Danny Stanley

brockbruiser

Sep 15, 2007
Tassie
Hey guys I was just wondering what your thoughts were of Danny Stanley possibly being used at AFL level as a tagger in the Jackson/Boyd type role???

He has alot to offer and I really want this guy to make it, he shows many fine attributes.

We don't really have a 1st choice tagger such as jackson, ling, boyd etc

Just wanted people thoughts, with some friendly discussion??

He doesn't strike me as that type of player personally.

If we're going to develop a tagger, the VFL games against Weribee showed me that it should be Francis.

Danny Stanley is like a C Class Shane O'bree, relying on toughness and fitness rather then absolute skill and ability.

He doesnt seem to have that real defensive side to his game like most taggers at AFL level have.

Of the side that played on Saturday, the likely candidates are Barham, Francis and even Blair may be developed into tagging types over the next few years.

It's unfortunate for Danny, but it seems the only way he will be wearing a Collingwood jumper next year is as a VFL top up player.

Hey guys I was just wondering what your thoughts were of Danny Stanley possibly being used at AFL level as a tagger in the Jackson/Boyd type role???

He has alot to offer and I really want this guy to make it, he shows many fine attributes.

We don't really have a 1st choice tagger such as jackson, ling, boyd etc

Just wanted people thoughts, with some friendly discussion??

i have been a big supporter of his, problem is you cant really get away with butchering the ball these days. i still think he deserves a proper go at AFL level, problem is we dont really have any under performing players and when we had injuries he wasnt played. I think he may be gone come seasons end but will definitely be recycled.

I can't see Danny getting the sustained run at AFL level that he'd need to cement himself in the side in any position. McCarthy is clearly rated ahead of him, Wellingham is probably a more versatile clearance mid option, and Beams is also ahead of Stanners at this stage.

McCarthy needs to get on the park to be of any worth to us. Wellingham has a long way to go before he plays consistently well for us. Stanners really needs to improve his disposal, wellingham his consistency McCarthy needs to get on the field. Who ever achieves these targets first will get the nod come the start of next year.

1st-i would love mccarthy ahead of anybody, he has potential to be a star.
2nd- a stanners with a dane swan disposal efficiency would be a great asset to our side
3rd- The sherriff only because we have plenty of class not enough grunt.

the likely scenario: Wellingham over both unless they get McCarthy on the Bovine serum!!!!!!

2nd- a stanners with a dane swan disposal efficiency would be a great asset to our side

I would back Danny Stanley to beat Dane Swan in a skills competition (i.e. kicking/handballing) for a good sum of money.

His problem is awareness/vision moreso than disposal imo.

I would back Danny Stanley to beat Dane Swan in a skills competition (i.e. kicking/handballing) for a good sum of money.

true on the handballs stanners isnt all that bad but turns it over by foot to often. i think Danes disposal is good because he knows his limits. You will seldom see him attempting anything to spectacular by foot.

Its what a player does in the pressure of a game that counts, i think he would benefit from doing the simple alot like Dane. We have enough line breakers maybe he should learn to play within his limits?

There are a lot of judgements being made on the Werribee game. Probably 10 players have been written off on the strength of it. Well, just something you missed if you weren't at the game was the state of the 30 by 20 metre centre area. It was pure Merri Creek mud/glue and all the mids were running on an inch of it after 5 minutes. The assistants couldn't scrape it off at quarter time and they all came out in their spare boots after half time - not that it did much good.

I spoke to Beams and Cook at the after match function and Cookie said he's never played in a heavier gluepot, and Beams said he'd never played in a gluepot at all! It was like kicking with your feet cased in wet cement. The Werribee players are used to their ground and were openly laughing about the advantage it gives them. It's no random thing that we got run over in the last quarter, because all our mids were spent from trying to run through that crap. If the game had been played at PF Park we'd have killed them.

Sticky centre square would be a better description. I went out and walked on it at half time, gluggy but far from a glue pot, prob need to go back to the 70s and 80s to see regular gluepots where your feet disappeared and the rest of the ground was a mudheap

Saturday was not ideal conditions , bit blustery and a wet centre square but the players are being precious if they consider that tough conditions

I agee people are reading too much into Sats poor performance but we played badly and it wasnt the grounds fault

Unfortunately for DANNY,he is avery good player at VFL level but can't settle into the pace of AFL senior level.
Every time he has been given a chance at top level he was always off the pace and gets caught red handed too much.
For DANNY.either he'll stay and only play VFL or he'll be delisted at years end to try his luck elsewhere next year..... i reckon toovey,cook and bryan will also be shown the back door at year's end.

You are bang on here I reckon.

No point having a good skills in a technical sense if you can't execute them under the pressure of an AFL game and I think this is what lets many players down and stops them from becoming AFL quality.

I still don't think I've seen enough of Stanley to make a conclusive judgement, but he has lacked awareness in the games I have seen him.

As others have suggested, it seems the likes of Sidebottom, Wellingham, McCarthy and Beams are all ahead of him in the mind of the coach - I'd be surprised if he played seniors again for us and even more surprised if he was retained on the list given his lack of opportunities.

Unfortunately for DANNY,he is avery good player at VFL level but can't settle into the pace of AFL senior level.
Every time he has been given a chance at top level he was always off the pace and gets caught red handed too much.
For DANNY.either he'll stay and only play VFL or he'll be delisted at years end to try his luck elsewhere next year..... i reckon toovey,cook and bryan will also be shown the back door at year's end.
And why would you say Toovey will be shown the backdoor? The guys getting a game every week, doing his job in the team,and most importantly improving his disposal efficiency. But yep, you can point cookie and stanners toward the backdoor.

I started a thread a month or so ago saying that he is a good VFL player only at a time he was flavour of the month on our board.

I now don't even believe that he is a good VFL player having watched the 2nd half on the weekend.

To those who think his skills are ok, you must have very low standards IMO.
Sadly I think Barham is in a similar position as Stanley.

I started a thread a month or so ago saying that he is a good VFL player only at a time he was flavour of the month on our board.

I now don't even believe that he is a good VFL player having watched the 2nd half on the weekend.

To those who think his skills are ok, you must have very low standards IMO.
Sadly I think Barham is in a similar position as Stanley.
You judge on half a game of footy?

I have backed Stanners for sometime. When he tried to break through a bunch of players against Werribee, and was stopped dead in his tracks in the same way he was in his last AFL game, I am afraid he lost me. I had given him the benefit of the doubt at AFL level - just has to get used to the pace of the game, play within his limits etc. - but to see him caught at VFL level, attempting to crash through but appearing totally ineffectual in his efforts, was a bit of a reality check. As others pointed out in the VFL game thread, his disposals did not really hurt Werribee.

Adam Thompson, who crossed from Port to Richmond this year, sounds as though he is a very similar player to Stanners - slowish, able to play the centre-midfield role only (i.e. not much use anywhere else), perhaps better disposal than Stanners. Supporters seemed to love Thompson, claiming Williams didn't rate him so he never got a game. I was quite keen on the Pies picking him up, but as he has only ever managed an emergency nomination with Richmond this season, I am glad we did not get him. One Stanley is probably enough.

I still hope he is able to make the grade, but I will also understand if he never gets another game.

Danny Stanley