Daniel Stanley

I hate writing off or critcising kids after 1 season but I must admit he did not look great.

I reckon they main reason people are being harsh is because as soon as he was drafted the collingwood brains trust where suggesting he would play 1s in his first year.

They where a long way off the mark.

according to your philosophy dane swan would have been delisted after 2 years now look at him given some time to find his feet

No, I always liked the look of Dane Swan in terms of how he played the game, he just needed to get away from some bad influences off-field.

But yes you're right, its not an exact science, and players need time. Unfortunately the reality is that not everybody will get the time that they might need.

according to your philosophy dane swan would have been delisted after 2 years now look at him given some time to find his feet

That's a really good call mate. It took Heath Shaw till his 3rd season to play reasonable footy as well, and Rhyce was given atleast 3 until he was a permanent fixture in the side, and after that he struggled in 2004 again.

I agree, but I have serious doubts on him. Went to training yesterday & he looked slow & over weight..

I think swan played a senior game against the tigers in his first season and while shaw was not great he was a consistant player in the willi ones where has stanley really struggled in the willi ones and spent quite a bit of time in the twos.

I don't think there very good examples at all.

I think swan played a senior game against the tigers in his first season and while shaw was not great he was a consistant player in the willi ones where has stanley really struggled in the willi ones and spent quite a bit of time in the twos.

I don't think there very good examples at all.

Swan always showed good footy smarts, was flexible (played forward pocket, backline and midfield) and even had a bit of flair about him. Swan would of been delisted a while ago due to some off-field discretions, the fact he wasn't shows the staff saw something in him.

No, I always liked the look of Dane Swan in terms of how he played the game, he just needed to get away from some bad influences off-field.

But yes you're right, its not an exact science, and players need time. Unfortunately the reality is that not everybody will get the time that they might need.
did Iacca get picked up buy another team

Swan always showed good footy smarts, was flexible (played forward pocket, backline and midfield) and even had a bit of flair about him. Swan would of been delisted a while ago due to some off-field discretions, the fact he wasn't shows the staff saw something in him.

One thing he showed early on was that he could find the footy and rarely fumbled. My main concern was his kicking and the fact that he did not have the confidence to go direct. He used to chip it sideways with little effect. Once he got some confidence his impact went through the roof.

well don't you think stanley deserves the same consideration. anyway i saw swan make some terrible mistakes and play some terrible games in his first 2 seasons.but i'm not related to nostradamus like some people

If collingwood is going to become a force again this guy is one of many that needs to come through the system.

Im getting a bit dissapointed hearing that he isnt what hes cracked up to be.

We waste so many picks so hopefully with last years and this years picks we can produce 5-6 quality players.
I hope he has a good nab cup game on friday night.

But whats your point, whats that got to do with Stanley?
you said in the second page that the Iacca delist had set a precedence and that he was stiff to go because he had shown more than stanley, and stanley was assured of going if he didn't show enough to your liking this year. so i was mearly pointing out that Iacca was not picked up by anyone else,meaning he wasn't rated by anyone else

If collingwood is going to become a force again this guy is one of many that needs to come through the system.

Im getting a bit dissapointed hearing that he isnt what hes cracked up to be.

We waste so many picks so hopefully with last years and this years picks we can produce 5-6 quality players.
I hope he has a good nab cup game on friday night.
the only people saying he isn't what he is cracked up to be are the clowns on this forum, i haven't heard any of the coaching staff lamb baste him or bag him at all until that happens i'm ok with him to develop

you said in the second page that the Iacca delist had set a precedence and that he was stiff to go because he had shown more than stanley, and stanley was assured of going if he didn't show enough to your liking this year. so i was mearly pointing out that Iacca was not picked up by anyone else,meaning he wasn't rated by anyone else

Just shows how tough the game is. Yakka did ok but did not set the world on fire, but did not get the chance to get a third season to prove himself.

