Player Watch Darcy Moore

• Thread starter Thread starter Anzacday

He’s so much better when he has Billy Frampton out there. He gets to do what he does best.

I’m sorry for Reef going down for the season. Horrible for the poor bloke and never really got to show us what they were backing him in for. But can’t help but wonder if this forced move has been best for the side overall.

If you have Darcy able to be this damaging and you have Billy Frampton genuinely locking down a tall, I can’t imagine things would be better with Reef instead of Billy, especially for Darcy’s game.
Moore was sensational on Georgiades in Rd 1 with Reef beside him. I’m not sure about others, but I agree with Buckley’s assessment in the post match that he’s playing on his toes more this year meaning he’s better able to close down the space. It doesn’t matter who’s beside him Moore just looks better when he isn’t trying to guard the space of two players.

Everyone played well in round 1. We played witches hats.

I think Darcy looks more confident with Big Bill by his side

Everyone played well in round 1. We played witches hats.

I think Darcy looks more confident with Big Bill by his side
Yes including McInnes and the pressure of the midfield group ahead of the ball (which was almost non existent v GWS).

I think we can celebrate Moore’s return to form as well as acknowledge the form of those around him. McInnes and Frampton have both been much better than Dean and Frampton in 2024.

Sydney were isolating their talls. It played into our hands as theyre not good enough to isolate. Frampton was good, but I think if Josh Daicos was manning Ladhams it wouldn't have been much different.

Moore's performance is more about how well the mids and forwards stop free flow than about who the other talls are. If it's coming in in straight lines, so Moore gets a good look at a contest he is an absolute star.

I was told he was too busy getting cheapies to actually be doing any good though…
Yes, apparently despite intercept possessions being gold dust in the modern game, any old hack can get them cos they’re so easy.

Sydney were isolating their talls. It played into our hands as theyre not good enough to isolate. Frampton was good, but I think if Josh Daicos was manning Ladhams it wouldn't have been much different.

Moore's performance is more about how well the mids and forwards stop free flow than about who the other talls are. If it's coming in in straight lines, so Moore gets a good look at a contest he is an absolute star.

To an extent that’s always the case, not even the best defenders in the game can deal with a poor midfield letting the ball through too quickly. But I think this year and yesterday Moore stood up on his own, winning his one on one in even situations. And he’s got a weakened Howe, suspended Houston and Reef/Frampton with him. I wouldn’t downplay it.

I'm not downplaying Moore. I'm downplaying the reliance on who is beside him and the hysteria when we get cut up through the midfield and he ends up out of position and thus looks really loose. Moore is a star of the comp.

1744633611082.png
It’s good to see Darcy returning closer to his All-Australian form. Was interesting to hear Fly say it was his first proper pre-season in 2 years

Also happy to see Billy up there. Reckon he should have always been in and Reef learn the role in the VFL rather than be thrown in the deep end

View attachment 2283479

It’s good to see Darcy returning closer to his All-Australian form. Was interesting to hear Fly say it was his first proper pre-season in 2 years

Also happy to see Billy up there. Reckon he should have always been in and Reef learn the role in the VFL rather than be thrown in the deep end
Is wheelo a good judge of player?

I'm not downplaying Moore. I'm downplaying the reliance on who is beside him and the hysteria when we get cut up through the midfield and he ends up out of position and thus looks really loose. Moore is a star of the comp.
Even see this in the media from those who should know better. Moore and our defence in general will look silly when the defensive work up the field isn't there.

This is the case for most teams, but feel we gamble with our defence more than any, looking to press up rather than man up. Plenty of games where we've adjusted to more accountable defence when it's not working, but it doesn't mean the original plan was wrong.

It's one of the reasons why I think we've been reluctant to play Frampton. He's pretty good at sticking to a man and defending him, less so at the more mobile role we prefer, Reef much better fitted that role, and Murphy was perfect for it. So while Frampton is working at the moment he does restrict the way we defend and other options might need to be considered at some point.

Even see this in the media from those who should know better. Moore and our defence in general will look silly when the defensive work up the field isn't there.

This is the case for most teams, but feel we gamble with our defence more than any, looking to press up rather than man up. Plenty of games where we've adjusted to more accountable defence when it's not working, but it doesn't mean the original plan was wrong.

It's one of the reasons why I think we've been reluctant to play Frampton. He's pretty good at sticking to a man and defending him, less so at the more mobile role we prefer, Reef much better fitted that role, and Murphy was perfect for it. So while Frampton is working at the moment he does restrict the way we defend and other options might need to be considered at some point.
Moore is in better form than Howe at the moment though he is 34 years of age now and has a knee injury because of Reef accidently punching him in the face trying to spoil

Moore leads the competition in contested one on ones (losing only one, per the stat above), as well as spoils, one percenters and has had the third most intercepts league wide. Easily in AA form.

He is a genuine champion of the game, and those who don’t appreciate him are bonkers.

Moore leads the competition in contested one on ones (losing only one, per the stat above), as well as spoils, one percenters and has had the third most intercepts league wide. Easily in AA form.

He is a genuine champion of the game, and those who don’t appreciate him are bonkers.
He's also 4th for key backs in I50s (amongst the likes of Sicily and Blicavs, who play other spots), up there for metres gained, much lower turnover numbers than contemporaries, wins heaps of contested footy and ground balls, and is tackling. His defensive play is incredible, but he is also back to being about as damaging as he has ever been.

Yep.
Although he’s playing a less flashy game than when he won his AA . I don’t reckon the AA selectors will notice the small things.

Besides, who cares about AA. He’s in premiership form and that’s what matters. In fact he’s only got upside if he gets back some of that high marking and quick accurate ball movement from a few years back

I'm a very worried for his selection for ANZAC day. I understand he carried off Billy at the end of the game, but concussions don't always present straight away. The Justin Koschitzke interview always comes to my mind.

I really hope he is OK, but after Brayshaw, Murphy and Carmichael, it scares me to think about losing Darcy in the same fashion!

Yep.
Although he’s playing a less flashy game than when he won his AA . I don’t reckon the AA selectors will notice the small things.

Besides, who cares about AA. He’s in premiership form and that’s what matters. In fact he’s only got upside if he gets back some of that high marking and quick accurate ball movement from a few years back
he's absolutely passing the eye test at the moment having a good year

I'm a very worried for his selection for ANZAC day. I understand he carried off Billy at the end of the game, but concussions don't always present straight away. The Justin Koschitzke interview always comes to my mind.

I really hope he is OK, but after Brayshaw, Murphy and Carmichael, it scares me to think about losing Darcy in the same fashion!
he's only had 2 concussions and they wouldn't have got him to carry off Jamie if he was concussed

I understand that. But as I stated, concussions can have delayed symptoms. The studies in past NFL players are very worrying.
I hope he's fine, he's been in great form and we look to be on a great run, so his spot in the team is as important as ever with the injury we already have to Reef.