Darren Millane

When he died, it broke the clubs heart, and most of the supporters just like me were shattered.

I was at the funeral at Dandenong Town Hall, and still can remember them playing the song as his coffin was bought out.

RIP Darren, a true Collingwood Champion.:(

RIP Pants. Can't believe its been 20 years. Still my fave player of all time.

In relation to the number 42 I reckon they should give this to our 1st draft pick and let Fas keep the number 35.

Just let Fas keep the 35 and do away with the revolving jumper rubbish, but that's just my opinion. And just keep 42 retired as it was always intended!

thank god they close the thread on the main board, totally inappropriate even for bigfooty standards.

Will always remember you running down the wings and not taking a backward step to your opponents.

What an awful thread on the main board. Some of the people in there should be disgusted at themselves and their attitude. disgraceful humans, some of them.

RIP the 42

I was so pissed to discover that it had been locked.

I still have a copy of his biography. Might have to go and flip through some of the stories.

I believe they tried to do that a few years ago but the milaine family scuttled it

R.i.p Darren

I met Darren at a Footscray Footy club social club function one week before he died and still remember what a great bloke he was. Took time out of his day to come and have a kick with all us kids, no other bulldog players would do it but it was no problem for Pants :thumbsu:

How did Darren get the nickname Pants?

To do with an apparent atrocious fashion sense. Even for the 80's. :eek:

Anyway, R.I.P. Darren. You and Daicos were the two of the main reasons this Sydneysider became a Pies barracker.

I was working on the dodgem cars at the Fun Factory in 1990 when Pants and his GF came in for a bit. I was totally awestruck and blurted out something like "You're awesome and you're going to win the Brownlow mate" and Pants just laughed and said "Not likely mate, I was suspended earlier in the year".

Needless to say, he got free rides all night, plus a few prizes he didn't even play for :)

On the day of his funeral I was working at a Honda wrecker in Keysborough, just down the road. I asked my boss for time off to go to the funeral. He wouldn't let me so I went anyway and just cried my eyes out. Terrible day.

I lost my job for that. Totally worth it.

RIP Pants. One of our true greats.

Was simply irreplaceable and there has not been another like him.....

End of the 1990 GF, standing on the boundary, ball aloft....

Will always be my favorite player - the epitome of what Collingwood should be - Tough, loyal, uncompromising, courageuos - taken too soon - RIP Pants

I've had this idea for the past couple of Days of having a Tribute guernsey for the late Darren Milane.Just like North melbourne having the Glenn archer logo on the jumper i've made a Darren Milane logo

collingwooddarrenmilane.png
darrenmilanelogo.jpg

R.I.P Darren Millane I was never alive to see him player but have heard from my Parents that he was a great player

Awesome work Cory. [ though Millane not Milane :) ]

Hope the family relent soon and give their blessing to seeing the number 42 run around for the Pies again.

Nice stories bulldogrob and Trav68 aswell.

I recall him playing...was a tough uncompromising bugger, an absolute competitor and warrior.

Such a tragedy, but he'll be forever remembered as a Collingwood hero, and it was totally unforgettable him holding the ball aloft as the siren blew in 1990 GF.

Darren Millane