath you want Collingwood to piss Dane Swan off because you reckon he looks disinterested next post you reckon you haven't got the panics. Those 2 statements are mutually exclusive to me.

Don't know if you played much footy yourself but anyone who is getting most possessions for their team is working their butt off. Swan may have dropped off a little on his previous phenomenal output over the last 3 games but not as much as a lot of the other top end talent we have.

It's just nonsensical to suggest dropping a champ like Swan because a supporter in the stand perceives that "he couldn't give a shit". It's also nonsensical to throw in inflammatory quotes like "I not too sure what kind of supporter wants players who don't give a shit" when the only evidence for the statement is your observations from the stands which fly in the face of any objective evidence e.g best players, stats etc

I don't mind your postings usually, we need a bit of controversy at times but man you are sitting on the panic button big time

Well, now there's an issue because of interpretation. Yours of my reaction to our loss, and mine of what I perceive of Dane Swan.

I have no problem with a player who is in poor form through natural degradation of their game. Pendlebury was tagged and tagged HARD, but you won't see me rip into him. How could I? Over being tagged and not playing a blinder in ONE game?

Dane Swan is, as you mentioned, the reigning Brownlow medallist. Certain expectations come with that.

A Brownlow suggests that you're a pretty decent footballer. Even on your 'bad days', you're still generally doing some good things and at the very least doing the TEAM thigns when you can't influence the contest directly.

Swan has been doing none of these things for the last 3 weeks. Not accountable for a man, not protecting his teammates, not pushing to lay a tackle, not running to create a lead to open up space for another player.

These are all things that many players (Daisy Thomas being a perfect example) down on form can do to help the team. These are things form can't affect. Poor form can't stop you from running as fast as you can. Poor form can't stop you from bumping someone. Poor form can't stop you from laying a tackle can it?

But guess what? Not giving a shit can.

Singling out the poor performances of a star player is hardly panicking, otherwise you need a new dictionary.

Panicking would be saying it's season over for us, something I've done the complete opposite of.

But I'll leave you to your new fandangled dictionary that seems to have different meaning for everything I'm talking about.

I'm sorry you refuse to see what's happening out there on the field, but that's not my problem. It's yours.

Dane says hi

AqpVhTmCMAA6iTX.jpg

Dane Swan is, as you mentioned, the reigning Brownlow medallist. Certain expectations come with that.

A Brownlow suggests that you're a pretty decent footballer. Even on your 'bad days', you're still generally doing some good things and at the very least doing the TEAM thigns when you can't influence the contest directly.

Swan has been doing none of these things for the last 3 weeks. Not accountable for a man, not protecting his teammates, not pushing to lay a tackle, not running to create a lead to open up space for another player.

But guess what? Not giving a shit can.

Singling out the poor performances of a star player is hardly panicking, otherwise you need a new dictionary.

You must be watching a different Swan to me. Possessions are not everything but you have to work hard to get 30 week in week out. It's just crazy to suggest Swan isn't doing anything to help the team. You have even gone as far as saying he is not running to create space. How do you get 30 possies without running to create space.

The club has had him in its best every week , 2nd on Friday. Explain that. They will have his GPS figures to analyse, his tapes etc etc. Despite knocking up getting the pill, despite being in our best you rip into him. You said you want to piss him off. Not sure if you mean from the team or the club. You can tell from the stands he doesn't give a shit.

I am not saying Swan can't play better, I am not even saying he might not be off a little mentally with effort etc. Its just your diagnosis and solutions are extreme and smack of panic

You must be watching a different Swan to me. Possessions are not everything but you have to work hard to get 30 week in week out. It's just crazy to suggest Swan isn't doing anything to help the team. You have even gone as far as saying he is not running to create space. How do you get 30 possies without running to create space.

The club has had him in its best every week , 2nd on Friday. Explain that. They will have his GPS figures to analyse, his tapes etc etc. Despite knocking up getting the pill, despite being in our best you rip into him. You said you want to piss him off. Not sure if you mean from the team or the club. You can tell from the stands he doesn't give a shit.

