Injury Daniel Menzel - third (partially) ruptured ACL

• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

Guy throws balls and a bunch of obese halfwits run around like headless chooks until they catch their prey then sit around do nothing for what seems an eternity. Rinse and repeat.

yeh I was the same for a while until you start watching it bit by bit and then you get a feel for the game.
Strangely enough, if you were to check out those obese players fitness trials, you'd be shocked at how athletic they generally are even though they look completely nothing like it.

The Geelong boys are right into their NFL ;)

yeh I was the same for a while until you start watching it bit by bit and then you get a feel for the game.

I've been trying to stomach gridiron for well over a decade, no dice.

Strangely enough, if you were to check out those obese players fitness trials, you'd be shocked at how athletic they generally are even though they look completely nothing like it.

If all I was interested in sports was athleticism and strength then the Olympics and MMA would be all I would watch.

What I look for in sports are those that demand silky skills, great tactical awareness and ability to improvise on their feet from its players.

Unfortunately those are the exact attributes that the yawnfest that chuckyankball is lacks the most or a pretty much non-existent.

Gridiron players are mere specialised brainless juiced up pawns who are told what to do to every minute detail.

And then take ages sitting around doing nothing.

Thanks but no thanks.

The Geelong boys are right into their NFL ;)

Well nobody is perfect.

So I'm sitting at a restaurant in Golden Grove and in comes Dan, full leg cast and all. He's with about 6 dudes who I could only assume to be his old mates from school/junior footy etc. Would it be rude of me to go up to his table and tell him that I'm a massive Cats fan and that I wish him all the best this year? I think it probably is, but it is still very tempting nonetheless...

Why don't we all assume that what you say is correct, then if he does manage to string a couple of games together, then a couple of seasons together, without mishap, it's a bonus and a blessing.
While he's on our list there's hope, and hope is what we need for Menzel, Vardy, Varcoe, Simpson, H Mac, Smedts, and any player that has been injured. And of course, we must also hope that all the others don't get injured.
Hope is all you need.

That’s one of the big unknowns for next year and one where we are more exposed than any other club due to the seriousness of the injuries and playing time it has already cost many of those players. And I hadn’t factored in Smedts either. Stuff “hope”! I’m backing-in the sports science people at the club. It helps allay my natural predisposition toward pessimism in these matters.:(

The wife talked me out of going up and saying G'day as she said "the poor kid just probably wants to come back home and forget about everything for a few weeks". I will probably regret not saying something to Dan, especially when he becomes the superstar that he is destined to be. I got back into the car and then the wife says "you know, he might actually be put off by the fact that no one here actually recognises who he is". I'm like "WTF woman, you change your tune now, when it's too late!" Grrrr!

Unfortunately there's nothing else to report, Dan was in a hoodie so it was a bit hard to notice how much bigger he has got this year.

That’s one of the big unknowns for next year and one where we are more exposed than any other club due to the seriousness of the injuries and playing time it has already cost many of those players. And I hadn’t factored in Smedts either. Stuff “hope”! I’m backing-in the sports science people at the club. It helps allay my natural predisposition toward pessimism in these matters.:(

Smedts, what's the problem with him?.........I'm looking forward to seeing a bigger and more confident Billy when season rolls around, the extra year of maturity should make a big difference.

What's his situation ATM, anyone know?

Smedts, what's the problem with him?.........I'm looking forward to seeing a bigger and more confident Billy when season rolls around, the extra year of maturity should make a big difference.

What's his situation ATM, anyone know?

According to our website he’s on a restricted program due to hip soreness. It says he’s had hip probs ever since he got to us. Don’t think it’s all that concerning but as VEEDUBS included him in his list of players he “hoped” would be o.k following significant injury issues I mentioned him too.

Why don't we all assume that what you say is correct, then if he does manage to string a couple of games together, then a couple of seasons together, without mishap, it's a bonus and a blessing.
While he's on our list there's hope, and hope is what we need for Menzel, Vardy, Varcoe, Simpson, H Mac, Smedts, and any player that has been injured. And of course, we must also hope that all the others don't get injured.
Hope is all you need.

Mmmmm. Maybe. Of course false hope is no hope at all.

"In an early spring
We see th'appearing buds, which to prove fruit
Hope gives not so much warrant, as despair
That frosts will bite them." - The Bard.

The wife talked me out of going up and saying G'day as she said "the poor kid just probably wants to come back home and forget about everything for a few weeks".

I got back into the car and then the wife says "you know, he might actually be put off by the fact that no one here actually recognizes who he is". I'm like "WTF woman, you change your tune now, when it's too late!"

she owes you big time man :thumbsdown:

I say turn on the TV get out a Carlton slab and sit back and indulge in nothing but sports/food/beer and she is not to say one word about you doing anything around the house...even then it's not gonna make up for her talking you out of saying 'gooday' to Menz

she owes you big time man :thumbsdown:

I say turn on the TV get out a Carlton slab and sit back and indulge in nothing but sports/food/beer and she is not to say one word about you doing anything around the house...even then it's not gonna make up for her talking you out of saying 'gooday' to Menz
I don't have any Carlton, but I do have an unopened box of Pale Ale that I got from my work Christmas break up which is in the fridge and is calling my name! I was thinking today "if only I had said G'day to Menz". I don't have many regrets in life so far, but perhaps this may end up being one. I wish I hadn't seen him now, or listened to the wife! :(

Having worked in the business in LA, I can say most are obliging when you meet them. However it is greatly dependant on how. For example, in the middle of dinner or a conversation at a table is not great. On the other hand, as they are leaving the eatery works much better.

End of the day, how often do you like having your meal interrupted?

My 2 cents....

Go Catters

Mmmmm. Maybe. Of course false hope is no hope at all.

