Roast Daniel Chick has his say - Get better Smothered06 : Refer p45

In the infinite wisdom of moderators they closed down a thread on the scandal board on this topic as they believe all posts should be here.
These are serious claims being made, Malpractice, Negligence, Falsification of medical documents.
Isnt it best for both club and player for there to be an outside investigation to determine the truth and depth to these serious allegations?
IF what Smothered06 is claiming is true and he is Daniel Chick i would ask him to think of others. That is chicky from reading your posts you have been doing it tough and it must be a relief to finally get some help /recognition, at the cost of silence but if the perpetrators of these claims are not held accountable nothing will change.! Think off the young players that could benefit from not being put through the same ordeal as you. Chicky could be an unsung hero to many young players who this same thing could happen to.
Does anyone know if these doctors are still present at the club and treating other players?

Given the fact that so much mud has been flung at the WCE over Chicks treatment I think there needs to be some answers as to what happened. For what its worth here is my take on this.

So the only way to diagnose this issue is to get some kind Radiological scan. If there was no scan ordered by the WCE medial staff while Chick was at the WCE (he was only there another few months after the incident), then there is no evidence the dissection occurred while a player at the WCE, or even before that time. If a CT was done and the dissection was deliberately ignored then that is serious malpractice. I don't believe this happened because the WCE medial staff would have not put themselves or the club in position that would jeopardise its brand and open itself to litigation/criminal proceedings over an injury that its very treatable for reasons completely unknown. Unless there were scan directly after the incident showing the dissection then there is no way to prove 10 years on that the dissection has not either occurred spontaneously or through other trivial incidences not related to the round 18 incident.

http://jnnp.bmj.com/content/65/1/136.full

Well thats not true, you did play for the Malaysian Warriors in 2014.

Hope you are improving day by day Daniel and hope you keep us posted on your progress.

I tried to play a quarter for Malaysian Warriors took a mark 30m out kicked a goal thats was it - ask the lads up there i tried training a few sessioons over 6 months but struggled massively , i can only walk at around 5 on tready due to heart condition i had since the 2007 injury , i never ran again like i could even at subiaco they shook their head as to why i so useless , i begged every week to retire but was talked into trying to hang in there asit look bad ifi quit on WAFL and subiaco as the press already smashed me any chance they could , i could run 400m faster then cathy freeman and 100m as quick as juddy 11.00 flat , i never run again since that injury 2007 5th aug is the truth!!!., go watch the Bombers game my 250th Port Adelaide and Collingwood finals game in 2007 im usless and not well not right i dont remember the games at i only just watched them this year ,if the ball not kicked to me im no chance i cant even keep up and im way off the pace its very embarrassing to watch and i should not been out there or even entertained the though of WAFL footy , im that cognitively slow its taken 10 year to work this out till Jodee my partener took me to her Doctors and Whiplash spine Specialists friends amd Chiropractic Friends who did right xray amd mri spine and arterial angiography ct 3d ghost Radiology images in 2016 , yes 10 year too late, no xray no mri spine no arterial or vessels imaging ever done in 2007 FYI , blunt force trauma zone 1 protocol there should be an xray and mri spine and angiography vessels imaging to rule out damage to venous or arterial vessels etc.... with a massive heamotoma they should have looked and i should have attended hospital which i never did , and this is where the Falsification of medical documentation arrise. I never even seen the footage or shown and knew i had whiplash trauma? I never seen my scans even ? Even blind freeddy can see my neck is ruined - there are images from 2007 which show traumatic injuries to vessels from CT of the neck which is not cool FYI and there was no follow care at all since my delisting and i too cognitively slow to prove i been hurt all this time till i got to thailand in 2013

Try as you will haters , why is the AFL and AFLPA helping Chicky , why is Ian Dicker helping Chicky and why is WCE now in agreement to pay all medical cost going forward and why am i off to Melbourne to se Vascular Professor specialist next week and Neurologists and Radiologist to look over my past Files Scans and Films images etc ?? Because im telling the thruth , received_1706123606323483.jpeg