I am not saying Swan can't play better, I am not even saying he might not be off a little mentally with effort etc. Its just your diagnosis and solutions are extreme and smack of panic

He didn't say he wanted to piss him off, he said if he doesn't give a shit he can piss off, and he's right.

Here's a story off fox.

Carlton premiership player and coach Robert Walls raised the issue after Collingwood's hammering by the Blues on Friday night.
Walls noted that Swan, known for his nonchalant nature, look particularly laidback in the pre-game warm-up at the MCG.
"The Brownlow Medallist was about as intense as me walking from the bed to the bathroom when I get up in the morning and that is slow motion. Dane Swan's warm up is worse than that," Walls said on SEN.
Leading AFL journalist Mark Robinson picked up the comments in this week's Fair Point segment on AFL 360.
"Everyone admires Swanny for what he does but too many people are saying he appears heavy on the ground," Robninson said.
Start of sidebar. Skip to end of sidebar.

End of sidebar. Return to start of sidebar.

Collingwood football director Rodney Eade said he didn't know if Swan was carrying extra weight early in the 2012 season.
"He's had 30 (possessions) every week but his defensive mindset is probably not to where it has been in the past," Eade said.
Rodney Eade: "Not overly, but I haven't checked the figures."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/fai...ight-this-season/story-fnd1lw35-1226329720767

So it isn't just us who've noticed it mate, maybe watch the replay with your eyes open, carlton's midfiled have had more competitive training drills compared to what our midfield put up on friday night.

Soooo the real issue is, that not only you refuse to accept what's there in front of you, but you took my 'piss off' comment so literally you thought I meant we should remove him from our club?

Thanks for letting me know I wasted my time.

I'm sorry, but players can get 30 posessions pretty easily these days.

I'd take 15 posessions that cut you up, over 35 posessions that do nothing but go nowhere or turn the ball over (ie. Swan's posessions for the last 3 weeks)

Dale Thomas had half the posessions Swan did against Richmond, and yet with only a handful of those, Daisy ended the game.

Remind me what Swan did in that game?

Seriously, like some of our senior players, you need to wake up. Facing facts and pushing for our coaching panel to make hard calls is far and away from panicking. We have senior players resting on their laurels, and playing selfish, lazy football.

If dropping them to the reserves wakes them up, then I'm all for it. As I said earlier, it worked wonders for Dal Santo.

Why wait until the season actually IS over before doing something?

Do I hope Swan turns it around? Of course. Does it look likely right now? Not particularly.

He didn't say he wanted to piss him off, he said if he doesn't give a shit he can piss off, and he's right.

Here's a story off fox.

Carlton premiership player and coach Robert Walls raised the issue after Collingwood's hammering by the Blues on Friday night.
Walls noted that Swan, known for his nonchalant nature, look particularly laidback in the pre-game warm-up at the MCG.
"The Brownlow Medallist was about as intense as me walking from the bed to the bathroom when I get up in the morning and that is slow motion. Dane Swan's warm up is worse than that," Walls said on SEN.
Leading AFL journalist Mark Robinson picked up the comments in this week's Fair Point segment on AFL 360.
"Everyone admires Swanny for what he does but too many people are saying he appears heavy on the ground," Robninson said.
Start of sidebar. Skip to end of sidebar.

End of sidebar. Return to start of sidebar.

Collingwood football director Rodney Eade said he didn't know if Swan was carrying extra weight early in the 2012 season.
"He's had 30 (possessions) every week but his defensive mindset is probably not to where it has been in the past," Eade said.
Rodney Eade: "Not overly, but I haven't checked the figures."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/fai...ight-this-season/story-fnd1lw35-1226329720767

So it isn't just us who've noticed it mate, maybe watch the replay with your eyes open, carlton's midfiled have had more competitive training drills compared to what our midfield put up on friday night.

You want to base a case on the opinion of a couple of flogs like Walls and Robinson, fine. I like to be a little more discerning.

Eade doesn't say anything I disagree with. Swans not at the top of his game I agree but for supporters or media flogs to sit in the stands and suppose they can read the mind of a champ like Swan. Pleeeeease.

You want to base a case on the opinion of a couple of flogs like Walls and Robinson, fine. I like to be a little more discerning.

