Daniel Rioli

How many half back flankers age 27 would warrant a top 10 pick? Probably none.
GWS got pick 10 for Zach Williams as a compo pick

Seeing as Rioli has a much better form line and contracted long term the only way to pry him away would be by paying overs

Sub pick 10 is probably unlikely but not out of the realm of possibility either

Because most players in that age bracket a free agents that would be the only other way Gold Coast could get a similar player but it would cost them a lot more in terms of salary that they may not have so paying a premium pick wise wouldn’t be a silly move of them if they really want him

How many half back flankers age 27 would warrant a top 10 pick? Probably none.

He would as did Saad (pick 8).
Saad turns 30 this July.

The bottom line he's contracted and we hold the whip hand look if Dan wanted to go and if it was say two First rounders eg; picks 12 and 16 that would do it but if it is one it's a top 10 pick or see ya later. We are not here to accommodate anyone if they're not happy we walk, we don't need to trade him.

Think the media put together 1+1 and thought they got a scoop.

Rioli doesn't seem the type to chase success, he's already tasted it 3 times and he seems quite loyal.

However, if he does request a trade then I wouldn't be asking for draft picks necessarily. I'd be submitting this list of players and saying that one of them is the cost:

Noah Anderson
Matt Rowell
Sam Flanders
Bailey Humphrey
Ben King

We need quality proven talent to replace quality proven talent that moves on. Preferably younger talent that can be part of our long term future/success.
Let me make it clear that I don't expect the Suns to trade these players for Rioli, but like any negotiation you start well over what you're happy to do a deal on and work your way towards a common ground so that both parties are happy.

By asking for them, the Suns may come back with an offer of another player the level below these guys and a good pick say a 2025 R1 when they think they'll be playing finals.

We have a good haul of picks in this year's draft already, so why not try and build a nice little haul for 2025 as well, while also possibly addressing a list need now with a quality young Suns player who isn't getting games with them.

If a fully rehabed Lauchie Weller came back our way. We needs a winger.

He would as did Saad (pick 8).
Saad turns 30 this July.

The bottom line he's contracted and we hold the whip hand look if Dan wanted to go and if it was say two First rounders eg; picks 12 and 16 that would do it but if it is one it's a top 10 pick or see ya later. We are not here to accommodate anyone if they're not happy we walk, we don't need to trade him.
how the fu*k did saad get pick 8 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Win/win. Rioli could help them win a flag, Rioli too old to be in our next flag. We need picks, they need mature talent in its prime. Big loss but Baker and him out the door would give us the draft hand we need to seriously remotely rebuild properly. Rance, Cotchin, Martin, Prestia, Riewoldt, Astbury, Vlastuin etc all come from the 1st round and you need a lot of those picks to run the lottery and find them.

gold coast are zero chance of ever winning a flag

more likely to fold in next 5-8 years

100%, THROW TT AND hopper into the mix and we could seriously get some top-end talent so we can go again in 5-8 years.
Atm we are in a bit of no mans land, if you don't believe that then look at our players sniffing to have another crack- they would much rather stay here but there is nothing happening.

GWS got pick 10 for Zach Williams as a compo pick

Seeing as Rioli has a much better form line and contracted long term the only way to pry him away would be by paying overs

Sub pick 10 is probably unlikely but not out of the realm of possibility either

Because most players in that age bracket a free agents that would be the only other way Gold Coast could get a similar player but it would cost them a lot more in terms of salary that they may not have so paying a premium pick wise wouldn’t be a silly move of them if they really want him
Blues overpaid massively, thinking they could turn him into a gun midfielder. They were wrong.

No matter what we cannot lose Rioli, Bolton, Baker and Balta. These should be the only untouchables on our list.

Every young player drafted after this group has been average at best. This is the core of the footy club and age bracket who should also still be around after the rebuild. We start selling these guys and we'll be down in the gallows with the likes of North Melbourne for years.
Fully agree tho I reckon baker might be out of our hands to a fair degree which means we will have plenty of collateral without razing the joint to scrounge pics

Can’t solely blame Hardwick
If he goes it’s 100% Riolis choice
Dare say his Mrs would be a big factor since she is a DJ from Sydney she would be in his ear about moving to a northern state
Id move out of this state if i had the chance.
In debt taxed too the hilt with more hits to come.

Mate you're naive if you think players aren't being sounded out extremely far in advance.
I knew Taranto was coming to Melbourne 3 years before he joined us and Richmond was his preferred destination for most of that time

I even posted about it a couple of times

We all know we will get s**t picks back.
We can't cheat like Geelong can.

100%, THROW TT AND hopper into the mix and we could seriously get some top-end talent so we can go again in 5-8 years.
Atm we are in a bit of no mans land, if you don't believe that then look at our players sniffing to have another crack- they would much rather stay here but there is nothing happening.
Kids need experienced players with ability around them to grow into premiership players, throw a team full of kids only out on the field and you get what happened to us last week, if that happens enough you wash rinse and repeat for the next 30 years.

that’s definitely a legitimate way to rebuild. Trade into the draft, free up salary space, and use FA to bring in specific needs.

Clarkson successfully pulled it off.

Can also backfire though. You’d want to have confidence that you’re trading into a strong draft, and getting generational players. How often do you hear that a draft will even out after the first 6-10 picks, and then factoring in FS and academy picks.

that’s definitely a legitimate way to rebuild. Trade into the draft, free up salary space, and use FA to bring in specific needs.

Clarkson successfully pulled it off.

Can also backfire though. You’d want to have confidence that you’re trading into a strong draft, and getting generational players. How often do you hear that a draft will even out after the first 6-10 picks, and then factoring in FS and academy picks.
Problem is that by the time you are at a point where these young gun kids are ready to explode you also need to pay to keep them and that will also limit any decent free agents because you need to pay them a premium as well
Especially if the club is not performing very well on the ladder

It’s what is happening to North and Hawthron now

North are absolutely stacked with talent with guns on every line but they have already started to lose some like McKay last year and other clubs sniffing around the likes of Larkey