Daniel Kerr

• Thread starter Thread starter _Interpol_

The problem we face (and similarly, Essendon faced when Hird was still playing) is that far too often our most consistent performer is the oldest bloke on the list/league. We're going to miss Harves more than I think we realise...

Spot on, but this happened to the Doggies as well with West and Grant. Having those players go has actually been a blessing as well as a curse. Maybe that will happen when Harvey leaves. Only once an eagle chick is pushed out of its nest and left without its mum for a while does it actually learn to fly.

West Coast have made it pretty clear the want 2 very early picks, nothing else including players. While he's under contract they can do that. They best satisfy him if they do as he'd go for alot less when out of contract next year.

Makes sense, they are obviously doing a Nexus rebuild.
1. Saints could only get top picks to buy him with, if we traded a similar or better player to one of the bottom teams.
Dal Santo - Why would they want to get Dal Santo rather than Kerr with their picks.
Kosi - Possibility but his recent performance has let him down.
Nick R or Sam F

2. We dont want to trade these guys they are more important to us than a midfielder.

3. If we did get a trade for an early pick, wouldn't we be better to use the early pick?

4. If the deal was done, myself and many others would be yelling for the blood of the person responsible.

West Coast will not setle for a player and third round pick as mentioned here, they still have him in contract so will be looking for more. This way, Kerr cant just leave if no trade is done and go to the pre season draft with West Coast getting nothing. They will want a quality player and a first round pick.
I want him.

Kerr doesn't strike me as having the best interests of the club at heart though, he'll look out for himself so West Coast would be aware that they could lose him for nothing.

Kerr will not leave this year!
Cousins will go to Collingwood and we will be making a BIG play i reckon for Andrew Lovett!!

Very smart, Quick, turn him into a midfield like what Collingwood did with Leon Davis!

Lovett will be better pick up than the other two!

And Cuz and Kerr are like my 2 fav players.

Im just seeing it how it is!

haha yeh i concur with the above question. but in response to that comment if you are in fact meaning we is st kilda i have to agree i know everyone is concerned with culture etc but he doesnt seem as high a risk as cous and is a lottt younger and quicker and has been playing at least! we could really use his pace and add that extra spark to our midfield group.

trade your 1st pick, armitage and your third rounder

for

Brisbanes first rounder and second rounder,

trade your new 1st rounder and your new(via brisbane) 2nd rounder to west coast for kerr

*ST Kilda get Kerr
*Stkilda lose - Armitage, late 1st rounder + 3rd rounder

*Brisbane get - Armitage, late 1st rounder & late 3rd rounder(both via the saints)
*Brisbane lose - early 1st rounder & early 2nd round pick + Ashley McGrath

*West Coast get - Early 1st rounder, early 2nd rounder + Ashley McGrath
*West coast lose Kerr

Ashley McGrath perhaps (didnt he want to go home last year? and only signed a 1 year deal?)

Lyon won't play him - whats with that?:confused:

Fact 1 , We are talking Danial Kerr , there is no way he is worth 2 pics and a young round 1 player. If anyone in StKilda made this deal he would be rightfully lynched for gross incompetance and you are an enourmous idiot for suggesting a deal that benefits everyone except the Saints.

Fact 2 , Armitage played 11 games this year. He will get more next year.
He had 20 disposals in his first game against Essendon ( this year) which is probably the reason a lot of people were instantly impressed. In his last three game he had less than 10 disposals which is probaly why he was dropped. In this case Robert Eddy was brought in. No harm in taking it easy with your young guys . Just because Richmond cannot.

Armitage is a first round pick with a years training at an AFL club. With that training he is worth more than a first round pick. You have insulted him by suggesting giving him away for the small difference between one first round pick and another. Moron

The last thing Brisbane needs is another midfielder.

actually - from the sounds of it their supporters would take that. they would like to get another quality homegrown kid back to Brizzy (before the Gold Coast flogs them all for the next 5 years)

Of course they would take it , they get three players we get 1.
Next thing you will be telling us we should trade Luke Ball for a slab of beer.

Fact 1 , We are talking Danial Kerr , there is no way he is worth 2 pics and a young round 1 player. If anyone in StKilda made this deal he would be rightfully lynched for gross incompetance and you are an enourmous idiot for suggesting a deal that benefits everyone except the Saints.

Fact 2 , Armitage played 11 games this year. He will get more next year.
He had 20 disposals in his first game against Essendon ( this year) which is probably the reason a lot of people were instantly impressed. In his last three game he had less than 10 disposals which is probaly why he was dropped. In this case Robert Eddy was brought in. No harm in taking it easy with your young guys . Just because Richmond cannot.

Armitage is a first round pick with a years training at an AFL club. With that training he is worth more than a first round pick. You have insulted him by suggesting giving him away for the small difference between one first round pick and another. Moron

if you reckon kerr isn't worth trading a player who still cant get a game(who was recruited at pick 9), a very late 1st rounder- and a 2nd round pick - you're the moron.

what do you reckon your gonna get him for?

as for the Richmond comment - i think our patience with kids of late has been far superior to your own. We have avoided the "quick fix" approach of late.

How is Gardiner?
How is King?
How is McGough?
How is C.Gardiner?
How is Fiora?
How is Schneider?
How is Dempster?
How is Birss?
How is Fergus Watts?
How is Michael Rix?

at least Kerr is genuine quality - the saints haven't attempted to trade for that since Gehrig - and with Harvey going, it wouldn't be the worse thing for your club. Reiwoldt, Kosi, Dal Santo aren't getting any younger:o

:o
Of course they would take it , they get three players we get 1.
Next thing you will be telling us we should trade Luke Ball for a slab of beer.

actually they are getting no extra players.