I tried to play a quarter for Malaysian Warriors took a mark 30m out kicked a goal thats was it - ask the lads up there i tried training a few sessioons over 6 months but struggled massively , i can only walk at around 5 on tready due to heart condition i had since the 2007 injury , i never ran again like i could even at subiaco they shook their head as to why i so useless , i begged every week to retire but was talked into trying to hang in there asit look bad ifi quit on WAFL and subiaco as the press already smashed me any chance they could , i could run 400m faster then cathy freeman and 100m as quick as juddy 11.00 flat , i never run again since that injury 2007 5th aug is the truth!!!., go watch the Bombers game my 250th Port Adelaide and Collingwood finals game in 2007 im usless and not well not right i dont remember the games at i only just watched them this year ,if the ball not kicked to me im no chance i cant even keep up and im way off the pace its very embarrassing to watch and i should not been out there or even entertained the though of WAFL footy , im that cognitively slow its taken 10 year to work this out till Jodee my partener took me to her Doctors and Whiplash spine Specialists friends amd Chiropractic Friends who did right xray amd mri spine and arterial angiography ct 3d ghost Radiology images in 2016 , yes 10 year too late, no xray no mri spine no arterial or vessels imaging ever done in 2007 FYI , blunt force trauma zone 1 protocol there should be an xray and mri spine and angiography vessels imaging to rule out damage to venous or arterial vessels etc.... with a massive heamotoma they should have looked and i should have attended hospital which i never did , and this is where the Falsification of medical documentation arrise. I never even seen the footage or shown and knew i had whiplash trauma? I never seen my scans even ? Even blind freeddy can see my neck is ruined - there are images from 2007 which show traumatic injuries to vessels from CT of the neck which is not cool FYI and there was no follow care at all since my delisting and i too cognitively slow to prove i been hurt all this time till i got to thailand in 2013

Try as you will haters , why is the AFL and AFLPA helping Chicky , why is Ian Dicker helping Chicky and why is WCE now in agreement to pay all medical cost going forward and why am i off to Melbourne to se Vascular Professor specialist next week and Neurologists and Radiologist to look over my past Files Scans and Films images etc ?? Because im telling the thruth , View attachment 326960
I believe you mate and I have posted a few comments in the past for cheap laughs . I apologise sincerely .

Screenshot_20170113-112921.png
The neck xray looking not great curved forward is Chicky xray taken 2016 first xray ever taken of my neck or whiplash trauma, you can see the damage on the CT images dated 2007 easily - those texta lines are what the Chiro drew on the films

Normal neck apparently here with the numbers and curve backwards mine goes the other way and has done sonce 2007 and i been in serious pain and balance issues migraines neck stiffness and all sorts or nasty feelings and numbness i not know what it was etc thought it was inflammation i did as it went and came back when i was a Rigger i had to stand way back to look up at the Hook but i lucky i got a go as an crane operator pretty quickly as i farm lad and drive any machinery etc... and it easy on my broken body and air-conditioned which also was issue i been oover heating for years as endocrine and sympathetic systems been haywire and creating al sorts of dramas for me now we understand why when your cuzzy old mate no one listened when i complained which sux and corruption in medical circles meant no help in w.a anywhere else chicky gets medical help perth nothing but lies and games and when i couldn't even track down my medical records from wce how could i get help ? In 2011 all my medical files and paper work stollen from my house nothing else stollen or missing just all paperwork afl contracts taxation papers xrays scan Radiology prof of my injurys in AFL all gonesky ??
Why ???? well we know now something needed to be hidden someone ****ed up it seems and did not want chicky working it out and very powerful group of sad mother *ers
but i never give up and i went all out to get my truth and almost there okay !!

Screenshot_20170113-112918.png

Chicky, i absolutely believe there needs to be an investigation into your case from 2007. Assuming what your are saying is true (I believe you 100%) then someone needs to be held accountable. No one should be failed by the system like you've been. No one.

Obviously your past cannot be changed, hopefully your health will improve to a comfortable level for you, that doesn't significantly impact your daily life.

Your situation must never happen again. I'd be pushing for an independent investigation to understand what happened fully.

How can BigFooty help?

...no xray no mri spine no arterial or vessels imaging ever done in 2007 FYI , blunt force trauma zone 1 protocol there should be an xray and mri spine and angiography vessels imaging to rule out damage to venous or arterial vessels etc.... with a massive heamotoma they should have looked and i should have attended hospital which i never did , and this is where the Falsification of medical documentation arrise.