"In an early spring
We see th'appearing buds, which to prove fruit
Hope gives not so much warrant, as despair
That frosts will bite them." - The Bard.

Your just a worry wart CF.

Do we really know anything what is going on with Menzel ? When is it realistically expected he will be back full training and for a VFL game ? In the first quarter of the season - by round 6 ?

Where is Billy at ? Is it expected he will also be available by round 6 ?

And finally Lincoln McCarthy - out to mid season at least ?

Maybe no one knows really and that all these injuries, or one or two of them, cannot be fully assessed yet - and therefore no time frame can be given ?

It just would be great if the Club would issue a sensible - not over optimistic or pessamistic report on these three players.

I assume Varcoe would be close to back to full training after Xmas break.

Gridiron. Just need to watch it with Americans who explain the game and sometimes players backstories to you. AMAZING game. I love it.Anyone got a team they follow? IM a Cardinals fan of sorts.

I've been a fan of the sport for a few years, watched games when I got the chance and love the tactical side of things - how, especially when its late in the last quarter its not always about just getting the ball down the other end for a touchdown or score, but sometimes just about eating up as much of the clock as possible to play keepings off and seeing which team can do that best. Never really had a team I would say I truly supported - I always had a soft spot for which ever team Graham was playing in, which unfortunately is none now.
But a couple of months ago I made the decision I would take extra time off at Christmas, come to the States for a holiday, already knew that I would go to LA to catch a Lakers game or 2, and then the only other decision was San Diego or San Francisco for an NFL game - SF won out (a nicer city to spend a week in due to the way game tickets went). Probably due to loving this city, it being their home game I have kinda adopted the 49ers as my team (did buy some gear to wear to the match, t-shirt & hat, didn't want to stand out too much as a complete foreigner). And they actually play the Cardinals this Sunday (Monday, Aus time), so hopefully its a good game.

So I'm sitting at a restaurant in Golden Grove and in comes Dan, full leg cast and all. He's with about 6 dudes who I could only assume to be his old mates from school/junior footy etc. Would it be rude of me to go up to his table and tell him that I'm a massive Cats fan and that I wish him all the best this year? I think it probably is, but it is still very tempting nonetheless...

Daniel Menzel@DanielMenzel10 ......23 Dec
Now get to fly back home to Adelaide for Christmas and New Years to see the family! #overdue #extralegroom #businessclass
*Hope I don't run into Strangled Cat over there.

Looks like you owe the missus a hug.

*Dan would never say that :D

Gridiron. Just need to watch it with Americans who explain the game and sometimes players backstories to you. AMAZING game. I love it.Anyone got a team they follow? IM a Cardinals fan of sorts.

Takes a seppo to explain the nuances for sure but can be great to watch.
And as the name suggests... Broncos since 82.... Cards... had path that one.....

Go Catters and Broncos!

why the Cardinals?
I can't believe how rotten they have become, it's almost like the Western Bulldogs turn of events over the last 2 years from top 4 to bottom 4.

I'm a big fan of Peyton Manning and followed him at the Colts and now over to the Broncos, the guy is a genius!
I do like the Giants as well, although they will miss the playoffs this year but it's going to be a cracking finale to the season.
Redskins and Cowboys game on Monday will be the game of the year :thumbsu:

I have kinda adopted the 49ers as my team (did buy some gear to wear to the match, t-shirt & hat, didn't want to stand out too much as a complete foreigner). And they actually play the Cardinals this Sunday (Monday, Aus time), so hopefully its a good game.

they are brilliant aren't they, so much size and athleticism on both the defense and offense sides.
They will most likely win it this year as it seems they have the luxury of having the best of both worlds in a number of key positions especially quarterbacks.

They will probably beat Catsmaninamerica's Cardinals by about 21 points on Monday morning :p

Do we really know anything what is going on with Menzel ? When is it realistically expected he will be back full training and for a VFL game ? In the first quarter of the season - by round 6 ?

Where is Billy at ? Is it expected he will also be available by round 6 ?

And finally Lincoln McCarthy - out to mid season at least ?

Maybe no one knows really and that all these injuries, or one or two of them, cannot be fully assessed yet - and therefore no time frame can be given ?

It just would be great if the Club would issue a sensible - not over optimistic or pessamistic report on these three players.

I assume Varcoe would be close to back to full training after Xmas break.

Can only add what im aware of...
Menzel would be unknown to this point - although you can imagine caution will and is being applied.

Billy I can't add to.

McCarthy - was riding the bike like a mad man but not running at training. Safe to assume non loading cardio work at the moment so mid season could be accurate.

Varcs looked really ready and sharp doing skills but not running. He looked really fit however to the eye.

Go Catters

why the Cardinals?
I can't believe how rotten they have become, it's almost like the Western Bulldogs turn of events over the last 2 years from top 4 to bottom 4.

I'm a big fan of Peyton Manning and followed him at the Colts and now over to the Broncos, the guy is a genius!
I do like the Giants as well, although they will miss the playoffs this year but it's going to be a cracking finale to the season.

Apologies for the OT path but PM is better than a genius. if anyone wants to see the GOAT at work, watch this guy. Has challenged and reset the levels for perfection and at 36 is still looking to get better. And has taken the Broncos from competitor to contender overnight....

Go CAtters

why the Cardinals?

I do like the Giants as well, although they will miss the playoffs this year but it's going to be a cracking finale to the season.well. i was on tour in the US the year they played off in the Superbowl - Benny Graham played. We watched it in Vegas at a bar with a bunch of Cards fans and that was it. Plus a good mate of mine out there ( i live in the US about half the year) is an Arizona man and knows a bunch of the players. They have been horrible this year!

Tom Brady's the man. Reminds me of our own Joel selwood the way people are jealous and think he cheats when he's really the best QB going around