Roast Daniel Chick has his say - Get better Smothered06 : Refer p45

Glad you are getting the help you need. I hate doctors. Anyone who trusts a GP is a nutcase. Very very few good ones who care or interested. I also don't know why people assume the ones at football clubs are actually any good. More than likely they are someone's good mate in upper management and got the job that way.

Can you tell Derm to lay off Shuey. It's getting a bit rediculous. He can't even twitch a muscle without derm saying he is ducking.

Im sure Dermie will be less harsh on all WCE players and People if WCE are ensuring Chicky looked after medically and there respect both ways going forward and opportunities to enjoy WCE Footy games and not have ptsd just being near subiaco oval or WCE crowds i struggled big time - been doing alot of work to rectify the triggers for PTSD last year. Looking forward to watching Sammy Mitchell get few kicks

I don't think there will be any disagreement with that sentiment!

Thought this was just another Chicky bash up thread so just been ignoring it until I realised it has been the most used thread for a few days in a row.
So I jumped on to see what was going on and now see the reason.
I am not one to jump to conclusions or comment on what I don't know about but like many on here and others not I was swayed by the only info at hand "via media" into thinking Chick was crying sour grapes.

Me and my mates were always Chicky fans "finger chickin good" we would say when you did one of your blocks, smothers, tackles etc. So good to get a little more insight into what was going on.

Like many on here, glad to hear from you and sorry to hear what you have been going through. Nobody deserves that type of life for doing your job.
Welcome to BF and look fwd to hearing some of your input on some other subjects and threads.

Good luck with everything from here on with your health.

received_1707168219552355.jpeg
QUOTE="flyinghi64, post: 48337983, member: 34031"]Thought this was just another Chicky bash up thread so just been ignoring it until I realised it has been the most used thread for a few days in a row.
So I jumped on to see what was going on and now see the reason.
I am not one to jump to conclusions or comment on what I don't know about but like many on here and others not I was swayed by the only info at hand "via media" into thinking Chick was crying sour grapes.

Me and my mates were always Chicky fans "finger chickin good" we would say when you did one of your blocks, smothers, tackles etc. So good to get a little more insight into what was going on.

Like many on here, glad to hear from you and sorry to hear what you have been going through. Nobody deserves that type of life for doing your job.
Welcome to BF and look fwd to hearing some of your input on some other subjects and threads.

Good luck with everything from here on with your health.[/QUOTE]

❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

So heart warming to read such words and see that you actually get it

Your consciousness is open enough to see my truth and or feel me pain and you not passing judgment

That's been long time i must say that i not need to dig proof out to prove my story to a stranger - the tide must be turning my way again ❤❤ and yes i got badly hurt in front of 40 000 people on camera and at work yet its taken 10 years to prove this ?! Thats pure madness and an amazing corruption to keep the truth silently hidden all this time ?

Not sure about this one Chicky. By the sounds of it your head almost fell off, and it surely would have been fairly noticeable that something was physically wrong straight away..

I'm not sure which derby you're talking about but I wonder if you played on for the remainder of the year..?

My understanding is that you wanted to play on and after your delisting you signed with Subiaco?

And with these types of injuries you wouldn't have played any level of footy since, would you?

I'm really not questioning your integrity despite all of the media surrounding you but something here isn't adding up

Right common carotid artery trauma dissection ? Thats a very very serious injury and chicky been not very healthy since 5th August 2007 when that elbow got me flush i never been same person okay - i not even went to hospital to get checked out ? Till 3 days later ENT specialist was amazed i still alive he was shocked very shocked. SHEN-CT ANGIOGRAM HEAD AND CAROTID 2105.jpg

Right common carotid artery trauma dissection ? Thats a very very serious injury and chicky been not very healthy since 5th August 2007 when that elbow got me flush i never been same person okay - i not even went to hospital to get checked out ? Till 3 days later ENT specialist was amazed i still alive he was shocked very shocked. View attachment 325075
Daniel,

Interesting hearing your perspective on this forum so thanks for sharing.