Stanley is in exacly the same position as Yakka was at the start of last year. An ok season may not be enough to save him, he needs better than ok, he needs something close to a blinder.

the only people saying he isn't what he is cracked up to be are the clowns on this forum, i haven't heard any of the coaching staff lamb baste him or bag him at all until that happens i'm ok with him to develop

Lamb baste? Sounds delicious. Do you have mint sauce to go with that?

I assume you mean lambast?

Somebody has to be the weakest player on the list. Some on these boards think it may be Stanley (or Davies, or Cook or 2-3 others). That doesnt mean we are lamb basting him, beef roasting, chicken frying, or cooking in any way shape or form.

Its already been said, he aint no Nixon Shackleton or King. And thats the problem for him. We dont seem to have any duds.

Lamb baste? Sounds delicious. Do you have mint sauce to go with that?

I assume you mean lambast?

Somebody has to be the weakest player on the list. Some on these boards think it may be Stanley (or Davies, or Cook or 2-3 others). That doesnt mean we are lamb basting him, beef roasting, chicken frying, or cooking in any way shape or form.

Its already been said, he aint no Nixon Shackleton or King. And thats the problem for him. We dont seem to have any duds.
well i think licca and lockyer are in the gun, average seasons from them last year both have had knees could be catching up with them.burns likely to go retire,wakelin retire,richards if cannot come up again.there are a few older players on the way out and cannot cut it anymore that i would be looking at rarther than a first year player.

No duds?? Pfft.. we wish. Sure as hell we have duds, we may not know it yet but they'll be there. As for the eating of Danny Stanley.. i think he'd be delicious... cept maybe a little stringy. Maybe we could marinate him for a few seasons.. then DELICIOUS!

well i think licca and lockyer are in the gun, average seasons from them last year both had knees could be catching up with them.burns likely to go retire,wakelin retire,richards if cannot come up again.there are a few older players on the way out and cannot cut it anymore that i would be looking at than i first year player.

Licuria's a dual b&f and he will be afforded the dignity of going out on his terms. Lockyer's definitely in the gun but he's a perennial MM favorite and appointed this year to the leadership group again, so its doubtful we'd turf him. Richards will stay if he stays fit because we dont have any other rucks. If he goes, we'll need a ruckman to replace him so really he's in a seperate category anyway.

Burns and Wakelin will probably go. Five or six in total go every year, more if we want to promote Nicholls or Clarke.

Some younger players will go - we wont delist six senior players, that just doesnt happen.

Licuria's a dual b&f and he will be afforded the dignity of going out on his terms. Lockyer's definitely in the gun but he's a perennial MM favorite and appointed this year to the leadership group again, so its doubtful we'd turf him. Richards will stay if he stays fit because we dont have any other rucks. If he goes, we'll need a ruckman to replace him so really he's in a seperate category anyway.

Burns and Wakelin will probably go. Five or six in total go every year, more if we want to promote Nicholls or Clarke.

Some younger players will go - we wont delist six senior players, that just doesnt happen.
stanley won't get delisted he is ear marked to take over the battering ram role in the midfield he will take over from burns and licca.he has good pace that shackleton and nixon didn't have,and as for skills he will be farming it out to the guys with skills he is our next in and under mark my words. as for licca if he has another bad year he should pull the trigger himself

stanley won't get delisted he is ear marked to take over the battering ram role in the midfield he will take over from burns and licca

I'll be pleased if he succeeds. If he's half as good as either of those two he'll have a great career. Hope you're right, I want all our players to do well, but the reality is that some will and some wont.

He's young and learning and has his future in front of him however, short lists don't cut much slack these days.

Think of it this way:

Pies had a huuuuge clean out at the end of last season and added a heap of new, young faces, 1st year players who you'd think won't be cut after just 12 months on the list.

We have to cut for or five each year so who do you think is in the mix prior to a ball being bounced in 07?

Basically, Danny has to show some real signs this year or questions will naturally be asked as season's end.

FWIW

Its real harsh but there will be some relief by the probable/possible retirements of Wakes, Burns, Bux.

But, if they don't show marked improvement this year I'd think Rhyce, Davies, Stanley, Cook & Stretch could be wading in dangerous water. Harsh reality.

Daniel Stanley