This is the part I find absolutely shocking. No medical professional charged with a duty of care bothered to investigate the source of the haematoma...AFTER A BLUNT-FORCE INJURY TO THE NECK AREA, which contains many vital structures.

You don't have to be a doctor to figure out that imaging in that scenario was indicated. This would be a bare minimum.

The unfortunate truth is that some doctors are just not good at their jobs. The consequences of this can be dire. People wonder why so many patients die from medical mistakes or adverse outcomes from medications and procedures...in most cases it's the result of sloppy work or poor follow-up.

This is the part I find absolutely shocking. No medical professional charged with a duty of care bothered to investigate the source of the haematoma...AFTER A BLUNT-FORCE INJURY TO THE NECK AREA, which contains many vital structures.

You don't have to be a doctor to figure out that imaging in that scenario was indicated. This would be a bare minimum.

The unfortunate truth is that some doctors are just not good at their jobs. The consequences of this can be dire. People wonder why so many patients die from medical mistakes or adverse outcomes from medications and procedures...in most cases it's the result of sloppy work or poor follow-up.
And what happens in practice? Do these situations get investigated and doctors lose their qualification?

Rarely. It's tough to prove negligence.

The following appears to be a law firm's website so they are clearly on one side of the issue.

The WHO stats are alarming, citing that in the US, medical error is the eighth leading cause of death. Slightly problematic for an industry that routinely warns about the dangers associated with quackery.

I am neither a lawyer nor a chiropractor. But there are "quacks" present in every profession in society, not least of all the medical profession. It comes down to the quality of the individual...a GP who eschews sound nutritional advice in favour of prescribing a statin to someone who has "high cholesterol" but has not yet had a heart attack is as bad as a chiropractor who says he can cure someone's diabetes by manipulating a few joints.

Just as it was ill-judged to cast aspersions on Chick without knowing his side of the story, it's just as silly to be throwing out claims of negligence and malpractice against the club and doctors without knowing their side of the story. And they are not going to air it on a football forum; which is wise.
This is true. We do not know the whole story.

It doesn't sound like they were very active in seeking treatment for Chick after the injury though. A haematoma in the neck region, let alone the breathing tract (Chicky said it was in his larynx IIRC) is a massive red flag that any doctor worth his or her salt would follow-up.

Indeed there is not much we can do on a forum but support a man who worked hard for our club and has been suffering since an injury sustained during his tenure there. We do not have all of the information.

Part of the problem was, as he stated himself, Chick had cognitive issues that impaired his ability to deal suitably with the after-effects of the injury, including any ensuing medical inquiry.

Daniel,

Interesting hearing your perspective on this forum so thanks for sharing.

Just in terms of this picture...not being a medico I'm not sure what the injury is here...it all looks crazy to me. Can you please explain what we're looking at...I know it's a scan of your head but where is the injury exactly? Perhaps circle the problem with some killa paint shillz :)

Right common carotid artery dissection traumatic dissection from blunt force trauma zone 1 neck and post traumatic injuries that follow such an injury when left un checked misdiagnosed or nothing no help or follow up correct scans and or vascular specialists help etc , sets you up for dramas and suffering and extremely dangerous to ones health ok

20170104_064516.jpg

Dissection symptoms can range from very minor head and neck pain to stroke. These symptoms can take days to years to manifest without people even knowing they have a problem. I'm not disputing there was no dissection I contest that the club treated the symptoms at the time, which I suspect were very minor, with a diagnoses as run of the mill soreness. I'm sure if the symptoms were more on the severe side then the club would have issued an immediate scan (a basic CT scan which takes minutes would have picked it up immediately). It could be standard medical practise now? The club probably issued aspirin which alleviated the pain and Chick carried on, certainly for the short time he had left at the club.

The question for me is why did Chick take so long to get scans (Feb 2016)? Are there more from earlier than 2016 Chicky? If the pain was that bad surely a Doctor would have issued scans at some point within that 10 year period? How may Doctors did he see about this issue during that time? Being completely broke is not an excuse because these scans are covered by medicare. I reckon the Eagles agreed to help Chick once the 2016 scans revealed the dissection but there is no way to prove that a dissection occurred from the round 18 knock (they can occur spontaneous for many different reasons at any time, he may have even had it before he joined the Eagles for all we know).