Just in terms of this picture...not being a medico I'm not sure what the injury is here...it all looks crazy to me. Can you please explain what we're looking at...I know it's a scan of your head but where is the injury exactly? Perhaps circle the problem with some killa paint shillz :)

Amazing reading this thread. Reading stuff like this is why I usually hate seeing people on here call players soft (not that I have ever heard anyone call Chicky soft). These men put their bodies on the line week after week and have to live with the effects for the rest of their lives.

All the best, Chicky. Hope everything works out.

Not sure about this one Chicky. By the sounds of it your head almost fell off, and it surely would have been fairly noticeable that something was physically wrong straight away..
I'm not sure which derby you're talking about but I wonder if you played on for the remainder of the year..?
Go to 37:51 in the following video. Solomon's left elbow rams into the front of Chicky's neck. It actually could've killed him immediately if it fractured the larynx and collapsed his throat.

The dissected carotid artery is an unusual injury - I suspect it was damaged on impact and slowly became worse over time because if it opened on impact, well that's a major arterial bleed and would've been obvious from the get go if it didn't kill him due to loss of blood. Mind you, the pressure supplied by the surrounding tissues of the relatively compact neck would've helped to slow down the bleeding to some degree (compared to say, a ruptured dissecting aneurysm of the aorta which results in death within minutes as the blood empties into the thoracic and abdominal cavities).

Actually, Smothered06 can you possibly elaborate on this aspect? The damage to the carotid? Did they not need to operate on you right away to stop the bleeding? This is purely for academic reasons - I am not doubting you or your injuries, just want to understand them.

By the way, congratulations on coming on here in the face of some disturbing criticism. We all felt horrible and angry with the publishing of the article before the 2015 GF, but I think your anger and the significant ongoing illness and stress you've endured after what was basically a workplace accident trumps all of that.

It's good to hear your side of the story instead of reading the poor quality articles that obviously failed to convey the most important details, serving instead to stir s**t up.

Thanks for your work, especially late in that GF - words could not express the elation after that Hunter goal you earned with one of the best individual plays in my memory.

I dont think it bleeds externally but creates a blockage in the artery from a clot between linings.

Like this

Cervical-artery-dissection.ashx

I dont think it bleeds externally but creates a blockage in the artery from a clot between linings.

Like this

Cervical-artery-dissection.ashx

Yeah, that's a dissecting aneurysm - Chicky said he had a haematoma in his larynx, which suggests some blood was extravasating into the surrounding tissues. Though given the trauma involved, that blood could have been from elsewhere.

Also, in the CT angiogram, the carotid looks like it is dangling ie. was completely broken away (transected) from the brachiocephalic artery.

Given the fact that so much mud has been flung at the WCE over Chicks treatment I think there needs to be some answers as to what happened. For what its worth here is my take on this.

So the only way to diagnose this issue is to get some kind Radiological scan. If there was no scan ordered by the WCE medial staff while Chick was at the WCE (he was only there another few months after the incident), then there is no evidence the dissection occurred while a player at the WCE, or even before that time. If a CT was done and the dissection was deliberately ignored then that is serious malpractice. I don't believe this happened because the WCE medial staff would have not put themselves or the club in position that would jeopardise its brand and open itself to litigation/criminal proceedings over an injury that its very treatable for reasons completely unknown. Unless there were scan directly after the incident showing the dissection then there is no way to prove 10 years on that the dissection has not either occurred spontaneously or through other trivial incidences not related to the round 18 incident.

It may arise spontaneously or secondary to blunt or penetrating trauma. It has been reported after seemingly trivial incidents, such as reversing a car, washing hair, or holding a mobile telephone by flexing the neck against the shoulder.

http://jnnp.bmj.com/content/65/1/136.full

I dont need to prove this to you and won't go find my gofundme page and or my facebook wall and see the proof there or come have coffee with me one day ill show ya nice try but not opening up that easily buddy - the proof is on the Radiology image's xrays reports dated and signed off on QEEG scans and tests done at perth brain centre and tests done , i never played any footy after Subiaco andto be honest i not play or train well at subiaco hence why i asked to quit weekly i suffering and dark depresssion not givinng me much joy i tell you

Well thats not true, you did play for the Malaysian Warriors in 2014.

