Daniel Motlop

Re: Official Motlop Trade Thread

Kane McGoodwin said:
Just caught the end of KG this AM on 5AA, where he mentioned that a player who wanted to come home & play for Adelaide. Was it Motlop, or someone else?

Yes - it was KG going his usiual connect the dots. Said he had a source that told him that Motlop told the Kangaroos he wants to play for the crows.

Malibu#27 said:
Yes - it was KG going his usiual connect the dots. Said he had a source that told him that Motlop told the Kangaroos he wants to play for the crows.

So you can expect Motlop to end up anywhere but the Crows then.

I read this morning that the kanagas declined a straight swap Salopak for Motlop. You guys really do know how to insult the opposition. Maybe Pickett and your 1st rounder will do the job.

Re: Official Motlop - Do we trade for thread

Thought I might throw in my thoughts here.

Motlop is an extremely talented footballer, and IMO would add a lot to your forward line. He was very good in 2004 and I think, without the baggage (mainly injuries), he is worth a top five pick. Unfortunately we don't live in a world where pure talent dictates what happens on the park.

We did use pick eight on him, but we wouldn't get that back unless Freo have it (and they'll probably throw in Pavlich). My guess is the club will probably seek a pick between 10 and 15, which is probably reasonable given what he is capable of and the fact that it's percieved to be a weakish draft.

I think, if (and only if) Watts demands a trade, straight up would probably be on the cards. Big fan of Fergus, but given the first six PSD picks are Victorian clubs then you have to wonder what clubs are going to offer that would be better than Junior.

I'm not going to sugarcoat anything - Daniel is a risk, but if you get his body right and get him settled, you'll have one heck of a footballer on your hands.

Re: "Crows Consider Move For Motlop"

jmorg1 said:
Not sure how the Kangaroos plan on getting an elite midfielder in Power for an injury prone forward crumber in Motlop.

Are all your 1475 posts as insightful as this? :eek:

You would have hardly seen him play yet you somehow have this vision of a crumber? He led the team in contested marks the previous year which is his strength. Automatically you get the most gifted aboriginal player going around. micky o included i sh*t you not!

Add that to 34 goals with no support other than big sav for a few weeks and you begin to realise that watts for motlop is a steal.

And power (should he go) for motlop and pick 1/2 is about as good as brisbane will get.

Mate we don't talk anything up in Kangarooland... But D.Motlop is the most talented player i've seen at the kangas and would prefer to keep him than wells!

But thanks for wellsy nonetheless :p

Thewlis Dish said:
I'm not going to sugarcoat anything - Daniel is a risk, but if you get his body right and get him settled, you'll have one heck of a footballer on your hands.
A happy Daniel Motlop will mean you will win on any trade, the boy is super-talented and ready to fire... more talented than Micky O but not as proven.

ArjenTheGreat said:

You would have hardly seen him play yet you somehow have this vision of a crumber? He led the team in contested marks the previous year which is his strength. Automatically you get the most gifted aboriginal player going around. micky o included i sh*t you not!

Add that to 34 goals with no support other than big sav for a few weeks and you begin to realise that watts for motlop is a steal.

And power (should he go) for motlop and pick 1/2 is about as good as brisbane will get.

Mate we don't talk anything up in Kangarooland... But D.Motlop is the most talented player i've seen at the kangas and would prefer to keep him than wells!

No, you guys never try to inflate the value of your players. Fair dinkum, most gifted aboriginal player going around is just plain stupid mate.

Have you never seen any of these guys

McLeod
Wells
Wirrupunda
Johncock
P. Burgoyne
S. Burgoyne
B. Pickett

all have more natural gifts

I know youve seen Wells, so Ive come to the conclusion your just blowing wind up Motlop, like everyone else does when they seem destined to lose the player for nicks.

Most gifted???? Thats funny, mate, very funny.

Thewlis Dish said:
Thought I might throw in my thoughts here.

Motlop is an extremely talented footballer, and IMO would add a lot to your forward line. He was very good in 2004 and I think, without the baggage (mainly injuries), he is worth a top five pick. Unfortunately we don't live in a world where pure talent dictates what happens on the park.

We did use pick eight on him, but we wouldn't get that back unless Freo have it (and they'll probably throw in Pavlich). My guess is the club will probably seek a pick between 10 and 15, which is probably reasonable given what he is capable of and the fact that it's percieved to be a weakish draft.

I think, if (and only if) Watts demands a trade, straight up would probably be on the cards. Big fan of Fergus, but given the first six PSD picks are Victorian clubs then you have to wonder what clubs are going to offer that would be better than Junior.

I agree with what you are saying mate and I do rate Motlop BUT I would be bloody LIVID if we traded Fergus for Motlop. You just don't trade young and very talented key forward who is almost 6'6 for a medium marking forward with talent and injury prone history. Its just a downgrade in every sense of the word.

As I said I rate Motlop and I reckon Craig could get the best out of him BUT You don't trade a potential Brown for a potential Micky O'Loughlin. KPP of Fergus' ability and talent are bloody hard to find. Players of Motlop's ability and talent are easier to find. If we did a straight swap I would think that Kangaroos got the better of the deal by a LONG shot.

