Injury Daniel Menzel - third (partially) ruptured ACL

• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

The first ACL his leg came into contact with Puopolo's when he tried to kick at the ball. That resulted in his knee hyperextending beyond its normal motion. That is non-contact? Hardly. Josh Hunt did his knee in 09 pretty much the same way and hasn't had any real issues since. The 2nd ACL isn't as clear but looked worse. I understand the speculation and anxiety but to be digging the guy an early grave is still absurd to me. It's time to be realistic and cautious but not pessimistic. I expect him to make a come back this year but when and how it goes who knows. I'd hate for him to read the stuff in this forum or he'd slit his writs from all the negativity. Just saying...

I see this whole thing along similar lines to you D2D. As yes Josh Hunt did do his knee without any contact during the 2009 NAB cup Grand Final and he has been fine ever since.

Good point Rabbi. Surely we can still have some reasonable expectation that Menzel will come back - whenever that may be - and play ok. As stated JHunt came back ok - in fact I reckon he had a very good season this season.

I am not giving up Menzel re a decent comeback - just when that maybe.

Good point Rabbi. Surely we can still have some reasonable expectation that Menzel will come back - whenever that may be - and play ok. As stated JHunt came back ok - in fact I reckon he had a very good season this season.

I am not giving up Menzel re a decent comeback - just when that maybe.
Better than Josh Hunt's recovery was Wojo. Who of all of us would say he lost any of his speed or leap after his recon. He was a little cautious first year, but as will have to happen with Menzel, the attitude will have to be each week to play like there is no tomorrow. Every AFL player must have that attitude to be able to achieve. Seriously. Otherwise, he won't get selected. He is very competitive and it'll be hard to hold him back.
And Lenny Hayes. Amazing comeback this year, after his 2nd reconstruction.
I am generally cautious, realstic, borderline pessimist some of you might say, but I think if he is right to go, he will be an impact player. There is no tiptoeing through the tulips.

Better than Josh Hunt's recovery was Wojo. Who of all of us would say he lost any of his speed or leap after his recon. He was a little cautious first year, but as will have to happen with Menzel, the attitude will have to be each week to play like there is no tomorrow.

Wojak was seriously a freakish athlete born with phenomenal leaping ability and blistering speed.
His ability to also turn on a dime while running at near full pace was just incredible to see live.
After he did the knee, he likely did a series of new exercises he ordinarily would not have done which helped strengthened his legs even more allowing him to utilize his god given athleticism.

Guys like him were always fun to have as friends :p
I had a mate called Benny, was only short but had already grown a beard in year 10 and was built like a brick.
His strength and natural athletic ability was insane, he was only 5ft'8 and could slam dunk and we use to get him to jump on different items around the school like fire hydrants and sheds.
He never played sports as he was a musician but we coaxed him into trying footy one day and he came along to our local footy club, he ended playing his first game a few weeks later and I kid you not, his first touch...it was exactly like the scene from Forrest Gump where he gets the ball and they say run and he replies back
"OK!" he got the ball and ran from one side of the ground to other side and was penalized for not bouncing it.

Dandenong Stingrays (kinda like the best of local talent) spotted him one day and he ended up playing for them but he just didn't care for sports and subsequently, didn't follow through with it.

Wojak was seriously a freakish athlete born with phenomenal leaping ability and blistering speed.
His ability to also turn on a dime while running at near full pace was just incredible to see live.
After he did the knee, he likely did a series of new exercises he ordinarily would not have done which helped strengthened his legs even more allowing him to utilize his god given athleticism.

I had a mate called Benny, was only short but had already grown a beard in year 10 and was built like a brick.
His strength and natural athletic ability was insane, he was only 5ft'8 and could slam dunk and we use to get him to jump on different items around the school like fire hydrants and sheds.
He never played sports as he was a musician but we coaxed him into trying footy one day and he came along to our local footy club, he ended playing his first game a few weeks later and I kid you not, his first touch...it was exactly like the scene from Forrest Gump where he gets the ball and they say run and he replies back
"OK!" he got the ball and ran from one side of the ground to other side and was penalized for not bouncing it.