Hope you are improving day by day Daniel and hope you keep us posted on your progress.

Fascinating read and a good insight into both how the media works and AFL clubs work.

Unless there were scan directly after the incident showing the dissection then there is no way to prove 10 years on that the dissection has not either occurred spontaneously or through other trivial incidences not related to the round 18 incident.
As an ignorant observer it seems that there is enough evidence around to show that there was significant trauma that either caused dissection immediately or that it significantly compromised the aorta such that 'trivial' incidents later in life would have much graver consequences than if he had not had this injury.

It is a bit hard to know what is being at here. Players suing there clubs years later over malpractice does happen, it seems as if it is a bit of a formality in order to get the club's insurers and club doctor's insurers to pay up. For example Matthew Egan went through this process a couple of injuries over the career ending foot injury he had in 2007 at Geelong.

Did WCE not have adequate insurance at the time?

This business playing out involving Chick makes me feel sick in the guts. What is crystal clear in the wake of the media jihad regards the drugs issue is that the club went too far in preserving its own image at the expense of those it saw as somehow flawed. And if what appears to have happened here regarding Chick has actually occurred, then it is simply NOT on. The bloke was an absolute warrior for the club, is also a father and human being. As a supporter I expect better and its not too late to do so.

So the only way to diagnose this issue is to get some kind Radiological scan. If there was no scan ordered by the WCE medial staff while Chick was at the WCE (he was only there another few months after the incident), then there is no evidence the dissection occurred while a player at the WCE, or even before that time.
If no scan was ordered, then that in itself is a cause for concern given the footage...

Thanks Chicky for giving your all for the club, we'll always have 06! Hope for you and your family's sake you can get the help that you need.

Fact is we'll likely never understand the full picture but I think it's fair to assume Daniel was naive in his previous dealings with the club (particularly when still employed). Probably settled too cheaply and outmaneuvered at every juncture by the club. Probably sought legal advice too late. Probably didn't understand the impact of those pieces in the media, or just too desperate to care. Probably silenced by the club/AFL for cents on the dollar but not in a financial position to risk taking them on. Or maybe I'm just bullshitting we'll never know.

But god what a great 30 for 30 series this would make if someone eventually does tell-all.

If no scan was ordered, then that in itself is a cause for concern given the footage...

Dissection symptoms can range from very minor head and neck pain to stroke. These symptoms can take days to years to manifest without people even knowing they have a problem. I'm not disputing there was no dissection I contest that the club treated the symptoms at the time, which I suspect were very minor, with a diagnoses as run of the mill soreness. I'm sure if the symptoms were more on the severe side then the club would have issued an immediate scan (a basic CT scan which takes minutes would have picked it up immediately). It could be standard medical practise now? The club probably issued aspirin which alleviated the pain and Chick carried on, certainly for the short time he had left at the club.

The question for me is why did Chick take so long to get scans (Feb 2016)? Are there more from earlier than 2016 Chicky? If the pain was that bad surely a Doctor would have issued scans at some point within that 10 year period? How may Doctors did he see about this issue during that time? Being completely broke is not an excuse because these scans are covered by medicare. I reckon the Eagles agreed to help Chick once the 2016 scans revealed the dissection but there is no way to prove that a dissection occurred from the round 18 knock (they can occur spontaneous for many different reasons at any time, he may have even had it before he joined the Eagles for all we know).

I reckon the club treated Chick at the time as they deemed appropriate given the symptoms with it being a misdiagnosis at the very worst. To say there was this grand conspiracy theory all levels of the club, illegally forge medical documents etc etc to cover up Chicks dissection is complete non-sense. There is absolutely no logical reason the club would cover this up, the consequence of being caught is just too great compared to the cost of treatment which is inconsequential. Occums razor must apply in this case unless people have already passed judgement that club is guilty of malpractice with zero evidence. I understand that he is very sick and pretty upset that it wasn't allegedly picked up at the time but that doesn't excuse some of the rubbish being thrown around about the club. Either show us the evidence of malpractice or be quiet. If the club has been dodgy then as a member I want it known!

I hope Chick get wells soon and I am happy the WCE is helping him financially to overcome his illness. I believe it was the right thing to do for such a great servant of the club.