They would trade their own first rounder - for a LATER first rounder

they would be swapping your 2nd rounder - for their 3rd rounder

The would be swapping Ash McGrath for Armitage.

you really are a moron:o

trade your 1st pick, armitage and your third rounder

for

Brisbanes first rounder and second rounder,

trade your new 1st rounder and your new(via brisbane) 2nd rounder to west coast for kerr

*ST Kilda get Kerr
*Stkilda lose - Armitage, late 1st rounder + 3rd rounder

*Brisbane get - Armitage, late 1st rounder & late 3rd rounder(both via the saints)
*Brisbane lose - early 1st rounder & early 2nd round pick + Ashley McGrath

*West Coast get - Early 1st rounder, early 2nd rounder + Ashley McGrath
*West coast lose Kerr

Ashley McGrath perhaps (didnt he want to go home last year? and only signed a 1 year deal?)

By your Mathematics - Saints Lose 1 player and 2 picks and Get Only Kerr.
IN MY VIEW THIS IS A HUGE LOSS IN THE LAST DRAFT BEFORE GC.

Brisbane gain a player , and only get slightly later draft picks.

West Coast get 2 good picks and a player. WInners.

This information is from your post. You are stupider than a moron.

How is Gardiner? Good for the price ( cost a very late round pick )
How is King? Extremely good for a fifth round pick.
How is McGough? Ancient History
How is C.Gardiner? Free Gardiner with every King.
How is Fiora? When Black went west we were forced to accept Richmond's crap first round pick.
How is Schneider? Great him and Demster are excellent value for a second round pick.
How is Dempster?
How is Birss? Very serviceable for a third round pick.

See the trend - All the deals we have done have been reasonably good value to St Kilda. Since Ross Lyon has been involved we have done very well , and I cannot see that changing, just because you think it is a good idea.

How is Fergus Watts?
How is Michael Rix?

By your Mathematics - Saints Lose 1 player and 2 picks and Get Only Kerr.
IN MY VIEW THIS IS A HUGE LOSS IN THE LAST DRAFT BEFORE GC.

Brisbane gain a player , and only get slightly later draft picks.

West Coast get 2 good picks and a player. WInners.

This information is from your post. You are stupider than a moron.

How is Gardiner? Good for the price ( cost a very late round pick )
How is King? Extremely good for a fifth round pick.
How is McGough? Ancient History
How is C.Gardiner? Free Gardiner with every King.
How is Fiora? When Black went west we were forced to accept Richmond's crap first round pick.
How is Schneider? Great him and Demster are excellent value for a second round pick.
How is Dempster?
How is Birss? Very serviceable for a third round pick.

See the trend - All the deals we have done have been reasonably good value to St Kilda. Since Ross Lyon has been involved we have done very well , and I cannot see that changing, just because you think it is a good idea.

How is Fergus Watts?
How is Michael Rix?

this all may be true (through your rose coloured glasses ) - but how does this prove the saints are patient with their kids. No less than 10 players currently fill your list that were recruited from other clubs - hardly proving you are patient with the youth.

Once you add Gehrig, Baker, milne and jason Gram - i still dont think you should be judging richmond on their recent record of doing the same.

As for you proving me being a moron by the whole "3 players for 1" (which quite clearly you changed your opinion on once i pointed it out to you in plain english) - i would ANYDAY rather 1 elite player on my list than 3 average ones.

Kerr's influence on your list would be 10 times more than any three combinations of schneider, dempster, gardiner x 2, king, fiora or Birss.

sometimes its about quality, not quantity mate. You would effectively be giving up a very late first round player ( who could be another Gwilt), Armitage and a pick near the 40's for Kerr - a player who is in the top 5-10 midfielders in the league - he would easily be your best midfielder if he came over.

Judd went for 2 picks in the top 10 plus a KP player who was taken at pick 2 only 2 years previous (a player who has shown as much as armitage at the same time) - for you to get kerr for effectively pick 12, 40 and a player taken at 9 (who has shown to be worth at most equal to that selection ) you would be getting a bargain.:o

Judd went for pick 3 and 20 Plus Kennedy who was actually pick 4.

sorry guys... yeah im saints, my smartass mate set it up for me as Melb!
back to normal now
there is no way saints will ever give up armo!
he will be a player of the future very scott west like imo.

as for the Richmond comment - i think our patience with kids of late has been far superior to your own. We have avoided the "quick fix" approach of late.

How is Gardiner?
How is King?
How is McGough?
How is C.Gardiner?
How is Fiora?
How is Schneider?
How is Dempster?
How is Birss?
How is Fergus Watts?
How is Michael Rix?

Sorry I am confused,,,,how were Brown, Simmonds, Knoble, Kane Johnson, McMahon, Polak not quick fix selections gained from other AFL Clubs?

Please explain?

IMO theres no way WC are going to get 2 first round picks for Kerr, in a year where clubs are going to want to keep their first rounders. The media hype about it sounds like he wants to leave. WC can jibber jabber about what they want for him for the next month, fact is there is no way in hell their gonna get it and they are going to want to trade him this year before he is out of contract next year and he can nominate for the draft. Kerr will go for 1 first round pick and thats it. If they find a club thats willing to offer even that for him. The more I think about it, the more i dont think its worth it. Maybe only in the complete package with Cousins.

i think there will be clubs offering 2 first rounders
whether it be one from 3-8 and 12-15