Daniel Chick

Baggy Green
The guy was 1 game away from being a life member and played his best football for our club. He was home sick the moment he got to Hawthorn, but he wound up extending his contract a couple of times. All news about him, and the public's memory seem to focus on his few seasons at West Coke. I was wondering what you guys thought of him. Was he always such a douche? Would he have been a 'better' person had he not moved to Hard Drugs Wonderland?

I was gutted when he left hawthorn but understood his reasoning at the time - his brother passed away in WA, his wife was American and he wanted to move back to WA to be near his family. The great Ian Dicker did everything he could to convince him to stay but it wasn't enough.

chick was very athletic and harder than a cats head. We lost an enormous amount of grunt and class when he left. Classic sliding doors moment in his life, perhaps if he had of stayed he may have avoided the whole drug culture at West Coast, he/we will never know...

He sounds like he is in a really bad place.
He has slagged all but Kerr and Cousins in the last few days.

Was a gun and a fan favourite. Seems out of sorts and a bit of a knob now but he clearly needs help and support.

He sounds like he is in a really bad place.
He has slagged all but Kerr and Cousins in the last few days.
But he's right though - he came out last year and was pillioried for his comments which have been all but confirmed.

Everyone knew what was going on over there and management just covered it up and gave them the green light.

There's no worries you can't save some people from themselves but that administration had a responsibility to its players, supporters and sponsors to do everything possible to not allow that situation to fester and grow the way it did.

Loved him at Hawthorn, but he's now looking like a cry babie..
I know he's had issues but for him to blame the club and coach as the reason he used drugs is a poor excuse and he should be a man and blame him self for using drugs.
I still remember how good he was as a hawk and won't let his time at WC ruined how good a player he was but he needs to just shut up and deal with his issues privately..
Sorry but when it comes to drugs I have no time for sympathy for those who take it

I'm not sure that's what he's saying though mate. Reading the stuff he's been saying for a while, it sounds like he's annoyed that the stars were looked after while the footsoldiers were thrown to the dogs.

Plus it's a bit disingenuous to say it's all on the individual - peer pressure, stress, whatever can all contribute to people making bad choices. And the environment they're in during/afterwards can be the difference between getting clean or staying hooked.

The story I heard was Chick met his wife on a hawks footy trip to the Us

I heard the agreement betweeh he and her would mean they moved to the US when his footy was over, but when family matters surfaced she modified the agreement that his career could be moved to west coast, but then the US beckoned.
I understood the hawks asked eagles to broker this, something, incidentall, they did not do for chance bateman when he had family issues, maybe they did chance a favour
We heard after there were some domestics and the marriage did not last.

Overall, He's a nice dude, I dont rate the comments he's thrown up, but considering things like he spent a lot of time within a west coast capacity doing those typical club things by doing speeches and in his own time did a lot of that with no direction or official eagles capacity went down to PMH (local kids hospital) to visit kids he'd met doing the boring "For camera eagles visit sick children" a couple of weeks later to check out how they were going after.

Not many people know he had a lot of bad luck in a space of 2-3 years, one of his best friends died in the trade tower bombings (partners brother?) his own brother passed away. He would of been really effected by this and i dont think the eagles by the way he digs into them handled it well in his eyes

The story I heard was Chick met his wife on a hawks footy trip to the Us

I heard the agreement betweeh he and her would mean they moved to the US when his footy was over, but when family matters surfaced she modified the agreement that his career could be moved to west coast, but then the US beckoned.
I understood the hawks asked eagles to broker this, something, incidentall, they did not do for chance bateman when he had family issues, maybe they did chance a favour
We heard after there were some domestics and the marriage did not last.

I seem to recall this actually. I guess had his brother not died, he would have likely stayed a hawk.

Overall, He's a nice dude, I dont rate the comments he's thrown up, but considering things like he spent a lot of time within a west coast capacity doing those typical club things by doing speeches and in his own time did a lot of that with no direction or official eagles capacity went down to PMH (local kids hospital) to visit kids he'd met doing the boring "For camera eagles visit sick children" a couple of weeks later to check out how they were going after.

Not many people know he had a lot of bad luck in a space of 2-3 years, one of his best friends died in the trade tower bombings (partners brother?) his own brother passed away. He would of been really effected by this and i dont think the eagles by the way he digs into them handled it well in his eyes
From memory it was his brother in law in the WTC?

Re: the comments made by Chick regarding the club and what was going on - common knowledge at the time. Anyone who could tell you about the Hawthorn medical records and the players involved knew same about West Coke.

The way the two clubs dealt with it is telling.

My favourite player for a while. Moved into the middle in 2000 and was an absolute animal in there for three years or so. Used to run down a player and drive him through the turf twice a match. I thought he was our best player in '01 and though not a huge ball-magnet he handed out a lot of punishment. Chick was a very good set-shot kick too from memory.

Met Daniel Chick on the street one day in Melbourne. Just after he had the tip of a finger cut off because of a joint injury that wouldn't heal. Seemed a nice bloke. (Was that before or after he left the Hawks?) Was disappointed when he went back to WA.

That's how I see it, too.

Met Daniel Chick on the street one day in Melbourne. Just after he had the tip of a finger cut off because of a joint injury that wouldn't heal. Seemed a nice bloke. (Was that before or after he left the Hawks?) Was disappointed when he went back to WA.

image.jpeg

I too thought him as our best player at one stage, even taking over from Crawf, reminded me of Hodgey a bit.

Have a look at who ran down the carltank player in the last seconds to get the ball to Dixon...

I was there at that game, people going nuts after that moment...

He was a lot like a Josh Caddy who is playing at Geelong. He had a bit of flair, was hard at it and could turn a game at times. Difference with him was he was a bit more consistent and easily best 20 as it was then I think. Sorry to compare him to a cats player but it just seemed to fit the best. He was a fan favourite and the story of cutting his finger off fit with his reputation.

My favourite player, i wear #17 because of him! Absolute GUN! He was an elite player towards the end of his Hawthorn career, i stopped following when he left to the junkies.

Always love ChickaDee #17

I have a memory of Chick as a skinny forward kicking 3 goals to help us to an upset win over Fremantle in the west. Had a deserved reputation as a ferocious tackler towards the end of his Hawthorn career. Hope things work out for him.