Dissection symptoms can range from very minor head and neck pain to stroke. These symptoms can take days to years to manifest without people even knowing they have a problem. I'm not disputing there was no dissection I contest that the club treated the symptoms at the time, which I suspect were very minor, with a diagnoses as run of the mill soreness. I'm sure if the symptoms were more on the severe side then the club would have issued an immediate scan (a basic CT scan which takes minutes would have picked it up immediately). It could be standard medical practise now? The club probably issued aspirin which alleviated the pain and Chick carried on, certainly for the short time he had left at the club.

The question for me is why did Chick take so long to get scans (Feb 2016)? Are there more from earlier than 2016 Chicky? If the pain was that bad surely a Doctor would have issued scans at some point within that 10 year period? How may Doctors did he see about this issue during that time? Being completely broke is not an excuse because these scans are covered by medicare. I reckon the Eagles agreed to help Chick once the 2016 scans revealed the dissection but there is no way to prove that a dissection occurred from the round 18 knock (they can occur spontaneous for many different reasons at any time, he may have even had it before he joined the Eagles for all we know).

I reckon the club treated Chick at the time as they deemed appropriate given the symptoms with it being a misdiagnosis at the very worst. To say there was this grand conspiracy theory all levels of the club, illegally forge medical documents etc etc to cover up Chicks dissection is complete non-sense. There is absolutely no logical reason the club would cover this up, the consequence of being caught is just too great compared to the cost of treatment which is inconsequential. Occums razor must apply in this case unless people have already passed judgement that club is guilty of malpractice with zero evidence. I understand that he is very sick and pretty upset that it wasn't allegedly picked up at the time but that doesn't excuse some of the rubbish being thrown around about the club. Either show us the evidence of malpractice or be quiet. If the club has been dodgy then as a member I want it known!

I hope Chick get wells soon and I am happy the WCE is helping him financially to overcome his illness. I believe it was the right thing to do for such a great servant of the club.
If you watch the clip, Daniel is in some difficulty with breathing etc hunched on the boundary line.. Im no doctor, but adding up the contact and the after effects would be enough for me to say "we should probably scan his neck"?

The medical staff must have deemed it not serious enough given the symptoms. Standard practise might have changed in 10 years but I still contest that it was not malicious conduct on WCE part, a misdiagnosis at worst (assuming the dissection occurred as a result of the impact). As I said you can live happily with a dissection for years without even having any serious symptoms.

BTW my wife is a CT specialist and she has seen many of these dissections over the years with the full range of symptomatic patients.

The medical staff must have deemed it not serious enough given the symptoms. Standard practise might have changed in 10 years but I still contest that it was not malicious conduct on WCE part, a misdiagnosis at worst (assuming the dissection occurred as a result of the impact). As I said you can live happily with a dissection for years without even having any serious symptoms.

BTW my wife is a CT specialist and she has seen many of these dissections over the years with the full range of symptomatic patients.
Not saying it was at all, just saying that was a bit of a weird period for the club.. and who knows why they may not have ordered a CT.. but the fact remains that it is arguable there may be a cause of action buried in there somewhere (e.g. no need that proof exist that the blow CAUSED the damage in any event).

What is that argument and what was buried?

As a doctor, not being competent at your job is not a valid excuse in my book.

Obviously we don't know the circumstances and at end of day we only have Chicks account.

However medical errors are all too common and all doctors do is hide behind their union, AMA, who have convinced the world they are some independent body that cares about patients when really it's doctor union and care about doctor wallets.

As a doctor, not being competent at your job is not a valid excuse in my book.

Obviously we don't know the circumstances and at end of day we only have Chicks account.

However medical errors are all too common and all doctors do is hide behind their union, AMA, who have convinced the world they are some independent body that cares about patients when really it's doctor union and care about doctor wallets.

So did Chick approach any Dr after leaving the club in 2007 regarding his illness? What about the Subi Drs, he was there for 2 years? Surely if he really was as sick as he claims after the hit (no reason not to believe him) why now after 10 years has he only got a diagnosis? All these Drs incompetent enough not order a simple CT head scan?