Retired Daniel Merrett (2002-2016)

Tom Harley

"If I had any contribution whatsoever to Israel's football development, I just think he's a no-brainer to be in the first line of defence in the fullback line," Harley told AAP.
"He's got speed, he's got height, he's got strength, if he can't sit on an opponent and be led to the ball and win the contest I'll go home.
"And then you work your way up the ground and he's obviously got great sporting pedigree and great aerial awareness so he could eventually move his way around the ground.
"But I'd start him at fullback. If you look at Daniel Merrett at Brisbane he was a league convert and just charged out of fullback and now he's vice-captain of the Lions.
"I'd be very surprised if he couldn't play a similar sort of role."

edit_preview.php

NAB Cup Round 1

Captain Jonathan Brown and fellow team leaders Simon Black, Luke Power, Jed Adcock and Josh Drummond will all be rested, leaving Daniel Merrett to skipper a greenhorn squad.

merrett14.jpg

Merrett ready to show his Spirit
10:25 AM Thu 17 Feb, 2011

“It is special to lead the side out wearing our new Queensland Spirit guernsey, and I think at the front of all our minds is that we are wearing it in honour of those people who have suffered,” Merrett said.

“This guernsey represents the people who have been through the hard times and it will be great for Queenslanders to see us wear those jumpers and show our Queensland Spirit.”

Merrett is the only member of the Lions leadership group to be playing against St Kilda and Essendon at Etihad Stadium, with a relatively young side to be on display.

“I’m about the only one old enough to grow a beard in the team so I think that’s why I got the captaincy,” Merrett said.

merrettbrownrich.jpg

NAB Cup Challenge vs Western Bulldogs

Hall dominated the Lions defence and ran Brisbane defender Daniel Merrett around in circles. But he wasn't the only Lion to be left embarrassed in front of the 2000 fans at Visy Park.
"He was good," Eade said of Hall. "He kicked three and gave two or three off and I thought he contested well and ran well."

danielmerrett.jpg

Looks like the rusty fist has rusted away to nothing - he looks so thin in that picture and when I've seen him at the local shops a couple of times recently. Also saw Charmo down at the Gabba this arvo - he looks really thin as well :eek:

What is the birdman up to? Creating a team of clones?

Re: NAB Challenge Matches 2011

I don't think Maguire is in our best 22, our structure down back is more effective without him.

I personally rate Maguire way more than Merrett and for mine is easily in our best 22. I am still at a loss as to why people rate Merrett so highly, including the club. Yes, he has been loyal etc, but the fact that he is a "leader" is an indictment on the club and more to do with how few leaders we have on our list. There have been many occassions where Merrett should have been dropped, yet continually isn't. If one is brutally honest and has seen a fair bit of footy, you would have to agree that his disposal is still pretty poor for AFL standards.

I do however, understand the logic as to why, against some opponents, that we appear to be top heavy and one of Merrett or Maguire would be dropped. I personally would go with Maguire every day of the week.

Re: NAB Challenge Matches 2011

I do however, understand the logic as to why, against some opponents, that we appear to be top heavy and one of Merrett or Maguire would be dropped. I personally would go with Maguire every day of the week.

Perhaps pace related, with Merrett quicker off the mark compared to Maguire, also agree inregards to disposal. Would not be opposed to a trial of Merret forward and Clark downback should the first few games result in a poor return of goals.

What are peoples thoughs on Merret as a Sub, considering his a "leader" is it out the question?

Link to article

JED ADCOCK stands as the key contender as acting captain for Brisbane Lions in the wake of a devastating facial injury to Jonathan Brown. But the Lions would not confirm Brown's replacement, possibly until after the team's final training session on Saturday.

Brisbane Lions' spokeswoman Kate Stevens told The Courier that Adcock was definitely a big chance for the top on-field job.
"He's been a key vice-captain for us last season and has held a very senior leadership role about the club for awhile now," Stevens said. "There's a good chance he'll be lining up for us this week as captain ... it'll definitely be Jed or Dan."

merrett21.jpg

Was a new man last week, he seemed fresh and rejuvinated and was back to his former self, owning the backline. You can always tell when defenders are on fire, because they start taking contested marks instead of just worrying about spoiling. I think Rog goes into this rematch with Hall in prime condition. It's upto the mids to make sure Hall doesn't get silver service.

Played what I thought was his best game last week and followed up again today with only a couple of blemishes where he was out marked when not trying to spoil but overall in 2011 in two games where the ball has come down heaps, he has played very well indeed.

Career best football.I like the new marking style. Will cost us occassionally, but has a heap of upside. And his kicking has improved noticeably.

1st in the AFL for 1 percenters after three rounds highlights that he's been doing a pretty decent job at full back thus far.

Who coached his kicking in the off season? Bullet like wrong foot passes!! Lots of credit to the Birdman on his career best form, IMO. His new body shape has taken Rog's athleticism to a new level. Outstanding.

Adrian Fletcher

"He's our best bet down there. Riewoldt covers some territory so we're going to have to hand him over at stages, but Rog is our biggest body down there. He's had a terrific start to the season. He's been our rock of Gibraltar down there and hopefully he'll do a good job on Riewoldt.

merrett22.jpg

Round 5 vs St Kilda

[strike]Nathan[/strike] (Daniel) Merrett was a standout in defence, pulling off some great hits and inspiring his teammates with his physicality and passion for the contest, not to mention a league record 19 spoils.

merrett.jpg

Link

Merrett's 19 spoils overtook the record held by Cat Harry Taylor.

Michael Voss

BRISBANE Lions coach Michael Voss says he has never seen defender Daniel Merrett play as well as he did against the Saints.

Merrett, playing at times on Justin Koschitzke and Nick Riewoldt, seemed to be involved in every marking contest in the Saints’ 50 and clearly won the points over both Saints forwards.

"He was huge, he is in as good a form as I have seen him in my time as a coach," Voss said.

danielmerrett316b.jpg

Michael Voss' post match press conference

He was huge. Yeah, he was massive. He's in as a good a form as I've seen him, or have in my time here as coach. He's very fit, very strong and I think is just growing in confidence as the season's going. He's pretty tough to beat at the moment.

merrett30.jpg