ArjenTheGreat said:

Sorry but I just CANNOT agree with that comment. I suspect if the roles were revesred you would feel exactly the same way.

Fergus is one player we could least afford to lose. Many good football judges around the country thing that Fergus is a ready made AFL player who will be a player to reckon with in a few years. Losing Fergus would be a HUGE blow to Adelaide. We have lost some gun players over the years but Fergus would be the most costly one to date. We simply MUST keep him. No 2 ways about it.

Stiffy_18 said:
I agree with what you are saying mate and I do rate Motlop BUT I would be bloody LIVID if we traded Fergus for Motlop. You just don't trade young and very talented key forward who is almost 6'6 for a medium marking forward with talent and injury prone history. Its just a downgrade in every sense of the word.

As I said I rate Motlop and I reckon Craig could get the best out of him BUT You don't trade a potential Brown for a potential Micky O'Loughlin. KPP of Fergus' ability and talent are bloody hard to find. Players of Motlop's ability and talent are easier to find. If we did a straight swap I would think that Kangaroos got the better of the deal by a LONG shot.

Read the bit in brackets mate.

Adelaide would be stupid to trade Watts for Motlop straight up in an even world, no denying that. I'm saying if Watts wants out though, you may not get better than Motlop, and it's a pretty damn good consolation prize.

Thewlis Dish said:
Read the bit in brackets mate.

Adelaide would be stupid to trade Watts for Motlop straight up in an even world, no denying that. I'm saying if Watts wants out though, you may not get better than Motlop, and it's a pretty damn good consolation prize.

If we can't get a top 5 pick, which we have sweet fa of doing, we could do alot worse than Motlop IMO. When injury free, he is a match winner.

drakeyv2 said:
Is there room for Welsh & Motlop in the same forward line?
If you add in Burton as well, you'd have to wonder.

Stiffy_18 said:
Thats a very valid question.

Can Motlop play in the midfield. Craig might use him accross HB where he can use his marking to mop up and his pace to rebound.

Very valid question.

Well this is it.

I've got a couple of North mates doing the "Motlop for Watts and a pick" stuff, but, at only 187cms and given his shoulder problems will he really be a superior option to Welsh?

dyertribe said:
Well this is it.

I've got a couple of North mates doing the "Motlop for Watts and a pick" stuff, but, at only 187cms and given his shoulder problems will he really be a superior option to Welsh?

Motlop for Watts and a pick?

Surely they mean Watts for Motlop and a pick.

I think a trade where we give up Watts and get Motlop, is a much more risky trade for us than them. I wouldnt even consider a straight swap, never mind adding a pick.

dyertribe said:
Well this is it.

I thought he was about 184 cm mark :confused:

I don't think he will be superior option to Welsh. Welshy is still reasonalble age for a footballer. He will be 27 next year and still has some good footy ahead of him. Motlop would be more like an icing on the cake rather than the cake.

If I was picking a side, Welsh gets a gig ahead of Motlop. At least with Welshy, you know he is a goal kicker and has kicked over 50 goal in a season.

I honestly think if we do get Motlop, Craigy is more likely to either use him as a linkman accross HF or as a running player off the HBF or through the midfield.

Stiffy_18 said:
Thats a very valid question.

Can Motlop play in the midfield. Craig might use him accross HB where he can use his marking to mop up and his pace to rebound.

Very valid question.

Probably begs the question as to what Motlop's strengths are and how he would fit in to the AFC structure.

Is he a:

1) Medium sized marking forward
2) Forward Line crumber
3) Pinch hitting midfielder
4) Sweeper across half back
5) All of the above ?

If he was in the Crows squad, what role would he best suited to playing ?

GoSarge said:
Probably begs the question as to what Motlop's strengths are and how he would fit in to the AFC structure.

Is he a:

1) Medium sized marking forward
2) Forward Line crumber
3) Pinch hitting midfielder
4) Sweeper across half back
5) All of the above ?

If he was in the Crows squad, what role would he best suited to playing ?
1) Yes
2) NO
3) Possibly
4) Possibly
5) NO.

As I said somewhere earlier he is not a crumbing forward. One of his strengths is his marking. If I am not mistaken, I think he played some games for North on the wing or on HBF. I just raised a possibility of playing him in the midfield. I think he has the talent to play there but not sure if he has the fitness.

Porthos raised a very interesting point. Almost half of Motlop's possesions come from marks which suggests that he is not much of a crumber but more of a marking forward.

Motlop is around the 184 mark, but is bloody good overhead and has a nice little leap on him.

I think he could easily play as a linkman across half forward, with Welsh deeper. In fact I think Junior's strengths are his pace and ability to consistently lead and mark in front, he would be ideal in a linking role.

Dunno who would ask for a pick with Watts though, that's silly.

Stiffy_18 said:
Porthos raised a very interesting point. Almost half of Motlop's possesions come from marks which suggests that he is not much of a crumber but more of a marking forward.

He is a very strong mark, but at the same time he was forced to play more of a key forward role in 2004 than he probably would have liked.

Why do you think we went after Thompson so keenly? Would have loved to see Motlop play with him this season.

Daniel Motlop