Daniel Cross (Melbourne)

can't measure culture.

And that's what he'd bring, he's not going to win the brownlow, but he's a fanatical trainer, great clubman and leader and a great bloke to boot.

he is a fantastic acquisition

I wonder if the could get McDonald back in a coaching capacity too now that there is a change of leadership. At the very least they'll have these two fine citizens as assistant coaches in 2015.

Also as much as I'd hate to lose Goodwin at Essendon if they're looking at a successor for Roos then I think Goody would be a great choice for them. Long playing career then coaching experience with Thompson and Craig and having learned to work through an ordeal like the bombers did this year would give him a wealth of experience. This capped off with a couple of years under Roos being groomed for the job, so having time to study some of the other great coaches of this era like Malthouse and Clarkson (it hurt me to say that about both of them) would see him ready to really take off once Roos contract is over.

Now that the tigers are off the canvas it would be great to see the Demons up and about too. Just St Kilda as a problem child, oh and Brisbane.

I wonder if the could get McDonald back in a coaching capacity too now that there is a change of leadership. At the very least they'll have these two fine citizens as assistant coaches in 2015.

Also as much as I'd hate to lose Goodwin at Essendon if they're looking at a successor for Roos then I think Goody would be a great choice for them. Long playing career then coaching experience with Thompson and Craig and having learned to work through an ordeal like the bombers did this year would give him a wealth of experience. This capped off with a couple of years under Roos being groomed for the job, so having time to study some of the other great coaches of this era like Malthouse and Clarkson (it hurt me to say that about both of them) would see him ready to really take off once Roos contract is over.

Now that the tigers are off the canvas it would be great to see the Demons up and about too. Just St Kilda as a problem child, oh and Brisbane.

Tried, apparently he wants to stay at GWS.

1 year with an option for a 2nd if certain criteria is met
Any idea what the criteria is? amount of games played?
Even when Cross is near 40, he will still be one of the fittest players in the AFL.

Any idea what the criteria is? amount of games played?
Even when Cross is near 40, he will still be one of the fittest players in the AFL.

Not sure mate, I can only presume it would be injuries etc There's also the Sports Science aspect of it as well.

A very good pickup for us

Not sure mate, I can only presume it would be injuries etc There's also the Sports Science aspect of it as well.

A very good pickup for us
Yeah he will probably end up getting a coaching gig at Melbourne. I reckon he would be a good midfield coach. Then again I thought Scotty West was a great get for you guys as a midfield coach when he just finished his career. As West was the reason Cross and Boyd became great players for the dogs. Not sure if West was that helpful to the young Melbourne midfield back then.
However Cross and West are heaps different. Cross wasn't blessed with skill but knows how to train and prepare like a professional. West was blessed with talents.
A very fantastic pick up for you guys getting cross. I really do think he could play till he is 35. But he will probably get squeezed out in 2 years but your young midfield coming through. He will be a great mentor to Viney, Jones, Toumpas, Trengrove. You have a great nucleus for a good midfield of the future there.