Daniel Currie

• Thread starter Thread starter Bomber Man

Currie’s new approach pays off
By Michael Rogers 4:07 PM Mon 01 February, 2010

Clicky

Great interview, seems like he has a decent head on his shoulders. Have no doubt we could really see him get a good run of games this season i think. Despite getting Seaby and Mumford.

Currie’s new approach pays off
By Michael Rogers 4:07 PM Mon 01 February, 2010

Clicky

Great interview, seems like he has a decent head on his shoulders. Have no doubt we could really see him get a good run of games this season i think. Despite getting Seaby and Mumford.

All going well, I'd have Currie as a back-up to Mumford. That's more the way I'd like to see our ruck future; Seaby is no more than handy, and a bit older.

I think Mumford is going to be a ripper, big and aggressive, and I'd hope to see Currie step up and secure a spot in the best 22.

All going well, I'd have Currie as a back-up to Mumford. That's more the way I'd like to see our ruck future; Seaby is no more than handy, and a bit older.

I think Mumford is going to be a ripper, big and aggressive, and I'd hope to see Currie step up and secure a spot in the best 22.
Exactly as i see it

I too hope Currie will by the end of the year be the number 2 ruckman to Mumford, but im not sure it will happen, as Roosy was so confident in going out and sounding out Seaby, and will therefore give him more than one chance to prove he is worth it. He seems to do that a lot with the traded players he brings in. So i dunno how much time Currie will get in the ruck unless Seaby/Mumford gets injured, and if he comes in i think it is more likely he will come in as a key forward.

Here's hoping he forces his way in in the ruck though, cause if he can get his body right all signs point towards a star ruckman with him.

Daniel Currie has an uphill battle to face

but Seaby being 2nd ruck, it's not like the hill is that steep :P

I can see Pyke overtaking Seaby by the end of the year. Seriously.... he's a spud. I hope he proves me wrong though.

Can't see that happening, Pyke is an adequate tap ruckman but he is starting a long way back with his work around the ground.

His positioning, reading of the play, kicking and marking are all sub AFL standard.

Seaby isn't a star but I think he'll suprise many with what he offers

Pyke showed last season that he can get his hands on the ball at stoppages and direct it to advantage at AFL level and has the body and the endurance to be competitive in ruck contests with most other ruckman for the full four quarters, so I would say that right now he is the third choice ruckman in the team, ahead of Currie.

Agree with the first part of your post, definitely a competitive ruckman, not sure about endurance over 4 quarters as this has yet to be really proven due to his limited TOG last year. Having said that, given what he has shown on the track thus far you are probably correct.

As it stands right now he would be ahead of Currie, but if DC shows any sort of form in the NAB cup he will overtake Pyke pretty quickly.

I just think it's going to take the big Canadian at least one more season (and possibly 2) before he is going to be truly competitive at senior AFL level due to his lack of footy smarts and skills. We basically played 1 man short when he was on the ground last year.

Has been the subject of much debate in these parts.

Has been playing quite well from most accounts in the reserves after a good preseason and NAB form. Probably still isn't physically ready, but having said that Roosy expected him to step into the seniors side LAST YEAR. So who knows what the coaching panel thinks of him atm.

There are 2 schools of thought on this board I think. 1 is that he is not ready to play at senior level yet, the other is that he is OMG sooooo amazing!!11!:heart: and has to play. His first ever exposure to the seniors was during the NAB cup this year, where he showed a couple of good things but at other times was found wanting physically and in terms of his awareness. Playfair won't be playing in the ruck, but has effectively come in ahead of Currie as a tall marking option in the forward line. Currie is still young and could potentially have a good future, but he doesn't demonstrate enough at this point to warrant a game.

I'm not at all concerned about Currie not being picked at his age, ruckmen can't be properly judged until they are at least 23 IMO. Far more of a concern to me is why dangerous attacking options like Veszpremi and Dennis-Lane were overlooked for Spudfair.

Playfair has come in to be the 3rd tall as Jesse will be needed to ruck. Allows the team structure to be maintained more easily.

I'd prefer those 2 to get a look in but Playfair will let Bradshaw and Goodesy to play the way they have the last few weeks so that is an upside of sorts.

the other is that he is OMG sooooo amazing!!11!:heart: and has to play.

Why do i feel this is directed towards me?

I feel i should be able to comment on Currie as i have seen a rather large amount of his games

2008 he looked great but Jolly and Everitt were ahead of him though at the end of 2008 he looked as if he was ready for a senior game but this didnt happen!

2009 he started out really strong but was struck down by a back injury and then later on a foot injury which finished the end of his season

I think he played all but one NAB Cup game this year and showed a lot of promise...Sure there were a few things to work on but he did come up against some hard sides! I thought his game Against St Kilda in the NAB Cup showed how good he was!

Hes been very good in the twos and is often seen in the bests actually here are some stats

Hes played all 5 of the ressies games so far
His bests game being against Belconnen in round 1 where he kicked 4 goals
hes been in the best 4/5 games

Hes been a great target up forward and he has a great pair of hands!