Eade doesn't say anything I disagree with. Swans not at the top of his game I agree but for supporters or media flogs to sit in the stands and suppose they can read the mind of a champ like Swan. Pleeeeease.

Seriously, what does mind reading have to do with what we see out on the field?

You think, that we think, Dane is thinking to himself "Man, I'm so going to get this ball and butcher it"?

No, but all the things I listed before and his general body language clearly show a care factor of approximately 3. He is clearly in CBF mode, and has been since the first game of the NAB Cup.

Do you think i base my opinion on anything those parrots say? lol, i was just pointing out i'm not the only who's noticed Danes body language this year, he's standing flat footed at stoppages, he isn't chasing, TBH i've seen couch potatos with more passion/life in em, if he's enjoying himself playing football ATM i'd hate to see him do something he hates.

He has an obligation to lead by example, whether he likes it not the younger guys look up to him, ATM Judd and Ablett have more inspiration in their toe nails than he has in his body.

I'm sorry, but players can get 30 posessions pretty easily these days.

Do I hope Swan turns it around? Of course. Does it look likely right now? Not particularly.

Easy to get 30 possies is it? Are you mad, it may be easier than 10 years ago but its still far from easy. Thats a lot of gut running. Its hard to believe that a lazy selfish footballer , who does nothing for his team and doesn't give a shit as he waits for retirement can do that week after week

Just out of interest of the 396 players who lined up on the weekend 19 made it to 30 possies (<5%). Of the 198 players on a losing team Swan and 3 others got 30 possies (<2%). Every player who got 30 or more possies last weekend was named in the best on the AFL site. Swan gets 30 every week, its not easy to do.

Swans not at his best but he is a mile from being dropped. Not because he is special but because he is performing at a level that makes it just crazy to do so. He would be well up near the top of Collingwoods B&F at the moment.

Your last statement is another howler. Its not particularly likely that Swan can turn his form around to the levels of recent seasons. Are you for real? So after 3 rounds following 4 elite seasons you don't think its likely Swan can recapture his best. God you love the hasty judgement

Easy to get 30 possies is it? Are you mad, it may be easier than 10 years ago but its still far from easy. Thats a lot of gut running. Its hard to believe that a lazy selfish footballer , who does nothing for his team and doesn't give a shit as he waits for retirement can do that week after week

Just out of interest of the 396 players who lined up on the weekend 19 made it to 30 possies (<5%). Of the 198 players on a losing team Swan and 3 others got 30 possies (<2%). Every player who got 30 or more possies last weekend was named in the best on the AFL site. Swan gets 30 every week, its not easy to do.

Swans not at his best but he is a mile from being dropped. Not because he is special but because he is performing at a level that makes it just crazy to do so. He would be well up near the top of Collingwoods B&F at the moment.

Your last statement is another howler. Its not particularly likely that Swan can turn his form around to the levels of recent seasons. Are you for real? So after 3 rounds following 4 elite seasons you don't think its likely Swan can recapture his best. God you love the hasty judgement

I know he'll turn it around, he's a champion, something isn't right in his head ATM though IMO, could be a personal issue, who would know, but i'm telling you it's something.

I don't disgree with that, he can be better. It's the ferocity of the attack on his character I don't get. He is trying, he is not a natural leader. He has bled too often for the CFC for me to castigate him for a short term drop in form.

He looks like he's hobbling more than usual. I don't like him much at the moment either, but then there's been a few times in the past where he's been below his best (the first half of 2011, the latter half of 2009, etc.) He has history with not performing for a whole year, whatever the reason.

Mick had us pressuring and zoning like madmen. To me it looks like the team strategy simply no longer emphasises defensive pressure like it used to. That can also affect the way individuals go about their games, if the team strategy no longer places an emphasis on something, players may feel less pressure to focus on that aspect. I'm not saying that necessarily excuses it, just a possible reason for it. Swan as has been mentioned has never been one to look like he is overtaxed. Perhaps Malthouse gave him an extra reason to pay some special attention to his defensive duties that he doesn't have now. I don't think Swan is the sole example of that.

Dane Swan