Dandenong Stingrays (kinda like the best of local talent) spotted him one day and he ended up playing for them but he just didn't care for sports and subsequently, didn't follow through with it.
Yep, I am going to miss Wojo, definitely my favourite Cat of the past 10 years for all those reasons you just stated. How many time did he convert a tied up dull game into something that got us going?

yeh exactly, he never really got the accolades he quite rightfully deserved.
Most defenders often get overlooked in comparison to the forwards, mids or rucks and even more so if they aren't of key defender size but like you say...he always started something and was many times the spark that got the others inspired.

Guess it's why many of us are hoping Varcoe comes back well and plays across half back because he has explosive speed (not quite in Wojak's league) but better than most and has that audacity to try things in pressure situations.

yeh exactly, he never really got the accolades he quite rightfully deserved.
Most defenders often get overlooked in comparison to the forwards, mids or rucks and even more so if they aren't of key defender size but like you say...he always started something and was many times the spark that got the others inspired.

Guess it's why many of us are hoping Varcoe comes back well and plays across half back because he has explosive speed (not quite in Wojak's league) but better than most and has that audacity to try things in pressure situations.
Wonder when /if Lewis Jetta's contract expires, he'd be a nice replacement. But TV like you say, clearly my #2 Cat of this team, if Tomahawk doesn't overtake him, would be great if he comes back to his previous running best.

Jetta be great :thumbsu:
Although I wouldn't worry about looking at other clubs though....Geelong have always had a great knack of finding exceptional speed in the local area, only a matter of time before we find another 'unknown' who'll suddenly pop up and declare himself a new champ in the making to the envy of other clubs around the league.

Jetta be great :thumbsu:
Although I wouldn't worry about looking at other clubs though....Geelong have always had a great knack of finding exceptional speed in the local area, only a matter of time before we find another 'unknown' who'll suddenly pop up and declare himself a new champ in the making to the envy of other clubs around the league.
Let's not forget we missed out on Gary Rohan, a real jet, who iirc was a Falcon.

yep, strange sliding doors scenario it would have seen him become a top young player this season if he was with us as well.

Let's not forget we missed out on Gary Rohan, a real jet, who iirc was a Falcon.
He's an absolute gun who I would have loved to have seen donning the Blue and White hoops. Unfortunately it wasn't to be since he was picked up at #6 in the ND. I really hope he comes back from his shocking leg injury and fulfills his potential.

A good mate of mine who's a Port supporter told me when I first started working with him 3 years ago that Wojo has been his favourite non-Port player for a number of years now due to the fact that he's just so exciting to watch. He reckons Wojo could have made a good Rugby player as he had great lateral movement and agility coupled with great strength and speed.

Wonder when /if Lewis Jetta's contract expires, he'd be a nice replacement. But TV like you say, clearly my #2 Cat of this team, if Tomahawk doesn't overtake him, would be great if he comes back to his previous running best.

Sounds good if TV's training reports of late are anything to go by. Training the house down!! :D

Has anyone heard any news regarding Menzel's latest setback - how it's progressing, whether he has started any form of training, any rough estimates as to when he might be looking at playing etc?

Was just reading about Morabito's latest knee injury (shit news for the young bloke) and got me wondering. Cheers.

Has anyone heard any news regarding Menzel's latest setback - how it's progressing, whether he has started any form of training, any rough estimates as to when he might be looking at playing etc?

Was just reading about Morabito's latest knee injury (shit news for the young bloke) and got me wondering. Cheers.
Yeah devastating for the young man,I'm normally a pretty positive person,but I'd be hanging off buying the number 10 Geelong jumper if I was in the market.
Some thing about the way he did them sits uneasy with me.Still I've been known to be wrong plenty of times, Lets hope this is one of those times.

So the latest "official" word we have is still Pollyanna Balme's "The surgeon repaired the strained area and we do not believe this will significantly delay Daniel's return to the game."
Which doesn't actually say Round 1, nor indeed any date at all.

So the latest "official" word we have is still Pollyanna Balme's "The surgeon repaired the strained area and we do not believe this will significantly delay Daniel's return to the game."
Which doesn't actually say Round 1, nor indeed any date at all.
pollyana Balme

Had a chuckle there.

Crossing fingers ovber Menzel but cant help but feel if he turns up will be a bonus