I really thought that in the situation that we are in now loosing both Seaby (for several weeks) and Mumford that this would be a great time to play Currie to give him the confidence and let him go up against some harder bodies! He and Pyke work really well together and it would also Allow Jesse to remain as a full forward! Currie must be frustrated to see someone who isnt a proper ruck (not that jesse doesnt do a good job) take over his role!

Sure if his tap work was a little under pressure put him up in the goal square hes 200cm hes got the height and is a really good kick!

But anyway i can write up about him but i guess this is the way the club wants things to work!

But really idd give the kid a go before he loses his confidence or suffers another injury!

I feel this is a good decision. NAB cup form is almost a waste of time. Playfair is worth another shot and was playing quite well for us before he re-injured himself. Club needs to know if he is worth hanging on to. Hes an experienced player who will add depth if he stays fit. Currie is down the ruck line at the moment and IMO not really a priority for 2010

Why do i feel this is directed towards me?

I feel i should be able to comment on Currie as i have seen a rather large amount of his games

2008 he looked great but Jolly and Everitt were ahead of him though at the end of 2008 he looked as if he was ready for a senior game but this didnt happen!

2009 he started out really strong but was struck down by a back injury and then later on a foot injury which finished the end of his season

I think he played all but one NAB Cup game this year and showed a lot of promise...Sure there were a few things to work on but he did come up against some hard sides! I thought his game Against St Kilda in the NAB Cup showed how good he was!

Hes been very good in the twos and is often seen in the bests actually here are some stats

Hes played all 5 of the ressies games so far
His bests game being against Belconnen in round 1 where he kicked 4 goals
hes been in the best 4/5 games

Hes been a great target up forward and he has a great pair of hands!

I really thought that in the situation that we are in now loosing both Seaby (for several weeks) and Mumford that this would be a great time to play Currie to give him the confidence and let him go up against some harder bodies! He and Pyke work really well together and it would also Allow Jesse to remain as a full forward! Currie must be frustrated to see someone who isnt a proper ruck (not that jesse doesnt do a good job) take over his role!

Sure if his tap work was a little under pressure put him up in the goal square hes 200cm hes got the height and is a really good kick!

But anyway i can write up about him but i guess this is the way the club wants things to work!

But really idd give the kid a go before he loses his confidence or suffers another injury!

Sophie's right. Currie should be getting some seniors time. Look at the early impact of NicNat, Kruezer, Mitch Clark, Paddy Ryder, even the likes of Jordan Roughead in his couple of games at the Dogs.

The old school of thought about ruckmen needing longer to mature is largely irrelevant in modern footy. Yes, there is an element of physical strength and maturity but Currie's hardly an Ayce Cordy stringbean type. And he has very good hands and good general skills.

I am not against Playfair getting a run, but I believe we'd be getting more long-term benefit in playing Currie in seniors sooner rather than later, let his education begin. With Mummy out a couple and Seaby down for some time, we've got very little to lose.

Currie didn't do much in the ressies match in Canby last Sat...but then again he wasn't alone in that regard! I just can't reconcile Sat's best players list with my observations, but it was my first viewing of the ressies and the standard is very different. Playfair did kick (?4) goals, perhaps if Braddy is a bit sore, Playfair offers more options for this week ...who knows? certainly not me.

I was really looking forward to seeing Currie play this week. We are absolutely rooted in the ruck division and i thought it would be the perfect time for him to come in and have a red hot go. Unfortunately i don't think he will ever get a game in the 1's if he couldn't this week. If Playfair doesn't get stuck in then i will be very angry.

He is unlucky to miss this week. I think they didn't want to go into the game with two inexperienced ruckmen. He has years ahead of him and he had a broken season last year. His time will come if he continues to develop in the Ressies. His NAB Cup games showed that he has a physical presence and good skills but he looked a little light on to me and lacked sureness. But he showed enough to suggest that he has a future. Also opportunities can arise quickly. Three weeks ago we had no worries with our ruck division.

I have a bit of an interest in the young lanky lad and I'm curious as to why Roos hasn't given him a shot as a ruckman in home and away games, with Seaby and Mumford now both out.

Surely he has to be a better option than Playfair!

Because he's a skinny little bitch with girly arms and would shatter into a million pieces if another AFL footballer touched him.

For me it's either Jesse White or Dan in the side. I don't think we can carry two developing talls in the forward line/ruck and still be a competitive top 8 team.

I'd venture if we were more like Richmond or Melbourne then Currie would have debuted yonks ago, but what we saw in the NAB is what we'd probably see in the seniors and that's not enough if we're also trying to develop Jesse at the same time.

IMO Currie is quite simply, over rated at this stage by some on this board, hence his reserve status. It's not rocket science peoples. He'll need to improve a whole heap more if he wants a run in the AFL. Showing promise i'snt enough these days.