I reckon the club treated Chick at the time as they deemed appropriate given the symptoms with it being a misdiagnosis at the very worst. To say there was this grand conspiracy theory all levels of the club, illegally forge medical documents etc etc to cover up Chicks dissection is complete non-sense. There is absolutely no logical reason the club would cover this up, the consequence of being caught is just too great compared to the cost of treatment which is inconsequential. Occums razor must apply in this case unless people have already passed judgement that club is guilty of malpractice with zero evidence. I understand that he is very sick and pretty upset that it wasn't allegedly picked up at the time but that doesn't excuse some of the rubbish being thrown around about the club. Either show us the evidence of malpractice or be quiet. If the club has been dodgy then as a member I want it known!

I hope Chick get wells soon and I am happy the WCE is helping him financially to overcome his illness. I believe it was the right thing to do for such a great servant of the club.

Taken 3 years to get my wce medical files ?? Why i been dying and suffering and ridiculed shamed and smashed by media and all i wanted was my files to get help they should have been already stored in protected area so easy to obtain. ? Check CBA 2007 AFLPA , states the rules okay

Th
Right common carotid artery dissection traumatic dissection from blunt force trauma zone 1 neck and post traumatic injuries that follow such an injury when left un checked misdiagnosed or nothing no help or follow up correct scans and or vascular specialists help etc , sets you up for dramas and suffering and extremely dangerous to ones health ok

View attachment 327278
thanks Daniel. I can see that lumpy bit on the carotid now. I was looking elsewhere.

Just as it was ill-judged to cast aspersions on Chick without knowing his side of the story, it's just as silly to be throwing out claims of negligence and malpractice against the club and doctors without knowing their side of the story. And they are not going to air it on a football forum; which is wise.

This x 1000. So everyone's turning 180 degrees are they? For mine, 90 at most.

If Daniel Chick suffered a serious injury in 2007 then it should've been diagnosed properly at the time and of course any medical expenses resulting from treatment should've been met by the club. I'd certainly believe a case of medical incompetence, I think it happens far more often than people think but to suggest there was some sore of conspiracy, well I'm afraid that's getting into tin foil hat territory.

Another thing is no one will convince me that the problems Chick (and other Eagles players) have experienced have nothing to do with the amount of s**t they've snorted/injected into their bodies. In Chick's case I don't think you could blame an outsider looking at all the circumstances and thinking he helped sow the seeds of his own downfall. Surely there was a huge risk that it would leave his body more vulnerable to an onfield injury? It seriously muddies the waters. As for what's happened post-retirement, I don't doubt that footy injuries must've played a part but it's also well established that illicit drugs can cause really serious problems, physically and mentally. There are medical clinics in Perth that exist just for that purpose.

Anyway if he's really struggling then I and any remotely compassionate human being hope he gets better. I'll repeat that if a case of medical incompetence has occurred then those individuals should be brought to account but Chick hasn't done himself any favours.

I dont have a problem with Chicky taking things further . I mentioned earlier I broke my neck in the army . I wasnt offered assistance by the army . So i took it to the appeals tribunal without a lawyer because if i lost i couldnt afford it . The judge effectively became like my lawyer because he had to make me understand and he argued to the army barristers on legal points . I sat and watched and WON . The Army took it to federal court . Once again I won . The Army appealed that decision . I won that as well . We pay insurances for motor vehicles and you have to sue your own family sometimes for medical help . Its no big deal . Chicky needs help ,the club and the Afl will have insurances to cover the players injuries . You do what you gotta do Chicky . I do think of your situation and your loved ones and I hope you stay strong in spirit as well as physical and mental health .

SpaceClef likes this discussion

Is there any comeback on the filthy Lavender sniper who inflicted this injury or are we opening a large tin of worms?

Taken 3 years to get my wce medical files ?? Why i been dying and suffering and ridiculed shamed and smashed by media and all i wanted was my files to get help they should have been already stored in protected area so easy to obtain. ? Check CBA 2007 AFLPA , states the rules okay

Best of luck with everything, chicky. I'm 23 and going in for surgery on a bulged disc in a few weeks. I hope you get all the treatment and info you need to be comfortable