Opinion Dangerfield is Injured

• Thread starter Thread starter HaroLad

Honestly found that he was moving a lot more freely on the weekend, if it was ribs as some have theorised he seems to be around 85% better now. I was in the rest him crowd prior to the weekend, but based on how he was running plus an extra weeks recovery I think he will be good to go this weekend.

His performance level went from 3/10 (Collingwood) to like 6/10 (Gold Coast). To beat most sides we probably need him at 8 or above.

Being heavily reliant on one or two is a recipe for disaster. To beat most sides we need 22 all making contributions. Case in point - the Bulldogs.

I reckon the Bulldogs would be 3-4 if Bontempelli was playing at the level Dangerfield is currently.

He has turned at least 3 games their way with individual brilliance. 2 I think they would have lost.

Bit of a furphy this 'solider in soldier out' nonsense. All clubs rely on their best players.

Dangerfield's form is hurting us. He will lift.

I think it's time to change that saying to "....Dangerfield, Selwood and Duncan".
He's been brilliant this year thus far.
I have to agree.
Been critical of his contested ball, as I was with Menegola early on......but opinions change. Selwood
Dangerfield
Duncan
Menegola

That's a pretty good midfield.....an indictment on everyone else really

I have to agree.
Been critical of his contested ball, as I was with Menegola early on......but opinions change. Selwood
Dangerfield
Duncan
Menegola

That's a pretty good midfield.....an indictment on everyone else really

Agree.
I believe by the end of the year those 4 will be comfortably our best midfielders, if the MC realise Menegola can play, perhaps even sooner.
Indictment on Guthrie in particular.... the rest are kids or blokes not suited to being a midfielder (Blicavs for eg).

Agree.
I believe by the end of the year those 4 will be comfortably our best midfielders, if the MC realise Menegola can play, perhaps even sooner.
Indictment on Guthrie in particular.... the rest are kids or blokes not suited to being a midfielder (Blicavs for eg).
I'm looking forward to Menegola getting more game time

Scott's post match interview was as close to an admission he has underrated the bloke, is as you're going to get

Inject Scooter into that midfield, as well as increasing Cockys time in the middle, and you've got some pretty serious rotations happening there
Now.....if we can get some discipline into that forward line......get them back to basics like leading, crumbling, blocking and shepherding while attacking, and chasing, tackling and spoiling while they're defending we will be far better off

There has to be an expectation on them by the coaching staff though......currently there's not!

His performance level went from 3/10 (Collingwood) to like 6/10 (Gold Coast). To beat most sides we probably need him at 8 or above.
It appeared as though the rib guard he had been wearing the previous couple of weeks was gone.

Should Danger play more forward against the bombers - give him a rest before massive contested games against WB and Adelaide

Beat me to it. I'm glad someone else mentioned that.
And still our highest-skilled midfielder as well, although his kicking was a bit off on the weekend. Still feel very confident when he has the ball, more than when Dangerfield has it to be honest.

Should Danger play more forward against the bombers - give him a rest before massive contested games against WB and Adelaide
Bombers played great contested footy to beat the Pies.
Their issue may be the players not coping with multiple games close together after a large number of them missing last year.
I think their MF is ranked poorly, but that can be deceptive.
Heppell, Stanton, Merrett, Zaharakis, and a rested Watson et al will find plenty of the ball at the G.
I think we need our best mids in action.

That's a good idea Soggy. That way he can get a rest but keep him up our sleeve if needed.

I'd like to see Menegola given the lead midfield role while Joel and Danger are proppy
I think he'd relish the responsibility

Not sure the Crows game will be particularly contested. They don't play a particularly tough style of footy, more focused on fast movement and effective rebound.

I would really love for us to have Scoot back by then. Sit him on Sloane and watch their second stringers and rotating half backs have to fight a pitched midfield battle for a change.

That's a good idea Soggy. That way he can get a rest but keep him up our sleeve if needed.

I'd like to see Menegola given the lead midfield role while Joel and Danger are proppy
I think he'd relish the responsibility

Just lets see if The Bombers have someone who can deal with Danger Forward.

I just cant think of one who can take him one on one

Centre Bounce rotations need to include 7-8 players. Ideally here's mine;

Smith
Blicavs (Relief Ruck)
Danger
Lang
Menegola
Selwood
Selwood
Cockatoo
Duncan

Think GHS will get the boot sooner rather then later. Getting Lang and Cocky to atleast 5 each per game would do some real wonders. Think both the latter are currently >2 per game at bounces given my research.

And this was aptly demonstrated in Rounds 1 to 5, where we had Duncan, Tuohy, Henderson, Menzel, Hawkins, Motlop, GHS, Menegola, Murdoch, Parfitt, Cockatoo, Taylor, Lonergan, Ruggles, Blicavs, Stewart and Black making a decent effort to support Selwood and Danger. There was a synergy.

A big group of the listed players suddenly lost that intensity/focus (Motlop, Blicavs, Black, Menzel, Hawkins, Lonergan), and our two superstars were well-held or injured and this reduced output is why we've lost in the last two weeks .

I have yet to see Thurlow, Guthrie, Lang, Smith, Stanley reach their potential in any of the rounds this year. Once they start properly contributing, then the load will spread even more and even if a group of players have down games, we should still grind it out for a win.

Bews and Parsons I don't include in this group as one hasn't had a decent run at it and the other is a new player.

Centre Bounce rotations need to include 7-8 players. Ideally here's mine;

Smith
Blicavs (Relief Ruck)
Danger
Lang
Menegola
Selwood
Selwood
Cockatoo
Duncan

Think GHS will get the boot sooner rather then later. Getting Lang and Cocky to atleast 5 each per game would do some real wonders. Think both the latter are currently >2 per game at bounces given my research.

Did you know, GHS, Menegola, Thurlow and Duncan are the exact same height and size? It's so weird how individual attributes beyond, height, weight and size determine their playing ability and positioning.